Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

alps wrote:
    Produce from God's country....

Blessed by the Healy Rae's ? Or is that just the premium range?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭MANSFIELD

whelan2 wrote: »
    What's the alternative

1 alternative would be to sell up .There is more to life than working for practically nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

ICMSA calls for ‘voluntary’ milk supply reduction scheme @agrilandIreland http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/icmsa-calls-on-minister-creed-to-implement-milk-supply-controls/

Their opinion poll has people split as to whether or not it's a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Farmer Ed wrote: »
    You abviously haven't read the Gospel according to Teagasc. winter milk is one of the seven deadly sins.
    No doubt Irish milk from grass is much better than most of the milk you'll find anywhere. The trouble is apart from kerrygold butter. We are not getting much of a premium for it You are absolutely correct the more milk we turn in to cheap commoditys the lower the overall price will be. I wouldn't be so confident you'll always get a better price than me. I got a bit of a contract today for milk at 60 c. But not from A co op. The point I'm making is geography should no longer be an excuse. If Irish butter can command a premium on the German market. I'm sure other products can also.

thats a brilliant price ,60 cent minus costs at 25 cent is 35 cent profit at 300 k litres is 105 k a year.sign up another 500k litres from me,ill do it for 55 cent a litre.the rest of ye can sugar off i offered first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

keep going wrote: »
    thats a brilliant price ,60 cent minus costs at 25 cent is 35 cent profit at 300 k litres is 105 k a year.sign up another 500k litres from me,ill do it for 55 cent a litre.the rest of ye can sugar off i offered first

You mightn't have the right animal to produce that milk kg.

browned wrote: »

its all white isnt it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

ICMSA calls for ‘voluntary’ milk supply reduction scheme @agrilandIreland http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/icmsa-calls-on-minister-creed-to-implement-milk-supply-controls/

I suppose it depends where they are in their expansion as to what way they vote, dairy sector must be costing the EU agri budget a fortune at this stage, any political interference would only cost more in court case,
    As Dawggone said it'll have to be a bloodbath (ie 12 - 14c/ltr) to sort it

keep going wrote: »

Don't get excited it's a relatively small order. But it's a start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I started paying my levy to the ICMSA again this year as I know afew hard working farmers who are involved with it, however sh1te like this, and talk of raising intervention up to 28c/l would make me reconsider 2bh. Either we accept the fact that we are in this world market, where we are price takers no matter what, and accept that the only solution for the likes of the current crisis is to let it all run through the wash, the sooner the price hits the floor, forces the least efficient to curb production themselves (or fail...), or we go look much more seriously at the alternatives like dwag/Kowtow are suggesting like the EU market, organics, ie adding value rather than dumping milk powder on the world market and hoping for the best.

Not fussy about the animal for the job it's doing. But I do know a guy offering €1 for buffalo milk. Did a cheese making course myself a while back and the strange thing was none of the cheese makers were using cows milk. I suppose there are a number of ways of choking a dog.

Don't get excited it's a relatively small order. But it's a start

ah feck,with all the depression with the weather and grass shortage this had finally put a pep in my step.btw the coop could feck off with msa,its every man for himself these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

Not fussy about the animal for the job it's doing. But I do know a guy offering €1 for buffalo milk. Did a cheese making course myself a while back and the strange thing was none of the cheese makers were using cows milk. I suppose there are a number of ways of choking a dog.

Heard of the buffalo milk, never realised it was worth €1/litre tho. Growing markets for sheep and goats cheese. Niche markets like these are limited tho. It's great to be able to locate one of these opportunities so fair play to you. 60 cent/litre is a fantastic price even if it's for a limited amount of milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Heard of the buffalo milk, never realised it was worth €1/litre tho. Growing markets for sheep and goats cheese. Niche markets like these are limited tho. It's great to be able to locate one of these opportunities so fair play to you. 60 cent/litre is a fantastic price even if it's for a limited amount of milk.

Buffalo's only milk 1500-4500 litres a lactation but they have a long life, 20 years, not bad if you were getting €1/litre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Buffalo's only milk 1500-4500 litres a lactation but they have a long life, 20 years, not bad if you were getting €1/litre.

Do they fit in conventional parlours/cubicles or is it a start from scratch job.

Sam Kade wrote: »

From what I hear 2000l would be a good buffalo but solids are huge. Something like 8 or 9% fat

Lads if we keep this up we could just be witnessing the arse falling out of buffalo milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,259 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Buffalo are a placid, docile, curious animal. They are domesticated a lot longer than cows.
    They are stronger. I think the parlour has to be reinforced a bit.
    Also have to protect trees etc as they will damage them.
    About 2,000 litres per year.
    I think the price should be north of €1/litre.

See the McKnight woman with the milking goats in Donegal. Good niche.
    Indoors all year.
    Downside, you shoot any male when born. Cannot be fattened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

The money is in processing and retail. Farmers will always be price takers.

Intervention will only delay recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

kevinm177 wrote: »
    Only a few days ago you were talking about the huge opportunity that's coming for people that survive in dairying. Now you have a totally different view.

I'm not talking from both sides of my mouth.
    Anyone that's profitable in milk over the next few years will have big opportunities come their way.

The lands east of the Danube are15/20yrs away from kicking into top gear. There's huge investment to be made in infrastructure and facilities. However it's now well under way. KWS, DECALB, MONSANTO etc are now establishing themselves there. France's position of being one of the top producers of seeds in the world won't last long...

Timmaay wrote: »
    I started paying my levy to the ICMSA again this year as I know afew hard working farmers who are involved with it, however sh1te like this, and talk of raising intervention up to 28c/l would make me reconsider 2bh. Either we accept the fact that we are in this world market, where we are price takers no matter what, and accept that the only solution for the likes of the current crisis is to let it all run through the wash, the sooner the price hits the floor, forces the least efficient to curb production themselves (or fail...), or we go look much more seriously at the alternatives like dwag/Kowtow are suggesting like the EU market, organics, ie adding value rather than dumping milk powder on the world market and hoping for the best.

+1.
    Shyte or get off the pot!!

I get 60cpl for raw milk at evening milkings.

Now, got to figure out how to organise a couple of thousand punters every afternoon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Chiarrai_abu

Timmaay wrote: »

The next closest option the ICMSA had was that we all say a mass together.
    Are they skipping the issues at Co Op Board level where our costs are 10 times higher than New Zealand? (€250 per cow) how much is the administration of the boards per litre on us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Dawggone wrote: »
    I'm not talking from both sides of my mouth.

Nor me, quite apart from anything else the cigar makes it impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,449 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The next closest option the ICMSA had was that we all say a mass together.
    Are they skipping the issues at Co Op Board level where our costs are 10 times higher than New Zealand? (€250 per cow) how much is the administration of the boards per litre on us?

If I remember from the journal management costs in Ireland is 25euro/cow 10 times higher than NZ at 2.5 euro/cow. In Holland it is 6 euro/cow. Equating it back to c/L it is 0.5c/L if the average cow is only doing 5K/L. I imagine that it is a little lower than that .

It was interesting to Stan McCarthy exit from the Kerry Co-Op board. It is being heralded by some as a bad day. Howe you cannot serve two masters and there has to be a conflict of interest between the two with the co-op being the main milk supplier to Kerry. I think this will be one of the changes after this. Kerry and Glanbia want to pay little with commodity price for there milk however they are getting a product produced to a very high standard compared to some milk produced elsewhere. Yet when milk gets very espensive the are not in a rush to pay full market value either.

With Stan gone from the board it may allow the co-op to look at supplying milk elsewhere and or negotiating milk supply price agreements that may be more favourable to suppliers. who owns the stainless steel the Co-op or the PLC.

Farm produce prices follow oil prices. This is partly due to grain that was for bio fuel ending up as animal feed. Feed is the highest cost associated with milk production. Envoirment costs are following fast and this may prevent Eastern Europe becoming the powerhouse some think it will. The EU will force regulation compliance of these country's. Cheap labour will not remain for ever with a free market. I imagine that in twenty years time living standards in Poland and the rest of eastern Europe will be much closer to our than is now the case. Germany is just too near them.

We have failed to brand our products in Ireland. It is too easy for processors( either meat or milk) to take our product and give us the lowest commodity price possible. It is too easy to take a margin off that. Even if we do brand (eg AA and HE beef) it is too easy for processors to take control of the band wagon.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Political instability and skewed economic policy are what will always hold Eastern Europe and Russia from being what the powerhouse of world food production. I think anyway.
    It's cheap oil that makes cheap everything.. Apart from silage plastic for some odd reason!

Milked out wrote: »

Having trouble reading that. Subscription only.$8 per week. And I thought the journal was too expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Milked out wrote: »

Having trouble reading that. Subscription only.$8 per week. And I thought the journal was too expensive.

I linked it off Facebook, thought it would open here same way. Basically they had set a price at 5.60kg/ms ( 45c/L) but because of a miscalculation they are resetting it at below 5 which means essentially the milk sent in for the last 10 months was overpaid according to murray goldburn and fonterra as part of contracts had to match them so both coops want farmers to reimburse or else take a price cut to clear it for the next 2 months (take 14c/L for these 2 months) or finance it over 3 years with them. This is in order to restore profits as the were going to launch on the ASX apparently. My opinion they made the f up not the farmer so they should take the hit. It could push some over the edge down there