Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I've never had any ads, must be the app

nope

after all these years I know Eoin, Ciaran and Ken's voice :). It was after the interview with Kevin McStay.

The interview with McStay was excellent btw. Far superior to the majority of guff/cliche ridden stuff that usually comes from GAA contributors. McStay is a thinking man - very eloquent too. Enjoyed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

Anyone still waiting for your members pack after subscribing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭bren2001

lawred2 wrote: »
    nope

after all these years I know Eoin, Ciaran and Ken's voice :). It was after the interview with Kevin McStay.

The interview with McStay was excellent btw. Far superior to the majority of guff/cliche ridden stuff that usually comes from GAA contributors. McStay is a thinking man - very eloquent too. Enjoyed him.

The "Ad" was in the show all right. It was more of a pisstake than anything, it wasn't an ad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Gbear wrote: »
    Still have the Lions, GAA, Wimbledon (other grand slams?), and presumably lots of other sport.

Football is pretty much the only thing going away for the Summer and even then there's the confederations cup.

And of course, there'll be plenty of transfer bollocks/news to wade through if they so desire.

There'd be room for non-news related stuff. Looking at clubs in a more longterm perspective, like how Huddersfield got to the PL, safe standing, quality of reffing this season and technology, the endless string of corruption stories and the greater impact they have on football.

There'll always be something to talk about.

Extensive coverage of the Lions will piss off non Rugby people as a lot of us find it a uninteresting exhibition series so I think they should show caution in covering it too much. I really don't want to hear much about it anyway.

GAA wise, i've never felt SC brings a whole lot to the table in terms of getting into the detail. Murph and McDevitt are the only members of the team into GAA and their coverage lacks something IMO.

I think they'll concentrate on interviews & interesting items from history. All the lads read a lot of sport articles/booksd so to be honest I don't think they'll have problems fillinng the podcast.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Mr Velo wrote: »

No. I subbed last week and got mine on Monday. The Eric Cantona picture was a cruel joke for an Arsenal fan :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,827 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

lawred2 wrote: »
    I've never had any ads, must be the app

nope

Ah now, that was not an ad!

It was paid advertising. Just because it didn't come with a little jingle and a west Atlantic voice over doesn't make it less an ad.

Btw I'm not overly bothered by a few ads but it was claimed to be ad free..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,827 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

lawred2 wrote:
    It was paid advertising. Just because it didn't come with a little jingle and a west Atlantic voice over doesn't make it less an ad.

lawred2 wrote:
    Btw I'm not overly bothered by a few ads but it was claimed to be ad free..

They were pulling the piss saying it was sent by John Delaney!

Oooops I must have zoned out for a microsecond

:(

My apologies

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Great quote by Ken Burley on Gatland's style of Rugby "Let's all slam into each other like a bunch of pigs until the team that's less injured wins"

Enjoyed the chat with Sam Barry, instead of giving out he seemed to have a positive outlook about being a Tennis player way down the the rankings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Couldn't agree more with Ken regards the players bringing their extended family onto the pitch after the game.

Can't explain why but seems a bit over indulgent by the players, football fans ensure they live a comfortable life and I feel they could at least show them some respect instead of parading their little runts around in their personalised shirts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

They didn't mention Sergio Ramos pathetic dive to get Cuadrado sent off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

threein99 wrote: »
    They didn't mention Sergio Ramos pathetic dive to get Cuadrado sent off

Bringing his kids on the pitch to celebrate is way more egregious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Miguel Delaney & Johnathon Wilson

Pig Trotters & ice cream.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

The live show with Dara O'Brien and David Doherty was very funny. There's big sections were it's just the two comedians talking and the three lads can't get a word in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Pidae.m

In fairness Doherty is very quick
    Ciaran_B wrote: »
    The live show with Dara O'Brien and David Doherty was very funny. There's big sections were it's just the two comedians talking and the three lads can't get a word in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Ciaran_B wrote: »

Two of my favourite comedians, I'm really looking forward to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Patww79 wrote: »
    Yeah saving that one for a spin in the morning. Love O'Doherty.

Saw him in Vicar Street last year, laughed non stop for the whole set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I hope the lions rugby stuff runs it course soon. Not looking forward to it filling the void of a lack of football.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,341 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

bad news jay kay, we're only 2 games into a 10 game tour. It doesn't finish until 8 July!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

CatFromHue wrote: »
    bad news jay kay, we're only 2 games into a 10 game tour. It doesn't finish until 8 July!

My hope is that a few crushing defeats puts a dampener on the whole thing. If they actually win a game against NZ full team that'll eat up a few pods in itself :(

I don't mind Irish rugby chat generally but don't see any point in the lions concept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yup going to be skipping through the Lions related content.

Murph fancied himself to go toe to toe with the two professional comedians in the live show. Shouldn't have backed himself.

The loyuns is one seriously hyped up load of rubbish.

It is cringe inducing seeing so many people getting so partisan about something so artificial. It had a time for amateur lads but for professionals it's just one big corporate jolly.

I'll be giving the lions segments a swerve for the next while..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

The lions is a fantastic thing to have and fairly unique.

Normally you don't get to have these "superteams" and have them play competetive games.

It's not worth taking too seriously. Enjoy it for the sake of the rugby.
    Whether or not Warrenball makes your eyes bleed, at least the Kiwis are going to entertain. Cracking try to win the game and I was fairly delighted just for the sake of it being a bit of craic for somebody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The comedy podcast was really good. If you haven't listened to it, there's a link in the description that has the videos they're talking about on their patreon page. It'll save you some googling and a 30 second ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Say what you will about Ritchie, the fella likes to share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭sleepyman

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Say what you will about Ritchie, the fella likes to share.

I thought it was great!!Going up to Billy Bonds must have been funny!!