Sam Kade wrote: » If you want to live cheap why have cornflakes when you can have porridge for 7 cent a bowl
Mulumpy wrote: » Is there many people here cutting the wages or hours of their expensive labour units on their farms in this current climate?
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » I had my 15yo nephew with me for the week and I paid him in lollipops:cool: I'm not sure it's sustainable in the long term though...
patsy_mccabe wrote: » I wonder how long before lads are looking for quotas to be brought back.
kevthegaff wrote: » whatever chance i have paying back my loans with 120 cows, 45 cows wouldnt cover herself and the kids! Hope i never see quotas again
18MonthsaSlave wrote: » German Farmers were complaining on German TV today about the price they are being paid for milk The interviewed "expert" was saying that closed markets in Asia and Russia are main reason for price drop. Yesterday I bought a litre of milk for 51cent in Aldi in my part of Germany. That is the market working without the consumer actively conciously pushing prices down. In fact I really don't know how expensive a litre of milk would need to be for me to stop buying it or reducing intake. Same goes for cheese or yogurt or milked rice or milk chocolate for that matter. I have a pretty inelastic demand curve for dairy.
Dawggone wrote: » French farmers/unions are getting strong support now from their German counterparts. Big activity now being planned for sept 7(?). French politicos are now admitting that farmers are the ones suffering from US/EU hegemony. Changes afoot?
RightTurnClyde wrote: » Ohh, I get very nervous when men in suits decide that they should get involved for the good of agricture.
Dawggone wrote: » Can it get much worse Clyde?
RightTurnClyde wrote: » Lol.... Fcuk ya it could
kevthegaff wrote: » Things were going grand till putin invaded ukraine, and now hes destroying dairy products that were smuggled in. A right c**t
kowtow wrote: » I've read more pages of price history and analysis from every side in the last few hours than I have for a good while. Without even thinking about the recent milk price, what I can say with absolute certainty is that if gross over-simplification, failure to identify (let alone address) major risks; and institutionalised cheer-leading for the buy side to the almost total exclusion of the "naysayers" are characteristic of a boom - we are in the midst of a dairy boom.
kowtow wrote: » We should give him a medal - by incinerating dairy products Putin is actually the only person in the world holding the price up! Russia isn't consuming less dairy, it's just not buying it from Europe. Certainly it causes a little mainly localised dislocation but there should be little or no effect on global supply and demand.
kowtow wrote: » - we are in the midst of a dairy boom.
mf240 wrote: » The media really milked the whole quotas going. Then coveny was buttering us all up about the potential. Im a bit cheesed of with the whole thing ,but no use crying over spilled milk.
frazzledhome wrote: » No, last thing I'd consider I'm the highest paid staff member here so would be the first to go
Dawggone wrote: » Haven't you learned anything from '08? Highest earners are sacrosanct...