Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Bpmull wrote: »
    I dont know whether this any help or not. But my focus stops working when it drops much below 1/4 of tank. It works one 100% but when the diesel level get low it will be hard to start and will cut out. But then the focus has no lift pumps or manual primer. So effectively if it cuts out your fcuked. I can't understand why ford didn't put in a manual primer. My mechanic can't understand why my one is like this my best guess is cracked fuel sender so when level gets low it just sucks on air in the tank. But I have nearly 20k km on mine and once it's kept topped up with diesel it has no problem what so ever.
    That does sound exactly what the issue is, it's only occured when fuel is low and seems like an air locked. I have a tank pump sourced and it's very easy to change (sump like plug on botton of fuel tank, drain it, swap pump, fill it up again) so might just tell the dealer to go **** himself as he'll see the car, then order it - be waiting ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

advertsfox wrote: »
    That does sound exactly what the issue is, it's only occured when fuel is low and seems like an air locked. I have a tank pump sourced and it's very easy to change (sump like plug on botton of fuel tank, drain it, swap pump, fill it up again) so might just tell the dealer to go **** himself as he'll see the car, then order it - be waiting ages.

If its reasonably straightforward to do you might be as well of to do it yourself and see if it sorts the problem. Just keep it topped up with diesel for the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭power pants

cabb8ge wrote: »
    I miss his posts now that you mention him. I lurk a lot on here poost seldom, not strong at type in English.

Others I miss too but there names/IDs not in my mind.
    Last few months less knowledge here I think.

yes more google experts and fanboys -not that there is anything wrong with these either mind you, just miss the more mechanical minded forummer. Having said that there are still a few that give really good info too on here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

yes more google experts and fanboys -.;.;;;;;

Good way to explain :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Dude be weary of how easy it seems, psa seem to make the access hole too small for the ring to fit through (feck off you dirty minded lot :p). Having worked on a few different 406's each have different ways to keep the sender/lift pump in the tank. Same with the Xantia and 106, both smaller than the ring.

The new ring I got for my car was also about 2mm smaller in diameter (broke out the vernier callipers) than where it was screwing into the tank making it absolutely hateful to put back on. Sure see my post on the other thread from the other day, I decided it was best to drop the tank and put it in that way.

Also that Texaco is it across from Dalgan Park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

dgt wrote: »
    Dude be weary of how easy it seems, psa seem to make the access hole too small for the ring to fit through (feck off you dirty minded lot :p). Having worked on a few different 406's each have different ways to keep the sender/lift pump in the tank. Same with the Xantia and 106, both smaller than the ring.

The new ring I got for my car was also about 2mm smaller in diameter (broke out the vernier callipers) than where it was screwing into the tank making it absolutely hateful to put back on. Sure see my post on the other thread from the other day, I decided it was best to drop the tank and put it in that way.

Also that Texaco is it across from Dalgan Park?
    Duuuurrty! Good info dude, I won't be doing it myself (unless it involves a keyboard, I'm pretty fooked :P ) but I'll let my mechanic know for sure. Also seems to be a common problem with the C5's / 407's.

Tis this Texaco on the Old Ashbourne Road / Coolquay, always do really good rates :)

Duuuurrty! Good info dude, I won't be doing it myself (unless it involves a keyboard, I'm pretty fooked :P ) but I'll let my mechanic know for sure. Also seems to be a common problem with the C5's / 407's.

Tis this Texaco on the Old Ashbourne Road / Coolquay, always do really good rates :)

What I think happens is they get clogged up with crap (see the first time I cleaned the sender it was destroyed with lint and sand :eek:) so that would lead to the pumps demise. Washed diesel would kill it faster due to the cleaning process..... I won't talk about that ;)

Manys a time I got petril for mh van there :)

Just after seeing rizzie's new motor there on the old Dublin road, looking shweet lad! Don't know if you saw me though I was heading the other way :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Scortho wrote: »
    I saw your pic and thought what the ****, toastedpickles is getting a panda! :pac:

Best of luck with the search. Theyre a really underrated car, like anything italian

Wait what?? Am I??:confused:

I've never been so poor and so busy at the same time :pac: A free car could do wonders now :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Wait what?? Am I??:confused:

I've never been so poor and so busy at the same time :pac: A free car could do wonders now :P

you and fuzzydunlop have the same avatar.
    So when I saw the avatar I was like why the feck is toastedpickles getting a panda:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

you and fuzzydunlop have the same avatar.
    So when I saw the avatar I was like why the feck is toastedpickles getting a panda:)

Nothin wrong with a panda! There's a nice 1.3 diesel one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ughhh, 1.3 and diesel in the same sentence.

Hal1 wrote: »
    Ughhh, 1.3 and diesel in the same sentence.

Hahah only one thing could make that sentence better (apart from cummins engine swap of course) and that is 1.3 diesel with the fuel pump turned well up.

Can you get insurance cover in the north and drive in the south or would that mean needing a uk licence?

Nothin wrong with a panda! There's a nice 1.3 diesel one!

I love pandas. I was just wondering why the hell he never mentioned it.
    Then I realised it wasnt toastedpickles at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I love pandas. I was just wondering why the hell he never mentioned it.
    Then I realised it wasnt toastedpickles at all.

Nah pandas aren't my cup o tay, they look nice and all, but not for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I'm coming to the conclusion that the shortage of new cars sold over the past few years has had a massive effect on used cars prices.

Anything from 2004-2007 that's sub 2.0l D hasn't depreciated in about 2 years or has increased in value, any sub 1.6l petrols that are clean have increased in value too or at worst not depreciated if they are a sought after brand, Toyota, VAG etc.

Anything 2008-2011 hasn't depreciated that much if it's a diesel and if it's a petrol the values have stabilized whereby they aren't getting cheaper over the past 12 months.

Anything 2012- present represents good value..........if you have the cash.

Oh and once diesels pass 5 years old they all magically come with 100k miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Focus passed doe/ cvrt :D
    Very different set up in the test centres now I was there for an hour and me and one other lad passed everyone else failed :eek: 6 or 7 people. I'd hate to work in the reception everyone giving out between price increase and the fact they were failing. I seen one lad with a transit debate that he shouldn't have failed over a tyre with a have bulge in it. Anyway I get a cert in the post to put in the window and got a print out of all the stuff tested all figures were well within the limits.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Focus passed doe/ cvrt :D
    Very different set up in the test centres now I was there for an hour and me and one other lad passed everyone else failed :eek: 6 or 7 people. I'd hate to work in the reception everyone giving out between price increase and the fact they were failing. I seen one lad with a transit debate that he shouldn't have failed over a tyre with a have bulge in it. Anyway I get a cert in the post to put in the window and got a print out of all the stuff tested all figures were well within the limits.

Great to hear lad.
    Surely the NCT should be done in a similar fashion?
    As in not contracted out to a single entity like it currently is but ran through local garages!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Great to hear lad.
    Surely the NCT should be done in a similar fashion?
    As in not contracted out to a single entity like it currently is but ran through local garages!

Considering there was plenty of brown envelopes going around within NCT centres, the last thing it needs is being ran by local garages!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

God no. I prefer it the way it is even if it has it's problems.

Can you get insurance cover in the north and drive in the south or would that mean needing a uk licence?

I got a reply from Chris Knott insurance as they are in the north now.
    Southern Ireland? That's foreign :confused::). I'm afraid that's a different kettle of fish and we wouldn't be able to help you. Something to do with the Government deciding whether a vehicle is a write-off and not the insurer, I believe.

How to fcuk is it the governments business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

I don't normally post here but figured no point in starting a thread here on something I'm sure that has been done to death.

The car was clamped on Wednesday night costing me 120 euro to remove and I'm thinking of appealing it. It's one of them private clamping companies RFC car park management is there any point in me appealing or would it be like pissing against the wind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

meet an ejit today, I was about to make a right turn at a T junction and this guy in a white van was coming from my right, he had his indicator on to turn left onto the road I was on and was moving very fast, I just got one of those feelings so didnt pull out infront of him. Sure enough his indicator went off when he got closer to the corner, then when he is just at the turn he puts his indicator back on but drives straight, what a plank, if I was in a hurry I might have seen his indicator come on and just start my turn.

I'd say you'd have wet trousers alright. The was a thread on here about a guy clamped by private company. It was nail biting stuff altogether. I think the poster was GaryITR? Someone knows the one I'm on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I don't normally post here but figured no point in starting a thread here on something I'm sure that has been done to death.

The car was clamped on Wednesday night costing me 120 euro to remove and I'm thinking of appealing it. It's one of them private clamping companies RFC car park management is there any point in me appealing or would it be like pissing against the wind?

People have gotten their money back, but not many! If you are 1000% in the right (ie you wont get anything if your pass slipped down or had the wrong reg etc) other than that just move on.
    meet an ejit today, I was about to make a right turn at a T junction and this guy in a white van was coming from my right, he had his indicator on to turn left onto the road I was on and was moving very fast, I just got one of those feelings so didnt pull out infront of him. Sure enough his indicator went off when he got closer to the corner, then when he is just at the turn he puts his indicator back on but drives straight, what a plank, if I was in a hurry I might have seen his indicator come on and just start my turn.

I never trust peoples indicators at junctions, too many scares.

Isnt it amazing how many incidents are avoided by "one of those feelings"

I'd say you'd have wet trousers alright. The was a thread on here about a guy clamped by private company. It was nail biting stuff altogether. I think the poster was GaryITR? Someone knows the one I'm on about.

Yeh that what I was thinking can't see them handing back money no matter what :mad:, was hoping someone could disprove my thought and say go for it.

Two days later and still fuming over it.

pred racer wrote: »
    People have gotten their money back, but not many! If you are 1000% in the right (ie you wont get anything if your pass slipped down or had the wrong reg etc) other than that just move on.

I never trust peoples indicators at junctions, too many scares.

Isnt it amazing how many incidents are avoided by "one of those feelings"

Nah I have nothing like that, parked up had no change went and got some came back to pay and you're man was still there having just put the clamp on and refused to remove it even bragging how he had just had murder with the Gards because he clamped them and refused to remove it till they paid.

Someone told me legally you have 15 minutes before there allowed clamp or something along them lines but with nothing to prove it really it will be pointless.

Cheers for the responses though.

On indicators to some people in this country there a never used item and to others it gives them license to do as they please. Had one bloke in van do an illegal U turn right in front of me the other week I had to jam on to stop myself going into the side of him, he response was sure did ya not see me indicator it's all your fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

I've decided on my next car! 2009 Honda Accord type s petrol going to put deposit on in morning.

Should get a good deal off it since it is a post '08 petrol tbh

Not driven the newer models but I always liked the accords tbh. The da has an '00 model since '03 and put up 215k miles with no major issues.