Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Italy or France?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Two great countries. Couldn't choose. Two people with class, style, sophistication, great food, beautiful countries and great languages. I plan to be from one of those countries in my next life.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

"La Marseillaise" is a fine rousing chant to get the blood boiling,whereas the Italian National Anthem is like something you would hear at a circus

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

From September 1943 the Italians fought on the allied side.

Yeah, after an allied invasion, they surrendered and jumped sides.

• Registered Users Posts: 826 ✭✭✭- bo -

I'd get rid of Italy.

Couldn't say France, one side of the family are from there and they're mostly sound so it'd be a bit scabby...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

italy. been to france lots of times, not just paris the whole country in depth, everything is great about it. except strikes :( :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,115 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

grenache wrote: »
    A kip? are you blind or just ignorant?!

Neither, and I am certainly not alone in thinking that way. If you've seen a different side to Napoli, then more power to you. But from what I experienced, I most definitely would not recommended it to anyone, except as a jumping off spot for somewhere else.

Not only was it a kip, it was dangerous too. Drugs were being sold, practically in the open, when we stopped off at a McDonalds on Garibaldi Square on a Sunday afternoon. It was the only place open.

It's a remarkable city, for all the wrong reasons.

The complete contrast to Milan, Venice, Florence, Rome, etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Tony EH wrote: »
    Neither, and I am certainly not alone in thinking that way. If you've seen a different side to Napoli, then more power to you. But from what I experienced, I most definitely would not recommended it to anyone, except as a jumping off spot for somewhere else.

Not only was it a kip, it was dangerous too. Drugs were being sold, practically in the open, when we stopped off at a McDonalds on Garibaldi Square on a Sunday afternoon. It was the only place open.

It's a remarkable city, for all the wrong reasons.

The complete contrast to Milan, Venice, Florence, Rome, etc...
    You're in the home of pizza, and a city with the best variation of food on the planet......and you went to McDonalds?!! :eek:

Jesus wept.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Italy >>>>>>>>>> France.

The people are more attractive, the country is more beautiful, the food is better (over all), the wine is just as good and the people are a lot friendlier. And besides Milan, it's a damned sight cheaper to spend a few days in.

That said, parts of France are lovely (the south for the most part and the Alps, but the alps are lovely in all the apline countries, so france can't claim that one) and parts of Italy are ****holes (I'm looking at you Turin and Genoa).

You're in the home of pizza, and a city with the best variation of food on the planet......and you went to McDonalds?!! :eek:

Jesus wept.

You need to learn to read.

"It was the only place open"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 311 ✭✭Lbeard

Italy > France

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

A kip? are you blind or just ignorant?! Napoli is stunning. None of your tourist bull$hit that you get in Rome. There are plenty decent parts of Naples, you're judging the whole city on a few bad parts that you've seen. If you took the Camorra out of the place, it would undoubtedly be Europe's most beautiful city.

It's the Camorra who keep it down alright, it's hard for us to understand just how powerful and influential they are over there. The waste disposal problem which blights the city is down to them choking the unions. In recent years they've illegally dumped toxic waste in the surrounding countryside which has had a devastating effect on agriculture.

It's hard to stop them, they've infiltrated local politics through vote buying, they then blackmail the city officials they get elected.

It's different to La Cosa Nostra in Sicily because their structure isn't the traditional military chain of command. There's no one leader it's split into different factions. So a piece of legislation like 'RICO' in the states for instance wouldn't be effective.

Also unlike Cosa Nostra they've no code of 'honour', they see police and prosecutors as legitimate targets to kill.

No doubt it was a beautiful city at one stage, but that long gone now. The place is filthy and seething with crime of various magnitudes, some of it quite open. There is an air about the place too, one of danger, aggression and caution.

The Amalfi coast is, OTOH, a lovely place. Plus the attractions of Pompeii and Herculaneum are obvious.

But, really, Naples is an absolute dive.

"See Naples and die"

• Registered Users Posts: 12,342 ✭✭✭✭starlit

France. They not make an effort to talk english. Italy nicer cities, clothes, history, geography, food, scenery and sights with exception of paris in france!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

doovdela wrote: »
    France. They not make an effort to talk english. Italy nicer cities, clothes, history, geography, food, scenery and sights with exception of paris in france!

Generally because their English is poor. Don't know why people imagine French people go out of their way to inconvenience them by intentionally not speaking English to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I love France. Italians are just the oddest people, all up in your grill all the time, shouting, being unruly, lazy, greasy...
    France is so pretty and relaxed, at least outside the big cities. And the food is great.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

france i could feel good about getting rid of a few national front idiots

I never heard of the provincialism in France until I had been there a few times, firstly it was Bretons-they said they were Breton not French,then the Corsicans ,ditto,then the Basques and finally the Catalonians. 4 times I went there and didn't meet a french person !!!!

I know Italy has a north/south divide, but are they as perfidious to their capital as the french?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

smurgen wrote: »
    The Italians on the other hand are annoying and vain and as thick as bricks. They are useless at picking up foreign languages and are culturally ignorant and Italian food within Italy is brutal. Also French women are classy while Italian women are trashy. !

Short version ( or french version )

"I have never been to Italy"

crockholm wrote: »
    I never heard of the provincialism in France until I had been there a few times, firstly it was Bretons-they said they were Breton not French,then the Corsicans ,ditto,then the Basques and finally the Catalonians. 4 times I went there and didn't meet a french person !!!!

I know Italy has a north/south divide, but are they as perfidious to their capital as the french?

Stand back from the edges and you'll be grand!

Lucena wrote: »
    Stand back from the edges and you'll be grand!

Sure,if we did that here,we'd only be left with feckin Laois and Offaly:P

French people hate Paris, and Paris looks down on the rest of the country.

Parisians even have a word for the rest of the country: "Province".

I once had a Parisian knob-end tell me "oh you're so lucky to live in Province" as if it was an actual place. :mad:

You could be on the Côte d'Azur, in the Alps, in Brittany or Alsace, it's all 'Province' to them.

Sure,if we did that here,we'd only be left with feckin Laois and Offaly:P

Nohin' wrong wit Offaly. Liam McCarthy 1981, Sam in 1982, Birr Telescope, shure it's all happenin' in Offaly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Catalonia is in spain man as is much of Euskal Herria

Lucena wrote: »
    French people hate Paris, and Paris looks down on the rest of the country.

Parisians even have a word for the rest of the country: "Province".

I once had a Parisian knob-end tell me "oh you're so lucky to live in Province" as if it was an actual place. :mad:

You could be on the Côte d'Azur, in the Alps, in Brittany or Alsace, it's all 'Province' to them.
    The dubs of france huh,they also have a nice old town just outside of Paris called Provins (you pass fontainbleu to get there).That's what I wondered about,was there the same level of mistrust shown to Rome by the Italians as there is with the Paris/Everything outside Ile-de-France ?

Catalonia is in spain man as is much of Euskal Herria

True,but it also creeps into French territory,namely the city of Perpignan in the Languedoc-Rouisson area,also the sister cities of Biarritz and Bayonne are in France yet also part of Euskal Herria:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

I like French and Italian food!
    Take Spain, Portugal or Germany.
    definitely Germany actually

DavyD_83 wrote: »
    I like French and Italian food!
    Take Spain, Portugal or Germany.
    definitely Germany actually

Ah here now !!!

Germany pretty much has it all too,wonderful historic cities,great green countryside,clean,efficient and the opportunity to have a cracker of a half litre of beer for bout 3 euro.

There is nothing better than a late evening candle-lit stroll/march around Nurnberg :pac:

And we have been godwinned.
    Hurrah.

:P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

Why would anyone bomb Italy or France when they have choices like Albania and Romania??? Crap poll.

**Vai** wrote: »
    Why would anyone bomb Italy or France when they have choices like Albania and Romania??? Crap poll.

Albania is one of the most beautiful countries in Southern Europe and has been one of the top 10 destinations for travelling to for the last 3/4 years with sites like tripadvisor.

If you'd ever been to places like Berat or Gjirokastër you'd know that yourself.