Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

love babe , would watch that day and night, babe pig in the city wasnt near as good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

whelan1 wrote: »
    on disney junior:)
    Was wondering why I didnt spot it on the first few pages of sky :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

moy83 wrote: »
    I'm lost ???
    In all fairness the long nights are coming and they would want to get a few good programmes on the box . Cant wait for love hate myself

Another love/hate fan here. They'd b giving out at work about how bad it is and that it glorifies violence but I think the opposite. ..lie with dogs and u get up with fleas. ..and eventually get a bullet in the head!!!!!!

Also can't wait for mcsavage and what kind of lunacy he'll get up to!!! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

under the rim and homeland
    all can be downloaded from the interweb

under the rim is starting on rte next week the acting is poor enough in it tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

naughto wrote: »
    under the rim and homeland
    all can be downloaded from the interweb

under the rim is starting on rte next week the acting is poor enough in it tho

Homeland was good. Anyone like The Fall?

Muckit wrote: »
    Another love/hate fan here. They'd b giving out at work about how bad it is and that it glorifies violence but I think the opposite. ..lie with dogs and u get up with fleas. ..and eventually get a bullet in the head!!!!!!

love/ hate is great but hated the way they had the repreast on at 9pm on a friday for the last while... this is too early with kids around. its not a programme for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I hate Mcsavage. I think he aims for the poorest possible taste and ties to pass it off as funny. He only got the gig in common with many others in that spot because of the FF connections.

I hate Mcsavage..

Ah freedom you're taking it all a bit serious. ...it's comedy it supposed to be controversial!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Love/Hate, House of Cards, Ray Donovan, Game of Thrones, Falling Skies, Sherlock all very much worth watching.

Under the rim? :pac: :pac: :pac: Do you mean Under the Dome? Cos Under the RIM is a much more fitting name, absolute toilet material :D Homeland not much better IMO, started out good but.......... got a bad dose of cocci it never recovered from :D

Ah freedom you're taking it all a bit serious. ...it's comedy it supposed to be controversial!

Ah stop, man has to have his hobby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

A prerequisite for being controversial is to be original, mcsavage hasn't an original thought in his entire body. He's up there with the wits who bang on about bog one and two when talking about rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

watching b bad at the mo, right stuff:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

waiting for ice road truckers to come back and highway thru hell. the only thing is that the more popular an american show gets the more scripted it gets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Watched "The Story Of Agriculture" last night on Horse And Country.
    Interesting to hear how Milk Quotas came about and how the big Supermarkets muscled in to control the market.

http://www.horseandcountry.tv/tv/2013-09-04#e-404126

This is the one on Grain Production

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭epfff

pakalasa wrote: »
    Watched "The Story Of Agriculture" last night on Horse And Country.
    Interesting to hear how Milk Quotas came about and how the big Supermarkets muscled in to control the market.

http://www.horseandcountry.tv/tv/2013-09-04#e-404126

This is the one on Grain Production

Good show
    beef and tillage very good too

waiting for ice road truckers to come back and highway thru hell. the only thing is that the more popular an american show gets the more scripted it gets

I went through a phase of watching all them . Also American hot rod orange County choppers etc. As u say pure scripted sh*t. Da missus watches the kardasains ....now that's real horse sh*t!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

love/ hate is great but hated the way they had the repreast on at 9pm on a friday for the last while... this is too early with kids around. its not a programme for them

Had the same thoughts myself

how many sets of twins can you have in your herd in a year before you get a dept visit?

What age are they? Send them to bed early and have them up early. We find it works well that way, as we're not knackered in the evening while they're bouncing off the walls.

eldest is 12, this was during the summer holidays, think the repeats have finished and so have the summer holidays:D

Ah yes, forgot about them, thank God they're over :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

hugo29 wrote: »
    Cheers dev where would us sucklers be without you dairy boys;)
    I want the calves to eat it, not the cows, if the cows get a taste at all they will be heard bawling in Kilkenny

Calves know its there and I let them in to it a few evenings , fcukers won't come under the wire is all
    Put the calves in the paddock ahead of the cows and see if they go back under it to the cows. Once they pass through once that should do it you'd imagine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

just do it wrote: »
    Put the calves in the paddock ahead of the cows and see if they go back under it to the cows. Once they pass through once that should do it you'd imagine...

Trough was cleaned this am and a few stragglers left at it, filled it again this evening but calves stayed other side looking at me, will see in am again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Off to waterford now for freshers night :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Freshers night :eek::cool:, not many dairyfarmers out there young enough to get away with that sorta crack, fair play, can't say I'm not jealous at all :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Timmaay wrote: »
    Freshers night :eek::cool:, not many dairyfarmers out there young enough to get away with that sorta crack, fair play, can't say I'm not jealous at all :p

dont worry ill be back to milk. Staight out the window of some house ill end up in :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

jersey101 wrote: »
    dont worry ill be back to milk. Staight out the window of some house ill end up in :D

Ohh to be young. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭J DEERE

hugo29 wrote: »
    god the difference in grazing rotations now that the calves are getting stronger is unreal, paddocks that were lasting 3 days are now struggling after 2 days:eek:

wish the fcuking calves would cop on, that the wire is lifted, and there is a trough full of meal the other side,

lift the wire at a corner so that you can funnel the calves into it. Normally one or two will go under and the rest will follow with curiosity and some gentle persuasion. Once they get a taste for the meal they will work away. Try and have them hungry starting off, maybe leave them and the cows bare for a day or two so they have an appetite

gradually replacing wooden gate posts with proper galvanised ones, put one down in concrete last week and made gap into a 15ft one was 10ft, took the 10 ft gate away today and hung the 15 ft gate, the 10 ft gate was way heavier than the 15 ft one