Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bigger Girls: Are They More Popular than We Think?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

twinytwo wrote: »
    While some could agree with that statement.... im of the opinion that you can manage with small boobs.... cant do anything with a bad bum.

No hips, no ass = no thank you

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,453 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shenshen

Wibbs wrote: »

Actually one thing that would turn me off(physically and TBH mentally) about a woman is one who has a yoyo size over time. The ones whose wardrobe is filled with different sizes depending on her mood/life stage. Maybe it's my OCD talking but I prefer consistency. I'd much prefer a size 14 woman who remained that size over a decade than a size 8 woman who was a 14 two years ago, a 10 3 years before that and has stuff in size 16, just in case.

I wouldn't hold that against anyone, personally.
    All that is is a sign that the person is trying to achieve a certain size/weight, but is really really struggling to reach and maintain it.

In a way, I've been there myself, I've been trying to lose weight for so long and have tried so many different approaches, if you looked back over the last 20 years of my life you'd find clothes of at least 6 different sizes. It ain't easy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Cynics can think all they like but there are many genuine cases of men who like large women and more than we think.
    Yep and I know two such guys. One in particular always went for big women just like your friend. Never had a girlfriend for long who wasn't large. Adele size and up. He actually lost interest in one of his exes when she lost a lot of weight. Now I take Xavi6's point, there are some men who go for what they see as the "easier"(not sexually) woman because of a confidence issue, but guys liking bigger women because they're bigger isn't rare at all. Just look at the interweb. Porn tells you far more about men's desires than fashion ever will and you get far more Big Beautiful Women(BBW) porn than skinny/anorexic porn, by some order of magnitude. It's so not my bag because I prefer slightly built women, but like I said I'd be unusual enough in this, certainly in Irish culture. I fit in far more with LE's Spanish vibe. Then again I'd be an oddball anyway, don't see the deal with big boobs, small ones are more juicy as far as I'm concerned(and stay in the same place over time gravity wise). IME Irish ladies are particularly well endowed on that score, when even slightly built women can be packing a dead heat in a zeppelin race. :)

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

IME Irish ladies are particularly well endowed on that score, when even slightly built women can be packing a dead heat in a zeppelin race. smile.png

I have actually no idea what that saying means:o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Shenshen wrote: »
    I wouldn't hold that against anyone, personally.
    All that is is a sign that the person is trying to achieve a certain size/weight, but is really really struggling to reach and maintain it.
    Oh true and fair play, but I have found personally that this struggle itself can be an obsessive one and can impact the relationship. The emotions can yoyo with the dress size. These days I prefer the quiet life as it were. I'm done with drama. I've had too much of it. TBH S I couldn't deal with a foodie person anyway big or small, nor they with me. My relationship to food is as fuel, little more so that's a lot of it I reckon.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    I have actually no idea what that saying means:o
    Think about it... :) Imagine two zeppelins, or hot air balloons if you prefer and what part of a ladies anatomy would a dead heat/tie in a race of them look like? :D

even slightly built women can be packing a dead heat in a zeppelin race. :)

Brilliant. True as well, I've seen many an Irish girl who look like they could topple over at any minute

Ok, are we talking about boobs or belly here :o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Naos

Dizzicizzi wrote: »
    ... maybe its the same for a guy who like chicks with small boobs, or girls with big teeth, or girls who wear glasses or whatever... Different strokes for different folks! My BF loves me and that is all I give a damn about lol.

The difference here is small boobs, big teeth, glasses etc - all those things are genetic.

Being fat is, for 99.99% of the population, a choice of laziness and laziness is not a trait which I am attracted to.

Great that your BF loves you :)

Ok, are we talking about boobs or belly here :o

Boobs!
    Bellies rarely look like zeppelins....

Naos wrote: »
    The difference here is small boobs, big teeth, glasses etc - all those things are genetic.

Being fat is, for 99.99% of the population, a choice of laziness and laziness is not a trait which I am attracted to.

Great that your BF loves you :)

It's not really quite that simple I'm afraid. I'm one of the least laziest people you'll ever meet. I never stop, I'm always on the go. I go to the gym at 6.30am twice a week and 7.30pm twice a week and work seriously hard while I'm there. I will always have a fat ass. One of my best friends is beautifully slim and is bone lazy, wouldn't work to warm herself. Another friend mine is what would be described as skinny - she's absolutely tiny (it suits her, she's gorgeous), she wouldn't be lazy, but she wouldn't ever go to a gym, or do any "exercise", she is full of nervous energy though so is naturally "skinny".

Now I know that's all anecdotal but the truth is that while there are absolutely a good chunk (no pun intended) of people who are overweight because they just won't do anything about it, your 99.99% figure is way off the mark IMO.

It is possible for everyone to be slim if they eat the right kind/right amount of food for their body, it's just that some people have to work a hell of a lot harder at keeping in shape than others just because of the hand nature dealt them.

Oh true and fair play, but I have found personally that this struggle itself can be an obsessive one and can impact the relationship. The emotions can yoyo with the dress size. These days I prefer the quiet life as it were. I'm done with drama. I've had too much of it. TBH S I couldn't deal with a foodie person anyway big or small, nor they with me. My relationship to food is as fuel, little more so that's a lot of it I reckon.

I know what you mean, there can be quite a lot of hysterics in such a process.

I find myself to be occasionally quite touchy about it myself, even though I try not to be - as I said, it ain't easy.

And I can understand perfectly why the idea of someone obsessive about anything (be it food or diet) can be quite off-putting. ;)

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Boobs!

Surely boobs haven't looked like zeppelins since the 1950s either?

Boobs!

I saw hot air balloon and immediately pictured an apple shaped lady, and I got very confused thinking how a slight person would also be apple shaped :o

It is possible for everyone to be slim if they eat the right kind/right amount of food for their body, it's just that some people have to work a hell of a lot harder at keeping in shape than others just because of the hand nature dealt them.

So you agree with me then?

No. I don't. Read the rest of my post.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Whoopsadaisydoodles, I totally agree with what you're saying. I have a healthy diet but tend to put weight on easily if I don't stay active to very active.
    There are some as you mention who do little or no excerise, have bad diets and manage to retain a "healthy" weight.
    There are many slim people who are lazy and it's not fair to equate laziness to someone who's overweight (I don't mean obese). Yes of course there are overweight people who are lazy but there are just as many slim lazy people.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Originally Posted by Deleted User viewpost.gif

I think if everybody ate well and kept active, they'd have the body that suits them, but it may not be slim and slender. :P

I doubt I'll ever get a slim six pack. I have this little bit of saggy belly that no amount of weight loss, or workouts get rid of. :o
    Think about it... smile.png Imagine two zeppelins, or hot air balloons if you prefer and what part of a ladies anatomy would a dead heat/tie in a race of them look like? biggrin.png

I have kind of noticed that as well. I'd never say it out loud in case someone called me a pervert though :P

No. I don't. Read the rest of my post.

I did read your post.

You are saying and correct me if I'm wrong - that it is possible for everyone to be slim if they eat the right food for their body. It's just that some people have to work harder.

How is that different to what I said? I never said it was easy or difficult.
    blacklilly wrote: »
    Whoopsadaisydoodles, I totally agree with what you're saying. I have a healthy diet but tend to put weight on easily if I don't stay active to very active.

So if you are lazy and don't do any exercise, you put on weight.
    There are many slim people who are lazy and it's not fair to equate laziness to someone who's overweight (I don't mean obese).

Why is it not fair? It's generally correct.
    Yes of course there are overweight people who are lazy but there are just as many slim lazy people.

True however, for me, someone who is slim is more aesthetically pleasing than someone who's fat.

For the record - I put on weight very easy. Although in saying that, when I have gotten fat it's when I ate crap food and didn't exercise.

I saw hot air balloon and immediately pictured an apple shaped lady, and I got very confused thinking how a slight person would also be apple shaped :o

This is a zeppelin
    http://silodrome.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/1929-Packard-and-the-Graf-Zeppelin.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I think what whoops is saying is that it's more to do with metabolism than it is exercise or genetics or any of the other fuzzy facts that are put about around the whole "fat because they want to be" way of thinking.

While I personally would be all for being proud of your body, being proud of being fat is something else entirely!

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I think what whoops is saying is that it's more to do with metabolism than it is exercise or genetics or any of the other fuzzy facts that are put about around the whole "fat because they want to be" way of thinking.

While I personally would be all for being proud of your body, being proud of being fat is something else entirely!

Saying it's due to metabolism is the same as saying it's due to genetics. Exercise and diet affects your metabolism. If you went back even 50 years ago would you see as many overweight and obese people? You certainly wouldn't

TBH, I'm not even trying to get into the metabolism/genetics debate because it never ends well.

The only point I was trying to make was that bigger does not mean lazier.

Like I said, I'm extremely unlazy - but have a fat ass (which I'm a lot happier about after reading this thread :P)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

So if you are lazy and don't do any exercise, you put on weight.

Why is it not fair? It's generally correct.

Yes but I was using it as a comparasion to some of my friends who do little or no excerise and have bad diets yet remain slim, I am rarely lazy and I excerise regulary. Just because someone is slim does not automatically mean they are healthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

In a modern western society where there is much more awareness of a healthy lifestyle, then of course you're going to notice it more when people stand out for being over (or under!) the average weight. But to back 50 years- the world wasn't as "small" as it is now thanks to the internet and the proliferation of the mass media and celebrity lifestyles in out daily lives, so people just weren't as aware of the benefits of a healthy lifestyle, and therefore people didn't care as much for a start when they knew somebody that was overweight, but that's not to say it wasn't as prevalent as it is now.

It's just nowadays- the issue is being put under the microscope, and we have discussions about obesity in children that wasn't an issue 50 years ago. I'm only 36 myself, but there were a good many, no, I won't say a good many, maybe four or five that were definitely overweight, another ten maybe that were "in danger of becoming" overweight (I personally hate the use of that phrase, in danger of anything, hysteria level defcon 5 type stuff), out of a class of 20 in primary school. These guys ten years later grew up to be strapping hooers that used lob square bales 20 foot into the air and they were WELL built! No pilates or atkins diets necessary, or what's the newest celebrity fad? Atkins was the low carbs, oh yeah, the Paleo diet (I read far too many women's magazines! :(), but what I'm saying is that nowadays, those lads would have been herded off to fat camps and put on nutritional supplements, etc, when there was no need of any of that stuff.

I know even from my own eight year old they do this food dudes program in school now and it's all about getting the children to focus on healthy eating etc, before they're even begun to develop into teenagers, let alone adults! It puts children under tremendous stress and pressure, far far more harmful in some cases than actually encouraging them, because the children then start noticing "who's looking a little curvy round the sides?". I know of two eleven year old boys who when the class goes swimming, they want to wear tee shirts, whereas the girls don't seem bothered at all! Why? Because the two lads are already body conscious whereas the girls who you would think would be more conscious, are actually there to enjoy swimming!

What I'm saying is that there are a number of factors involved, but instead of focussing on the person's physical size, focus more on their mental state, because that's where any real change has to come from. It's easy lose weight, but it's a lot harder to get the motivation to do so and keep the motivation going. So for some people the game isn't worth the candle as they don't have any motivation, but you teach them about respecting their bodies and not changing themselves to what they think other people find attractive, that goes a long way towards obesity prevention and self confidence than all the other factors and all the other methods of tackling the issue.

It's like I said- I like fat women, but if they don't like themselves, then I'll always encourage and support them in doing whatever they feel is necessary for them to feel good about themselves. Nine times out of ten they want to lose weight, and as much as I might personally think "but you're sexy as fcuk just the way you are!", what I think doesn't matter unfortunately! :D

Czarcasm wrote: »
    In a modern western society where there is much more awareness of a healthy lifestyle, then of course you're going to notice it more when people stand out for being over (or under!) the average weight. But to back 50 years- the world wasn't as "small" as it is now thanks to the internet and the proliferation of the mass media and celebrity lifestyles in out daily lives, so people just weren't as aware of the benefits of a healthy lifestyle, and therefore people didn't care as much for a start when they knew somebody that was overweight, but that's not to say it wasn't as prevalent as it is now.

It's just nowadays- the issue is being put under the microscope, and we have discussions about obesity in children that wasn't an issue 50 years ago. I'm only 36 myself, but there were a good many, no, I won't say a good many, maybe four or five that were definitely overweight, another ten maybe that were "in danger of becoming" overweight (I personally hate the use of that phrase, in danger of anything, hysteria level defcon 5 type stuff), out of a class of 20 in primary school. These guys ten years later grew up to be strapping hooers that used lob square bales 20 foot into the air and they were WELL built! No pilates or atkins diets necessary, or what's the newest celebrity fad? Atkins was the low carbs, oh yeah, the Paleo diet (I read far too many women's magazines! :(), but what I'm saying is that nowadays, those lads would have been herded off to fat camps and put on nutritional supplements, etc, when there was no need of any of that stuff.

I know even from my own eight year old they do this food dudes program in school now and it's all about getting the children to focus on healthy eating etc, before they're even begun to develop into teenagers, let alone adults! It puts children under tremendous stress and pressure, far far more harmful in some cases than actually encouraging them, because the children then start noticing "who's looking a little curvy round the sides?". I know of two eleven year old boys who when the class goes swimming, they want to wear tee shirts, whereas the girls don't seem bothered at all! Why? Because the two lads are already body conscious whereas the girls who you would think would be more conscious, are actually there to enjoy swimming!

What I'm saying is that there are a number of factors involved, but instead of focussing on the person's physical size, focus more on their mental state, because that's where any real change has to come from. It's easy lose weight, but it's a lot harder to get the motivation to do so and keep the motivation going. So for some people the game isn't worth the candle as they don't have any motivation, but you teach them about respecting their bodies and not changing themselves to what they think other people find attractive, that goes a long way towards obesity prevention and self confidence than all the other factors and all the other methods of tackling the issue.

It's like I said- I like fat women, but if they don't like themselves, then I'll always encourage and support them in doing whatever they feel is necessary for them to feel good about themselves. Nine times out of ten they want to lose weight, and as much as I might personally think "but you're sexy as fcuk just the way you are!", what I think doesn't matter unfortunately! :D

I couldn't really find any point in your long rambling post but are you disputing that obesity is much more prevalent now than 50 years ago?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭BlimpGaz

We'd ride it, but hide it.

/thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

BlimpGaz wrote: »
    We'd ride it, but hide it.

/thread.

another epic username and post combination

I couldn't really find any point in your long rambling post but are you disputing that obesity is much more prevalent now than 50 years ago?

Yes. Because there's been so much goalpost shifting going on and lack of any common understanding that depending on who you talk to, Rita Hayworth was either a cracker, or she was overweight-

http://fatfeministfitnessblog.blogspot.ie/2010/05/vintage-beauties-rita-hayworth.html

And here- NSFW but worth a read (I only look at the pictures :D) and a quick browse through the comments anyway to see what I mean about goalpost shifting and lack of any common understanding about what's fat, what's obese, and what's, well, morbidly obese!

http://www.cracked.com/funny-3113-fat-girls/