Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foxing In The Sun

• 28-04-2013 8:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭

I went out yesterday morning for a bit of foxing in the sunshine, I was only in my spot ten minutes when this young vixen responded to the calls and came bursting through the ditch. The shot was taken from behind as she was turned slightly sideways so the 45grain hollow point entered just behind the rib cage and made soup of the vitals

089acdc3-c06b-45f5-a7f1-2b18b6cf0c6d.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Just said I'd copy this post out to ask you on your set up.

Whats the details on the rifle, scope, etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FOXHUNTER1

Looks like she still has milk obviosly feeding cubs still.
    Did you look for the den and dispatch them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

FOXHUNTER1 wrote: »
    Looks like she still has milk obviosly feeding cubs still.
    Did you look for the den and dispatch them?

Was just about ti ask the same...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

aaakev wrote: »
    Was just about ti ask the same...

Why everytime someone puts up a pic does this crap start ?

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Why everytime someone puts up a pic does this crap start ?

This crap?? Thats clearly a milky vixen, it does nothing but harm to us if someone puts up a pic and never bothered to try fond the cubs who could now starve to death.

Yes this crap ! Do you dig up a burrow every time you shoot a rabbit or do ya go looking for the nest everytime ya shoot a magpie or Gray crow !

Although it a pity he shot a vixen ! He shot vermin plane and simple and vixen can travel for miles for food so where do ya start looking .

All you have done is highlighted that there is a possabilty of pups been left !
    And given anti's ammo to get involved in this forum .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

So it's ok as long as you don't highlight that cubs may have been left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

That seems to be my understanding reading between the lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Shoot away just don't put up any pictures of any milky vixens that would upset anyone.:rolleyes:

Where did I say that ! But to make it out like he done something wrong when he hasn't .

The same conversating came up last year because some lad shot a stag on a section 42 , he got bombarded with comments saying he should have left him to breed again .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

Where did I say that ! But to make it out like he done something wrong when he hasn't .
    Paddy's day is generally seen as the end of the fox hunting season for the Foxhound and Harrier packs, lurcher and terrier enthusiasts, my gun club etc. Are we all wrong?
    As I've said on here before - that vixen was around all winter - why not control their numbers properly then like the rest of us do? There's no mention of getting a call out from a farmer either - looks like this is pure recreational? We can only go by what's posted.

We see this year after year - lads that need the sun at their backs before they'll brave the great outdoors. No respect for their quarry at all - didn't even wait for a decent shot to present itself.

Non-hunting guy here saw me looking at this pic - spotted it was milky and gut-shot without me saying a word - ranting like fook now.
    Good PR lads - well done :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

A shot through the back of the rib cage was angling forward, presumably, so not a gut shot, since he said it traversed the vitals.

Yes this crap ! Do you dig up a burrow every time you shoot a rabbit or do ya go looking for the nest everytime ya shoot a magpie or Gray crow !
    no i dont and for the simple reason i dont shoot them this time of the year because i want to preserve my shooting so shooting milkey doe rabbits is counter productive to me.
    Although it a pity he shot a vixen ! He shot vermin plane and simple and vixen can travel for miles for food so where do ya start looking .
    a bit of common sense and knowing your stomping ground. I know where the dens are where i shoot, if i shoot a vixen like that ill do my best to find her den
    All you have done is highlighted that there is a possabilty of pups been left !
    And given anti's ammo to get involved in this forum .
    no trigger thats not what iv done at all, what iv done is highlighted something that some people obviously never thought about but should, if anything it is you who is giving anyis ammo by condoning it.

To the op, im not attacking you or trying to get at you im just giving some advise that was givin to me. I shoot foxes all year round also, i have a thread going too about a fox i shot on sat evening. Last may/june i shot 5 cubs outside a den before the vixen made off with the last one.

Happy shooting

well done! nice stock on the rifle. what is it? looks a beauty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Whether its a fox with cubs or not IMO a dead fox is a good fox and if her cubs die then that's a job done to keep safe future pheasants, lambs etc
    You think a farmer gives two fcuks whether her cubs starve to death or not?
    A result is a result no matter what way you look at it
    We all respect our quarry but these things have to be done
    They are vermin and as I said one way or another its a result
    So bashing someone over getting a result is boll0x
    Do u look for a minks nest after killing the female?
    No you don't and anyone who says otherwise is lying
    As trigger said same happened to lad last year over shooting a stag even though he had the proper paperwork to do so
    Just because you don't agree with it doesn't mean it's wrong

You Keep up the work mate
    Nice set up u have aswell
    Atb

This is completly different than shooting a stag on a section 42, so different they shouldnt even be in the same thread!

Your contradicting yourself there too lad by saying you respect your quarry but sure **** the cubs they will die eventually.... Thats not repsecting your quarry and its nothimg to do with wether the farmer cares or not, you should care

Like i said im just offerimg some advice to the op but by the sounds of it some more of you should take it too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Why are the rights and wrongs of this being debated when original poster has not replied .How does any body on here know if he went looking for the den or not , my opinion is lads are putting up posts to get a reaction ,the amount of lads that take the moral high ground but in reality would do the same themselves.It just looks big to come on here and play the good guy.

This is completly different than shooting a stag on a section 42, so different they shouldnt even be in the same thread!

Your contradicting yourself there too lad by saying you respect your quarry but sure **** the cubs they will die eventually.... Thats not repsecting your quarry and its nothimg to do with wether the farmer cares or not, you should care

Like i said im just offerimg some advice to the op but by the sounds of it some more of you should take it too...

Have to laugh at everyone of ur posts u said you shoot foxs all year round , u have another thread with a dead dog fox that you shot at 200 yards ( gud eye sight to be sure it was a dog ) . Did you check to see if there was a den about , knowing that the dog fox helps in the feeding of pups , better yet why do u shoot them all year round if ur worried about pups ! U don't find the den everytime , if ya do fair play because ur the only one in the country that does !

Like the poster before said , u posted for a reaction ! Plain and simple ! And what advice were you offering in ur first post ??? I don't see it .

Seen u can't be certain of finding a den everytime , mayb you should stop shoot foxs this time of year as u feel so strongly about it ..

@ doggeyranger inbox is open now I've made some room mate

To the op, im not attacking you or trying to get at you im just giving some advise that was givin to me. I shoot foxes all year round also, i have a thread going too about a fox i shot on sat evening. Last may/june i shot 5 cubs outside a den before the vixen made off with the last one.

Happy shooting

Your giving advice any experienced shooter would have know shoot the vixen first and the cubs will stay round not know there in danger !! Try it next time you'll get a better result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭td5

Foxes are Vermin full stop ! They kill game 12 months of the the year not just during the winter when all these (Sportsmen) are out and about. Thats one of the main reasons why Game is so scarce in this country. Keep up the good work.

td5 wrote: »
    Foxes are Vermin full stop ! They kill game 12 months of the the year not just during the winter when all these (Sportsmen) are out and about. Thats one of the main reasons why Game is so scarce in this country. Keep up the good work.

Well said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

Lads all anyone is doing here is helping the do gooder's to take our firearms away. Yeah she clearly had cubs but she's classed as vermin and can be shot all year round. You can debate the morals of it but something every one of us here have in common is the love for hunting the land and unfortunately pic's like the one above can and will ruin it for us i can see the Sun's headlines now "crazed mad bastard goes on spree shooting young fox just trying to feed her cubs during these financially tough times turn to page 6 to read what exclusive info our insider has" ha but in all seriousness lets leave the pictures out just in case the vegetarians find them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭cushcam

wow if i knew the picture would be so controversial i would never have posted it. ok first off the permission that i shot the fox on is about 120 acres that borders a glen, i have shot quite a few foxes on this land and i have also searched the glen a few times while carrying nothing but the shotgun with the sole purpose of finding a den but due to the shear size of the glen and dense brush and vegetation i am yet to come across one.

i understand some of the reactions and i'm not a fan of the possibility of cubs starving but i know for a fact that if the farmer who owns the land had seen me not take the shot at a fox (regardless of sex) that was in his field of sheep and lambs that i'd lose this permission forever

also i wasn't aware that the photo would come out quite so big because i had posted it from my phone, the main reason i put it up was because it was my first fox since having my gun threaded for a mod and painting the stock.

mods feel free to delete it if necessary

dev110 wrote: »
    Just said I'd copy this post out to ask you on your set up.

Whats the details on the rifle, scope, etc?

rifle is a remington 700 vsf, predator 8 mod, hawke panorama 4-12x50, egw rail, weaver quadlock rings and the stock is a boyds laminate thumbhole that i recently painted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Some serious hypocrites on here.. :rolleyes:

One especially who has a thread about a fox he shot at 200 yards and claimed it was putting it out of its misery cos he noticed wounds on it when it was dead.. :rolleyes: and went out purposely to a spot where he shot a fox 2 weeks ago because there was signs of loads more...

thelurcher wrote: »
    Paddy's day is generally seen as the end of the fox hunting season for the Foxhound and Harrier packs, lurcher and terrier enthusiasts, my gun club etc. Are we all wrong?
    As I've said on here before - that vixen was around all winter - why not control their numbers properly then like the rest of us do? There's no mention of getting a call out from a farmer either - looks like this is pure recreational? We can only go by what's posted.

We see this year after year - lads that need the sun at their backs before they'll brave the great outdoors. No respect for their quarry at all - didn't even wait for a decent shot to present itself.

Non-hunting guy here saw me looking at this pic - spotted it was milky and gut-shot without me saying a word - ranting like fook now.
    Good PR lads - well done :rolleyes:
    i'm not fox hunting i'm controlling them for a farmer, the fact that i enjoy doing it is irrelevant. i don't need the sun on my back to go shooting, i go out in all weather. it just so happened to be sunny saturday morning which makes the outdoors more enjoyable or do you prefer to go out in the rain?

what constitutes a decent shot in your opinion? is a shot to the vitals resulting in a clean and instant death not acceptable? should i have shouted here foxy foxy so that she could have seen it coming? ****ing gut shot, i have never taken a gut shot but maybe you should have read the original post

dam nice job you did on the painting. was a perfect shot when the fox was facing away

garv123 wrote: »
    Some serious hypocrites on here.. :rolleyes:

One especially who has a thread about a fox he shot at 200 yards and claimed it was putting it out of its misery cos he noticed wounds on it when it was dead.. :rolleyes: and went out purposely to a spot where he shot a fox 2 weeks ago because there was signs of loads more...

On a huge sheep farm where i was asked to shoot them. I shot a vixen last year there and managed to find the den, it had 2 cubs. Had anoter thread up here about this time last year where i shot a whole family of foxes on the same farm. Like i said i shoot them all year round too.

The point i was making was you should be prepaired to look for the den if you do shoot a vixen. I was not saying dont shoot them. How that makes me a hypocrite i dont know... If it had been a vixen i shot on sat it would have turned into a long night.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I'm after cleaning up all the nonsense posts, and replies to such.

We have a simple rule, attack the post, not the poster. If you do not agree with something then by all means post in objection, but if you cannot do so without insulting the other posters, calling names, and so on then don't bother posting.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, and so long as the rules are followed they can post that opinion here. As for the ever increasing ridiculous posts, they serve no purpose, and only cast mockery on the topic. No harm in a little friendly banter, but there is a point where it is no longer funny, and no longer relevant.

Stick to the topic, withhold judgement until all the facts are known, and again attack the content of a post, and not the poster themselves.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

cushcam wrote: »
    i'm not fox hunting i'm controlling them for a farmer, the fact that i enjoy doing it is irrelevant. i don't need the sun on my back to go shooting, i go out in all weather. it just so happened to be sunny saturday morning which makes the outdoors more enjoyable or do you prefer to go out in the rain?

what constitutes a decent shot in your opinion? is a shot to the vitals resulting in a clean and instant death not acceptable? should i have shouted here foxy foxy so that she could have seen it coming? ****ing gut shot, i have never taken a gut shot but maybe you should have read the original post
    If you feel the need to show a pic of a milky vixen or cubs etc. over the next few months try and qualify the circumstances in which they were shot when posting on a public forum. Good man - at least you've done this now.
    Even still though why bother posting it at all - the antis will do what they did with pics from another well know forum and put them to music and send it to every TD. That did a lot more damage than people realise and helped turn some rural TD's completely against a certain sector of field sports.

You said yourself that the shot was taken from behind - that to me doesn't constitute a decent shot. This is basic stuff in fairness.

And I do prefer the rain - better chance of getting one to ground ;)

the reason for the short little description was because i posted this in the hunting photos thread, i did not start this thread. let's be honest if there is an anti in the hunting photos thread there is far worse pictures they could send to their local TD's like some of the close ups of animals with half their heads missing (which i've no problem with) but they would make a far better statement than a picture of a vixen that you can barely make out a couple of nipples on

as for the shot not being decent, that's your opinion and you are entitled to it but i absolutely disagree

Don't know about shot placement but that fox looks dead to me so placement was gud !

if the fox was quartering away it was a perfect shot, just as good as a broadside fox and thru the ribs. anti my eye. they will make what they want of any photo. sometimes people on here are worse than any anti. dying for their chance to mouth off to someone

Exactly
    Fox is dead end of
    Antis will be throwing a fit on this thread whether we like it not fox or rabbit it doesn't matter they'll moan somehow
    You've a licence to hunt and shoot vermin
    Dead fox is part and parcel of that despite the shot its a clean kill and vixen or not its one dead fox and cubs will die aswell so they won't be damaging future stocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

why do people hav to come on bitchin at every little thing fox is brown bread great job cubs starve end of saves on bullets when they leave the den all pluses in my eyes i bet the people writing negatives never had losses to foxes to no the damage they do and its not jus the shepp they attack its the whole flock that suffer even if they only attack one so if ye dnt like it why read it simple like it or lump it..

Right I just don't get it - if you know any pic is going to draw antis on our sport why post them :confused: As ye say above they twist things the way they want so why give them any more ammo - I'm not Clare 'kill babies not foxes' Daly and am actually on ye're side don't forget.

cushcam - just to reiterate - the pic isn't what's pissing some of us off as such - it's the fact that the cubs weren't taken care of as well.
    Amazing how that vixen came running to the call so easily in broad daylight when you have the place so well shot?.........only pulling your leg.

Anyway I'll stick to my way of doing things - I'm not going to try ass shooting stags come September ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Hiding any aspect of our sport is a bad idea. It distances more and more people from the realities of hunting. The more active and visible our sport (for the right reasons) the better, it is seen as acceptable and a normal pastime.

Hide away and it becomes niche, marginal, unpopular.

This debate comes up year after year. Often the most damaging antis are the ones with firearms licenses.

Vegeta wrote: »
    Hiding any aspect of our sport is a bad idea. It distances more and more people from the realities of hunting. The more active and visible our sport (for the right reasons) the better, it is seen as acceptable and a normal pastime.

This debate comes up year after year. Often the most damaging antis are the ones with firearms licenses.
    spot on there well said

I argued that exact point years ago about terrier work - can't believe how naive I was.
    Some jobs that we have to do in field sports are a very hard if not impossible sell and best kept to ourselves.
    I'm not saying to stop putting up pics - just not ones that can cause us hassle.

There's also more humane ways of dealing with a vixen with cubs - shooting her and leaving cubs to starve is simply not necessary. Just cause a fella is itching to try out his new toys is no excuse.
    I agree - you'd think people would know better than to post that kind of pic.

So your out in a field shooting rabbits or crows with shotgun and a fox comes out in front of you
    Are you telling me you will not shoot it???

I would and certainly will not go looking for the cubs
    They die so be it
    That's 3-5 less foxes to worry about in the future and hundreds of pheasants and lambs saved

Can I just point out its VERMIN!!!
    The antis will moan as much as they want and nothing will be done to stop me or anyone else in this country from hunting

I argued that exact point years ago about terrier work - can't believe how naive I was.
    Some jobs that we have to do in field sports are a very hard if not impossible sell and best kept to ourselves.
    I'm not saying to stop putting up pics - just not ones that can cause us hassle.
    There was no anti pointing out the issue about the vixen, only other shooters. It wasn't an issue till our own started to point out something that the majority of people wouldn't have even noticed.

The reason anyone can read or post here is because we are 100% legal, and do not need to hide away. If you start then it's a slippery slope.

The anti brigade will always find a way. If we made this forum private, it would not stop the pictures getting out. So if we stop posting pictures it seems as though we have to hide our ways.

Feck that.

I'll happily go toe to toe with 15 or 20 extremists.
    There's also more humane ways of dealing with a vixen with cubs - shooting her and leaving cubs to starve is simply not necessary.
    It's also not always an option. So criticising someone for not doing it or not being able to is doing the work of the anti squad for them.
    Just cause a fella is itching to try out his new toys is no excuse.
    You don't know the OP, and making accusations like that helps no one.
    I agree - you'd think people would know better than to post that kind of pic.
    I don't post pictures simply because i couldn't be arsed with taking pictures when i'm out shooting. Doesn't mean i would not do it for fear of what some extremist might do to twist and turn it to suit their needs.

For Christ's sake lads. We have enough crap to be dealing with, without having to defend our actions from our own.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Cass wrote: »
    There was no anti pointing out the issue about the vixen, only other shooters. It wasn't an issue till our own started to point out something that the majority of people wouldn't have even noticed.
    The issue was the picture - it didn't need me or others to point it out - it's there for all to see :confused:
    As I said a fella here saw it and spotted that it was milky - you don't have to be a qualified veterinarian to spot it - he has a few cats and never shot anything in his life.

The fact that some of you are saying we're wrong for giving out about it because it 'tips' off the antis just shows that ye acknowledge it to be detrimental to the good of our sport. So again I have to ask WHY POST ANYTHING THAT COULD BE EVEN REMOTELY CONTROVERSIAL?
    I'd prefer to keep the freedom to hunt foxes as vermin when and how I want than to exercise the right to post on some forum to show people I don't even know that I can shoot a fox.
    There are some seriously anti TD's in positions that could do us very real damage - they're just looking for an excuse - trust me on that one or just ask anyone even remotely involved in hunt politics.

The issue was the picture - it didn't need me or others to point it out - it's there for all to see :confused:
    As I said a fella here saw it and spotted that it was milky - you don't have to be a qualified veterinarian to spot it - he has a few cats and never shot anything in his life.
    It did not even make it past the second post before the point was raised. no such thing as "good shooting, but out of curiosity did you manage to locate the cubs". - No. Instead it was immediately in with the boot and the superior attitudes.

As if that were not enough then the OP gets accused of "playing with his new toy"?

You also make generalisations. I'm sure others seen it too, but why the need to make a big deal about it. So he didn't get them this time. They are vermin, and once the animal was killed outright that is all the law requires.

When you have antis, and extremists writing articles to papers linking the Mars rover to animal rights, the tragedies in the recent American shootings to animal rights do you really think this picture is not going to be used regardless of whether the vixen is nursing or not. However these same people need only look at the thread, and see the "hunters" doing their job for them, and carry on about their other daily business.

The fact that some of you are saying we're wrong for giving out about it because it 'tips' off the antis just shows that ye acknowledge it to be detrimental to the good of our sport. So again I have to ask WHY POST ANYTHING THAT COULD BE EVEN REMOTELY CONTROVERSIAL?
    Why hide away what you do? You embarrased, ashamed, guilty of what you do? If you live in fear of what others might think you'll never do anything. If posting pictures is not your thing it does not mean it's not for others.
    I'd prefer to keep the freedom to hunt foxes as vermin when and how I want than to exercise the right to post on some forum to show people I don't even know that I can shoot a fox.
    Your choice, but not everyone's, and while posting on this forum whomever wants can post whatever picture they want.

The rules about this being a safe place to post goes for everyone, and hunters/shooters, etc that attack people the same way an extremist would will suffer the same punishment as them. No one on this forum should have to wonder what crap they will suffer if they post a certain picture or comment. Not so long as it is legal, which it is.
    There are some seriously anti TD's in positions that could do us very real damage - they're just looking for an excuse - trust me on that one or just ask anyone even remotely involved in hunt politics.
    Please. The scare tactics might work on some, but not me. Foxes will never be declared protected. Ever. Their numbers are rising even with year round hunting. As for the TD's. You mean those that say whatever they think is the current "thing" to keep their jobs.

My local TD promised the earth moon, and stars and claims to be a country person, and to defend traditional country practices. Then he starts throwing out off the cuff remarks to be seen to be against cruelty. When i contacted him he made a strong rebuttal, but when i challenged him to verify the reports he stopped communications.

It has been said on here for years that we are one of the strongest voting groups in the country if only we could get our finger out, and use that ability. 99.9% of people opposed to hunting don't have the strength of character or determination to pursue these matters hence the reason the "core group" are made up of less than 20 people. Our problem is evident in this thread. Too many people, too quick to chastise our own. This translate into the political element. Recent surveys could have, and should have been done in days, but instead we took weeks to get the required numbers. I understand not everyone is on the internet, but for God's sake there tens of thousands that are.

So my theory is we stop attacking each other, and direct our attention towards those that warrant it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭td5

There are far too many so called Hunters/ Sportsmen that put their guns away in Feb and dont take them out again until 1st Nov. These are the same guys who are the Whiners that every club has that game is scarce !

Cass wrote: »
    It did not even make it past the second post before the point was raised. no such thing as "good shooting, but out of curiosity did you manage to locate the cubs". - No. Instead it was immediately in with the boot and the superior attitudes.

As if that were not enough then the OP gets accused of "playing with his new toy"?

You also make generalisations. I'm sure others seen it too, but why the need to make a big deal about it. So he didn't get them this time. They are vermin, and once the animal was killed outright that is all the law requires.

When you have antis, and extremists writing articles to papers linking the Mars rover to animal rights, the tragedies in the recent American shootings to animal rights do you really think this picture is not going to be used regardless of whether the vixen is nursing or not. However these same people need only look at the thread, and see the "hunters" doing their job for them, and carry on about their other daily business.

Why hide away what you do? You embarrased, ashamed, guilty of what you do? If you live in fear of what others might think you'll never do anything. If posting pictures is not your thing it does not mean it's not for others.

Your choice, but not everyone's, and while posting on this forum whomever wants can post whatever picture they want.

The rules about this being a safe place to post goes for everyone, and hunters/shooters, etc that attack people the same way an extremist would will suffer the same punishment as them. No one on this forum should have to wonder what crap they will suffer if they post a certain picture or comment. Not so long as it is legal, which it is.

Please. The scare tactics might work on some, but not me. Foxes will never be declared protected. Ever. Their numbers are rising even with year round hunting. As for the TD's. You mean those that say whatever they think is the current "thing" to keep their jobs.

My local TD promised the earth moon, and stars and claims to be a country person, and to defend traditional country practices. Then he starts throwing out off the cuff remarks to be seen to be against cruelty. When i contacted him he made a strong rebuttal, but when i challenged him to verify the reports he stopped communications.

It has been said on here for years that we are one of the strongest voting groups in the country if only we could get our finger out, and use that ability. 99.9% of people opposed to hunting don't have the strength of character or determination to pursue these matters hence the reason the "core group" are made up of less than 20 people. Our problem is evident in this thread. Too many people, too quick to chastise our own. This translate into the political element. Recent surveys could have, and should have been done in days, but instead we took weeks to get the required numbers. I understand not everyone is on the internet, but for God's sake there tens of thousands that are.

So my theory is we stop attacking each other, and direct our attention towards those that warrant it.

You just don't get it - no problem hopefully it'll get through to a few people - I'd be happy with that.

Hopefully not.

You have already lost by admitting to hiding away your sport, and living in fear of what others might do. So if your idea of more people "getting it" works out then hunting, in all it's forms, will become an unnecessary sub culture. Which is complete crap as it's legal.

Think its safe to say this lads thread was ruined ( like most threads on this because everyone is a saint )
    There should never have been a debate on this
    The lad shot a fox and took it cleanly
    Fox does her cubs die so saves time shooting them later in the year

Lookin for the cubs ffs
    Pull the other one will yas

On any forum pretty much every thread in some fashion goes off topic. It's the nature of natural discussion, and that is the purpose of these fora. Discussion.

This thread was the result of an interest in the OP's rifle, and set up, but the discussion progressed from there, and while i may not agree with some people i still think it's good for people to get their opinion across.

I'm not doubting that cass
    Everyone is well entitled to there opinions but at least have a good opinion and not try to hide what we do in the hunting community
    By hiding it there'd be more reason for antis or anyone else for that matter to start asking questions
    In my opinion I couldn't give a fcuk what someone says to me
    Won't stop me shooting, ferreting or hunting with hawks

I'm not doubting that cass
    Everyone is well entitled to there opinions but at least have a good opinion and not try to hide what we do in the hunting community
    By hiding it there'd be more reason for antis or anyone else for that matter to start asking questions
    In my opinion I couldn't give a fcuk what someone says to me
    Won't stop me shooting, ferreting or hunting with hawks

We should go drinking together !!

Lurcher ! Ur not getting through to anyone cause at the end of the day nothing I against the law was done , and some of us have been hunting for years and are not going to change ever . I love my sport and will not hide it from anyone.

I don't beleive you rang a TD what so ever either , because really and truly why the **** would you . There not going to pass any heed on u or me for that matter.

This is my opinion and as cass said I'm entitled to it