If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Conor McGregor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ray Mond

Tinie wrote: »
    GSP?...

The majority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,527 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

SDTimeout wrote: »
    Some great questions asked at 24:00....

Lol!!

Here I am in work listening to the presser and i'm like "I recognise that voice".

Nice work Sir!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭TheKingslayer

Tbh lads, I wouldn't be surprised if Conor is beaten tomorrow night. Halloway has kep the head down and the mouth shut but he must be fuming on the inside. He's no push over and is much more accustomed to dining at the big boys table having been to the big dance multiple times now. Conor has made one appearance on a fb card and I think the hype and ego is getting to him, calling out Jose Aldo last week. That's total disrespect in my eyes, even Jon Jones didn't act like that and he was a much bigger prospect than Conor. He has the technique in the hands, but his undoing will be his TDD and his ego. They'll tell the story of Conor "Icarus" McGregor for years to come I predict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Be like Nutella

Tbh lads, I wouldn't be surprised if Conor is beaten tomorrow night. Halloway has kep the head down and the mouth shut but he must be fuming on the inside. He's no push over and is much more accustomed to dining at the big boys table having been to the big dance multiple times now. Conor has made one appearance on a fb card and I think the hype and ego is getting to him, calling out Jose Aldo last week. That's total disrespect in my eyes, even Jon Jones didn't act like that and he was a much bigger prospect than Conor. He has the technique in the hands, but his undoing will be his TDD and his ego. They'll tell the story of Conor "Icarus" McGregor for years to come I predict.

prepare for onslaught : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

What are you basing your opinion that his takedown defence will be his undoing on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

He's clearly not got a grappling centric style, Clive. So that must mean he doesn't train it at all. Americans are born as Div 1 Champs, Brazilians as BBs. THERE IS NO HOPE!!

Listen, you can get sour with me all you want but here's what we know for sure about McGregor's grappling:

1. He's always looking for the finish and is willing to take large, sometimes completely unnecessary risks.

2. His top control is very loose and opponents often get out from under him quickly.

3. He has shown the ability to escape from the bottom position with a basic technical stand up.

4. He is often able to fight his way out of bad positions, and usually comes out on top during scrambles, even securing a nice submission win is his best grappling performance against Dave Hill.

Unfortunately, most of those things have negative aspects that I believe will be exploited by better grapplers for the following reasons:

1. Always trying to finish can be a blessing or a curse. It's extremely exciting to watch and ensures that your fights end early, but can result in you getting knocked out or submitted if done carelessly. McGregor has one hell of a killer instinct, but it isn't as refined on the ground as on the feet. When striking, he's always dangerous and constantly pressuring without leaving too many openings that he isn't prepared to defend with counters. On the ground, he's also always dangerous and pressuring but leaves a lot more openings that he is much less prepared to defend.

2. This is related to number 1. Conor is simply not good at holding people down, but he still tries to. I would not be surprised at all to see him rock an opponent, follow them to the ground and get submitted as they tie him up. Also, if he does meet someone who can match him striking, it is unlikely that he will be able to take them down and keep them there for long.

3. The only time McGregor was put on his back after the Duffy fight, he got up immediately with a pretty standard move. However, against grapplers with better hip control, he will be unable to simply execute that technique. He will first have to disrupt their base and control of him, then shrimp his hips away and stand up. It is unclear whether or not he has this capability, since in his fight he simply went for the move and pulled it off, thought not too cleanly.

4. Escaping from bad positions is not something you want to be known for. In high level grappling, it becomes extremely important to defend everything preemptively. The best way to defend a submission is to never give your opponent the grips and controls he needs to put you in it. If you want to defend a takedown, the best way is to keep turning your opponent and forcing them to stand up taller so that they can't ever shoot from close enough or from a good position. If you want to stop your opponent from holding you down, the best way is to never let yourself get flat on the mat in the first place. What I'm getting at here is that against the most dangerous ground fighters in the world, success and failure of a technique are determined long before that technique is actually attempted. McGregor has not consistently shown the ability to neutralize grappling offense in the beginning stages. While against lesser opposition it's been fine for McGregor to ignore positional threats and just keep attacking, soon he's going to be competing with guys who he won't be able to beat from bad positions; he'll only be able to beat them by completely avoiding those positions in the first place.

One of the best examples of something that has been good enough that won't be for much longer is his takedown defense. McGregor pretty consistently lets his opponents get a hold of a single leg (he won't have to worry about doubles as much, since he's a southpaw) and while his balance has been good, his affinity for striking while trying to sprawl is going to get him taken off his feet by more skilled wrestlers. His current method of defending takedowns is simply not going to hold up much longer. The way I see it, he either needs to get better at grabbing underhooks early and pivoting away before the opponent gets their hips deep and low enough to force him to sprawl (like Machida and Silva), or he needs to learn to turn away and limp leg/scramble like Aldo and dos Santos. Failing that, he needs to develop some serious guard work, though his focus should probably be on escapes, while only using submissions to off balance his opponents to create openings for sweeps and stand ups. It's unlikely that his guard will ever be dangerous enough to submit the better wrestlers in the division or even straight up sweep them, but he very well might be able to get out from under them by creating enough space to scramble out if he threatens with those techniques.

You literally copied that whole argument, verbatim, from BloodyElbow.
    http://www.bloodyelbow.com/2013/8/15/4605404/the-legitimately-improving-grappling-of-conor-mcgregor
    Nice to know you're just taking someone else's opinion and analysis and presenting it as your own. That way we know to just disregard. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Well... thats embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Richy06 wrote: »
    http://www.bloodyelbow.com/2013/8/15/4605404/the-legitimately-improving-grappling-of-conor-mcgregor
    Nice to know you're just taking someone else's opinion and analysis and presenting it as your own. That way we know to just disregard. :)

Not to mention the fact that he just went into the Cathal Pendred thread and slated him, whilst saying that McGregor is "destined for greatness".

" Icarus" one minute, destined for greatness the next.

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I hope the weekend isn't filled with more uneducated, opinionated posters like the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Richy06 wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

1112-scott-williams-winters-clark-now-768-then-480w.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I hope the weekend isn't filled with more uneducated, opinionated posters like the above.

There's a difference between being uneducated and opinionated, and being a.....

I'll say no more lest I get a slap for back seat modding.

But the fact that he went into the McGregor thread and bashed McGregor, then went into the Pendred thread and bashed Pendred whilst praising McGregor, speaks of something other than stupidity to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

1112-scott-williams-winters-clark-now-768-then-480w.jpg

hahahahaha

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Not to mention the fact that he just went into the Cathal Pendred thread and slated him, whilst saying that McGregor is "destined for greatness".

" Icarus" one minute, destined for greatness the next.

Lol

Actually mate, I wrote the article on bloody elbow, so I'm not regurgitating other people's opinions.

secondly, I didn't contradict myself. In the post above you can see that I said Conor has all the technical skills in the stand up, but that the takedown defence and his ego will be his downfall. He is destined for greatness if he can work on the latter two aspects; for what it's worth, being destined for greatness and being infallible are not mutually exclusive. Jon Jones still isn't 100% perfect in every aspect of his game - does that mean he is not one of the ATGs.

You need to hold your horses and stop jumping the gun.
    Conor has a lot of potential, but there is a lot of work to be done also.
    Pendred is a few levels below Conor - run of the mill average rugby plod turned MMA fighter who will be embarrassed when he goes to the big dance IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Actually mate, I wrote the article on bloody elbow, so I'm not regurgitating other people's opinions.

shenanigans1fv.jpg

secondly, I didn't contradict myself. In the post above you can see that I said Conor has all the technical skills in the stand up, but that the takedown defence and his ego will be his downfall. He is destined for greatness if he can work on the latter two aspects; for what it's worth, being destined for greatness and being infallible are not mutually exclusive. Jon Jones still isn't 100% perfect in every aspect of his game - does that mean he is not one of the ATGs.

Pendred is a few levels below Conor - run of the mill average rugby plod turned MMA fighter who will be embarrassed when he goes to the big dance IMO.

Looking at your other posts and the posts between me and the actual author of the article in the comments at the end of the article, I really doubt you possess the intelligence or knowledge to write such an article, you nonce. Plus, the chap is definitely American, you massive idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭zweton

where will this be shown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

zweton wrote: »
    where will this be shown?

What ya mean where? What website/channel or what pub??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭conor678

http://www.bloodyelbow.com/2013/8/16/4623842/judo-chop-striking-conor-mcgregor-ufc-mma-fight-night-shogun-sonnen-26-technique-gif-ko

Don't know if its been posted but its a good read. Fair play to the chap and will be watching and willing him on Sat night

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭_oveless_

REKT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Magpie87

If you are an MMA journalist you're not particularly circumspect or knowledgeable based on that opinion.

Pendred stopped playing Rugby after secondary school, has dedicated his life to becoming a top class MMA fighter and has become a Cage Warriors Champion as well as beaten two UFC stars (there's nobody left in Europe for him to fight, bar Daley that will enhance his reputation.) As well as that he has shown himself to be a great ambassador and spokesperson for the sport.

The reality is that he has reached the pinnacle of the sport in Europe through hardwork and being an excellent methodical fighter - he has done more than 99 percent of the people who compete in the sport ever will and more than likely knows more about it than most people posting on this board.

To say he is a "run of the mill average rugby plod turned MMA fighter" - is not true, disrespectful, wrong and not very journalistic...

To say he will be "embarrassed at the big dance" is an opinion based on what? He's beaten everyone he needs to beat in Cage Warriors? He's beaten Mills and Bielkheden convincingly and he can certainly beat some fighters in that UFC welterweight division.

You're entitled to say that you don't think he can make in the UFC, just back it up with facts rather than insulting platitudes.

Otherwise "you" should be embarrassed by your "journalistic" opinion...

Well, to be fair, the post on BE is a fanpost, so not one of the staffers. But still, just reading both guy's posts just show you they aren't the same person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭martic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Looks like Joes got some Irish shirt on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Dancor

Weigh-ins getting lag for anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

He almost looked nervous there.... had me going