Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ATC Student Programme 2013 *Warning post 195*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭PinOnTheRight

trix123 wrote: »
    Unless things have changed since 2011/2012 I still have the email so I am not sure where you are getting your information from but that is what was sent to me.

Things must have changed as that is no longer the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 smallfort

So since we've cleared up that trix is not being totally truthful,does anyone care to indulge in the predictions of numbers in this round,or has anyone contacted the IAA to find out?
    Also any truth in that one can ring the IAA and find out their last round results??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 trix123

Who is "we"?
    Why am I not being truthful? The "family and friends Policy" is still in place with NATS and that is what it was called last year when I got the info. As it is the same name why would the terms change? Nobody who disagrees with me has told me how they know..
    I have started the system so why would I lie?

Anyone that has commented has not said that they have gone through the NATS route, and if so, they don't know what they are talking about. They are just reading the opening page on the web of the NATS website presumably, otherwise they would just say they were working in the UK.

I was told I was lying that if you qualify with NATS as a controller you can come to Ireland once you do the conversion course, well in March 2012, the IAA HR told me different by phone and email. If it were the case the Irish would be going over to the UK like they did with teaching and medicine and come back here. I am not a troll, unlike the others on here and I am not stirring it just to annoy anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 damotaxo

I too would like to know how many applied and how many of us are left? And to trix, I never did physics in school and got thru rd 1.

Glad you did, but still, the Pearson aptitude tests issued to us, are for children in school not for adults, the SHL group are the aptitude tests widely used for adults. The "mechanical" reasoning test was not "mechanical" but related to physics, not the leaving cert physics per se, but still physics, if you got through that is great, just saying, it was a strange test for ATC.
    The aptitude tests are designed specifically to test innate ability , my point was what we got was acquired knowledge, or an educated guess and as most did physics in junior cert, it didn't bother them.
    Maybe it is not based on passing or getting a particular grade in every test but an average grade from all 4? Who knows, as they wont tell us.

I reckon the feast test will be something similar but via a mouse? Would I be correct? Any idea of numbers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Todd Toddington III

quote="trix123;84893122"]

I was told I was lying that if you qualify with NATS as a controller you can come to Ireland once you do the conversion course, well in March 2012, the IAA HR told me different by phone and email. If it were the case the Irish would be going over to England like with teaching and medicine and come back here. I am not a troll, unlike the others on here and I am not stirring it just to annoy anyone.[/quote]

All atc units will consider hiring you with minimum 5 years experience and a conversion course, thats what I said. Seeing as you won't have this when you qualify with NATS obviously the IAA won't consider hiring you. Your comments are starting to border on the ridiculous.
    I don't think you are a troll. However just because your dad is a controller and you've been to the centres loads doesn't mean you know jack about the job or the hiring process. You put too high a value on your own opinion. Stop posting like you know everything, you don't. A lot of people come on her to be informed about the process and you are muddling the issue.

No I asked them if I could "ever" come back to Ireland. I wasn't even considering moving over initially but after 10 years or so. That was my reply from the Dublin office. Why do you think I am also doing the Irish aptitudes ??? If I could move I wouldn't be here I would have tried for the UK immediately.

I am not lying and I am not thinking my opinion is superior it is others who think they know everything cos they are in atc when in fact I have it from HR themselves. It is others who are getting catty to me.

HR in Dublin told me the system is totally different over in Ireland than the UK and I would have to start again as in sit all the aptitude tests here even if fully qualified in the UK. Maybe in the UK you qualify in radar or tower. I don't know. Maybe they select you for one or the other and that is why if you move to Ireland they want you to study for both.

Well that is what I was told. That is what I told another poster who is thinking of moving over and I also told him to look into it himself.

Dunno why people think I think I am superior,I am just stating what HR told me. I just relayed info from what NATS gave me via email and what was told to me when I sat the exam over there. That is all I can do, I am not making it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Not2good2

800 invited to feast if what I heard is correct, HR will tell you where you came in first round, probably best e-mail them. Feast is more keyboard input then mouse but fast typing not nessecity. Most questions involve quick thinking and just input an answer or click an answer. I remember one of the feast questions involved listen to a passage and question was like did person say 1001, 1,101, 1100 or 1101. Other question involved having to follow a rule such as when a square pops up on screen click the circle unless its a blue square then click triangle! It's all comin back to me now! Other question involved basic directions, such as on a grid is A to B north, north west or west. This question might have used the corresponding vectors (000, 315 or 270) can't remember.

All questions are timed as I remember in the first question taking my time and half way through having to rush!

If the pencil and paper test is indicative then time will be tight. That was my only problem. I remember 1 time looking up at the clock and going " ****", thought I blew it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 smallfort

ah so 800 through i thought it was 700 from the 1,400 who applied,i wonder should one ask where they came...it may do the confidence of an individual no good unless of course you are one of the superiors who post here,well then i'd imagine you'd be top 3 as in 1,2,3!!!:D
    So being serious here can we get some practice in for this or is it mums the word on if you can and how???
    starting to wonder myself if its worht the trip up,not cos i doubt my ability but i've been lookin into the cost of life over a 2 year period,when you break it down its scary..:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭ExtaticFob

Anybody done the FEAST yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭robclay26

ExtaticFob wrote: »
    Anybody done the FEAST yet?

Yes

robclay26 wrote: »
    Yes

How'd you find it?

ExtaticFob wrote: »
    How'd you find it?

Is grand. Get a good sleep before it! That's the advice

Thank you. That's what I hear alright. On tomorrow, looking forward to it. Good luck in the rest of the competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 soontobepilot

Did you get through Rob?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Contrails

Had FEAST yesterday morning, it's nothing super human. I just found it tough to gauge how i was doing. Nevertheless i was told later that day i have DART next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Contrails wrote: »
    Nevertheless i was told later that day i have DART next week
    So are they telling folks almost straight away once you're finished? Or am I reading it wrong, and you were told through email?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Contrails

Phone call and email with details, about 3 hours hours after i finished.

Did you get through Rob?

Haven't heard yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 nineoutof10

Hi there, is anybody travelling to Dublin for tomorrows FEAST from the Shannon/Limerick area, I'm up there for 8 a.m. and first train gets me there for 8.05 so it's looking like I'll be going up tonight and staying but was hoping anyone was travelling up and had space to give a lift?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ochambers

So I'm through to the DART next week, no idea how many get filtered between FEAST and DART, could anyone shed any light on that? I have to say I found it quite challenging, I don't know how that bodes for the future portions of the exam, I will say I was delighted to get the call for next week!

Had feast yesterday morning. No reply though so probably haven't got through. Found it tough anyway. Bloody cubes. I'll never look at dice the same again. Lol. Best of luck in Dart next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 goingmadmom

Hi does anybody know if you did the feast wed and didnt hear yet, does that mean your out.

say so. I'm in same boat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 goingmadmom

damotaxo wrote: »
    say so. I'm in same boat

Thanks damotaxo. was thinking so but was hoping i was wrong. next time eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Giving it holly

Hi guys

It looks like if you get through the FEAST that you will be contacted on the day.
    If you have any doubt and want to know just ring up the HR Department in the IAA and they should tell you. Them seem very friendly :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

had mine yesterday and thought it was very tough. not surprised i didnt get a call back. fair play to all that got through and best of luck.

i knew after the test that i dont have what it takes to do the job and have more respect for the people that do get the job. im also glad that only the best get through and get to work a tough job.

i feel sorry for those that get offered a place and cant afford the two years unpaid, i really hope they reverse that decision for you.