If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

If it is anything like our local auctioneer he cleans you if you refuse to sell. It drives me over the edge anyhow, who owns the ****ing animals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

If it is anything like our local auctioneer he cleans you if you refuse to sell. It drives me over the edge anyhow, who owns the ****ing animals?

I would be wary of it to be honest, everyone has known or heard of an auctioneer at some stage whos dropping a few to his buddys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I had a yearling heifer over who was selling for a few hundred euro under market value lets say, He turns to me ready to drop the hammer...I say no fecking way, then he said dont be such a thick **** your getting well paid for her :eek: I got a bit vexed then and told him I would be as thick as I f**king like and that I knew the road to Ennis too where she made €280 euro more a fortnight after ;) I have a fair idea of what was going on the same night.
    He was well in with 'da boys' so. You did the right thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

pakalasa wrote: »

There was definatley something fishy going on anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

pakalasa wrote: »

Few cnuts like that in our mart too, so frustrating when they turn to you and say " jayus that's a good price" I remember saying once, tis if yer fcuking buying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Anyone going buying or selling any bulls in Kilkenny on Wednesday at the sale ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Bodacious wrote: »
    If she wasn't so close I'd do it but she could calve fairly handy herself before dark ! If she wasn't so big, hairy and wild I could judge her better as I can't see yet alone touch her bones with the coat of Hair on her! She R/w/h Sh x LM x HR

No stir out of her yet

B9522A73_zpsfd4443d2.jpg
    Fine lump of an old style cow! CQA Sim i hope to give her this year in hope of a heifer calf bb's didnt suit her
    B76AF668_zps96e51d1b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭capslock88

I would be wary of it to be honest, everyone has known or heard of an auctioneer at some stage whos dropping a few to his buddys.

a farmer who buys a good lot of weanlings every year told us recently that 'he could not understand' why we weren't giving a certain cork based auctioneer a 'sweetner' on the side....apparently it is SO important and he found it hard to believe we weren't doing it as we sell a good few cattle through him every year...and there was I wondering why he treats me like **** everytime i sell an animal through him:rolleyes:....so much for doing your job/basic respect...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

My neighbour rang today for silage. I said work away but he is reluctant till we settle price. I was stuck a few years ago and he helped me but when I tried to pay he refused so this year when we were cutting at the same time as him so we put 10 acres into his pit to repay.
    What I really want to know is what is pit silage making?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

delaval wrote: »
    My neighbour rang today for silage. I said work away but he is reluctant till we settle price. I was stuck a few years ago and he helped me but when I tried to pay he refused so this year when we were cutting at the same time as him so we put 10 acres into his pit to repay.
    What I really want to know is what is pit silage making?

35/40e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

swallows have arrived here, around 20 of them in the milking parlour:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    swallows have arrived here, around 20 of them in the milking parlour:D

Wind must have blown them along overnight.
    Unreal windy here last night. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

bbam wrote: »
    Wind must have blown them along overnight.
    Unreal windy here last night. :(

Had to go to Athenry last night, you'd nearly be blown into the next lane on the motorway once you'd come out of a bit of shelter, not fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

The british want yere milk, well from farms in the southeast anyway

was just registering calves online and the coal bunker flew by the window, better go after it:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭dzer2

was just registering calves online and the coal bunker flew by the window, better go after it:o

Swanky:p

Put some coal in it really helps to stop it blowing away:cool:

dzer2 wrote: »
    Swanky:p

Put some coal in it really helps to stop it blowing away:cool:
    the bags of coal where beside it:D

Show off:P

bought more coal than the bunker can hold:cool:

Show off:P

bought more coal than the bunker can hold:cool:
    no i am too lazy to pour them into the bunker, just carry the bag into the house as needed, when i had money i used to get the coal man to fill the bunker , until he did me, it holds 8 bags when empty, he told me it took 10... he hasnt been back here since -fooker

Whats money?

We have a multi fuel burner great yoke throw everything into it and let it off. Best 1k I ever spent. Havent bought coal or oil in 2 yrs. Just gather up anything that burns heats the house and water.

Whats money?

We have a multi fuel burner great yoke throw everything into it and let it off. Best 1k I ever spent. Havent bought coal or oil in 2 yrs. Just gather up anything that burns heats the house and water.
    ye, will have to sort something out for next year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Whats money?

Have on here for the last 5-6 years great job no oil bill and burns everything that youre allowed burn of course ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

saw bb heifers in new ross last night and they were sold for up to 200 euros less than on sat in carnew:):),phew as i was going to hold until then.

td5man wrote: »
    Have on here for the last 5-6 years great job no oil bill and burns everything that youre allowed burn of course ;)

Its the best way to reduce before you recycle
    What else would you be burning:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Its the best way to reduce before you recycle
    What else would you be burning:rolleyes:
    I don't know what you mean ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Plenty of fert being spread all over today. Great to see it.

Yeah but they are giving buckets of rain for tomorrow and next Sunday.

our fertiliser spreader packed up on friday, sitting in the dealers yard since saturday , getting a lend of a spreader off a neighbour for tomorrow if weather is ok....

Jesus Whelan1 your a gold mine for the local garage :eek:

fooking had to get them back to tractor today too:cool::cool: after about 10 calls , they where supposed to be out yesterday