Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,842 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

It's only the 1.2 in it.

Which has 1/3rd less power than the 875cc! Definitely 65bhp is not going to produce the performance you expect from a nippy supermini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Marcusm wrote: »
    Refer her to the Residential Tenancies Act 2004, ask her for a copy of the PRTB registration (although you should have received this directly if she registered). You've been there longer than 6 months so she can 0only ask you to leave for specified reasons (to sell, to occupy the house herself, to refurbish). Rent can only be reassessed once every 12 months and the level of occupancy is irrelevant unless you have a discount to market rent for low occupancy. A 5 bed house could easily have up to 10 bedspaces so occupation by 3 people is not an issue. Maintenance of grounds is likely to be your responsibility (cutting grass etc) but ditch cutting sounds like outside norm.
    PRTB registration specifically states the names and amount of tenants.. if anything this would make it clear the bounds of the rental agreement and all of the parties involved, to which his unemployed mate most certainly isnt a member.

PRTB registration is also far less than the EUR100 she wanted for rent increase, so thats not much of a threat even if it did work out in his favour temporarily, which I dont think it does.
    The tenant is responsible for the damage irrespective of who caused it so I can't see how that comes into it. If you rent a 5 bed house to 2 people for the same rent as you would have let it to a largish family, I can't see how any complaint can be raised over them allowing a friend (whether employed or not) to reside with them. IF you have reduced the rent to ensure an underused house, I can understand your point. Otherwise, I have to respectfully disagree.
    And there is the rub, "the tenant is responsible" is a virtually unenforcable clause. Even if they were responsible, nothing stops them fking off.. sure I get to keep their deposit but thats not much good if this completely random stranger wrecked something..

The complaint over a undeclared person I dont know (or even seen/met) living in the house I own should be pretty obvious.. I mean why even interview prospective tenants then, just hire a good looking chugger from Henrys St. to pop down, sign the agreement then bring in all the riff-raff you want. Im not talking about a boy/girl friend staying over, in this specific example its a stranger, living there semi permanently which no fiscal means to cover their living costs or damage costs. I have seen this break down first hand. I now rent to people I feel I can trust, which you make a judgement on after meeting them.

Being a Landlord is absolutely nothing like being an educated and well meaning tenant makes you think. I was a super tenant but I was shocked, repeatedly on how the vast majority of tenants treat houses when I was on the otherside of the fence. All the logic in the world doesnt help you as a Landlord as the tenants are so very well protected legally. You remind me of me and I know you will not at all like being a Landlord, I dont recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Matt Simis wrote: »
    In fairness while I wouldnt ask/demand my tenants cut hedges and "ditches" I do ask them to pay more rent if they change the number of people renting above what we agreed.
    When I accept a tenant group, I make an assessment on the rate of wear and tear on the property. More people totally changes that assessment.

As a tenant you are meant to let the Landlord know if you are moving someone else in. I always make this clear and Ive been a tenant too (and will be again soon!) and its always been made clear to me.

As a Landlord, I would be quite annoyed if I had to "find out" my tenants invited their unemployed friend to live in the house I rent them! He didnt even pay a deposit to cover damages he may cause and I have been in the situation where tenants that were/are "good friends" play the blame game when it comes to who is loosing their deposit as someone vomited behind the radiator..

He did not moved in. He stayed 3 days last week and 1 day this week. He is not permenant tenant. The same week he came I told Landlord about the situation. That he stayes with us for 2 months at some days of the week. He never stays here on friday, saturday, sunday. He has his own home. I told here what course he is doing and where. Landlady herself knew about these courses in area too.
    I was not hiding my friend or hiding the feck he stays with me. Why on earth I should pay extra for someone like this? I know people who get their parents move in from polan or lithuania and stay with them full time to mind children etc and not a single landlord or owner of the house got their tits in a twist.
    Whats next? Maybe she will tell me where to I **** my Misses and where I cant?

He did not moved in. He stayed 3 days last week and 1 day this week. He is not permenant tenant. The same week he came I told Landlord about the situation. That he stayes with us for 2 months at some days of the week. He never stays here on friday, saturday, sunday. He has his own home. I told here what course he is doing and where. Landlady herself knew about these courses in area too.
    I was not hiding my friend or hiding the feck he stays with me. Why on earth I should pay extra for someone like this?
    Two things:
    You said this: "So to cut down on driving 100km trip each day he asked to move in for next 2months 1-4 days per week. "
    Thats semi-permanent residence, thats what Im responding to, not the 3days you have just rephrased it as.

Also, " Why on earth I should pay extra for someone like this"
    I dont at all suggest you pay extra, I suggest your friend pays something extra.. I think EUR100 extra is way too much from the Landlord's side, but EUR30-50 per month, from his pocket, not yours isnt. Paying something to live somewhere shouldnt surprise anyone (houses arent free, maintenence isnt free, cleanup of tenants aftermath isnt free.. question why you think anyone should expect a free ride?) and it grounds this in reality, not some "free gaff" he can squat in with no consequences then move on. Remember you may know and trust your friend (or not?) but the landlord doesnt know them from Adam.

If it was your house, no-one would be questioning you letting people live there for free, thats your business. This is someone elses business.

I know people who get their parents move in from polan or lithuania and stay with them full time to mind children etc and not a single landlord or owner of the house got their tits in a twist.
    No comment. :D

PRTB registration specifically states the names and amount of tenants.. if anything this would make it clear the bounds of the rental agreement and all of the parties involved, to which his unemployed mate most certainly isnt a member.

PRTB registration is also far less than the EUR100 she wanted for rent increase, so thats not much of a threat even if it did work out in his favour temporarily, which I dont think it does.
    And there is the rub, "the tenant is responsible" is a virtually unenforcable clause. Even if they were responsible, nothing stops them fking off.. sure I get to keep their deposit but thats not much good if this completely random stranger wrecked something..

The complaint over a undeclared person I dont know (or even seen/met) living in the house I own should be pretty obvious.. I mean why even interview prospective tenants then, just hire a good looking chugger from Henrys St. to pop down, sign the agreement then bring in all the riff-raff you want. Im not talking about a boy/girl friend staying over, in this specific example its a stranger, living there semi permanently which no fiscal means to cover their living costs or damage costs. I have seen this break down first hand. I now rent to people I feel I can trust, which you make a judgement on after meeting them.

Being a Landlord is absolutely nothing like being an educated and well meaning tenant makes you think. I was a super tenant but I was shocked, repeatedly on how the vast majority of tenants treat houses when I was on the otherside of the fence. All the logic in the world doesnt help you as a Landlord as the tenants are so very well protected legally. You remind me of me and I know you will not at all like being a Landlord, I dont recommend it.

So if you would have a good tenants for almost 3 years, which never gave you any trouble, kept house in good condition, no issues what so ever. You would even have your doughter live next to rented property so she sees every day what happens in the house. Get rent payed every month, never ever late. In most cases payed in advance. Then add the way I introduced my friend staying few nights per week. And for the sake of 100eu you would go with all that bull**** and lose good tenants?! :confused::confused::confused:

I agree that it names the tenants but not their invitees - even with married couples it's quite usual for only one person to be named; children (of what ever age) would rarely be named. The fine for non registration with PRTB is about €2k IIRC. THey are a useless watchdog for tenants and landlords but complaints get dealt with eventually even if the landlord/tenant relationship has broken down or ended by that stage.

THere is no new tenant here and it would be unusual for a landlord to interview the adult children of a tenant even though the potential for damage lies there as well. The interview demonstrates the position of the tenant, you kinda hope that even if they allow others to stay (temporarily) that they will try and circumscribe their behavious - they are financially responsible for it eventually. Regular inspections are another key aspect of ensuring that large damage does not build up (bad tenants) as opposed to occur on a single event (not necessarily bad tenants.

Ireland has quite strong pro tenant laws as regards tenure which can be both good and bad. It stems from an inherent hatred of landlords.

FYI, I am a landlord both in Ireland and the UK and a tenant in Ireland; I've seen it from both sides. I'm in t he process of buying 9 tenanted units at the moment. I'm not fazed or put off.

If it was your house, no-one would be questioning you letting people live there for free, thats your business. This is someone elses business.

And this is the point at which I think many landlord/tenant disagreements lie. It is his house for the period of his tenancy, he has been granted exclusive enjoyment of it, i.e. to the exclusion of all others most particularly the landlord. If the house is being used for its intended purposes, i.e. not overcrowded, not being used for a hairdressers or creche, not being damaged, landlords (which includes) me have to understand that the point of the tenancy agreement is that they have surrendered their control over the house for that period. This is a perfect example of that.

I doubt that his friend staying 1-3 nights per week over a 2 month period will contribute in any significant way to abnormal use of excessive wear and tear. 10 people staying for a week might do that but not the level of occupancy which is being proposed.

We should prob take this over to Accom & Prop and I'll suspend responding now.

And this is the point at which I think many landlord/tenant disagreements lie. It is his house for the period of his tenancy, he has been granted exclusive enjoyment of it, i.e. to the exclusion of all others most particularly the landlord.
    Legally I dont in anyway disagree.. infact Im an advocate for this viewpoint in frequent arguments with others who think its like a Hotel guest relationship. But Im also trying to be pragmatic, "Legalities" are simply words on a page.. the Landlord has to deal with the aftermath and indeed continuous usage/wear and tear on the property, this is a reality. I have Collection Agents, Loan Advisors and Solicitor's Letters stacked to the ceiling chasing old tenants (from other parties, not from me).. there is absolutely zero penalty or enforcement in this country for not paying debts or damaging property, especially if they arent "grounded here" (ie not Irish, most collectors just give up after 3mths).

Legalities I find are more for arguments on the internet, in the real world, $hit happens.
    Ireland has quite strong pro tenant laws as regards tenure which can be both good and bad. It stems from an inherent hatred of landlords.
    FYI, I am a landlord both in Ireland and the UK and a tenant in Ireland; I've seen it from both sides. I'm in t he process of buying 9 tenanted units at the moment. I'm not fazed or put off.
    Perhaps I have had an unusually bad run over the last 6years then, but I will stand by a simple "I need to know who lives in the house" rule. Its not intrusive or difficult to abide by and as I said, was what I was always told as a tenant.
    EUR1000 for 4 people, then accepting the risk of a 5th stranger for a new rate of EUR1050 has never been an issue for my tenants, though in that specific example I was burned worse (as you only have 4/5 deposits and things get nasty when people loose money as the Landlord accepted this additional risk). Suddenly its the LandLords problem and "oh he isnt my friend really so nothing to do with my deposit" and "why did you allow him live here".

So if you would have a good tenants for almost 3 years, which never gave you any trouble, kept house in good condition, no issues what so ever. You would even have your doughter live next to rented property so she sees every day what happens in the house. Get rent payed every month, never ever late. In most cases payed in advance. Then add the way I introduced my friend staying few nights per week. And for the sake of 100eu you would go with all that bull**** and lose good tenants?! :confused::confused::confused:
    Come on now, I dont know anything personal or specific about you or your relationship with your landlord. I cant comment on any of that. You posted here and I could see the majority of replies would predictably be "oh that mean landlord, they are all bastards" all agreeing but not really adding any value (as that's your viewpoint already).

I'm just giving you an alternate viewpoint, not a specific assessment of your issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Just getting a tad off topic there lads!

And this is the point at which I think many landlord/tenant disagreements lie. It is his house for the period of his tenancy, he has been granted exclusive enjoyment of it, i.e. to the exclusion of all others most particularly the landlord. If the house is being used for its intended purposes, i.e. not overcrowded, not being used for a hairdressers or creche, not being damaged, landlords (which includes) me have to understand that the point of the tenancy agreement is that they have surrendered their control over the house for that period. This is a perfect example of that.

I doubt that his friend staying 1-3 nights per week over a 2 month period will contribute in any significant way to abnormal use of excessive wear and tear. 10 people staying for a week might do that but not the level of occupancy which is being proposed.

We should prob take this over to Accom & Prop and I'll suspend responding now.

I presume that in 3 years that I did not Leveled the house with ground, would give a hint, that my friends are not really social welfare Dutch gold club members. :rolleyes: He has a wife, 2 kids a mortgage. He actually is doing course to get back in to the job and get back on the track. Its not his plan to live somewhere, get social welfare and drink bear.

Perhaps I have had an unusually bad run over the last 6years then, but I will stand by a simple "I need to know who lives in the house" rule. Its not intrusive or difficult to abide by and as I said, was what I was always told as a tenant.
    EUR1000 for 4 people, then accepting the risk of a 5th stranger for a new rate of EUR1050 has never been an issue for my tenants, though in that specific example I was burned worse (as you only have 4/5 deposits and things get nasty when people loose money as the Landlord accepted this additional risk). Suddenly its the LandLords problem and "oh he isnt my friend really so nothing to do with my deposit" and "why did you allow him live here".

Come on now, I dont know anything personal or specific about you or your relationship with your landlord. I cant comment on any of that. You posted here and I could see the majority of replies would predictably be "oh that mean landlord, they are all bastards" all agreeing but not really adding any value (as that's your viewpoint already).

I'm just giving you an alternate viewpoint, not a specific assessment of your issue.

I did not said that it is a landlord who is playing a micky. In fact, Landlady is on my side 100% and she even warned the owner of the house that it is a bad and stupid idea, which will flip me. In my experience I had Briliant business with landlords. I even bought a bottle of Henessy to my old landlord when I left.
    Problem is the owner of the house.

Fixed: SH's Landlord took his spoiler as deposit, he gets it back in 3years.
    _DSC1737.jpg
    I did not said that it is a landlord who is playing a micky. In fact, Landlady is on my side 100% and she even warned the owner of the house that it is a bad and stupid idea, which will flip me. In my experience I had Briliant business with landlords. I even bought a bottle of Henessy to my old landlord when I left.
    Problem is the owner of the house.
    Landlord is the owner of the house:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Landlord

Sorry m8. wraping it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

166man ...... clear some inbox space there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Can we just say "bugger off Bolivia boy" or are you taking the Ban Hammer with you for the summer?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

pred racer wrote: »
    Can we just say "bugger off Bolivia boy" or are you taking the Ban Hammer with you for the summer?:pac:

Gonna swing it around a bit before I go! So watch yourself:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Done and done! Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

166man, you seem to get a hell of a lot of PMs...I wonder why :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭notGill

166man wrote: »
    Also had the most epic moment coming home from Wicklow this evening. Just passing Delgany heading Northbound and passing the slip road I notice a red convertible coming down it behind a truck. Turns out it was a UK reg Ferarri F430 Convertible.

There has been a UK reg Ferrari California in Wicklow town for the past few days, some sound out of it! An aul lad (who looks slightly Italian) driving it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

The awkward moment when a sofim 2.8 falls over and stops just centimeters from breaking my leg.... :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Had some fun today driving me and my parents are down in new Ross alot. And there is 2 ways of going from our house. My dad recons one way is the best. My mother and me think another way was faster. So I was in new Ross today with the focus my dad was driving the octavia with my mother. He went left to go home this evening I went right.

Immediate race home :D I knew I couldn't lose or I would never hear the end of it how his way was faster. Well I never drove the focus as hard bet him home by about a minute I was sitting in the drive when he turned in :D I don't often make new Ross to Kilkenny in 20 minutes :eek: still nice to have abit of fun with the focus for once rather than it causing trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

166man, you seem to get a hell of a lot of PMs...I wonder why :D

New alfa parts? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

You do know you could leave him a visitor message...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

But then we would know their plans of world domination.

Could be a private or personal message..... Like writing std results on a visitor message board isn't a great idea :pac:

Jaypers, I'd better get off me arse and do some motor related stuff here......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

But then we would know their plans of world domination.

funny-pictures-north-koreas-secret-weapon-325x205.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

How would you clean a rooflines that's stained black from a smoker?

Answers on a postcard please

ba_barabus wrote: »
    How would you clean a rooflines that's stained black from a smoker?

Answers on a postcard please

Donate the effluent to your local council for pothole repair :p

Seriously, take it out and throw it in a big fire. Get another one for your own health

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

dgt wrote: »
    Donate the effluent to your local council for pothole repair :p

Seriously, take it out and throw it in a big fire. Get another one for your own health

I'd nearly prefer and trying to save it. I've never swapped one before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Fabreeze the shoite out of it, and spray it black. (oh but you've to take er ouww).