If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Sub 210 London Challenge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Tuesday 7th Oct

35 mins easy (9:22, 8:58, 9:01, 9:03)

3.85 miles
    Avg HR: 128

Easy run this evening with a route which just about got me back home in the required time. Ran on feel again and kept things well under control.

Today was weigh in day as well. Not a good result but it's a starting point. More to follow on that I hope.

Wednesday 8th Oct

35 mins easy (9:21, 8:58, 8:26, 9:02)

3.92 miles
    Avg HR:

Easy run this evening with an out and back route. 18 minutes out and turned on my heels. A car slowed down beside me on the ring road which was scary at first but it was just one of my usual training partners. Again just running by feel not trying to hit any paces on these easy runs.

Thursday 9th Oct

36 mins easy (9:52, 9:13, 9:11, 8:44)

3.89 miles
    Avg Pace: 9:16
    Avg HR: 126

Popped down to the club tonight and ran with a couple of people doing their first marathon in Dublin. Gave them a run down of the course and talked them out of running 20 miles this weekend. Time ticked by pretty quickly and as they set out for a final loop I had to call it a day as my quota had been exceeded for the day :-(

Legs and body feeling good which I suppose is the main thing.

Friday 10th Oct

35 mins easy (9:22, 8:57, 9:04, 8:54)

3.86 miles
    Avg Pace: 9:04
    Avg HR: 129

Did this run all on grass and was lucky enough to have company as we looped around the pitches. Karen is running New York in a few weeks at the 3rd time of asking. Ash cloud put pay in 2012 and she subsequently won the race in the park that was put on in around 3:08.

She has since battled back from cancer leading the club couch to 5K in January to get back running herself. She ran a 43 min 10K in August and surprised us all with a 1:28 half in Dublin. She is most definitely back and looking forward to New York.

Nothing much to report from me today. Same old, same old. Will take a rest day tomorrow.

Sunday 12th Oct

35 mins easy (9:13, 9:38, 9:36, 10:04)

3.65 miles
    Avg Pace: 9:35
    Avg HR: 133

Another short easy run today although headed to Ardgillan park to change it up a bit with the hills.

Was showing signs of man flu yesterday but they seem to have dissipated a bit overnight.

Lovely day out for running and lots of people out in good form.

6 days running and just over 24 miles for the week. First goal achieved of getting back running consistently.

Monday 13th Oct

45 mins easy (9:19, 9:02, 8:52, 8:40, 8:37)

5.06 miles
    Avg Pace: 8:54
    Avg HR: 127

This was the run I was meant to do yesterday but only realised today :-( not much of a difference anyway so no harm done.

Same loop as last week with same company. Pretty big climb shortly after starting with a few drags before a downhill and flat to the finish. Again no real focus on pace but felt easier than last week.

Tuesday 14th Oct

37 mins easy (9:39, 9:21, 9:18, 9:15)

3.95 miles
    Avg Pace: 9:23

Kept it nice and easy and ran on grass this evening. Legs and body still feeling ok after 8 days out of 9.

Today was time to check the scales and dropped 5lbs in the last week. Really happy with that from just a few sensible changes. Nothing too drastic at all.

Something different on the agenda tomorrow ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

pistol_75 wrote: »
    Tuesday 14th Oct

37 mins easy (9:39, 9:21, 9:18, 9:15)

3.95 miles
    Avg Pace: 9:23

Kept it nice and easy and ran on grass this evening. Legs and body still feeling ok after 8 days out of 9.

Today was time to check the scales and dropped 5lbs in the last week. Really happy with that from just a few sensible changes. Nothing too drastic at all.

Something different on the agenda tomorrow ;-)

Ill pm you later about the weight loss...

Wednesday 15th Oct

35 mins easy incl 6x40 sec strides (9:30, 8:53, 8:31, 9:14)

3.88 miles
    Avg Pace: 9:02
    Avg HR: n/r

Well it's been an interesting day or two boys and girls...

Late and after dinner by the time I got out this evening after being held up in work. A few strides thrown into the middle of the run to get the legs turning over. Just concentrated on effort as usual.

Friday 15th Oct

43 mins easy (9:39, 9:26, 9:31, 9:26, 9:26)

4.53 miles
    Avg Pace: 9:30
    Avg HR: n/a

Rest day yesterday followed by an easy run on grass today. A bit longer than planned but had to finish off a loop. Windy out there but avoided any rain. Loops ticked off quickly enough talking to someone about the Marathon :( oh would love to be in taper and lining up next week I think.

Thinking of doing a parkrun tomorrow morning. Was going to just jog around but was told there would be no harm to open up the legs and see where I was at. Will see what the weather is like in the morning.

Saturday 16th Oct

1.5 mile w/u

Malahide Parkrun in 21:43 (7:02, 7:14, 7:02, 6:22*)

Avg Pace: 7:05

.5 mile c/d

Weather wasn't too bad apart from the wind this morning so headed off to Malahide. Got a decent warm up in and decided not to look at the watch as the tree cover in the middle of the run always distorts the pace.

With 323 runners it was a bit bunched at the start but got away ok and settled into it. Feidhlim Kelly came past after around 600m after missing the start on his way to finishing first.

Started passing a few people as we finished the first mile and took the incline for the second time. Was trying to focus on passing the next person in front of me and keeping the effort up as we headed along the forest paths. Heard the watch beep for the 2nd mile and was hurting at this stage. Felt like I was slowing coming back into the wind but kept plugging away. Up the incline for the last time and a slight downhill to the finish. Didn't have much of a kick but passed one more person to finish in 42nd place.

Checked the watch and happy enough with the time and the consistency of the splits. 30 secs off my best time on that course, so not a lot really.

6 runs and just over 26 miles in total for the week.

Sunday 16th Oct

50 mins easy (8:59, 8:39, 9:02, 9:15, 8:42, 9:03*)

5.6 miles
    Avg Pace: 8:56

Lunge matrix before

Wild out there this morning. Bit of tiredness in the legs from yesterday. Just let the legs and more so the wind dictate the pace to run at.

Now off to try and control a little white ball in that wind. Should be fun.

Monday 20th Oct

35 mins easy (8:42, 8:50, 8:19, 8:44)

4.04 miles
    Avg Pace: 8:40

Lunge matrix before

Had a nice case of DOMS developing during the day from the ancillary work yesterday which made it a bit more difficult today :-(

Went down to the college to do 2 loops and Mick Traynor arrived at the same time and asked if he could join me. No problem once he didn't mind slowing down ;-)

Lovely couple of loops telling me about winning the M45 cross country, how he'd be moving to M50 in the New Year and probably only had another year or so left running because he has no cartilage in his knee.

He was only getting started on the time he went to Kenya to train with Brother Colm years ago when the run finished.

Maybe next time...

Tuesday 21st Oct

35 mins easy (9:13, 9:10, 8:58, 9:03)

3.85 miles
    Avg Pace: 9:06

Lunge matrix before
    Myrtl after

Just a nice handy one this evening around the town. Nothing exciting to report. Must be getting colder as people seemed to be wrapped up.

On the nutrition front no change in weight this week. A couple of bad habits though have been eliminated over the past couple of weeks especially Diet Coke. Also having little to no processed food and feeling a lot better for it.

Wednesday 22nd Oct

45 mins easy + 6x40 sec strides

45 mins @ 8:37
    6.41 miles incl strides

Lunge matrix before
    AIS after

Easy run this evening with a few strides at the end. DOMS nearly gone from the introduction to the ancillary work. Really enjoying running at the moment but still wish I was doing Dublin next Monday.

Booked flights & hotel last night for London so that's something to look forward to.

Thursday 23nd Oct

35 mins easy

3.7 miles approx

Lunge matrix before
    Myrtl after

Meant to be a rest day today but wife is out after work tomorrow so I decided to change around. Headed down to the club and ran at a very easy pace with the others.

Saturday 25th Oct

35 mins easy

4 miles approx

Lunge matrix before
    AIS after

Headed up to Ardgillan this morning and took in the Parkrun at an easy pace as part of the run. Did the Parkrun in 25:15 with the last mile it's usual horrible self. Passed a good few on the hill though.

Another week done with 6 runs. Busy week coming up with 3 nights in Cork next week.

Sunday 26th Oct

55 mins easy (8:56, 8:55, 8:56, 8:58, 8:42, 8:37, 8:57*)

Avg Pace: 8:50
    6.22 miles

Lunge matrix before
    Myrtl after

Wasn't feeling the love for this one beforehand after spending the night down with the inlaws and sitting through a 2 year olds birthday this afternoon. Drove back in a bit of a sugar coma but perked up a bit when RVP equalised in injury time.

Once I got out the door though everything was grand and legs felt in good nick. Incredibly mild for the time of year. Pace picked up naturally for the last couple of miles which is a good sign I suppose.

Not sure about official training tomorrow as have an early start to get into town for the marathon. Will probably head to the park first before taking up position on the hill out of Chapelizod. Best of luck to everyone running and if I know you I'll keep an eye out. I'll be in a blue hoodie.

Tuesday 28th Oct

35 mins easy (8:55, 9:05, 8:55, 8:31)

Avg Pace: 8:52
    3.95 miles

Lunge matrix before
    Myrtl after

Great day yesterday watching DCM. Actually gave me a lot more respect for the distance. Was near the top of the hill out of Chapelizod before making my way back into town with about 500m to go in time for the elites. Celebrated last night with some of my club mates and was thrilled for my regular training partners trying to go sub 3:30 and finished in 3:27 & 3:28 respectfully.

Headed down to Cork today arriving just as it got dark. Wasn't sure of the area but got the required distance in anyway. Hopefully something more interesting route wise tomorrow.

Spotted my 3 year old doing some lateral leg swings when I got out of the shower. Must be a Myrtl fan as well ;-)

Wednesday 29th Oct

50 mins easy inc 8x40 sec strides (8:44, 8:33, 10:07, 7:57, 8:24, 8:56)

Avg Pace 8:46
    5.7 miles total

Lunge Matrix before
    Myrtl after

After the morning on Fota wildlife park and lunch in Cobh it was back to the hotel for nap time and my run time. Bit to close to lunch but what could I do. Rain started coming down as I was doing the LM so it was gonna be a damp one.

Headed off in the same direction as last night towards the dunkettle roundabout before turning left towards Glanmire. Reached Glanmire after 2 miles and turned left towards Mayfield. The next 1/2 mile was I think the steepest hill I ever ran up with the rest of the mile just a normal hill.

Took a few seconds to compose myself before getting going on the strides over the next mile and a bit while there was some flat ground before a steep downhill back to the hotel. Added on an out and back bit to make up the time. Stomach was starting to act up a bit by now but made it back just in time ;-)

Thursday 30th Oct

35 mins easy (9:35, 9:21, 9:00, 8:56)

Avg Pace 9:14
    3.79 miles total

Lunge Matrix before

Easy run this morning just after breakfast out towards Glanmire and back. Took is easier than normal but the pace still dropped as the run went on without noticing or trying to.

Followed up with a few hours shopping in Cork. A real test of endurance let me tell ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

cheers for the shout :)

Friday 31st Oct

36 mins easy (9:29, 9:04, 8:37, 8:47)

Avg Pace 9:00
    4 miles total

Lunge Matrix before
    Myrtl after

My least favourite day of the year. Hate Halloween. Got back from Cork via the inlaws eventually and the last thing I felt like was running.

As usual getting the gear on and getting going I was glad to be out, despite the weather. Still incredibly mild and nice to loosen the legs out. Felt a bit creaky getting going as did the body in general but this subsided.

Glad to be back to some sort of normality although college Sat&Sun is not exactly my type of normality.

Saturday 1st Nov

35 mins easy (9:14, 9:36, 9:10, 9:53)

Avg Pace 9:27
    3.71 miles total

Lunge Matrix before

In college all day and greeted with wind and driving rain all the way home. Greeted with stranger looks when I said I had to go for a run and nearly convinced myself not to run. Had seen Barry Minnock at lunchtime and reckoned he wouldn't wuss out either.

Got going anyway and was a pretty horrible run all things told. Legs felt heavy the whole way which was a bit annoying. Tomorrow is another day though.

Looks like I need a bit more than this to close the gap on Barry ;-)

Sunday 2nd Nov

60 mins easy*

Avg Pace 8:40*
    6.9 miles total*

Lunge Matrix before
    AIS after

Forgot my weekly update yesterday, but managed 6 runs again for week maintaining consistency despite Marathon Monday, being away for 3 nights and a day in college. Happy to just get the runs in.

The last week of this phase kicked off with 60 mins easy after day in college. Everything felt much better apart from my garmin which died between 4-5 miles. All of the measurables are approx and shouldn't be far off. Back to work tomorrow :-( and back to proper nutrition focus after the weeks holiday ;-)

Month|Mileage|Missed Runs
    October | 106.44| 0
    November| 10.61| 0

Monday 3rd Nov

35 mins easy (8:47, 8:55, 8:32, 8:43

Avg Pace 8:44
    4 miles total

Lunge Matrix before
    Myrtl after

Easy run this evening with a few short hills/drags included. Long sleeve for the first time with the drop in temp. Another good run with everything under control.

The girl I mentioned had come back from cancer earlier this year ran 3:14:30 in New York yesterday. Amazing run given the last year and the conditions.

October | 106.44| 0
    November| 14.61| 0

Tuesday 4th Nov

35 mins easy (9:23, 8:55, 8:53, 8:44)

Avg Pace 8:59
    3.9 miles total

Lunge Matrix before

Another day, another run. Nothing much to report. Had company for a change so ticked off quick enough.

8th consecutive day running I just noticed. Don't think I've gotten close to that before. Rest day after tomorrow.

October | 106.44| 0
    November| 18.51| 0

Wednesday 5th Nov

55 mins easy incl 8x40 sec strides(8:52, 8:53, 9:00, 8:30, 8:55, 8:55, 8:49*)

Avg Pace 8:51
    6.21 miles total

Lunge Matrix before
    Myrtl after

Woke up this morning with a sore throat which was to be expected as it's doing the rounds in the house. Considered taking rest day today but it could be worse tomorrow so got on with it. Just over 3 miles brought me to a nice flat piece of tarmac so I times the first stride and jogged the recovery back to the starting point and went again stopping in the same place. Strides felt fine, getting the legs turning over without exerting. It was pretty cool though. Judged the distance well as finished up at home just in time.

Forgot to mention yesterday that there was no weight change last week which I'll gladly take after being away.

In other news I see there is a marathon from Phoenix park to Balbriggan 4 weeks after London. Have resisted the temptation so far. Think it's part of some 100 in 100 days fundraiser.

October | 106.44| 0
    November| 24.72| 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

pistol_75 wrote: »
    Wednesday 5th Nov

55 mins easy incl 8x40 sec strides(8:52, 8:53, 9:00, 8:30, 8:55, 8:55, 8:49*)

Avg Pace 8:51
    6.21 miles total

Lunge Matrix before
    Myrtl after

Woke up this morning with a sore throat which was to be expected as it's doing the rounds in the house. Considered taking rest day today but it could be worse tomorrow so got on with it. Just over 3 miles brought me to a nice flat piece of tarmac so I times the first stride and jogged the recovery back to the starting point and went again stopping in the same place. Strides felt fine, getting the legs turning over without exerting. It was pretty cool though. Judged the distance well as finished up at home just in time.

Forgot to mention yesterday that there was no weight change last week which I'll gladly take after being away.

In other news I see there is a marathon from Phoenix park to Balbriggan 4 weeks after London. Have resisted the temptation so far. Think it's part of some 100 in 100 days fundraiser.

October | 106.44| 0
    November| 24.72| 0

Hmmmmm....Interesting!

RedRunner wrote: »
    Hmmmmm....Interesting!

Route seems to be along the lines of Phoenix Park, Phibsboro, Santry, Swords, Skerries, Balbriggan.

Would be nice to run towards home ;)