If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Conor McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,527 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Richy06 wrote: »
    Just because one guy has wrestling credentials to beat the band doesn't mean he's automatically going to steamroller anyone. I'm not blinkered when it comes to Conor. Clearly this guy has years of experience in wrestling when it comes to Conor...but that doesn't necessarily automatically mean that it's cut and dry. That assumption, when it comes to ANY fighters, just annoys the **** out of me and is ridiculous.

Well if we didn't predict fights, what would be the point of the forum? We're discussing the sport.

Nik Lentz is infamous for wrestling opponents to sleep. It's perfectly reasonable to presume he will do it again in the future.

Try calming down. I doubt you'd get so worked up if someone said Ronda Rousey would win her next fight via armbar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Xlami

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Well if we didn't predict fights, what would be the point of the forum? We're discussing the sport.

Nik Lentz is infamous for wrestling opponents to sleep. It's perfectly reasonable to presume he will do it again in the future.

Try calming down. I doubt you'd get so worked up if someone said Ronda Rousey would win her next fight via armbar.

I agree with your point but on that very same token how many times have you seen McGregor taken down easily. Granted he's never fought a Nick Lentz but how many guys with McGregors footwork, ability to close the distance and speed has Lentz fought??? Closest he's came is Charles Olivera and he had his clock cleaned by a knee and then choked out. And to be honest I think that result should have stood as loss. I can't remember too many decision reversals like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I doubt you'd get so worked up if someone said Ronda Rousey would win her next fight via armbar.
    I just leave the getting worked up for when she's bouncing around the place in very little clothing. :pac:

And before someone hits the 'misogynist' button, ask women one of the benefits to watching rugby. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,527 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Xlami wrote: »
    I agree with your point but on that very same token how many times have you seen McGregor taken down easily. Granted he's never fought a Nick Lentz but how many guys with McGregors footwork, ability to close the distance and speed has Lentz fought??? Closest he's came is Charles Olivera and he had his clock cleaned by a knee and then choked out. And to be honest I think that result should have stood as loss. I can't remember too many decision reversals like that.

I'm not saying McGregor wouldn't win if they fought. I'm not saying Connor wouldn't knock him out or even submit him.

What I'm saying is, Connor is known for his stand up, Lentz is known for lay and pray. I'd put good money on Lentz's strategy in a proposed fight v Connor being him snoozing his way to a 3 round decision.

The only argument against this so far has been a bizarre statement about the NCAAs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

I would agree with the footwork part but come on that illegal knee was extremely blatant I really can't see how you could possibly think that should have stood as a loss?

http://vimeo.com/25901262

About 7 minutes in, Awful refereeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,588 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

And to be honest I think that result should have stood as loss. I can't remember too many decision reversals like that.

Whaaaa???

6.1_medium_medium.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Conor McGregor aiming for return before UFC Dublin card as a lightweight - http://www.mmafighting.com/2013/9/25/4768180/conor-mcgregor-aiming-for-spot-on-ufc-dublin-card-as-a-lightweight

Lad is bananas :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

rain on wrote: »
    Conor McGregor aiming for return before UFC Dublin card as a lightweight - http://www.mmafighting.com/2013/9/25/4768180/conor-mcgregor-aiming-for-spot-on-ufc-dublin-card-as-a-lightweight

Lad is bananas :)

That's just boredom talking I would say. He would be giving away height to pretty much everybody in the division. Would still love to see him fight Nurmagomedov though, it would be a very cool fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,447 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

He's doing all the right things in my opinion.
    He came into the scene with a bang and everyone was talking about him. The hype was huge. And then he hit a road block with the injury.
    He'll want to stay in the limelight and stay relevant for as long as possible. He needs to keep people talking about him and keep the hype train going. And since he can't do that fighting at the minute, he has to do it talking.
    Whether it's calling out every fighter in the division or talking about jumping between weight classes, it's all good. It keeps him fresh in people's memory and that's what he needs.
    Very smart on his behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

I'm getting sick of Connors "I'm this I'm that" no one does this or that better than me.

Let him fight a LHW he be lucky to see it out the 1st round in that division.

No I'm going to hide after that post :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

dave1982 wrote: »
    I'm getting sick of Connors "I'm this I'm that" no one does this or that better than me.

Let him fight a LHW he be lucky to see it out the 1st round in that division.

No I'm going to hide after that post :D

I kinda get the feeling he's trying to convince himself he's all these things that he goes on about in interviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭davemc180

conors a good man iv met him in town before havin a drink and hes a down to earth person.. hes the person he is in the interviews thats the bloke i met.. you all need to stop bitchin on the internet an support a rising irish fan.. if this was an eire v eng rugby match itd be 1 sided

support the guy hes an awesome dude in person hes not acting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

davemc180 wrote: »
    conors a good man iv met him in town before havin a drink and hes a down to earth person.. hes the person he is in the interviews thats the bloke i met.. you all need to stop bitchin on the internet an support a rising irish fan.. if this was an eire v eng rugby match itd be 1 sided

support the guy hes an awesome dude in person hes not acting

quite a lot of people know him on the forum. we like him but face reality in ufc terms he has pretty much done nothing.

If he was any other fighter we'd all be sitting around laughing at a fighter who rubished everyone in the top 10 above him. He has done a whole lot of smack talking and now unlike before he can't back it up for over a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Ian Whelan wrote: »
    That's just boredom talking I would say. He would be giving away height to pretty much everybody in the division. Would still love to see him fight Nurmagomedov though, it would be a very cool fight.

And people say Letnz is a bad match-up... this is a terrible one IMO.

He'd suplex the shít out of McGregor for 15 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

I cant see him going to lightweight just yet, but IMO the LW div is gone to ****e. FW is the most competitive and deepest.

He would have a better chance at 155, than 145

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

And people say Letnz is a bad match-up... this is a terrible one IMO.

He'd suplex the shít out of McGregor for 15 minutes.

That's pretty much why I would like to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

DeVore wrote: »
    Paddy Holohan is a great great striker yet that really nice guy lay on top of him for 3 rounds and got into TUF. (I have never been so mad at a fight in my life... I had to relax and calm down after that and I dont usually get wound up as a spectator!)
    Oops. Sorry Pablo, I just really do get quite *cross* thinking about it :):)
    My bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,716 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Nice guy, great personality and great athlete. But please lose the faux American accent, it sounds ridiculous.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=2ewdnQiWpXg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

Having just watched his latest interview, I think that regardless of what you think of him - he is a credit to this country. His positive motivating way of speaking communicate great messages to the Irish public, old and young alike in a time when we need it. It would be all too easy for him to become big-headed and get extremely arrogant, but he is keeping his feet grounded.

I don't know the man - but he is quite the inspiration at a young age. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

I personally love the guys confidence. It is a breath of fresh air for a top Irish athlete to have such self belief, across too many sports when it comes to the crunch they seem to just succumb to the pressure mentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Of course he's gonna sound confident and say he can beat tom, dick or harry, WTF is he meant to say? "Yeah, i may be able to take him but i don't fancy me chances wit that other guy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Quicker than Aldo.....I don't think so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

billy2012 wrote: »
    Quicker than Aldo.....I don't think so!!

Id say he is. Hand speed and the way he closes the distance. Put it this way its not aldo's stand up that would concern Connor in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

Id say he is. Hand speed and the way he closes the distance. Put it this way its not aldo's stand up that would concern Connor in my opinion.

Oh come on!!

I like Connor as much as the next guy but saying he wouldn't be worried about Aldos stand up is just crazy. Aldo is an unbelievable striker and is very very quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

billy2012 wrote: »
    Oh come on!!

I like Connor as much as the next guy but saying he wouldn't be worried about Aldos stand up is just crazy. Aldo is an unbelievable striker and is very very quick.

I still say Conor is the better striker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,447 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I'd have to agree that, in my opinion, Conor would be a better technical striker and probably has better punching accuracy.
    Aldo obviously has the better leg kicks though - I don't think anyone will disagree with that.
    The main thing that could trouble Conor might be keeping his hands too low so Aldo can connect with a fight ending head kick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,094 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Aldo obviously has the better leg kicks though - I don't think anyone will disagree with that.

Ah that's cuz he was a soccer player.

Them soccer players can fairly kick ye know!

At least that's what this fella Mike keeps telling me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

DrPhilG wrote: »

Dem Samba camps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

DrPhilG wrote: »

Rogans a bastard for it too. Think he's the one that started it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,929 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Mark hominic was very technical too. Look where that got him against Aldo