Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

Fonterra are selling less stock through the auction and stocks are building up there atm.

I have a suspicion those stocks will be released next April.

did the same last yr , they are trying to kill off the european expandison before it can really take off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

did the same last yr , they are trying to kill off the european expandison before it can really take off

Europe can't do it as it would be thought of as market manipulation. Fonterra do it and it's just stock clearance.

Go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Any chance the top people at Glanbia have taken a huge pay cut this year to show solidarity with their milk suppliers.
    I somewhat seriously doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Theve gone to far this time dropping to 24 cent. Unjustifed imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

mf240 wrote: »
    total joke, no call to drop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

whelan2 wrote: »

Looks like I won't be filling that new meal bin I bought today :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,732 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Hope each and every one of ye Glanbia shareholders/suppliers will be picking up the phone and phoning yer local board men/women .cutting a cent now as markets are stabilising is a piss take and on top of the hush hush approach to clongowes fiasco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

mf240 wrote: »

24 or 25, thought the drop was from 26 to 25 for Sept
    Either way, they are one shower of useless f***ers. Seriously.

Any reasoning for the drop or are they just taking the piss now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,732 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

24 or 25, thought the drop was from 26 to 25 for Sept
    Either way, they are one shower of useless f***ers. Seriously.

24 with 1 cent top up of yer own money back .id be spitting fire if I was a Glanbia supplier atm.was too big a punt taken on bellview and Chinese baby food market????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

This is a step too far, as others said between this and the clongowes scandal they are taking the piss.

Market leading price my hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Glanbia gone nuclear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Any Strathroy suppliers here, what are yous on? Buying in extra heifers and more expansion was what I was seriously thinking about, but likes of this sh1t, why bother.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    24 with 1 cent top up of yer own money back .id be spitting fire if I was a Glanbia supplier atm.was too big a punt taken on bellview and Chinese baby food market????

And will there be one word from the Ifa, IFJ, Teagasc or any one else of the cheerleading brigade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

And will there be one word from the Ifa, IFJ, Teagasc or any one else of the cheerleading brigade.

I had a 'middle' management guy from my crowd here today...he was all concerned about the fact that I'd cut way back on supply (split the herd onto a new company and is supplying a different branch of the same Coop) and he was saying that they were holding at 31cpl when in Ireland the average was 28cpl(??). I didn't enlighten him of the actuality!
    Anyhow he tells me that they are lacking milk as many are getting out due to many different reasons...so I asked him how much of their milk is going to commodities market. Very little (no figures given!) and they will find it very hard to hold price for next year. Ffs they are all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Timmaay wrote: »
    Any Strathroy suppliers here, what are yous on? Buying in extra heifers and more expansion was what I was seriously thinking about, but likes of this sh1t, why bother.

Exactly
    Absolutely fcuking disgraceful :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

It's a good job for them that everyone signed the milk supply agreement.

Some company if this is a sign for the future.

They are absolutely ruthless and want everything for themselves.

They went from promising to pay a leading milk price before the separation of coop and plc to a competitive milk price on their behalf at the last spinout.

Bunch of cheats and liars, it's no wonder the farmer board members turn out like they do. There's not one rotten apple in the barrel, the whole barrel is rotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Exactly
    Absolutely fcuking disgraceful :mad:

It's a pretty petty money grabbing move on their part, that despite saving them a few euros will lead to a lot more damage in the long - term especially with the harm it's going to do with their relationship with suppliers....
    like a lot of lads here I'm like a bull this evening questioning what's the f**king point expanding pouring money into heifers/sheds/land/roadways and working away 7 days a week like a busy fool when all the signs I'm getting from my milk buyer are they will and are going to shaft me on milk price at every opertiunity without fail and not even consider looking in-house by cutting wages/letting of staff in pointless roles and consolidating the business

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    It's a good job for them that everyone signed the milk supply agreement.

Some company if this is a sign for the future.

They are absolutely ruthless and want everything for themselves.

They went from promising to pay a leading milk price before the separation of coop and plc to a competitive milk price on their behalf at the last spinout.

Bunch of cheats and liars, it's no wonder the farmer board members turn out like they do. There's not one rotten apple in the barrel, the whole barrel is rotten.
    so whats going to be done about, the usual sit back and let them at it?

The reason they think they can get away with this is the spin out
    Newsflash - the spin out is OUR money which glanbia facilitated and promoted as a withdrawal for expansion (how are ya)

Livid and I sincerely hope even the most sycophantic gii fan boys are realising that its time GII and more particularly the plc who run it and has abandoned its roots hear the wrath of suppliers
    Doubtless senior management pay rises are in the bag :mad:

jaymla627 wrote: »
    It's a pretty petty money grabbing move on their part, that despite saving them a few euros will lead to a lot more damage in the long - term especially with the harm it's going to do with their relationship with suppliers....
    like a lot of lads here I'm like a bull this evening questioning what's the f**king point expanding pouring money into heifers/sheds/land/roadways and working away 7 days a week like a busy fool when all the signs I'm getting from my milk buyer are they will and are going to shaft me on milk price at every opertiunity without fail and not even consider looking at their own house by cutting wages/letting of staff in pointless roles
    What is the story on Bellview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭castletrader

Strathroy are looking for more suppliers at the moment. Would be worth looking into.

Dawggone wrote: »
    Ffs they are all the same.

They are and they aren't. You're guy may be talking it down, but he's still giving 31c.
    25c is beyond a joke. 12 months ago the grandiose statement being touted around was that 24c/l was equivalent to a dry stock farmer getting 4€/kg, well we're nearly there.

Looking at part of Glanbias price statement
    TGlanbia Co-operative Society has made very significant support payments to members this year: March (1cpl); April (2cpl); May (3cpl); June (1cpl), July (1.5cpl) and August (1cpl).

Rather than giving themselves a pat on the back for supporting the milk price with our own money, they should be kicking themselves in the arse because they are getting a price for their product 1,2 and 3cent less than every other coop in the country, and as a result HAS to support the milk price by this much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

No doubt the cost of covering up off the board member little arrangement with all his extra milk has to be paid by the rest of us milk suppliers.and I directly not a glanbia supplier only tru my co-op centenary thurles.belleview is not going great either.has to be paid for too.was told recently that there is lots of problems down there.pay peanuts get monkies was the line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

That's a fair kick in the stones from Glanbia for you lads and lassies:eek:

I think Kerry realised from 09 that too much cutting would severly hit their milk supply, even after keeping it at 22c. There were loads of incalf heifers and heifer calves sold just to stay afloat and it was only last year that supplies were secured again. I don't think Kerry will cut anymore but will lag a bit behind the recovery to claw the money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭jaymla627

What is the story on Bellview?

It's shut - down last I heard, the ole chap was telling us he does meet reams of glanbia lorries on the tullamore ring road everyday coming back empty and heading back down to Waterford direction after being up in cavan with a load of milk for the uht plant it's a pity they didn't build something like that in Belview instead of drawing milk half way across the country to the plant

They are and they aren't. You're guy may be talking it down, but he's still giving 31c.
    25c is beyond a joke. 12 months ago the grandiose statement being touted around was that 24c/l was equivalent to a dry stock farmer getting 4€/kg, well we're nearly there.

Looking at part of Glanbias price statement
    TGlanbia Co-operative Society has made very significant support payments to members this year: March (1cpl); April (2cpl); May (3cpl); June (1cpl), July (1.5cpl) and August (1cpl).

Rather than giving themselves a pat on the back for supporting the milk price with our own money, they should be kicking themselves in the arse because they are getting a price for their product 1,2 and 3cent less than every other coop in the country, and as a result HAS to support the milk price by this much.
    Exactly
    Paying us with our own money
    A stroke and...
    Its contempt for us that they think they're codding us about whose money is behind the so called support
    A coverup of bad management and a further contempt for their loyal members and suppliers if they cannot do what other buyers are doing

What an absolute fcuking disgrace :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Reckon arrabawn will follow suit, glanbia could be under pressure with investment in belview. Youd imagine they would have held like kerry/lakeland. I always disagreed with a plc structure for a co op, that is why i stayed with the devil i know..

jaymla627 wrote: »
    It's shut - down last I heard, the ole chap was telling us he does meet reams of glanbia lorries on the tullamore ring road everyday coming back empty and heading back down to Waterford direction after being up in cavan with a load of milk for the uht plant it's a pity they didn't build something like that in Belview instead of drawing milk half way across the country to the plant
    our milk has been going for uht for nearly 2 years, one week every month, every day collection. Not too bad as lough egish isnt too far away from here, surely they could source milk closer than down the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

How many votes do you need to requisition an EGM of GIIL?