Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/serena-williams-cartoon-outrage-mongering-or-old-fashioned-racism-1.3625565

The absolute insanity of this goes on. Now claims of “racism” because of a cartoon. She’ll end up being depicted as a martyr just the same as that idiot Colin Kapernick is.

She acted like a petulant kid and should be called out on it.

People and newspapers should stop buying into this identity politics rubbish.

This will rage on and on and on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/serena-williams-cartoon-outrage-mongering-or-old-fashioned-racism-1.3625565

The absolute insanity of this goes on. Now claims of “racism” because of a cartoon. She’ll end up being depicted as a martyr just the same as that idiot Colin Kapernick is.

I think Williams was completely out of order at the US Open, and has compounded her awful behaviour immediately afterwards and since by trying to cloak herself in important issues, only serving to devalue them rather than own her unprofessional tantrum.

However, I'm not sure that Australian cartoonist could have made his representation of her any more offensive, bar perhaps putting a bone through her nose. Thoroughly retrograde stuff.

There's no contradiction in thinking that both Williams and (looks up his name) Mark Knight have managed to let themselves down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

I do think the cartoon is a bit over the top to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

dulux99 wrote: »
    I do think the cartoon is a bit over the top to be fair.

It’s a characterization of her. It’s the same as those lads who draw you on holidays and eccentuate your features. Just because she’s black she’s not immune to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Don't see the equivalence between her and Kapernick. If she's treated as a martyr for throwing a tantrum, it's ridiculous alright. Fail to see why Kapernick is an idiot though? If someone can't make a protest in the manner that he did without being branded an idiot and shunned by his sport, I think we have problems. There's no comparison between the two situations.

Still Ill wrote: »
    Don't see the equivalence between her and Kapernick. If she's treated as a martyr for throwing a tantrum, it's ridiculous alright. Fail to see why Kapernick is an idiot though? If someone can't make a protest in the manner that he did without being branded an idiot and shunned by his sport, I think we have problems. There's no comparison between the two situations.

It's almost as though different people in different situations are different! God forbid people would put aside their ideological prisms when looking at stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Why is Kapernick an idiot in your eyes? I think he had immense balls.

For the record, not that anyone cares, I can see both sides of the argument re the Serena cartoon. In other words, I'm not too sure to think either way. Even though uncertainty in opinion is unallowed on the Internet.

I'm looking forward to the reasoning behind calling Colin Kaepernick an idiot tbh. A rare sportsman who stood up for something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,902 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

If you think that cartoon was meant to be anything other than racist, then you don't really know Australia very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

If you think that cartoon was meant to be anything other than racist, then you don't really know Australia very well.

That's exactly what I was thinking. As hard as it'd be, someone could try to argue it wasn't if it was somewhere else but Australia? They're still near proud of the fact.

Nail on the head. I only spent a year there and while it's a lovely place, it's very backwards in a lot of ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,864 ✭✭✭Raoul

Osaka being white and having blond hair is the thing that makes me realise it is probably racist. I was trying to give it the benefit of doubt at first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Raoul wrote: »
    Osaka being white and having blond hair is the thing that makes me realise it is probably racist. I was trying to give it the benefit of doubt at first.

My thoughts exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,773 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Raoul wrote: »

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

So now it's all about the cartoon? Suits Serena I suppose.

So now it's all about the cartoon?

Says who, apart from yourself?

corwill wrote: »
    Says who, apart from yourself?

The direction the narrative has taken and the coverage the cartoon is getting versus the actual incident on court.
    It's not 'says who' it's an opinion.

The direction the narrative has taken and the coverage the cartoon is getting versus the actual incident on court.
    It's not 'says who' it's an opinion.

I can't speak for everyone, but I'm perfectly comfortable with thinking about more than one thing at a time, or with having a conversation that's about more than one thing, and I suspect that I'm not alone in that regard.

corwill wrote: »
    I can't speak for everyone, but I'm perfectly comfortable with thinking about more than one thing at a time, or with having a conversation that's about more than one thing, and I suspect that I'm not alone in that regard.

Grand.

It's OK to think Williams was in the wrong (which she was imo) and to also think the cartoon is fairly bad form (which I do).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Ken trolling Ewan MacKenna about the excellence of the Dublin football team was absolutely hilarious. The highlight of the entire international break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Ciaran Murphy is the supposed expert on GAA and Golf and other US Sports.

Arguably the most important sports story of the year with the US Open and Murphy decides the sit on the fence and not offend anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Ken was at the Take Back The City yesterday, he had photos on Twitter. Someone posted a photo of him in the crowd smoking a fag, so you all know what that means... A Ken Early 2019 January meltdown when he inevitably tries to pack in the ciggies for the New Year!

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Ken trolling Ewan MacKenna about the excellence of the Dublin football team was absolutely hilarious. The highlight of the entire international break.

Yes, very good. A pity Ewan didn't bite.

Also enjoyed Ken's dig at Keith Andrews.

Arguably the most important sports story of the year with the US Open and Murphy decides the sit on the fence and not offend anyone.
    Eh?

What do golf and GAA have to do with Serena Williams?

Maybe he's one of the rare people in this day and age who doesn't feel the need to totally and utterly nail his colours to the mast of one side of a dispute. Maybe he's grown up enough to acknowledge that there is a bit of nuance in these situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Do you reckon they are on good terms? Ken seems to slag off his articles a good bit.

I've never heard anyone call Murph an expert on anything, not least himself.

I find some of the posts in this thread a bit confusing at times, I must admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

or maybe that was his opinion and it doesn't match yours ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,773 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Nokotan wrote: »
    Do you reckon they are on good terms? Ken seems to slag off his articles a good bit.

They do get on.