Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

whelan1 wrote: »
    farming chit chat 3 will be on the way soon:D

we will have some amount of b*****ks talked about, by then. speak for myself i suppose:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

I know a man that passes New Ross and Enniscorthy to go to Carnew on his way from Waterford.
    hes lost,needs a sat nav ,silly bugger.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Lunatic heifer in the parlour for the 1st time after calving this morning. Her spins aren't in great condition anyways, so kicking like crazy, couldn't get the clusters or anything on her. Won't be keeping her for long!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Timmaay wrote: »
    Lunatic heifer in the parlour for the 1st time after calving this morning. Her spins aren't in great condition anyways, so kicking like crazy, couldn't get the clusters or anything on her. Won't be keeping her for long!
    do you put them up parlour before calving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Local young lad called me a few days ago re Sat and Sun work while in college, I said ok.

Called him yesterday pm to mow silage, said he couldn't as he had training. GAA must pay well???

I give up

Yeh, had her in a good few times last few weeks, she was sick for a while, had some sort of sunburn during the hot weather in July, so she ended up hanging around in one of the paddocks nearby. I think thats what effected her spins, skin very flaky and sore. I dunno if we even should have kept her this long 2bh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

We had one this morning also. She's with the milkers since the weekend so she could be watched and was reasonably settled this morning going through parlour. No kick bars or ropes any way. She's a one that could have caused trouble always very flighty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

my heifers are all calved, they are grand but theres one who refuses to stay in the paddock with the cows, bitch... tim818 maybe put sudocreme on her spins or theres a cream called dermogel, if shes dangerous just get rid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

delaval wrote: »
    Local young lad called me a few days ago re Sat and Sun work while in college, I said ok.

Called him yesterday pm to mow silage, said he couldn't as he had training. GAA must pay well???

I give up

Feckin Boom time kids.
    Obviously doesn't need the money. If he was a proper college student drinking every euro he would be glad of the work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I give up

I think hurling is a religon down your side delaval :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

bbam wrote: »
    Feckin Boom time kids.
    Obviously doesn't need the money. If he was a proper college student drinking every euro he would be glad of the work.

I met a 26 year old "man" yesterday who was looking for help from me. He was born on a farm, did Junior & Leaving Cert, third level degree and a masters and he has never had a paid job in his life. I asked him if he did any work experience or voluntary work. He said that the only thing he did was go to the bog once with his father when he was 14 to foot turf. He said that he only stayed for 2 hours because he didn't like it, but that his father will give him a good reference for it. I asked him how he survived - he told me that while he was in college up to 22 years old, his parents gave him pocket money. For the last 4 years he has been on the Dole, but he finds it very hard to live on that because he has to give his mother €20 per week for rent and food. Now at 26 he has decided that he needs to start standing on his own 2 feet and he wants a part time job so that he can rent the granny flat adjoining the home house for €20 per week + buy his own food. Dad has a very large farm and a business which employs 10+ people.

Funny thing is that this is the 4th or 5th person in similar circumstances that I have met in the last 12 months. At mid 20's and never haven worked at anything, it's a very difficult task to get them some work and ensure that they do it.

In a short number of years the whole thing has turned upsidedown and sideways!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

ye are not too bad with the old sticks in yer hands on that side either red

hugo29 wrote: »
    ye are not too bad with the old sticks in yer hands on that side either red

Sunday week will tell a lot!!

i would like to see clare win, but could someone arrange a gag for that hobbit ye call yer manager

I was talking to him in Ennis the other night......very calm and composed altogether. I have David McInerney lined up for a few days pitching square bales too :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Tut, tut:pac:
    Davy without his antics, would be like Belgian Blue without muscle.
    A fuukin, Holstein:rolleyes:

Tut, tut:pac:
    Davy without his antics, would be like Belgian Blue without muscle.
    A fuukin, Holstein:rolleyes:

true he does know how to get at them,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭arais

I give up

when my youngest was inverviewed for a job was asked if he would be available for overtime he mentioned he would have training , was given 2 choices "his kit bag or his tool kit" he opted for the second
    I think your lads are young yet so you will have a different outlook in a few years time , oh i forgot your're from KK the former gaa stronghold :D:D:D:D
    I was talking to him in Ennis the other night......very calm and composed altogether. I have David McInerney lined up for a few days pitching square bales too :cool:

another Mc here
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pRwyKgIatI

rock on Noel

I give up

You're just going to have to work around his training times the mowing can wait:D:D:D.

This lads father even recons he shouldn't be wasting as much time training

arais wrote: »
    when my youngest was inverviewed for a job was asked if he would be available for overtime he mentioned he would have training , was given 2 choices "his kit bag or his tool kit" he opted for the second
    I think your lads are young yet so you will have a different outlook in a few years time , oh i forgot your're from KK the former gaa stronghold :D:D:D:D

another Mc here
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3pRwyKgIatI

rock on Noel

My lads have no interest in hurling, in fact they think they're all mad. We are into the proper shaped ball, oval that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Since when do fathers and sons agree :D

My lads have no interest in hurling, in fact they think they're all mad. We are into the proper shaped ball, oval that is.

thats the stuff, better selection of birds to start with. the days of 92;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Just calved a heifer that was incalf to lhz, she had a whopper of a heifer calf. She wouldn't have had it on her own i reckon

No, this young lad is so shyte that he is wasting the trainers time!!!!

They put out handier too!!!!!!

jersey101 wrote: »
    Just calved a heifer that was incalf to lhz, she had a whopper of a heifer calf. She wouldn't have had it on her own i reckon

I wouldn't be using too many lhzs on heifers myself, his calving difficulty is creeping up now that a fair few calves have been born.

They put out handier too!!!!!!

That could be construed as a slander against Mrs de;)

jayus i would have though women prefered round balls to oval balls

I know plenty of women who prefer no balls, unfortunately:eek: