Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New burner for oil - cost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

jimf wrote: »
    do you give a discount if the kiss and cuddle option is not taken up

No, T & C's should be read beforehand. Complaints are via email only, care of Mr O'Leary.

As per our terms & conditions, discounts can only be availed of if you are accompanied by both your great grandparents.....

Gary71 recons a kiss from you is priceless. ;)

Gary71 reckons a lot of things from me is an excitable adventure, but then again he is very easily excitable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭jimf

shane0007 wrote: »
    So you go to breakdown. Spend time fault finding to rescue burner. See it needs a new burner. Give it the last rites. Off to suppliers to get new shiney one or pay out your money to stock the various sizes/types. Back to the job. Change the nozzle. Service the boiler complete. All for about €70 less your diesel, van, overheads, insurance, OFTEC, FGA calibration/cell replacements, etc.

Hmmm.... now I put it like that, I think I will put my prices up also and charge for that kiss and cuddle!

no argument from me there shane i agree 100% but when the local so called plumber is advising customers where to purchase the burner and then give him a ring to come and fit it for 60e no mention of nozzle change service fga this is the ****e im up against and no risk to him of not getting paid for supplying burner

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

no argument from me there shane i agree 100% but when the local so called plumber is advising customers where to purchase the burner and then give him a ring to come and fit it for 60e no mention of nozzle change service fga this is the ****e im up against and no risk to him of not getting paid for supplying burner

I have 4 around my manor, I've learnt to sit back and await the call.;)

my problem there billy is im strictly service/commissioning only no plumbing experience so im happy to leave the pluming side of things to plumbers thats their bread and butter if only it would work both ways so i really have no option only to try and get in and do the job properly at a price as i would be seen as a newbie the recommendations are what im after to their friends i still maintain its the best form of advertisement and its free

TBH, I don't have to compete with them. I have enough work through recommendations. I sometimes get calls to price over the phone as they have a very cheap price already but I find that customers now are becoming more conscious of the fly-by-nighters. They are becoming more willing to pay a bit extra to have it done properly and also very importantly have a come back if something goes wrong. They know if I do something wrong or the part I fit fails, I will come back and sort it without question.

As I have said many times before, value your worth & expertise. You paid a lot in money, blood, sweat & tears to gain what you have and you deserve to earn a living from it and not become a busy fool trying to compete with the entourage of here today gone tomorrow's. Remember that you have to be still here tomorrow!

TBH, I don't have to compete with them. I have enough work through recommendations. I sometimes get calls to price over the phone as they have a very cheap price already but I find that customers now are becoming more conscious of the fly-by-nighters. They are becoming more willing to pay a bit extra to have it done properly and also very importantly have a come back if something goes wrong. They know if I do something wrong or the part I fit fails, I will come back and sort it without question.

As I have said many times before, value your worth & expertise. You paid a lot in money, blood, sweat & tears to gain what you have and you deserve to earn a living from it and not become a busy fool trying to compete with the entourage of here today gone tomorrow's. Remember that you have to be still here tomorrow!

very true words shane this is only my fourth year and thank god im seeing a lot more repeat services this year fingers crossed it will continue by the way how long have you been in business yourself with your own company

my problem there billy is im strictly service/commissioning only no plumbing experience so im happy to leave the pluming side of things to plumbers thats their bread and butter if only it would work both ways so i really have no option only to try and get in and do the job properly at a price as i would be seen as a newbie the recommendations are what im after to their friends i still maintain its the best form of advertisement and its free

I am myself mainly service and commissioning, i still keep my hand in with the plumbing but the knees are knackered so i avoid pain, thankfully i am RGI also and a Domestic Appliance Engineer, but i understand exactly how twats rob your work, but with oil i find its corner cutting and i end up out there, its the gas work i loose that bucks me off, these bastards have the nerve to ask me how to do it and why did you cut it off so they can put it right, just this week i know of 2 jobs i lost to the local doleman. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭TPM

The €50 brigade are driving us all mad down my way, they will "fix" almost anything for €50(+ parts of course), Immersions, new burners, I have even seen a boiler replaced for €75. It use to torment me, now I do like bill, I wait for the call when it all goes wrong, It usually ends up costing the home owner in the long run, burnt out baffles, boilers, lots of soot and blocked up.
    So you go to breakdown. Spend time fault finding to rescue burner. See it needs a new burner. Give it the last rites. Off to suppliers to get new shiney one or pay out your money to stock the various sizes/types. Back to the job. Change the nozzle. Service the boiler complete. All for about €70 less your diesel, van, overheads, insurance, OFTEC, FGA calibration/cell replacements, etc.

Hmmm.... now I put it like that, I think I will put my prices up also and charge for that kiss and cuddle!

I may have mentioned it before, but I fitted a new G3 a while back everything working nicely got paid, went home happy. Three days later got a call the burner wouldnt fire up. Went back, and the capacitor was gone, stuck in another away it went, and still going:).
    Things like that are bad enough when you charger a realistic price, but if you had charged low it would be a killer and the whole job would have cost you money

• Registered Users Posts: 2,898 ✭✭✭clint_silver

back to the matter in hand! :)

can I source the part myself? If so, where? Is it difficult to fit?

If the part cant be found, do I need to get an entirely new boiler and burner?

This would have been there since about mid 90s so 92 might be about right for the model, would a newer model fit?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭plodder

I got a new burner fitted around a year ago at a cost of around 450. Nothing wrong with the old boiler though. The new burner is so much more efficient than the very old (over 20 years) one, that I've saved the money in oil bills already. Wouldn't attempt to source/fit something like that myself. Only complaint is I should have changed it years ago.

back to the matter in hand! :)

can I source the part myself? If so, where? Is it difficult to fit?

If the part cant be found, do I need to get an entirely new boiler and burner?

This would have been there since about mid 90s so 92 might be about right for the model, would a newer model fit?

yes you can source the part yourself as for fitting i would say its not difficult but as it will still need to be matched for your boiler output and set up properly using flugas analyser that means you will still need a oftec reg eng to do the job for you but again i say if its not broke why fix it

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭TPM

If the burner was working before the service it is unlikely to be knackered, it may need some parts that could be alot cheaper than a complete new burner.
    on the other hand it may be a case that it wouldnt be economical to repair or be worth spending money on.
    You need to find out which is the case before you source a new burner.

it has been suggested that the burner could have been a bentone b9 or b 10 when new and the modern replacement for those would be a bentone st (but there are other burners that would also fit)
    Yes you could go out and buy a new burner, but it will need to be set up specifically for your boiler, this will require specialised equipment including A flue gas analyser.

Anyone with the necessary equipment should be able to identify and source a suitable replacement burner (and most likely at a better price).

If you source the burner yourself.it probably wont save you anything in the long run, plus if you get the one person to supply and install the burner they are fully responsible for the warranty, there is no get out in them not supplying the burner.

It might be worth getting someone else to have a look at it and give a 2nd opinion and price. as its almost impossible to diagnose and/or give accurate prices without a site visit

plodder wrote: »
    I got a new burner fitted around a year ago at a cost of around 450. Nothing wrong with the old boiler though. The new burner is so much more efficient than the very old (over 20 years) one, that I've saved the money in oil bills already. Wouldn't attempt to source/fit something like that myself. Only complaint is I should have changed it years ago.

the difference setting up a burner properly and using a flugas analyser and getting the proper guys to service imho can save you the cost of the service over and over i personally serviced a 28 year old clyde burner/boiler last year and the customer told me recently their oil usage is way down since you also have to remember a clean unobstructed boiler is key to efficient burning as well the problems we face are the 50/60 eu guys that change the nozzle rub of a cloth out the door 20mins a proper service should take at least 75mins maybe guys can do it faster i cant nor do i want to

• Registered Users Posts: 2,898 ✭✭✭clint_silver

yes you can source the part yourself as for fitting i would say its not difficult but as it will still need to be matched for your boiler output and set up properly using flugas analyser that means you will still need a oftec reg eng to do the job for you but again i say if its not broke why fix it

thanks Jim, well its in a rental property thats being done up and being handed to new tenant in next 2 weeks. What I dont want is to be getting a call from an irate tenant in the depths of winter and ringing around to get someone to fix and/or source parts. Rather get in now.

I'm somewhat replying on the plumber being honest here with me that the burner is knackered as opposed to needing a new part.

but that said and from some comments here, if any of the lads here are near Dublin 24 and can give review on a second opinion on whether it is that bad or indeed with a cheaper price to supply and fit can you send me a pm? thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

the difference setting up a burner properly and using a flugas analyser and getting the proper guys to service imho can save you the cost of the service over and over i personally serviced a 28 year old clyde burner/boiler last year and the customer told me recently their oil usage is way down since you also have to remember a clean unobstructed boiler is key to efficient burning as well the problems we face are the 50/60 eu guys that change the nozzle rub of a cloth out the door 20mins a proper service should take at least 75mins maybe guys can do it faster i cant nor do i want to
    I can easily service a boiler in 73 mins

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Dtp79 wrote: »

That include a cup of tea or not?

Its probably just our age. ;)

corkgsxr wrote: »

That include a cup of tea or not?
    Depends how dirty the boiler is!!

ah jaysus im giving this oil crack up im too cheap and i take too long

what you think billy how long you take

ah jaysus im giving this oil crack up im too cheap and i take too long

what you think billy how long you take

I am generally 90 minutes for oil & 60 - 75 minutes for gas. Might be a bit longer with k's & c's!

If i'm doing a SE regular and hoses are good then 75 minutes would be good, depends if i decide to have a cuppa once i've tested the fire valve.
    Its been known for me still to be trying to extract baffles from secondry heat exchangers 75minutes into a service on a Grant Vortex, 3 hrs later to be writing the report/invoice.

I think we all know there is so much more to a boiler service than just the boiler, and anyone who can easily do one in 73 minutes may well be missing something..

im def doing sumtin wrong billy gets cuppas and shane gets hugs and kisses

whats the secret lads

If i'm doing a SE regular and hoses are good then 75 minutes would be good, depends if i decide to have a cuppa once i've tested the fire valve.
    Its been known for me still to be trying to extract baffles from secondry heat exchangers 75minutes into a service on a Grant Vortex, 3 hrs later to be writing the report/invoice.

I think we all know there is so much more to a boiler service than just the boiler, and anyone who can easily do one in 73 minutes may well be missing something..
    Ah billy I was only takin the piss!! I thought that was obvious.!!

Us oldies cannot afford a sense of humour, its called incontenence. :p

I think the statements still about stands, anyone who thinks they can do a Oil Boiler Service in less than 73min may well be missing something.

will ye stop lads im pissin myself here must be my age

Maybe a good idea for our Mod to split this topic and have a "Procedure for servicing an Oil Boiler" as the topic cannot be discused in the RGI tech yet its something that the punter is still being sold as a 30min job for €50.

Think I mentioned this before, but I got a call saying somebody serviced boiler on a Saturday and was bellowing out black smoke until Monday when they rang me. I told them to get the other guy back so they would not have to pay me. They said they rang him and he told them to get a boiler guy out as he knew nothing about the inside of a boiler!
    He charged them €40 & does all their families boilers too. He had turned the air to zero and pump pressure to 13 bar on kero. Took me 3 hours to clean the buggar. Filled my Hoover 4 times.

It takes me 1 1/2 hours to service a boiler!

Perhaps i could suggest peep press the "report" button if you feel this topic should be stickied.

Thats the small triangular symbol next to the online/offline (green/blue) symbol.