Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

What is the most politically correct thing you have heard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

kylith wrote: »
    Irish-African-American

Feck it, let's go with the Gaeilge and call them Daoine Gorm.

Yeah, blue people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

Being told the term "manic depression" was offensive?
    And I MUST use the term Bi-polar.
    I missed that memo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Nino Brown wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure Baa Baa Rainbow Sheep still tops it for me

For f*ck's sake.

Lies.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Political_correctness#False_accusations

emzolita wrote: »
    Yeah we had to say "Baa baa fluffy sheep" in the preschool I used to work in. and "blackboard" is unacceptable anymore too, as is "black bags". (i'm not messing)

For f*ck's sake.

Lies.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Political_correctness#False_accusations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Jezek

gramar wrote: »
    there goes midwife so....midperson? Human baby extractor?

Midwife means some who is with the woman. No reference to the gender. I suppose in the future when men can give birth then we might have to change it to midperson

This thread is full of misinformed pricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Jezek wrote: »
    Midwife means some who is with the woman. No reference to the gender. I suppose in the future when men can give birth then we might have to change it to midperson

You seem pretty sure about that! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Czarcasm wrote: »
    You'd be surprised... Actually, would you? I don't know. But certainly I've seen people being pulled up for similar, such as a manager in my previous employment who was cautioned by HR when a member of his team asked to go away five minutes before everyone was due to leave the office.

The manager said "Can you not wait five minutes like everybody else?"

The guy then came out with "Is it because I'm black?"

The manager replied, and this is why he was cautioned-

"I couldn't care less if you were purple with yellow spots, you can wait five minutes!"

Implied racism is worse than actual racism in my opinion as it detracts from the serious issue that actually IS racism.
    Yeh I'd say people in some workplaces have to walk on eggshells at times in terms of how they speak to people, which I agree is not a good thing (it's an issue in the UK public sector that pisses of minorities who are supposed to be protected by it). But if someone says man-hole or blackboard, it's not like they're making a comment directed at their workmate(s) (and only a nut-job would get offended by such terms) so I'd be hesitant to believe those stories are true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

kylith wrote: »
    The gollywogs were written out though, weren't they?

I can understand the upset over the gollywogs, but, well, my cousin had one as a child and I don't remember anything about it being representative of a race. I had a green doll with a dress, and my cousin had a black doll in stripy pants, that's all they were to us as children; dolls. They weren't supposed to be 'real' in any sense of the word, and the fact it was black never occurred to me that it could represent anything other than the colour of material they used. Maybe it's because I'd never seen a black person when I was little, but even if I had I can't see how a Golly could have influenced me negatively against them; nice doll, good smile, right size to hug, well dressed.

I actually have a gollywog.

Is that politically incorrect?

Is it politically incorrect to say that I have one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    This thread is full of misinformed pricks.

Probably best put it back in your pants then. There's no need to be waving your e-penis about here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Americans on Bus in Dublin - "I see the driver's African American".

I have to say it made me think racist thoughts about stupid Americans - I resisted the urge to remind them that this was Ireland.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

How Uranus now has to be called Ura-nus instead of Ur-anus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Gott

Womyn
    Cisgender
    Ableism
    Roadhole for manhole
    Renaming golliwogs
    Stopping selling golliwogs (it's a toy for f*ck's sake, when was the last time you saw a black person in candystripe pants?)
    Ethnonormative (brought up in a discussion about travellers)

In fact any of the above and many more, often with the portentious CHECK YOUR PRIVILEGE somewhere in the discussion.

Check your Boards privilege, non Tumblr scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

Being told the term "manic depression" was offensive?
    And I MUST use the term Bi-polar.
    I missed that memo.
    am guessing are a youngen then because pretty much every condition in the DSM diagnostic manual goes through name changes because with future awareness and education people realise how unsuitable the current name is and usualy find one better,its a lot easier to assume its about political correctness if are not the person who has to live with that label on themselves and their records.
    bi polar is curently a good and quick to the point name because bi means two and polar is refering to the polar opposites the mood goes between.
    heres another example of condition name change; ADHD has had multiple names including hyperkinetic disorder, minimal brain damage,ADHD and ADD, however its one of the next ones that will likely get a name change because it isnt about lacking attention thats the difficulty,its lacking a input filter,a executive dysfunction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

I couldn't believe it when I heard that an aide in the US was sacked when he used the word 'niggardly' when talking about a budget. Stupid Americans assumed he was using a racial slur.

In case any elevated equestrians get upset, niggardly is a word used to describe stingy or miserly. It has absolutely no connection with the word that black people often call themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Yeh I'd say people in some workplaces have to walk on eggshells at times in terms of how they speak to people, which I agree is not a good thing (it's an issue in the UK public sector that pisses of minorities who are supposed to be protected by it). But if someone says man-hole or blackboard, it's not like they're making a comment directed at their workmate(s) (and only a nut-job would get offended by such terms) so I'd be hesitant to believe those stories are true.

Yeah, as if. You hardly see the association of black police officers turn around and tell HR "hey guys, you've gone too far this time, we don't need this level of political correctness".

And it is usually found that the offended party is offended on behalf of the person supposedly insulted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Doberwoman instead of doberman for a bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

What's this womyn malarky...never heard of that before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Markcheese wrote: »
    Why do you think the word engineer came up they were guys who made engines ... (and drove trains)

the difference being someone who can design and build a device to apply the Otto cycle to extract mechanical work, and someone who can repair and maintain said device

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

the difference being someone who can design and build a device to apply the Otto cycle to extract mechanical work, and someone who can repair and maintain said device

Oh, so do you fix cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭questionmark?

The council in a small town in Radstock, Somerset last week voted against flying the St.Georges flag, in case the local Muslims got offended as the flag was associated with the crusades, hundreds of years ago!!!

The local Muslim community leaders came out and called it a silly decision and now the council have decided to fly it!!

They love PC bull**** in the UK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

The council in a small town in Radstock, Somerset last week voted against flying the St.Georges flag, in case the local Muslims got offended as the flag was associated with the crusades, hundreds of years ago!!!

The local Muslim community leaders came out and called it a silly decision and now the council have decided to fly it!!

They love PC bull**** in the UK!

****e like that is why people listen to retards like the EDL and BNP

Gosub wrote: »
    I couldn't believe it when I heard that an aide in the US was sacked when he used the word 'niggardly' when talking about a budget. Stupid Americans assumed he was using a racial slur.

In case any elevated equestrians get upset, niggardly is a word used to describe stingy or miserly. It has absolutely no connection with the word that black people often call themselves.

I can't believe it either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

I was talking to a friend of a friend today and she said history should be re-named "theirstory" because history is a sexist word. I thought I was getting trolled. Turned out she was dead serious.

Beat this woman with a stick.

History comes from the French L'Histoire.

Its got nothing to do with 'his' or 'story'.

JD DABA wrote: »
    Beat this woman with a stick.

History comes from the French L'Histoire.

Its got nothing to do with 'his' or 'story'.

actually comes from the Greek...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I call shenanigans on a lot of these, they're definitely verging into urban myth territory. Who in blazes doesn't call a blackboard a blackboard? At the very least, hearsay and isolated instances are being conflated with large-scale policies.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Don't forget cisgender. Like wtf is wrong with the word normal?!

It implies that someone who is transgender is abnormal. I don't really see a problem with the term "cisgender." It's mainly used when it's necessary to specify that a person isn't transgender. It's like the word "straight." Normally you don't describe someone as straight because it's taken for granted, but sometimes you need to specify that, for example, one person is straight and another is gay. It's the same with "cisgender." Even if it were commonly-used (and how often does the average person come across the term?), I don't see why anyone would get annoyed about it.

tritium wrote: »
    I once worked for an American company where there was a story of two Cork lads on assignment in the US getting into hassle for a conversation that went something along the lines of "hows it going boy! What's the craic?".

HR folks of spectacularly low intelligence immediately assumed boy=racist southern term for a black man and craic = crack cocaine :(

Why would you expect Americans living in America to know Cork slang, and not assume that the words were being used with the common meanings that they have in America?

actually comes from the Greek...

So its just a co-incidence that English is based on French and German rather than Greek and L'Histoire is a French word.

JD DABA wrote: »
    So its just a co-incidence that English is based on French and German rather than Greek and L'Histoire is a French word.

??????? I don't understand what you're asking me. There are loads of etymology dictionaries online, just visit one and read up on it.

You can't even say N**ga these days.

??????? I don't understand what you're asking me. There are loads of etymology dictionaries online, just visit one and read up on it.

Which exact word preceded 'history' ...was it derived from a French word ?
    Were the northern Europeans who crossed over the English channel speaking French or Greek.