Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Sam Kade wrote: »
    If you want to live cheap why have cornflakes when you can have porridge for 7 cent a bowl ;)

including a full litre of milk ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Is there many people here cutting the wages or hours of their expensive labour units on their farms in this current climate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I ve had no relief last 3 months, bit sick of it but other jobs starting to calm down. half shaft went in front axle of tractor the other day,. Me and bro fixed it other evening. Any savings that are possible!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,464 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I wonder how long before lads are looking for quotas to be brought back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Is there many people here cutting the wages or hours of their expensive labour units on their farms in this current climate?
    I had my 15yo nephew with me for the week and I paid him in lollipops:cool:

I'm not sure it's sustainable in the long term though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,812 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Thinking of not sending eldest lad back to school

I wonder how long before lads are looking for quotas to be brought back.
    whatever chance i have paying back my loans with 120 cows, 45 cows wouldnt cover herself and the kids! Hope i never see quotas again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

kevthegaff wrote: »
    whatever chance i have paying back my loans with 120 cows, 45 cows wouldnt cover herself and the kids! Hope i never see quotas again

Dead on kev. Would be madness for me to even consider coming home to farm if they stayed.
    Still wonder if I was mad lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Lollipops wouldn't cut it around here ,at 15 they want beer and women !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 571 ✭✭✭18MonthsaSlave

German Farmers were complaining on German TV today about the price they are being paid for milk
    The interviewed "expert" was saying that closed markets in Asia and Russia are main reason for price drop.
    Yesterday I bought a litre of milk for 51cent in Aldi in my part of Germany.
    That is the market working without the consumer actively conciously pushing prices down.
    In fact I really don't know how expensive a litre of milk would need to be for me to stop buying it or reducing intake. Same goes for cheese or yogurt or milked rice or milk chocolate for that matter. I have a pretty inelastic demand curve for dairy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 571 ✭✭✭18MonthsaSlave

Any indications that milk price collapse has reduced farmers appetite for land at over 10k euro an acre?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

German Farmers were complaining on German TV today about the price they are being paid for milk
    The interviewed "expert" was saying that closed markets in Asia and Russia are main reason for price drop.
    Yesterday I bought a litre of milk for 51cent in Aldi in my part of Germany.
    That is the market working without the consumer actively conciously pushing prices down.
    In fact I really don't know how expensive a litre of milk would need to be for me to stop buying it or reducing intake. Same goes for cheese or yogurt or milked rice or milk chocolate for that matter. I have a pretty inelastic demand curve for dairy.

French farmers/unions are getting strong support now from their German counterparts.
    Big activity now being planned for sept 7(?).
    French politicos are now admitting that farmers are the ones suffering from US/EU hegemony.
    Changes afoot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Dawggone wrote: »
    French farmers/unions are getting strong support now from their German counterparts.
    Big activity now being planned for sept 7(?).
    French politicos are now admitting that farmers are the ones suffering from US/EU hegemony.
    Changes afoot?

Ohh, I get very nervous when men in suits decide that they should get involved for the good of the farmer.

Ohh, I get very nervous when men in suits decide that they should get involved for the good of agricture.

Can it get much worse Clyde?

Politics and food are never far apart.

Can it get much worse Clyde?

Lol.... Fcuk ya it could

If milk goes under 24cpl for a sustained period of time I for one will get rid.

Before you say good riddance, I will be one of the first back in when the price turns.

Things were going grand till putin invaded ukraine, and now hes destroying dairy products that were smuggled in. A right c**t

I've read more pages of price history and analysis from every side in the last few hours than I have for a good while.

Without even thinking about the recent milk price, what I can say with absolute certainty is that if gross over-simplification, failure to identify (let alone address) major risks; and institutionalised cheer-leading for the buy side to the almost total exclusion of the "naysayers" are characteristic of a boom - we are in the midst of a dairy boom.

Things were going grand till putin invaded ukraine, and now hes destroying dairy products that were smuggled in. A right c**t

That's the truth.

We should give him a medal - by incinerating dairy products Putin is actually the only person in the world holding the price up!

Russia isn't consuming less dairy, it's just not buying it from Europe. Certainly it causes a little mainly localised dislocation but there should be little or no effect on global supply and demand.

kowtow wrote: »
    I've read more pages of price history and analysis from every side in the last few hours than I have for a good while.

Without even thinking about the recent milk price, what I can say with absolute certainty is that if gross over-simplification, failure to identify (let alone address) major risks; and institutionalised cheer-leading for the buy side to the almost total exclusion of the "naysayers" are characteristic of a boom - we are in the midst of a dairy boom.

Damn right we are..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

The media really milked the whole quotas going.

Then coveny was buttering us all up about the potential.

Im a bit cheesed of with the whole thing ,but no use crying over spilled milk.

We should give him a medal - by incinerating dairy products Putin is actually the only person in the world holding the price up!

Russia isn't consuming less dairy, it's just not buying it from Europe. Certainly it causes a little mainly localised dislocation but there should be little or no effect on global supply and demand.

True. But you may be going a bit too macro with that line of thinking.
    When a market is ruptured there is pain on both sides for a while. That is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Mulumpy wrote: »

No, last thing I'd consider

I'm the highest paid staff member here so would be the first to go

- we are in the midst of a dairy boom.

Kowtow, is this the bust, or the prelude to the bust ( or has the bust even started)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

mf240 wrote: »
    The media really milked the whole quotas going.

Then coveny was buttering us all up about the potential.

Im a bit cheesed of with the whole thing ,but no use crying over spilled milk.
    Yogurt it spot on there...

No, last thing I'd consider

I'm the highest paid staff member here so would be the first to go

Haven't you learned anything from '08?

Highest earners are sacrosanct...

Just because I'm paid the most doesn't mean I'm the highest earner

Quality

I'm actually getting the vibes from 1 that he's not coming back on the spring. He's with us 10 yrs and things are good for him so its not too bad. Will be hard to replace him nonetheless