If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

So what you're saying is, Whelan broke the internet?
    yup, its all my fault:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I was giving the BIL a hand last night and he asked me if I'd heard about a neighbours pick-up being stolen. I'd heard nothing about it but the guy in question is a good friend of the oul boy and they go for a few quiet ones on a Sunday night so I knew he'd get the story from the source. Turns out the pick-up had been stolen and used in a staged accident around 20 miles away. 4 in the car that was hit and the driver of the pick-up apparently legged it away across a ploughed field without touching the ground (no footprints). The guards are investigating it'll be interesting to see how it pans out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I was giving the BIL a hand last night and he asked me if I'd heard about a neighbours pick-up being stolen. I'd heard nothing about it but the guy in question is a good friend of the oul boy and they go for a few quiet ones on a Sunday night so I knew he'd get the story from the source. Turns out the pick-up had been stolen and used in a staged accident around 20 miles away. 4 in the car that was hit and the driver of the pick-up apparently legged it away across a ploughed field without touching the ground (no footprints). The guards are investigating it'll be interesting to see how it pans out.

But did he leave pawprints.....:D

X8LQ5zw.jpg

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    But did he leave pawprints.....:D

X8LQ5zw.jpg

I'd say it's a line of investigation they've overlooked. Unusual really considering the oul boy and his mates have their own version of Syl, Paeter and Ned going on when the pints are flowing on a Sunday night. The rows can be epic but no argument is exempt from "reductio ad absurbum" when they get going. Your flip flops could come up yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

We feel your pain down here. The similarities are striking though we don't get to anything like as many finals.

Dj will set ye right freedom :P

http://www.hoganstand.com/Hurling/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=201420

There are a queue don't ya know. Apparently Donal og reckons he needs a bit of work experience and will do it for free + usual expenses.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I'd say it's a line of investigation they've overlooked. Unusual really considering the oul boy and his mates have their own version of Syl, Paeter and Ned going on when the pints are flowing on a Sunday night. The rows can be epic but no argument is exempt from "reductio ad absurbum" when they get going. Your flip flops could come up yet.
    I have two real good mates I drink with once a month and we fall out every time we meet but all is always forgotten. If we are getting on the bar man will start it off and walk away. Their wives and Mrs D cannot understand it, yet they're the first you'd call if in real bother!!!!!

just do it wrote: »
    Seems to be the farming chit chat thread that's giving problems. Maybe it's that issue with threads getting towards 10,000 posts. God you farmers are a chatty group :D

I was thinking the same myself. Chit chat 2 has been way more popular, didnt take long to reach 9000 post!! Wont feel it not until the markIII will be here!!

delaval wrote: »
    I have two real good mates I drink with once a month and we fall out every time we meet but all is always forgotten. If we are getting on the bar man will start it off and walk away. Their wives and Mrs D cannot understand it, yet they're the first you'd call if in real bother!!!!!

The boys never fall out you'd start worrying if they went too long without an argument.

There are a queue don't ya know. Apparently Donal og reckons he needs a bit of work experience and will do it for free + usual expenses.:rolleyes:

They could have worse than Donal at the helm, the man knows his stuff and I wouldnt be his biggest fan by any means. Id love to see him take over Galway to see he could straighten them out, they are trying to kill each other in club games up there and expected to play as a team for the county then :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

They could have worse than Donal at the helm, the man knows his stuff and I wouldnt be his biggest fan by any means. Id love to see him take over Galway to see he could straighten them out, they are trying to kill each other in club games up there and expected to play as a team for the county then :confused:

Good one red, Donal og and straight in the same paragraph,

How will DJ go down with the natives freedom

hugo29 wrote: »

It came out wrong but I can see why you laughed!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Well I've got myself a sexy new hard hat and overalls:D

Didn't expect to be on the killing floor though, poor cows. And then one went for me when I was closeing the gate to the chute. Didn't feel so sorry for them after that!

Also didn't expect to hear a big "WELL JAYUS WOULD YA LOOK AT WHAT THE CAT DRAGGED IN, HOWAYA KOVU" being roared at me from a lorry!:pac:
    Good stuff kovu

I have tried on a hairnet.
    A hardback hat.
    A coat over overalls.

Seriously, size L given to me as that was the fastest they could find.

I couldn't see my feckin wrists, never mind the sheep spray!!!!!!

And no-one......no-one looks good in a hairnet.

hugo29 wrote: »

I dunno TBH. I'm a bit suspicious of the motives of fellas offering their services from outside the county. It's another thing if they are responding to approaches.

I dunno why anyone would want it after what they did to Michael Ryan. Too many chiefs and not enough Indians down there IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

All joking aside, Galway need to bring in someone that can take control of the dressing room. It's going to kick off again now with portumna and Thomas's meeting in the county semi final!!!

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    All joking aside, Galway need to bring in someone that can take control of the dressing room. It's going to kick off again now with portumna and Thomas's meeting in the county semi final!!!

Tis a joke alright, the Thomas and portumna lads were meant to have a bust up at the Galway races earlier in the year. I seen they got drawn against each other alright. Where and when is that game on do ya know? I'd nearly go for a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Mac Taylor wrote: »

We tried that with Loughnane, didn't work. It's a myth about the talent in Galway. Most of the county players these days are very average. No technical skills, can't catch a ball in the air, rise a ball or score a point from play.

munkus wrote: »
    We tried that with Loughnane, didn't work. It's a myth about the talent in Galway. Most of the county players these days are very average. No technical skills, can't catch a ball in the air, rise a ball or score a point from play.

I'm going to say 4' and 12 towards the enemy.... (:mad:) twas our double.

And a tribal 3 &13.

I hate to say it but I agree. But still it would be interesting to see what someone like jbm could do with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

An impressive 4 minor All Ireland Minor championships in the last 9 years. Where is it goin wrong from here?

Tis a joke alright, the Thomas and portumna lads were meant to have a bust up at the Galway races earlier in the year. I seen they got drawn against each other alright. Where and when is that game on do ya know? I'd nearly go for a look.
    I think its a fortnight away. Will let you know closer to the time.

Bizzum wrote: »
    An impressive 4 minor All Ireland Minor championships in the last 9 years. Where is it goin wrong from here?

It goes wrong when they get the minor jersey. Then, for some reason they pop the collar up and head into Halo and expect the world to pay homage. Little gods they are. When a lad like Ger then roars at them to put their hand up through a forest of hurls, they think he's a c#nt.

It's all about attitude, and most of those lads have a bad one.

I'm going to say 4' and 12 towards the enemy.... (:mad:) twas our double.

And a tribal 3 &13.

Jesus, you've lost me. I'm blaming the bottle of wine. :-)

I was lost a while ago munkus, not great with the GAA

I have tried on a hairnet.

And no-one......no-one looks good in a hairnet.

You hoping to meet the future mr kovu in the factory :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

It goes wrong when they get the minor jersey. Then, for some reason they pop the collar up and head into Halo and expect the world to pay homage. Little gods they are. When a lad like Ger then roars at them to put their hand up through a forest of hurls, they think he's a c#nt.

It's all about attitude, and most of those lads have a bad one.

I see. My neighbours in Laois used to tell me the same about their minors.
    I dunno what the answer is. I see what your saying, infact I see it I'm my own county, it seems a fair share of young lads are happy to get the county gig for the sake of getting it and parading around at the weekend throwing shapes.

I do know nowadays there is huge pressure on any young lad training at county level. It's professional in all but name. It takes a certain type of animal to get through it.

You hoping to meet the future mr kovu in the factory :D

I.....eh... I shall see you while bonilg.
    Then lets see who is the lesser partner:pac::pac::pac::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Some amount of traffic on the road for the ploughing