Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buried without coffin

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

they can launch me off the cliffs of Moher via slingshot

• Registered Users Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

how many "bags for life" do you think it would take to cover me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Same here. And being thrown into the big oven without a coffin saves energy as well, I assume ;)

at the very least it will mean his new shiny pencil is made out of me and not some random coffin ashes....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,046 ✭✭✭Pique

This will do for the wake !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

But I had my eye on a really nice figure-hugging coffin :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

krudler wrote: »
    they can launch me off the cliffs of Moher via slingshot

there will be no shortage of volunteers to do it as well id say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

But I had my eye on a really nice figure-hugging coffin :(

now you can have a figure hugging penny's blanket... :pac:

or sexy underwear the possibilities are limitless

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

efb wrote: »
    Fat Tony said to be delighted. And Sinn Fein

Like it ever stopped any of them before.

Tiocfaidh ar coffin !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

What the hell is Defiler of The Coffin gonna do with himself?

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

crazygeryy wrote: »
    there will be no shortage of volunteers to do it as well id say.

I'd be sorely disappointed if I die without being on someone's enemies list

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

The only (and cheapest) way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭dodzy

hoodwinked wrote: »
    This shower were well ahead of the game, it would seem.

• Registered Users Posts: 447 ✭✭delricyo

Afaik the coffin isn't burned with the body, the person is removed from the coffin and is usually wrapped in plastic before being placed in a cardboard container.

Not true. You cannot open a coffin as soon as the undertaker closes it. The coffin is burned as is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

hoodwinked wrote: »

or sexy underwear the possibilities are limitless

That just will not fly at my big fat gypsy funeral hunzo.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

No Mass.... savages!

lol...
    Plenty of Catholic Saints were buried without coffins. It's not just a Muslim thing.

That went a little over your head :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

IF this ever happened, Im hoping never :D, Id want to be preserved and displayed above ground if at all possable, so that suits me just fine :)

• Registered Users Posts: 30 DrArse

Bury me in a tesco plastic bag, or else a massive condom.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭The Falcon

Soylent Green - Big believer in recycling :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Sky burial on top of carrauntoohill for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭7ofBrian

When I go I want to donate my carcass to science so there won't be enough left of me for a coffin anyway.

Just hope I don't end up in a Tesco lasagne...

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

smash wrote: »
    Wasn't this the excuse used when the American's produced no evidence that Osama Bin Laden had actually been killed.

If he wasnt killed then hes being a jolly good sport by playing along with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

If he wasnt killed then hes being a jolly good sport by playing along with it.

Or captured and being held in a hole somewhere. (But I reckon he was killed)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Know it's too close in for a sea burial, so want my ashes here

55.260045, -7.740211

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

I think i want to be cremated and have my ashes put in a hole and planted with a sapling, like my ashes would give the tree nutrients and absorb me and some part of me would be in that tree

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

a coffiin would stop you escaping if your still alive when they bury you

they don't really need a suit or good clothes

just a sheet would do

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

7ofBrian wrote: »
    Just hope I don't end up in a Tesco lasagne...

I hope so too. Those lasagnes get awful tempting when payday is still a ways off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

That's it so,

I've decided.

I'm not dying so yis can all feck off :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

I'd like my ashes mixed with 15 tonnes of liquid slurry, carried by helicopter to this location and then released into a strong wind around mid-afternoon any Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday in winter:
    53.340698,-6.253983.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    I was to be buried without a coffin, wrapped in seaweed, to aid biodegradability.

And then what happened?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Never got the fascination about funerals, when my time comes just toss me into a hole and don't bother with any kind of ceremony