Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Steroid Scaremongering In The Media

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Dermighty wrote: »
    I think most people associate steroid usage with steroid abuse.

The two are not the same!

As an aside, Hanley, where are you getting your info for the article? Experience from usage or experience from being in the same environment as steroids or things you've read or some or all of the above.

I'm sorry, what are you implying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭harvester of sorrow

I think most people associate steroid usage with steroid abuse.

The two are not the same!

As an aside, Hanley, where are you getting your info for the article? Experience from usage or experience from being in the same environment as steroids or things you've read or some or all of the above.

"if you are trying to build a brick wall what do you need?Bricks.Now if i gave you ten brick layers and no bricks what would happen?No wall would be built.But if i gave you two bricklayers and lots of bricks,we will get the wall built without a problem.Now your diet is the bricks,what we need to build the wall with.The bricklayers are products that allow this to take place or speed up the process.Things such as supplements,steroids and so on."
    Operation Morpheus
    J K Stettler

Very original.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Hanley wrote: »

Chill Hanley. He is not saying you are on or were on gear.

He is asking do you know this info from if you tried steroids, being around people who have used them or just read a lot of articles about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

He is asking do you know this info from if you tried steroids, being around people who have used them or just read a lot of articles about them.

I thought I'd phrased it in a way that wouldn't be read the way you seem to have read it Hanley. I mean exactly what I asked. When you wrote that piece, is your knowledge based on prior use, prior learned knowledge (ie books, etc) or from working with people who are taking steroids.

For the record, why would I imply anything, I've never met you so I was asking a question because I genuinely don't know the answer.

Also, if you have ever, are currently or ever will take steroids I have no positive or negative opinion towards it, just wondering what the basis of your piece is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

"Media scare-mongering?" Get up the yard the lotta yiz. David Hickey is a medic as well as a former sports-star and is still involved in the medical side of sport.

I'd give his views on what he has seen a lot more credence than the views of a bunch of internet randomers.

Why do children (his area of concern) involved in sport need to take the supplements he describes? What happened to children enjoying their sport and using it as a physical and psychological developmental mechanism to match the more cerebral methods used in the classroom / study periods. Why can't they just enjoy running around in the fresh-air?

There is no doubting the fact at this stage that supplements are contaminated as they run though the same factories as steroids and God only knows what else. Fish-food, cattle-feed, bone-meal?

Children still at the developmental stage should be banned from taking these supplements as if they were professional athletes and David Hickey's concerns, as quoted, are most certainly not "media frenzy".

mathepac wrote: »
    There is no doubting the fact at this stage that supplements are contaminated as they run though the same factories as steroids and God only knows what else. Fish-food, cattle-feed, bone-meal?

Wait.. What?

Most steroids are made in underground labs. Not in facilities like Reflex Science Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭Thud

"Media scare-mongering?" Get up the yard the lotta yiz. David Hickey is a medic as well as a former sports-star and is still involved in the medical side of sport.

I'd give his views on what he has seen a lot more credence than the views of a bunch of internet randomers.

Why do children (his area of concern) involved in sport need to take the supplements he describes? What happened to children enjoying their sport and using it as a physical and psychological developmental mechanism to match the more cerebral methods used in the classroom / study periods. Why can't they just enjoy running around in the fresh-air?

Children still at the developmental stage should be banned from taking these supplements as if they were professional athletes and David Hickey's concerns, as quoted, are most certainly not "media frenzy".

I don't like this phrase but...

get's (steroid sprinkled) popcorn...:rolleyes:

"if you are trying to build a brick wall what do you need?Bricks.Now if i gave you ten brick layers and no bricks what would happen?No wall would be built.But if i gave you two bricklayers and lots of bricks,we will get the wall built without a problem.Now your diet is the bricks,what we need to build the wall with.The bricklayers are products that allow this to take place or speed up the process.Things such as supplements,steroids and so on."
    Operation Morpheus
    J K Stettler

Very original.

I've no idea who or what that came from, but he's a smart dude. Only a clever guy would think of that analogy :D

I thought I'd phrased it in a way that wouldn't be read the way you seem to have read it Hanley. I mean exactly what I asked. When you wrote that piece, is your knowledge based on prior use, prior learned knowledge (ie books, etc) or from working with people who are taking steroids.

For the record, why would I imply anything, I've never met you so I was asking a question because I genuinely don't know the answer.

:confused::confused::confused:

Asking is my information from prior use ISN'T implying I may have used them?! :confused:

If anyone actually followed the first post, you'd see the thread was about the media confusing steroids and supplements and all the crap that comes from it. Nothing to do with any position on steroids themselves.

...then the problem isn't supplements. It's the kids being forced to perform at such a high level at such a young age by parents, teachers, coaches and social pressure.

It's no surprise they will do anything they can to improve with pressure like that. Remove the pressure, and you remove the supplement "abuse" (LOL).

But actually tackling the PROBLEM would be too hard. It's easier to just pick on a small component like supplement use.

Supreme levels of ignorance. People like you ARE the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

David Hickey is a medic as well as a former sports-star and is still involved in the medical side of sport.

Never heard of David Hickey but presume he's involved with ball games. I've been followin' strength sports since forever. This forum is right up there with the best of 'em as regards advice about fitness, supplements and training.

It's up to you who you take advice from. I wouldn't condemn this place so easily.

:confused::confused::confused:

Asking is my information from prior use ISN'T implying I may have used them?! :confused:

Yeah, fair enough, I contradicted myself there unwittingly.

Either way I was just asking. I'm guessing your not going to answer the question seeing as you decided to point out my mistake leave it at that.

Grand.

what I had meant to say by "I'm not implying anything" was that I wasn't being intentionally smarmy about it in alluding to you using steroids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭deadlybuzzman

Sounds like someone couldn't get through to Joe Duffy today!

Yeah, fair enough, I contradicted myself there unwittingly.

Either way I was just asking. I'm guessing your not going to answer the question seeing as you decided to point out my mistake leave it at that.

Grand.

what I had meant to say by "I'm not implying anything" was that I wasn't being intentionally smarmy about it in alluding to you using steroids.

The information from the article is referenced to commercial and independent scientific journals. And no, I've never taken steroids.

Cool, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Aquarius34

Ugh, the "health" and cough fitness forum seems to be pro steroids here.

Steroid is a drug. Can't get around that one. But I am sure people here will somehow come up with some magic excuse to make it like someone wonderful multivitamin that empowers your life and gives you good kidneys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭banquet

Aquarius34 wrote: »

Steroid is a drug. Can't get around that one. But I am sure people here will somehow come up with some magic excuse to make it like someone wonderful multivitamin that empowers your life and gives you good kidneys.

Can you show me a single example of someone expressing they were "pro steroid" on this forum?

banquet wrote: »
    Can you show me a single example of someone expressing they were "pro steroid" on this forum?

Read the steroid threads on this forum, perhaps?

Talk about been completely elusive......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭banquet

Read the steroid threads on this forum, perhaps?

Talk about been completely elusive......

I read one a few days ago. What I recall was you embarrassing yourself claiming that whey producers would secretly add extremely costly anabolics to their product. When it was argued that this made no economic sense, instead of engaging in debate, you embarrassed yourself further with replies like "so says you".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I read one a few days ago. What I recall was you embarrassing yourself claiming that whey producers would secretly add extremely costly anabolics to their product. When it was argued that this made no economic sense, instead of engaging in debate, you embarrassed yourself further with replies like "so says you".

Ah lads, are people still dignifying that eejit's third-rate trolling efforts by answering him even semi-seriously??

Complete the well-known interweb phrase: "Don't feed the........ ?"
    C'mon now, we all know this one...

No I did not, I said I wouldn't be surprised if they did, and when I seen the thread, that's what I said.....

And it would be no surprise. I didn't embarrass myself. I am not a freaking sheep who follow's popular opinion, like so many freaking Irish people do with their tails between their legs on anything that goes against the norms of mainstream thinking..... My god this country is so naive....

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Ah lads, are people still dignifying that eejit's third-rate trolling efforts by answering him even semi-seriously??

Complete the well-known interweb phrase: "Don't feed the........ ?"
    C'mon now, we all know this one...

I see, so when someone has a different view to someone else, it's deemed trolling, is that how it rolls here then. Your use of insults, certainly gives you the calling of your own trolling efforts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

I don't think it is. Most discussions are locked soon after the threads start like. Not against steroid use meself, just to clarify. Old farts like me can go on the male HRT in other countries fairly handy. But this isn't another country.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

No it isn't. You're confusing supplements and steroids again.

Hah?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Brian? wrote: »
    No it isn't. You're confusing supplements and steroids again.

Hah?

No I am not, steroid is a drug.

squod wrote: »
    I don't think it is. Most discussions are locked soon after the threads start like. Not against steroid use meself, just to clarify. Old farts like me can go on the male HRT in other countries fairly handy. But this isn't another country.

Well it certainly does seem like a lot of people are trying to make steroids out to be nothing in terms of what damage it does and what it actually is. It's a drug and this is the first forum I've come across that I see people stating that it's not. It's a freaking drug.

Lads you are all worse engaging him.

Soon he'll be telling us conspiracies about the moon being placed in orbit around the earth or some other nonsense

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Well it certainly does seem like a lot of people are trying to make steroids out to be nothing in terms of what damage it does and what it actually is. It's a drug and this is the first forum I've come across that I see people stating that it's not. It's a freaking drug.

Find me one post that claims steroids arent a drug so we can discuss that.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

Lads you are all worse engaging him.

Soon he'll be telling us conspiracies about the moon being placed in orbit around the earth or some other nonsense

The guy literally thinks he's an alien

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83165662&postcount=138

Engaging him is never gonna be productive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Hailhail1967

I was really enjoying reading the thread and then BAAAM the nonsense entered, anyway.

I honestly never imagined any person would mix up the difference between supplements and steroids, although I was obviously wrong on that score. I deal with many beginners and first time exercisers daily and I would never have gotten that impression from any of them whatsoever.

A doctor quoting a statistical fact as 20-30, I mean ffs come on. Is it 20 or 30, if he came up with a number surely one would suffice.

Anyway i'm a bit busy for searching the internet, is there any links to research or articles on contamination and what that was exactly, or did I miss it?

I was really enjoying reading the thread and then BAAAM the nonsense entered, anyway.

I honestly never imagined any person would mix up the difference between supplements and steroids, although I was obviously wrong on that score. I deal with many beginners and first time exercisers daily and I would never have gotten that impression from any of them whatsoever.

A doctor quoting a statistical fact as 20-30, I mean ffs come on. Is it 20 or 30, if he came up with a number surely one would suffice.

Anyway i'm a bit busy for searching the internet, is there any links to research or articles on contamination and what that was exactly, or did I miss it?

There is a range because the studies don't look at one type of supplement. So X number of stimulant/fat loss products may be contaminated and Y number of weight gain products, giving a range. The real percentages are in the studies. I have them all and I have them summed up - they'll be appearing as th eeditorial in the march issue of gym mag and will post all the relevant info once that drops.

Steroids are steroids and are not supplements. Steroids are drugs and this has been the first website or forum that I've ever come across to see such tripe been posted on this topic.

Well you'd want to be an alien when you end up reading threads like this and having to be stuck in a country that is so far back in time that it makes me sick to even realise how stupified this country has actually become. Alienating yourself is a good way to deal with the level of thickness in our society.