Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

if a bomb went off

• 19-04-2013 1:00pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,967 ✭✭✭

If a bomb went off in Ireland say like what happened in Boston. How quick would the guards be to find who did it?

It just seem very fast that the f.b.i could find these guys in Boston.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

depends, what trousers would they be wearing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

IM0 wrote: »
    depends, what trousers would they be wearing

'Distinctive' ones, probably. Seems to be the usual description on Crimecall.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

39 years and counting

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

3 days, 4 hours and 33 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

A grenade in a tayto bag wouldnt have the same devastating effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Sure anytime a bomb went off in Ireland before those that planted it were usually kind enough to ring in to let us know they did it. No need for the Gardaí at all, at all!

In fact they were often sound enough to let us know beforehand where the bomb even was!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

What do you mean 'if'? Plenty of bombs have gone off in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Tommy Tiernan back when he was good said it best..........

"You could be in a pub in Dublin...a pub made of christmas trees and petrol...wedged in between a fireworks factory and a juvenile delinquents home...on halloween...and if the fire alarm went off, sure, you'd look for the fire. If you didn't see it, it didn't exist! If it kept going, you'd start to make jokes about it! "ha ha is that my phone?!"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

The lads in their Nike air clothes don't seem smart enough to set a bomb off in Ireland..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

really? a bomb goes off in Boston, and After Hours manages to twist it into yet another thinly veiled "Ireland sucks" thread.
    If there's one thing we do well it's an Inferiority complex. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

I'll be keeping clear of marathons for a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,967 ✭✭✭cena

IzzyWizzy wrote: »
    What do you mean 'if'? Plenty of bombs have gone off in Ireland.

I mean a big bomb. I know the IRA have let bombs off in ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

cena wrote: »

They let off big bombs as well.

really? a bomb goes off in Boston, and After Hours manages to twist it into yet another thinly veiled "Ireland sucks" thread.
    If there's one thing we do well it's an Inferiority complex. :P

Where has this come from?

Super-Rush wrote: »
    They let off big bombs as well.

I am not that old to know what the IRA has really done.

13spanner wrote: »
    I'll be keeping clear of marathons for a while.

just dont try and finish them and you''ll be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

Other terrorist groups have let big bombs off in ireland.

markie29 wrote: »

Like who if you don't mind me asking

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

the uda or uvf left off a bomb in dublin in the early seventies i think.

• Registered Users Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Ziphius

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dublin_and_monaghan_bombings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

UVF...the bombings in 1974

• Registered Users Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

you mean like Omagh(1998), Claudy (1972), Enniskillen (1987), Dublin (1974), Monaghan(1974), WarrenPoint (1979), Black Friday 1972, Newry Police Station bombing (1985), Shankhill Road Fish shop bombing (1993)

never been any big bombs in Ireland that have killed!

in context, 3 people so far have died, many have bad injuries, in Boston, all have the above had 9 or more fatalities

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

It depends on where the bomb went off. If it went off in the Dublin St. Paddy's Day Parade we'd have a better chance of finding the bomber than if it went off in an empty field in Cork.

At the same time we wouldn't have anywhere near the manpower the U.S. has to collect and go through images and footage. Nor would we have the technology they have to automate a large amount of that process.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

if you're old enough to be using boards, you're old enough to use Google or Wikipedia.

markie29 wrote: »

I read that in the way they mention a brand on tv, then say there are other brands as good which do just as good a job :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Omagh?

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭20260622

mikom wrote: »
    Tommy Tiernan back when he was good said it best..........

When was that?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Bogger77 wrote: »
    in context, 2 people so far have died, many have bad injuries, in Boston, all have the above had 9 or more fatalities

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Seems this thread is a case of "if it isn't on youtube I never heard of it".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 maithanfear

If it was a political group they would find out pretty fast but if it was the lone wolf type, probably never. It took until the capture of Larry Murphy until they discovered a serial killer was operating in Ireland.