Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Things would be a bit awkward if you ever came across a toll booth in that yoke :pac:

lift the handbrake, be grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Interslice wrote: »
    lift the handbrake, be grand :D

Or else you could buy one of these :pac:

NV1161.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

ted1742 wrote: »
    http://www.adverts.ie/car/bmw/3-series/2001-bmw-318/4341999

was thinking of getting this, what do yous thinK?

I'd be avoiding that like the plague. No NCT, only 3 pictures, and absurdly over priced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

92 golf diesel, 1 year nct, 76k, 1900 euro

It used to belong to a priest!

I'm sure it's very overpriced.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1-9-diesel/6146697

25501664.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

nd wrote: »
    I'm sure it's very overpriced.

Just a tad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

No tax though? And considering it's a 2.5 litre is tax not kinda essential? You'd be looking at over €3000 including tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,877 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Have a look at the price of cars here in New Zealand. Cars at home look an absolute bargain. I still cant get over the daylight robbery some dealers are getting away with here.. Have a gawk through this website... $30000 (€18000) for a 2009 transit! Utter madness.. http://www.nigelthompson.co.nz

€9.6k for a 04 Mazda6? You sir, are having a giraffe. http://www.nigelthompson.co.nz/vehicleDetails/2064-2004-Mazda-Atenza-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭jharr100

Bangers are thin on the ground it seems?
    Waiting for the January sales?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

jharr100 wrote: »
    Bangers are thin on the ground it seems?
    Waiting for the January sales?!

Some bargains will be about next week. Quick cash for x-mas....
    Well, I think there might be, but i could be wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Fiat Seicento Sporting
    1.1 Petrol
    46k Miles (presumably)
    NCT 4/14
    €375
    Bargain buy at €350 with about 5 months test, imo. Sell it on without test for €200 after you've gotten your use out of it. They're deadly fun, I've been trying to get my gf to get one for ages.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-seicento-sporting-00/6148045
    25507620.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Fiat Seicento Sporting
    1.1 Petrol
    46k Miles (presumably)
    NCT 4/14
    €375
    Bargain buy at €350 with about 5 months test, imo. Sell it on without test for €200 after you've gotten your use out of it. They're deadly fun, I've been trying to get my gf to get one for ages.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-seicento-sporting-00/6148045
    25507620.jpeg

Deadly fun, really? They wouldn't strike me as particularly exciting. Are they nippy little cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

those cars should be banned
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yMcHSJzprHM
    do you eally want your girlfriend in one of these?

SeaDaily wrote: »
    Deadly fun, really? They wouldn't strike me as particularly exciting. Are they nippy little cars?

Oh yeah, these and the Cinquecento sporting.

The K11 Micra also scored a modest 2 stars in the Euro NCAP test. Should they be banned too?

Not all 2 star cars are as bad as the seicento. Think of it like when you were in school and doing your junior cert. 85% got you an A. So the lad with 100% and 85 get the same grade but there is a difference between them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ez_UmX9Dc9A
    is the micra test which is fairly bad but not as bad as the seicento.

I would be happy having cars, which perform badly in accidents taken off the road. In all honesty would you like to have an accident in one of these. One of the reasons road deaths is coming down is that while modern small cars are quite safe but a lot of the older ones lack structural integrity and this can be the difference between life and death in a crash.

Considering we are thinking of banning smoking in cars as it is unhealthy surely things that perform this badly in an accident should not be hung onto.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

jacksie66 wrote: »
    Have a look at the price of cars here in New Zealand. Cars at home look an absolute bargain. I still cant get over the daylight robbery some dealers are getting away with here.. Have a gawk through this website... $30000 (€18000) for a 2009 transit! Utter madness.. http://www.nigelthompson.co.nz

Our ridiculous tax system has driven the cost of 2nd hand petrol cars with anything more than a 1.6 in them, through the floor. So when you add the mad tax onto a 2 liter, old car for a few years, it would probably even out against the price of what the same car might have originally cost in a more normal market.

Is there any other Country in Europe or further afield with such ludicrous Motor tax rates as we have here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,579 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Ah c'mon. It's a 90s car, nearly all cars developed in the early 90s and before have poor crash performance compared to todays cars.

A €300 Seicento sporting is the most fun car per euro this thread has ever seen. I want it :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

It is up to you if you want to buy it and drive it but if you have children who dont realise what they are getting into being passengers in the car they might not think the car is fun if it carshes and ...

It is a question of choice. I was in an accident before with a lorry and this has coloured my views. Thankfully I was in a skoda superb (tank). I will admit this changed the way I evaluate cars. If I was in the seicento that night I wouldnt be writing this thread driving ye a little bit mad lads.

Right, regardless of safety and such, I highly doubt you'll get a car with NCT for €300 that'd be mroe fun than a Sei Sporting.

And I appreciate what your saying, having coloured views. Safety in a car is a concern to you, just not for me. I was hit by a Toyota Avensis taxi and sent into a tree in a K10 Micra two years ago. Didn't stop me going out and buying a Vauxhall Nova afterwards.

Thankfully I was in a skoda superb (tank).

The size / weight of the car has less to do with safety than people think. Here's a traditional safe massive tank (Volvo 940) vs a modern tiny Renault:

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

Ooh, on an unrelated note; I'm buying a 1989 Daihatsu Charade tomorrow, to replace my 1995 Peugeot 106. I'll tax it straight away and use it for a month. My theory is; if I drive a very, very **** car for a while, I won't mind paying the tax on my Legend in January :D. Foolproof.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Slightly off topic but do you think what I said above holds water Unkel?

The strength of the stucture has a big part to play too. This tends to be better on larger cars. This is partly why SAAB were able to turn a very old platform into a five star car.

Also if you are in a five star avensis and crash into a five star corolla you are safer.

Anyways lads, I think I have dragged this thread off topic - back to bangers

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/cheap-monde0-2003-1-8-lit-1-200-euros/6091228

Jesus. wrote: »
    Slightly off topic but do you think what I said above holds water Unkel?

Which bit?

It's a fact (easy to verify) that slightly older second hand cars (say older than '07) with slightly bigger than average petrol engines (say 2l) are cheaper here in Ireland than anywhere else in the world :)

My ads on adverts.ie:

Like those Mondeos. Had a base spec 2.0 TD estate with 260k on the clock and loved it. The one above isn't actually 130 bhp, is it?

The strength of the stucture has a big part to play too.

You didn't watch that clip then ;)

My ads on adverts.ie: