Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,251 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yep, I appreciate the skills it takes to put them together but they definitely lose something after you've heard them over fifty times and they do seem to increasingly go on and on and on, there must be upwards of five minutes worth of them on some of the pods these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

The only jingle I hate is the Rugby League one, it's just annoying and at seems like it'll never end, the Mid-West Radio one is hilarious, it's more like two fellas in the stand shouting rather than commentators who are at least supposed to show at least some level of objectivity.

The Dunphy challenging Ken one is brilliant, the music really fits well with it, Eoin's attempt at the 'no shtones' line today made me laugh, B-Hop dementedly talking up Mary Poppins is probably my all time favourite one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

The only jingle I hate is the Rugby League one, it's just annoying and at seems like it'll never end, the Mid-West Radio one is hilarious, it's more like two fellas in the stand shouting rather than commentators who are at least supposed to show at least some level of objectivity.

The Dunphy challenging Ken one is brilliant, the music really fits well with it, Eoin's attempt at the 'no shtones' line today made me laugh, B-Hop dementedly talking up Mary Poppins is probably my all time favourite one.

The Rugby League one is probably my second favourite.I love it.
    My favourite, which I'm not sure they play anymore is the Andy Lee one with Jesus and Mary Chain tune when he won his world title. Pure class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Anyone else think they could do with less jingles. I'm always listening in the car and I find myself always pressing the forward 30 second button A LOT lately. There must be 3 or 4 minute long jingles in the latest few pods. One at the start and one at the end max please...they're great jingles the first and second time you hear them but after 50 times...Jesus.

As said before, they're handy for skipping between subjects. I like some that I've heard over and over, like jonathan pearce commentary on cantonas kick. "oh my goodness me, he's kicked, he's punched a fan!" "I care not one jot for his supreme talent". Some less so.

But the one really annoying bit, a bit that actually puts me in a bad mood is that little skanger at the McGregor weigh in. "And the new world federation championship, CONOR MCGREGOR!". Think it was used in 2 different ones. I fúcking hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Patww79 wrote: »
    I like the jingles as they split sections so make it easier for skipping stuff. Being so long means you'll always land on one using the 30 second skip and you'll know a section is over.

This keeps being said but I don't buy it. Its easy to skip sections with or without this. The subject they are talking about and the change of guest voice is enough. The US murph intro also is way way too long.

I don't know what the point in 2 or 3min worth. If people keep saying 30 seconds skips then a 35 second audio bed should land you on one also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

In general I like the jingles. They had an absolutely god awful one with the commentary from Barca Psg game last year and it was just nails on a chalkboard stuff, and they got rid of them.

The one I probably wouldn't mind hearing a bit less of is the "you can not call a player a baby" one. Seems to be played every episode lately and drags on a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

dulux99 wrote: »
    In general I like the jingles. They had an absolutely god awful one with the commentary from Barca Psg game last year and it was just nails on a chalkboard stuff, and they got rid of them.

The one I probably wouldn't mind hearing a bit less of is the "you can not call a player a baby" one. Seems to be played every episode lately and drags on a bit.

That Barca PSG one was terrible. Hope it doesn't come back when the Champions League resumes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

That Barca PSG one was terrible. Hope it doesn't come back when the Champions League resumes.

Suarez diving to win and Di Maria getting taken out of it when he was 1 on 1 and no peno and red card really took the shine off that comeback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

Anyone listen to the politics podcast? My opinion of Ken as an urbane sophisticate was shattered. He thinks Yo-Yo Ma, the famous cellist, is a violinist. I expected more. Over than that faux pas, I enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,721 ✭✭✭Acosta

Anyone else think they could do with less jingles. I'm always listening in the car and I find myself always pressing the forward 30 second button A LOT lately. There must be 3 or 4 minute long jingles in the latest few pods. One at the start and one at the end max please...they're great jingles the first and second time you hear them but after 50 times...Jesus.

I would have listened most Monday's and Thursday's before they went behind a pay wall. I decided not to join the world service because I basically wouldn't get my moneys worth. The two football pods a week and the odd general sports show every so often were enough. And to be honest, with there being other good free pods out there and with OTB getting a lot better than it was for a long time after the SC lads left, I think it's a bit overpriced.

But anyway, when they went behind the pay wall they mentioned a few times how great it will be as there would be no ads. Listening to it recently it seems there's less chat now than there was even when there was ads included because there's so many jingles included. You really notice it when only dipping in and out compared to listening to it more regularly as i used to. In fairness some down the years have been hilarious and somebody obviously has a lot of fun making them, but there's too many of them now. Time to commit jingle genocide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Your man Harris in the recent political podcast is hardly an intellectual heavyweight.

It's well and good criticising the system of Western Captialism but bringing on someone who unironically refers to themselves as a Marxist doesn't do much for the credibility of show that is surely vulnerable to being seen as sports-broadcasters pretending they can do serious content.

Maybe his book's really good, it was a decent discussion and I suppose you should stick to the arguments being made because a person being wrong about one thing doesn't mean they're wrong about another.

Still, you want a bit of credibility to give weight to your work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

I disagree - though mostly because I love to hear My Bloody Valentine at any opportunity!

On the general topic of the jingles, I enjoy them. Something needs to break up the shows, and most of them are very enjoyable even on their umpteenth playing.

"Where can there be a place in the game for a man of such extravagant talent..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭santino

Anyone having an issue downloading in the last week on podcast apps?

Very disappointed with the last weeks content especially as its when I needed it most.

Its mainly been releases of their night in liberty hall. Today's turkey sandwich was just an old dunphy interview. Was the turkey sandwich always that way? The sports pudding just being the audio beds. Very little original content.

Thought they could have reviewed the last year in sport or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

Beersmith wrote: »
    Very disappointed with the last weeks content especially as its when I needed it most.

Its mainly been releases of their night in liberty hall. Today's turkey sandwich was just an old dunphy interview. Was the turkey sandwich always that way? The sports pudding just being the audio beds. Very little original content.

I was surprised we got half of what we got to be honest. They are entitled to a few days off over Christmas to be fair and we still got ken and Jonathan Wilson football pod. There’s only been 2 normal working days this week, you hardly expected them all to be in recording Christmas and Stephens day? Almost all of their potential contributors to a review of the year show would not be available this time of year. The football pod and the sid Lowe chat was fine for me. Didn’t really want or need any other content this week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I was surprised we got half of what we got to be honest. They are entitled to a few days off over Christmas to be fair and we still got ken and Jonathan Wilson football pod. There’s only been 2 normal working days this week, you hardly expected them all to be in recording Christmas and Stephens day? Almost all of their potential contributors to a review of the year show would not be available this time of year. The football pod and the sid Lowe chat was fine for me. Didn’t really want or need any other content this week

They could have had new stuff pre recorded. Which is what they do for the xmas pods expect they just did small intros.

Lots of people work overtime or get barely anytime off at xmas at all btw.

They can do what they want but as a paying customer I can just say im disappointed. I don't think my subscription will be refunded by 25%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,026 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Beersmith wrote: »

It was Christmas week to be fair and as Ken said in the pod after St Stephens Day, he was the only one who was still left in Dublin over the Christmas by the sounds of it.

They should just say no pods at all so for the week. But they advertised we have you covered for xmas we will have the turkey sandwich but it just turns out to be an old interview.

Yeah they could and probably should have just put in a big shift the week before Xmas, pre-recorded lots of good content and then go and enjoy their time off, like most other people do at Christmas.
    It was a bit disingenuous to imply that it's business as usual this week when it clearly wasn't. For the 4 days they could have covered the 4 quarters in the year and touched on the biggest news stories of that quarter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Beersmith wrote:
    They can do what they want but as a paying customer I can just say im disappointed. I don't think my subscription will be refunded by 25%.

Do you want €1.45 back??

The price of everything but the value of nothing..

Personally - I d rather if they didn't do the jingle count down - I find it a bit vain and pointless considering how often we've heard them during the year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Do you want €1.45 back??

This is such a bs argument imo. They put a price on it and if it doesn't deliver every now and again then it adds up to people not getting their money's worth. Just because the amount of perceived short changing is low, doesn't mean it's acceptable.

We are all paying 6.35 a month for content and if that content is falling short people are right to ask for better content, their money back or to leave it they want to as well. Doing so isn't a crime and needs to happen to some degree if the lads are going to continue to innovate and bring better content.

A big chunk of their content is PL and they are missing its busiest time.

Pter wrote: »
    Do you want €1.45 back??

This is such a bs argument imo. They put a price on it and if it doesn't deliver every now and again then it adds up to people not getting their money's worth. Just because the amount of perceived short changing is low, doesn't mean it's acceptable.

We are all paying 6.35 a month for content and if that content is falling short people are right to ask for better content, their money back or to leave it they want to as well. Doing so isn't a crime and needs to happen to some degree if the lads are going to continue to innovate and bring better content.
    I agree. In the grand scheme of things it's a small fee but they're still charging a high-end price comparatively against other podcasts. If you go to a restaurant regularly and the meals are usually top notch, and you go one time and the meal is cold and not up to standard, they don't say "ah sure it's nice usually, get over it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Having myself ostentatiously swung the lead in extravagantly interweaving figure-of-8 shapes above my head in the office over the last two days, I can't find it in myself to be too judgmental about someone else easing off the throttle, even if I wouldn't have minded a bit more football coverage the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Every broadcaster does the same thing over the holiday hence why the rte news is only on for 10 mins and they have more than 5 people doing it all..

Review of the year is a good idea but i think really need pictures.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Given how all radio/tv shows come to a standstill this week I wasn't surprised at the small amount of original output, when they were on Newstalk ,it was mainly best ofs with brief discussion of that weeks Premiership action.

I hadn't heard that Dunphy interview since it first aired, really enjoyed hearing it again, as people say there's two Dunphys, I love hearing the more circumspect and thoughtful side of him.

Just noticed this thread has more than doubled over the last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Given how all radio/tv shows come to a standstill this week I wasn't surprised at the small amount of original output, when they were on Newstalk ,it was mainly best ofs with brief discussion of that weeks Premiership action.

I hadn't heard that Dunphy interview since it first aired, really enjoyed hearing it again, as people say there's two Dunphys, I love hearing the more circumspect and thoughtful side of him.

Just noticed this thread has more than doubled over the last year.

I enjoyed listening to the Dunphy interview again too. He has a very good way of describing the country back then.

However, I was a bit disappointed with the audio bed pod. From memory, it was much more fun last year. This year they seemed to be just eager to record and get out of there. Maybe that's because last year they were only doing a couple of pods a week, whereas this year they were probably recording numerous bits around the time of recording that episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Some people on this thread will find anything to whinge about