Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Gavman84 wrote: »
    I've decided on my next car! 2009 Honda Accord type s petrol going to put deposit on in morning.

Nice my last car was an 06 Type S, still miss it sometimes. Nice car to drive and still a great looking car imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

It's the last generation model but I've always like those and esp in type s form. What ye think is a fair price? From garage with 12mth warranty. I'm trading in focus too 2003 tdci 139k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Nice my last car was an 06 Type S, still miss it sometimes. Nice car to drive and still a great looking car imo.

Aaaahhh will ya ever fvck off :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Considering there was plenty of brown envelopes going around within NCT centres, the last thing it needs is being ran by local garages!

If that's the case then all the doe's centres must be full of brown envelopes.
    But there's no evidence of that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

YbFocus wrote: »

Have you got your dress picked out:pac:

pred racer wrote: »
    Have you got your dress picked out:pac:

Ha ha ha very good :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Lads does anyone have a filter remover or a pipe wrench they could lend me for 5 minutes? oil filters stuck on the car and I've no way of getting it off

Anyone whos near me of course :)

Lads does anyone have a filter remover or a pipe wrench they could lend me for 5 minutes? oil filters stuck on the car and I've no way of getting it off

Anyone whos near me of course :)

If there is no other way of getting it off, drove a screwdriver through it and turn it then.

Another helpful tip from Peter's rough out tips :)

I have one by the way but it's a hure of a trek!

If there is no other way of getting it off, drove a screwdriver through it and turn it then.

Another helpful tip from Peter's rough out tips :)

I have one by the way but it's a hure of a trek!

Currently on the process! dgt also recommended this so two of the one top can't be bad!

Oh it'll work alright just not the 'way' it should be done :)

Well, it didn't work for me! :( its stuck even more now :rolleyes: and I'm turning it the right way before anyone says it :P

I'll run up with my filter wrench If nothing else is available

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Where are ya? I'm in the garage with tools about to finish up

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Where are ya? I'm in the garage with tools about to finish up
    I'll run up with my filter wrench If nothing else is available

Crisis averted lads :) thanks all the same though! :)

The offending hoor

9lltf6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Crisis averted lads :) thanks all the same though! :)

The offending hoor

9lltf6.jpg

Skrew drivered?

Unfortunately :o It was the only way it came off, may invest in a filter remover

Anyone know if it's possible to get rid of an airbag warning light on a 2007 BMW 3 series without bringing it to a dealer? I've gone through the menus, disconnected the battery but nothing worked and from what I can see online, at least in the US, the only way to do it is with software or by a dealership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Anyone know if it's possible to get rid of an airbag warning light on a 2007 BMW 3 series without bringing it to a dealer? I've gone through the menus, disconnected the battery but nothing worked and from what I can see online, at least in the US, the only way to do it is with software or by a dealership.

Scrap it, its fooked!

My thoughts exactly :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,377 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Do you want it to be fixed or by-passed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

When you pulled out the seats and put them back in did you plug everything back in?
    I'm going to guess you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

ask on bmwdrivers, someone near you will be able, if not theres a guy with bmw dealer standard software 5mins from me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Any decent indy dealer should be able to do it a lot cheaper than BMW. In fact if you're already a good customer he would probably do it gratis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Ill try clearing it with thr OBD II function on VCDS tomorrow if you like?

joujoujou wrote: »
    Do you want it to be fixed or by-passed?

There is no problem per sé. I removed the seats today and when I had everything back in and connected up, I started the car and this appeared.
    Scortho wrote: »
    When you pulled out the seats and put them back in did you plug everything back in?
    I'm going to guess you did.

You guessed correct :D
    ask on bmwdrivers, someone near you will be able, if not theres a guy with bmw dealer standard software 5mins from me

Would he let you bring it tomorrow? :pac:
    Big Nasty wrote: »
    Any decent indy dealer should be able to do it a lot cheaper than BMW. In fact if you're already a good customer he would probably do it gratis.

Yeah but that means waiting until Monday or Tuesday :D
    tossy wrote: »
    Ill try clearing it with thr OBD II function on VCDS tomorrow if you like?

Would it be possible do you think? Usually software doesn't work between certain cars by the same manufacturer, let alone different ones.

Talk about crap being in shops early for christmas, my car has decided to put up its tree already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Is this the start of you worming your way out of tomorrow?

Fook no! You're one to talk :P

I've never dropped out of a meet before so whisht yar muttering!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Fook no! You're one to talk :P

I've never dropped out of a meet before so whisht yar muttering!!

He must just be trying to live up to his name by being funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭thecomedian

He must just be trying to live up to his name by being funny

I must really change my username... Oh wait , thats your job