If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Lastin

nashmach wrote: »
    High maintainance Bob!
    Ah but think of the performance;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

6 fr hef and 2 fr bul calves born in the last 2 nights all well and sowed 15 acres of grass.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

Anyone know the dates for beef expo13??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

fcuker of a morning

if it could go wrong it did:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

hugo29 wrote: »
    fcuker of a morning

if it could go wrong it did:mad:
    hate them days mine was yesterday .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

When i was strolling along one of the walkways at the ploughing yesterday, at a certain point I got a very bad feeling. Looked around and the 3 closest stands were Bank of Ireland, fianna gael, and the IFA........ it was like being in the holy trinity of Bullsh1t. The government, the banks, and..... well, the other bloodsucking ****ehawks.
    I couldn't even go down the walkway that Fianna Fial was on....:O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Stopped by a couple of stands where English Del Boy types were selling wonder drill bits. Noticed not one of them wearing safety glasses while they were drilling...And people leaning right in to have a look too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

moy83 wrote: »
    I was schooled by a few mickey dodgers aswell , such a shower of badminded ould wagons as I ever met . We were scrapping in the classroom one day when one of them stood in to stop it and took a punch that was aimed at me , she went out like a light . I can still remember her two little black shoes pointing up at us and we wondering was she dead :eek: She came around and couldnt remember who hit her so happy days :D I dont think hitting women is right but plenty of them nuns dished it out to the smaller kids that didnt deserve it too down through the years

Best teacher I ever had was a nun. Nobody gave her any **** but everybody respected her. only time I enjoyed Irish was with her teaching me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Fcuked isnt the word :( waterford takes the best out of ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

When i was strolling along one of the walkways at the ploughing yesterday, at a certain point I got a very bad feeling. Looked around and the 3 closest stands were Bank of Ireland, fianna gael, and the IFA........ it was like being in the holy trinity of Bullsh1t. The government, the banks, and..... well, the other bloodsucking ****ehawks.
    I couldn't even go down the walkway that Fianna Fial was on....:O

When you mention BOI, did you see the queue of people lining up for the ATM :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

When you mention BOI, did you see the queue of people lining up for the ATM :rolleyes:

There was some spending going on there yesterday.
    Small businesses were booming. Anyone with a decent craft stall was mobbed.
    We went into the Leader tent and there was a torrent of people buying goods.

Definitely People go with shopping in mind. I'd say it would do no harm to divide out the business stalls from the farming stalls. The people there to ship would still take the time to go through them. Then if your not interested in shopping it Would Make the experience better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I'd say there was 30 to 35 people lining up when I passed. The que was out into the walkway. Why wouldn't someone bring cash with them rather than queing like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

bbam wrote: »
    I'd say it would do no harm to divide out the business stalls from the farming stalls. The people there to ship would still take the time to go through them. Then if your not interested in shopping it Would Make the experience better.

It'd do the power of good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

bbam wrote: »
    There was some spending going on there yesterday.
    Small businesses were booming. Anyone with a decent craft stall was mobbed.
    We went into the Leader tent and there was a torrent of people buying goods.

Definitely People go with shopping in mind. I'd say it would do no harm to divide out the business stalls from the farming stalls. The people there to ship would still take the time to go through them. Then if your not interested in shopping it Would Make the experience better.

Was there anything ag related in those tents? I just skipped on by instead of going into anyone

I'd say there was 30 to 35 people lining up when I passed. The que was out into the walkway. Why wouldn't someone bring cash with them rather than queing like that

It was the same on Tuesday and I agree with you too.

People love hardship carrying stuff if you ask me!

It was the same on Tuesday and I agree with you too.

People love hardship carrying stuff if you ask me!

Who want to be lugging stuff around all they, my ned was enough of a load to carry around for the day. all I spent for the day was a cup of crap Americano, there sure is space for a couple of decent coffee docks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

went early Tuesday missus done O'Neills shop first thing 8.10 am send meself and young lad back to the car with the stuff. Got the breakkie and then headed off to do the stuff I wanted and took in a bit of ploughing and sheep dog trials. Spent the afternoon with the small 2 putting them on all the tractors and machinery I could never afford. Past by Lakill but didnt waste his time as I do me own accounts. Called into to Coillte and got me free trees and headed home to do the evening work.

Who want to be lugging stuff around all they, my ned was enough of a load to carry around for the day. all I spent for the day was a cup of crap Americano, there sure is space for a couple of decent coffee docks

We are all not into fancy coffee Bob.

A cup of tae is grand :D

Amazes me when you see lads carrying tools around with them.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Tullamore next year for me, see what that's like, I hear tell it's better for the actual agricultural side of things.

If you want to see sheep hop on a plane to edinburgh next June and go to the highland show, thousands of them there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

If you want to see sheep hop on a plane to edinburgh next June and go to the highland show, thousands of them there!!

Tis an idea, if I can get away. Were you at Tullamore, many sheep there? Thinking of going there next year.

We are all not into fancy coffee Bob.

A cup of tae is grand :D

Amazes me when you see lads carrying tools around with them.:rolleyes:

never go anywhere without your tool, never know when it would be needed:D

cant remember is there a beer tent, one of those would be packed id bet

Your right Hugo, only I carry around a multipurpose one, has gotten me into and outta manys the sticky situation.

there is with some clown like big Tom singing inside it most of the beer tents.

As they say in our game, a drover without his stick was like going courting without your d..k

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Anyone going for a pint, it's arthurs day?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Was there anything ag related in those tents? I just skipped on by instead of going into anyone

Not really.
    Some producers of ice cream and youghert were farm diversification businesses. I just wanted a home made ice cream so went in.

Tis an idea, if I can get away. Were you at Tullamore, many sheep there? Thinking of going there next year.

I was, better selection than the ploughing for sheep and cattle but the highland show is in a different league altogether. 60 quid for a return flight and its right next to the airport, couldnt go wrong.

Had to do a run to the mart in Ennis this morning. Was waiting out the back for a space to let the cattle out of the box and a cow and 2 heifers ended up out in the yard somehow or another. The cow was stone mad and made for a few people, lucky nobody got hurt with her. Lucky there was so many people around too to actually run them back in.

Plenty of them :rolleyes:

Reminds me of a story Dad and a friend tell.

They went on a bus with the neighbours to a ploughing match sometime in the mid 80's - think it was to Tipp.

One lad only made it to two stands and then drank at the second for the day.

As the lads were going back to the bus, he was legless with Dad and his friend under each arm "Jaysus lads, that was the best day out I had all my life" :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭eire23

Tullamore is ok for sheep, would be more cattle orientated. Probably on of the bigget ones for sheep is bonniconlon, there was a lot of sheep there this year

eire23 wrote: »
    Tullamore is ok for sheep, would be more cattle orientated. Probably on of the bigget ones for sheep is bonniconlon, there was a lot of sheep there this year

really, been a while since i been to that one, it was always a good day out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭eire23

really, been a while since i been to that one, it was always a good day out

its a good show now alright, supposed to have been 800 sheep there this year