Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Raoul Duke wrote: »
    Exactly, the fact that it's mid-term break time and they're a small operation, was my feeling about this week. Cut them some slack.

The constant complaining here is amazing. They've been going how many years now and haven't changed that much. You know what you're getting with them.

Don't think that's really accurate to be honest, they're an entertainment product and like any entertainment product, when it falters a bit people notice. Nobody's threatening to cut off their subscription (I think that one guy who constantly threatened is gone now, thank god)

Mostly this thread is full of praise for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

dulux99 wrote: »
    Don't think that's really accurate to be honest, they're an entertainment product and like any entertainment product, when it falters a bit people notice. Nobody's threatening to cut off their subscription (I think that one guy who constantly threatened is gone now, thank god)

Mostly this thread is full of praise for them

I also like that they don't have a presence on this thread so people can be honest. I imagine they read it (Miguel Delaney definitely does, hi Miguel!) but we can still all chat about the podcast as a whole.

A lot of us are massively invested in the podcast, more so time than money so it's only natural that we'd want to discuss it.

Sometimes people just want a little moan and that's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Panic over lads, Eoin mentions on today's pod that Ken and Murphy were away this week.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

It wasn't a vintage week by any means, but I didn't notice a big drop off in quality, I was drifting off at times during the Goldblatt and religious chat, I still found them interesting enough.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Am I the only one who winced at Eoin's attempt at pronouncing Derrygonnelly :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

The Players Chair with Hoolihan was really good. Interesting guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭CiaranW

Eire-Dearg wrote:

Yeah I also enjoyed it. The way he was able to describe his feelings and emotions going into the cell was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,752 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Eire-Dearg wrote: »

"...if you must". ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭mcgucc22

My producer is telling me not to talk to you anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Haha.. That was hilarious with Ken and Sonny Bill Williams :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Still Ill wrote: »
    Haha.. That was hilarious with Ken and Sonny Bill Williams :pac:

I missed that, what part was that discussed in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Still Ill

After the guy talking about Katie Taylor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭jones

aloooof wrote: »
    "...if you must". ;)

Drove me insane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Eire-Dearg wrote: »

Thought it was great. MMA is my favourite sport and is mainly sneered at by the SC lads so I had a bit of trepidation before it started, but he's a much better representative for the sport in Ireland than 'yer man (we all know who)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

dulux99 wrote: »
    Thought it was great. MMA is my favourite sport and is mainly sneered at by the SC lads so I had a bit of trepidation before it started, but he's a much better representative for the sport in Ireland than 'yer man (we all know who)

Knacker Mc Fistycuffs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'm behind schedule and only listening to Wednesdays podcast now. And all 4 live shows are sold out. Anyone get tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Obrieski

aloooof wrote: »
    "...if you must". ;)

Read these comments before listening to the podcast, and couldn't not hear this! :pac:

However, thought it was really interesting and in my opinion came across as a likeable kinda guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Any guess as to what the top secret second captains project Mark Horgan is working on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭buyer95

I really enjoyed Frances Murphy's piece on Gaybo. Just when I had begun to tire of the whole 'Guide to the Weekend' slot, they produce something wonderful like that. She was a real breath of fresh air, she didn't over due the fêtting of Gaybo, she said what she admired but noted his imperfections too. Id love to hear from her more, maybe even once a month.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Colm Toibin on Eamon Dunphy's The Stand was very good for the same reasons.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Colm Toibin on Eamon Dunphy's The Stand was very good for the same reasons.

Yeah i thought that was very good too.

Oddly enough i was coming out of St. Anne's Park listening to it as the cortege drove by. Kinda spooky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Cienciano wrote: »
    I'm behind schedule and only listening to Wednesdays podcast now. And all 4 live shows are sold out. Anyone get tickets?

Got 2 for the Friday night. Should be a good start to the festive madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,048 ✭✭✭deisedude

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    Any guess as to what the top secret second captains project Mark Horgan is working on?

Possibly a new tv show or a book? Interested to see what they come out with

I really enjoyed the Christmas annual they used do. It was a good bit of craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭RedRochey

Didn't someone ask about the lads going back to do the tv show and Eoin said something is in the works?

This was before the whole Mark Horgan bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Pep has given Ken a lot of material for today. Should be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Mark Horgan bit

What Mark Horgan bit?

Dots1982 wrote: »
    What Mark Horgan bit?

Someone wrote in asking why he hasn't presented a show this year basically, Eoin said he's working on something special

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Just a warning that Miguel Delaney is on today's show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 wontickets

I have won tickets (through work) to an event called called Second Captains Live.

I assume it is something to do with a podcast of the same name but I can't find any episodes online unless I pay a subscription.

Could anyone explain what it is about or what I could expect at the event?

Thanks you in advance.

wontickets wrote: »
    I have won tickets (through work) to an event called called Second Captains Live.

I assume it is something to do with a podcast of the same name but I can't find any episodes online unless I pay a subscription.

Could anyone explain what it is about or what I could expect at the event?

Thanks you in advance.

On their website the monday podcasts are free, it's a general sports podcast so they will have guests on and talk about whatever sport, try not to be too serious