Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wonderful memories of the 80's.

• 08-04-2013 10:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭

The death of Margaret Thatcher seems to have ignited some very strong emotions amongst the denizens of AH. So what are the lovely memories of your childhood growing up in the 80's? Apart from all that nonsense?

Gollywog Bars - Racist now, but a fantastic biscuit and ice-cream treat back then.

Those chocolate cigarettes that tasted horrible even then.

Swapping Commodore 64 games with the other lads in your class. Having them stop working just as they were about to load.

Watching Dallas with your Gran. J.R was such a bastard.

Ian Dempsey as the presenter of Dempsey's Den. Zig and Zag living it large. Then Ray D'Arcy arrived. Things changed.

So what do you want to talk about?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

Stinger bars, wham bars, big time bars

Home and away

Not having a care in the world in spite of the fact we had feic all.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,417 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Unemployment,misery and wonderfull memory of getting away from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Walking 3 miles to school playing Angry Birds in my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

The farthest back I can remember is the 90s... Watching Denver the Last Dinosaur on TV...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Sergeant wrote: »

So what what do you want to talk about?

Lets talk about sex baby, lets talk about you and me.

Seriously, childhood memories are great but for some reason they seem better now than they did at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Lovely hot Summers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I have many many many memories from the 80s, and very few of them can be described as 'wonderful'.

Face it folks, forget all the rose tinted bollocks, the 80s were sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

A nickel would buy you a steak and kidney pie, a cup of coffee, a slice of cheesecake and a newsreel, with enough change left over to ride the trolley from Battery Park to the polo grounds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

H.R. Pufnstuf.

Jimmy and his magic flute :P, loved that show!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Maurice fuckin Pratt lording it to us on every ad break.

Aaaah the good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I have many many many memories from the 80s, and very few of them can be described as 'wonderful'.

I was aged 1-11. It was a great decade to be a kid. All the economic woes and worries for my parents etc, I was blissfully oblivious to. TV, music, toys, comics were the biz.

I was obsessed with sticker albums.

Girls, remember ELASTICS?!! And skipping rope games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Getting the ride at the Trinity Ball

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

a)Gollywog bars were just icecream, eskimo bars were the ones with a biscuit sandwich.

b) They were called Golly bars not Gollywog

80's kid? You've been rumbled pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Supercans!
    Marathon bars
    Real Monster Munch

Viz

Is it still published?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,417 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It was a priest ridden absolute kak hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Luminous bermuda Timmy Mallet-style shorts.....

Asking my friend's mam what a virgin (from Madonna's Like a Vrigin) was.

Bumbags of marbles.

Fancy papers.

Kylie.

Jumpers that could be worn inside out.

Boot runners.

Hot summers playing Tip the Can outside with all the kids of the estate.

Macaroon Bars.

Side ponytails.

Dublin Millenium.

Ken's skin colour underpants.

AIDS.

Parents payiing 60% taxes and being broke.

Modest Chrimbo pressies.

A lot of great memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Bambi wrote: »
    a)Gollywog bars were just icecream, eskimo bars were the ones with a biscuit sandwich.

b) They were called Golly bars not Gollywog

80's kid? You've been rumbled pal.
    Fail at a fail :p They were icebergers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Italia 90

LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

The babysitter giving us 50p when she minded us every Saturday and we would go to the shop across the road and I would get a packet of mints and a bag of penny jellies in those brown paper bags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Madam_X wrote: »
    I was aged 1-11. It was a great decade to be a kid. All the economic woes and worries for my parents etc, I was blissfully oblivious to. TV, music, toys, comics were the biz.

I was obsessed with sticker albums.

Care Bears. The sticker album of choice.

I was aged 1-11. It was a great decade to be a kid. All the economic woes and worries for my parents etc, I was blissfully oblivious to.
    I was a kid too M, and it wasn't wonderful. Stupid jumpers, dungarees, hair lice, one pair of shoes, walking to school, no phone, stupid foreign pen pals, toys that looked great in the TV ad that were crap in reality, one TV in the house where Top Of The Pops was banned by Pops, gathering tadpoles in jars and them dying almost immediately, making rhubarb jam and having to eat it constantly for six bleeding months.

I HATED THE EIGHTIES.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Great toys for christmas, my head nearly exploded the morning I unwrapped Castle Greyskull.

Ceral toys, remember the bike spoke clacker things with Tony The Tiger on them, hell remember bikes? proper ones, BMXs you could just chuck down in the garden and nobody would nick it , those coloured bead things you put on the spokes and doing wheelies out on the road.

Saturday mornings spent watching GI Joe, MASK, Transformers, Jayce and the Wheeled Warriors, DJ Kat.

WWF wrestling, and stupidly trying it ourselves, an old mattress was our ring, my mothers stolen washing line the ropes, how we didnt wind up crippled is beyond me. Making replica title belts out of cereal boxes and tinfoil.

But what on earth was the 80's obsession with the colour brown? brown pants, brown shirts, brown panelling on everything, brown lino, bleugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Fancy papers
    Oh... my... God... :eek:
    The utter dog's bollocks!
    My Little Pony, Barbie... Feck it, even the Panini football ones - I'd collect any! 10p a pack... :o

Power ballads. The way toy manufacturers capitalised on them with Jem & The Holograms, and Rockstar Barbie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I'm an 80's kid. The World cups? Argentina vs Germany??? Loadsamoney???Computers???Mobile phones??? I feckin loved the 80's. You mustn't have been doing it right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Viz

Is it still published?

Download the Profanisaurus app. The best €1.99 you will ever spend.

Care Bears are baaaaccck

New series on tiny pop at 7 pm

Oh the look the kids give me when I tell them my first trip to the cinema was to see Care Bears :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

Oh... my... God... :eek:
    The utter dog's bollocks!

.. :o

Fancy papers were great but smelly fancy papers were the cats pjs

I'm an 80's kid. The World cups? Argentina vs Germany??? Loadsamoney???Computers???Mobile phones??? I feckin loved the 80's. You mustn't have been doing it right.
    Ah yes, you've just reminded me what I hated most;

****ing yuppies!!