Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

hugo29 wrote: »
    what value would people put on a slatted shed, 4 bay built approx 8 years ago, open shed

no gates and site not finished, friend of mine rents one and it has been offered first refusal as owner is selling

i told him approx half of what it would cost to build, would people agree

If it was unfinished then it didn't have a grant paid on it. So it probably wasn't built to grant spec. To get the original cost you'd want to know the spec and then be sure that it is structurally sound.

In reality it depends on how many people want to buy it?

Don't forget to take in the site value also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

reilig wrote: »
    If it was unfinished then it didn't have a grant paid on it. So it probably wasn't built to grant spec. To get the original cost you'd want to know the spec and then be sure that it is structurally sound.

In reality it depends on how many people want to buy it?

Don't forget to take in the site value also.

sorry, the shed is finished and was grant aided, ive seen the building and it is a good shed,

when i say unfinished i meant the site, no access gates, no fencing to boundaries, site area is approx 1/4- 1/2 acre. I cant see many people been interested as a stand alone outshed without land is not what people want, i could be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

sorry, the shed is finished and was grant aided, ive seen the building and it is a good shed,

when i say unfinished i meant the site, no access gates, no fencing to boundaries, site area is approx 1/4- 1/2 acre. I cant see many people been interested as a stand alone outshed without land is not what people want, i could be wrong

Plenty of people rent sheds around here and even leave the slurry in them.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That quarter acre could make all the difference. If it is 1/2 an acre, then it falls into the category of possibly having site potential, which increases its value substantially. A handy lad could think about sacrificing tank, relocating shed and slats and building a house on it. Has shed water and electricity coming into it? If it has then this is a very real possibility.

Muckit wrote: »
    That quarter acre could make all the difference. If it is 1/2 an acre, then it falls into the category of possibly having site potential, which increases its value substantially. A handy lad could think about sacrificing tank, relocating shed and slats and building a house on it. Has shed water and electricity coming into it? If it has then this is a very real possibility.

:eek::eek: what a shed and a dwelling house on a 1/2 acre site
    no not a chance, its a shed and will always be a shed site, not one bit suitable for a house, a caravan maybe:D
    site area has now increased in a lot of counties with the new regulations on treatment systems and percolation areas to 3/4 acre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Reread my message. easy relocate or sell off a shed. as I said 1/2 an acre is a site. water/elec away you go. Is he thinking he'd get it for south of €20,000?

Muckit wrote: »
    Reread my message. easy relocate or sell off a shed. as I said 1/2 an acre is a site. water/elec away you go. Is he thinking he'd get it for south of €20,000?

ok sorry, see what ya saying remove shed completely and start again
    but as I was saying a 1/2 acre is not always a site, in the old days yes, but now it depends on a lot of constraints and the trial hole and type and size of treatment system is one of them, it is more towards the 3/4 acre now

anyway enough of that, yea i would have said south of €20,000 would be enough,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

i have a question. I have about 1 grain trailer load of old turf/peat/ turf mole for to "get rid of". Absolute no where to tip it here.

If i tipped this back in the bog where i got the turf would this be dumping or ok? i was thinking of tipping it into the "bog hole" or as close as i couold get safely.

Anyway would this be dumping?

I see a lot of lads bring back turf mould to the bog.
    Personally I'd burn it in the fire. Just be careful you don't cause an explosion. Some heat from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Dunno how to multiquote so to say about the turf mauwl (sic)
    A lot of show cattle are being wintered on it in the last few years, so if you can hang on to it and advertise it as clean & such, it can be sold.
    Dumping on bogs :mad: going off that thread a bit, our bog has been inaccessible due to wetness the last few years and it's now got a lovely arrangement of metal.

Just moved into new house too, so much insulation the wifi I use normally is crap :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

i have a question. I have about 1 grain trailer load of old turf/peat/ turf mole for to "get rid of". Absolute no where to tip it here.

If i tipped this back in the bog where i got the turf would this be dumping or ok? i was thinking of tipping it into the "bog hole" or as close as i couold get safely.

Anyway would this be dumping?

Holy Mozes, its hard enough to get it out of the bog in the first place. Why would you want to bring it back?
    I burn every last micro grain of the stuff -;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Dunno how to multiquote so to say about the turf mauwl (sic)
    A lot of show cattle are being wintered on it in the last few years, so if you can hang on to it and advertise it as clean & such, it can be sold.
    Dumping on bogs :mad: going off that thread a bit, our bog has been inaccessible due to wetness the last few years and it's now got a lovely arrangement of metal.

Just moved into new house too, so much insulation the wifi I use normally is crap :(

Thats two house warmings we have to go to now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Talking of dumping on bogs am just in the door from there, had to shoot a lovely black & white collie that was dumped out there. None of us could manage to catch him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

tuf mould makes great beddng. we used to throw any into the sheds that would be left over and it was great to stay dry. thank god my auld man realised between the distance we had to travel the work involved and the amount of ashes left over that turf was just pure hardship.

sold an 18 yr old cull today that came into 1175. calved a calf every year and all survived, i was a bit nostalgic until the bidding started. id say she was one of the few animals that left a couple of quid behind her. Sold another 2 once calved cows at 1325 and 1375, so at least i came home happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

1chippy wrote: »
    sold an 18 yr old cull today that came into 1175. calved a calf every year and all survived, i was a bit nostalgic until the bidding started. id say she was one of the few animals that left a couple of quid behind her. Sold another 2 once calved cows at 1325 and 1375, so at least i came home happy.

What weight was the once calved cow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

in ardee on tuesday there was a lad from longford selling cattle, sure he would have gone by delvin and carnaross on his way:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

whelan1 wrote: »
    in ardee on tuesday there was a lad from longford selling cattle, sure he would have gone by delvin and carnaross on his way:confused:

Farmer or dealer?

moy83 wrote: »
    What weight was the once calved cow
    580 and 620 respectivly

Carnaross has gone to the dogs as far as i can make out. Not a bad place to buy at the moment.

Bizzum wrote: »
    Farmer or dealer?
    dunno, just saw his name displayed on board

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

1chippy wrote: »
    580 and 620 respectivly

Carnaross has gone to the dogs as far as i can make out. Not a bad place to buy at the moment.
    Good weights , I have a couple of once calved cows for going soon but I doubt they are up on those weights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Probably has land rented up there.

reilig wrote: »
    Probably has land rented up there.
    dont know but ardee mart pays on the day , dont know if carnaross or delvin do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

I know a man that passes New Ross and Enniscorthy to go to Carnew on his way from Waterford.

Yeh but hes probably following the buyers;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I cant see many people been interested as a stand alone outshed without land is not what people want, i could be wrong

there would be plenty myself included if it was close by. Im looking for sheds to rent in the Midwest if anyone knows anything suitable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,152 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

dont know but ardee mart pays on the day , dont know if carnaross or delvin do

Cranaross does. dont Know about Delvin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

there would be plenty myself included if it was close by. Im looking for sheds to rent in the Midwest if anyone knows anything suitable

That'd be a bit of a haul with the keenan everyday wouldn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

quadboy wrote: »
    Thats two house warmings we have to go to now

:O

I was disappointed to find out who that bad agent was off the journal
    Thought he was better than that.

Jaysus lad ye in the midland dont know how good you have it, was out looking at lands yesterday off the college and we are swimming in water comppared to ye. Te are looking at Febr-Ear Sep for weanlings. Here it seems to be Mar-Oct. This year if ours are ready by mid December I'll be happy. One cow dealing with twins and another twin suffering badly. Basically she's sucking triplets. :pac: Took another calf in with brown-y hair last week. What causes that? Is it copper r selenium?

Edit- just managed to stick my trousers to my leg with super glue. Help!

Dixi5Price wrote: »
    welcome to farming chit chat 2, hope ye all enjoy the thread as much as the last one1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg
    farming chit chat 3 will be on the way soon:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

That'd be a bit of a haul with the keenan everyday wouldn't it?

40 pieces of silver would be on offer to someone else to do it or supply grub. its not that easy to locate some thing suitable. places for leasing are either small or very large and nothing in between. Does that tell us the large guys go bust and smaller guys can't survive either?