Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Supporting the Troops

• 07-02-2013 10:44pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭

I've been thinking about this for a few days now. I was on Facebook one night, and an American friend was talking to me about how there was a photo of the rapper 50 cent that a lot of people were pissed off about. Apparently, in this photo, 50 cent was wearing a Marines' uniform, the picture was up on Facebook, and this guy who was in the Marines wrote onto his page, giving out. He was fairly livid, really giving it loads, "how dare you wear that uniform, I know you never served in my corps" etc. The post had lots of likes and comments from people who seemed to have family in the military backing the guy up or were in the military or had been.

Some of it got kind of carried away, but anyway, it made me think about how the US armed forces are seen in American society. How can people be so pro-military, even when those forces serve in unjust wars like Iraq? Is it because of the fallout from the Vietnam war, when returning veterans were shunned from having served in such an unpopular conflict? Is it because so many Americans have family and friends in the US forces? Is it because they see the military as defending US values and freedoms?

It seems to me, if you join the military, it doesn't make you particularly brave or heroic. It's a tough, demanding job which can cost you your life but you have very little say about that at times. If you were against an invasion of a country, you'd still have to participate. Sometimes you will have to do very questionable things. Why do some societies glorify the military?

[and before anyone takes offence, I'm not against anybody serving in the military, it's your choice]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

To look hard, you gotta don a Navy uniform tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

The US military and it's supporters are a different breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭doulikeit

Its a job simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Augmerson wrote: »
    Some of it got kind of carried away, but anyway, it made me think about how the US armed forces are seen in American society. How can people be so pro-military, even when those forces serve in unjust wars like Iraq? Is it because of the fallout from the Vietnam war, when returning veterans were shunned from having served in such an unpopular conflict?

You have to remember that they (the military personnel) don't get a choice in where they are sent.

I would see it as supporting the men and women who do that job and serve their country, rather than supporting the government which makes the decision to engage in a conflict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

9/11 happened and a lot of Americans are scared. They see every member of the military as a brave young hero protecting them from another terrible act of terrorism.
    A lot of people in the military are there for this same reason. They feel that their country and its people need to be protected and they want to do their part. Many of them are scared young men. But in my eyes they are brave to do what they do. It takes enormous balls to go into a war zone.

No matter what people think of the USA and what other hidden agendas they may/may not have, it's not the fault of those young men. And they deserve to be proud to protect their families, which is why they enlisted in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

You can support the troops whilst also disagreeing with policy ie, a stupid war. Soldiers join to serve their country and they go and do their job wherever they are told.

Separate government decisions from people whose job is to follow those decisions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Very true El Guapo! but at the same time, a lot of Americans join because they have very little other options for employment. In Midwestern, Western and Southern states, joining the armed forces is the only way out of poverty. They can't afford a college education or aren't academic enough. Very little in the way of other employers. The military has very attractive pensions and healthcare apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

A lot of Americans don't like the war but if anyone talks **** about the people over there they will defend them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

I never really understood the way the Americans and British looked at their military.

I personally don't have any extra respect for someone because they went to war. I would most likley think less of them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

DylanII wrote: »
    I never really understood the way the Americans and British looked at their military.

I personally don't have any extra respect for someone because they went to war. I would most likley think less of them...

What if they joined the army, but never went to war?

What if they were deployed in peace keeping mission?

What if they were drafted in to help with a natural disaster?

What if your country was being attacked, or invaded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Very true El Guapo! but at the same time, a lot of Americans join because they have very little other options for employment. In Midwestern, Western and Southern states, joining the armed forces is the only way out of poverty. They can't afford a college education or aren't academic enough. Very little in the way of other employers. The military has very attractive pensions and healthcare apparently.

I'm sure that has some truth to it, and that would be another reason people are very protective of the men and women in the military. They are ordinary people doing extraordinary things to earn a few dollars, and also keeping their country safe while they're at it.
    These people put their lives at risk every day while they're on a tour. They deserve respect and and people are proud of them because of what they do. And as I said, they're just doing their job and staying alive as best they can. They're not the bigwigs in government making the calls on where to go and who to fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

What if they joined the army, but never went to war?

What if they were deployed in peace keeping mission?

What if they were drafted in to help with a natural disaster?

What if your country was being attacked, or invaded?

Great but Americans dont join the army with the expectation of helping with natural disasters. They are expecting to go and destroy some foreign country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Great but Americans dont join the army with the expectation of helping with natural disasters. They are expecting to go and destroy some foreign country.

I'm sure all 1.4 million of them joined for that reason alone...

El Guapo! wrote: »
    I'm sure that has some truth to it, and that would be another reason people are very protective of the men and women in the military. They are ordinary people doing extraordinary things to earn a few dollars, and also keeping their country safe while they're at it.
    These people put their lives at risk every day while they're on a tour. They deserve respect and and people are proud of them because of what they do. And as I said, they're just doing their job and staying alive as best they can. They're not the bigwigs in government making the calls on where to go and who to fight.

Well, I can see your point of view, but I feel the invasion of Iraq, the unwavering support for Israel and support of undemocratic regimes undermine and put at extreme risk the security of the US and US service personnel - but I realise those are actions made by the US gov't and not the troops.

How much respect should be afforded to somebody who is supposed to, without question, proceed with any command given by superior officers, whatever it be, because it is their job to do so? I don't know, it makes me uncomfortable, but I do see your point of view, and I guess it explains peoples actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

but its right to criticise soldiers as some have done terrible things without orders to do so there was a helicopter crew which fired on civilians and had to get permission to engage it was not their orders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

How much respect should be afforded to somebody who is supposed to, without question, proceed with any command given by superior officers, whatever it be, because it is their job to do so? I don't know, it makes me uncomfortable, but I do see your point of view, and I guess it explains peoples actions.

This point is not as black and white as you make it out to be. You are meant to follow all "lawfull orders". There are a multitude of rules that you must follow while deployed. If you are ordered to do something contrary to those rules, you can stand your ground and say "No".

There are laws regarding combat and soldiers are bound under military and civilian law at all times. A problem arises when the soldier is so scared and battle fatigued that unlawful orders are carried out as "mini revenge" against their "enemy" counterparts.

This point is not as black and white as you make it out to be. You are meant to follow all "lawfull orders". There are a multitude of rules that you must follow while deployed. If you are ordered to do something contrary to those rules, you can stand your ground and say "No".

There are laws regarding combat and soldiers are bound under military and civilian law at all times. A problem arises when the soldier is so scared and battle fatigued that unlawful orders are carried out as "mini revenge" against their "enemy" counterparts.

Revenge and fatigue were part of the horrible events at Haditha if I'm not mistaken?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Revenge and fatigue were part of the horrible events at Haditha if I'm not mistaken?

I believe so.

From the outside people can't actually comprehend the mindset of a soldier in that type of atmosphere. War is as psychological as it is physical. Prolonged intense mental pressure is likely to wear you down and allow you to act "outside of yourself" and against your better judgement.

There is no justification for what happened there, it's a messed up place where anyone of any age, gender, disposition is likely to kill you. It got to a stage where it was deemed better to act first and ask questions later. It's not the "PC" or actual correct way to do things but in a place like that you don't take chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The cry of "Support Our Troops" is meant to deflect from the criminal behaviour of successive US regimes and the murdering thugs who sign up for the slaughter abroad campaigns.

Anyone with half a brain knew that the invasions and occupations of Iraq and Afghanistan were just a front for control of areas full of natural resources.

The only brave troops were those who said they weren't going to the killing fields flowing with blood of innocent locals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Nice to see that the people who gave up their life fighting fascists over fifty years ago did not die in vain.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Because almost a quarter of American men are veterans. Americans almost certainly know several vets, my neighbours either side are vets - one Army, one Navy.

Americans have gotten used to saying thank you, first it was firefighters (and my local crew are volunteers so I certainly thank them when I see them) then active military, more recently cops.

As to the reasons people serve, I think all the altrustic reasons may be there, but for many it is a simple as getting an education and a job when they leave. It is easier and a hell of a lot cheaper to serve and get that college degree paid for, than pay for it yourself.

As to the "Thank you for your service" - well, to be honest given the amount of disrespect and abuse the Gardai, Fire, Ambulance and IDF have to put up with, and with news of one of them recently losing their life, it wouldn't be amiss next time you see someone in uniform to just say "Thank you for your service". I'm sure it would make their day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Nice to see that the people who gave up their life fighting fascists over fifty years ago did not die in vain.:rolleyes:

Don't make me laugh.

Large parts of the US still has apartheid policies in place into the 1960s.

As soon as WWII was over, the US ensured the fascists were rebranded and back in power in Italy in an attempt to crush the left, and Fascist Spain was included in the Marshall Plan.

The only reason the US joined WWII was because it was attacked by Japan.

Myths about "fighting fascism" sound good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

I've been thinking about this for a few days now. I was on Facebook one night, and an American friend was talking to me about how there was a photo of the rapper 50 cent that a lot of people were pissed off about. Apparently, in this photo, 50 cent was wearing a Marines' uniform, the picture was up on Facebook, and this guy who was in the Marines wrote onto his page, giving out. He was fairly livid, really giving it loads, "how dare you wear that uniform, I know you never served in my corps" etc. The post had lots of likes and comments from people who seemed to have family in the military backing the guy up or were in the military or had been.

Some of it got kind of carried away, but anyway, it made me think about how the US armed forces are seen in American society. How can people be so pro-military, even when those forces serve in unjust wars like Iraq? Is it because of the fallout from the Vietnam war, when returning veterans were shunned from having served in such an unpopular conflict? Is it because so many Americans have family and friends in the US forces? Is it because they see the military as defending US values and freedoms?

It seems to me, if you join the military, it doesn't make you particularly brave or heroic. It's a tough, demanding job which can cost you your life but you have very little say about that at times. If you were against an invasion of a country, you'd still have to participate. Sometimes you will have to do very questionable things. Why do some societies glorify the military?

[and before anyone takes offence, I'm not against anybody serving in the military, it's your choice]

That's about 'world-view', or the view of those people on certain 'types'.

If someone like Toby Keith, any other country singer or, basically, any famous white american wearing a cowboy hat, had donned the same uniform and posted it up on facebook, those same people would be on gushing their support, proclaiming them true patriots, and thanking them for their support.

The object of their affections wouldn't have 'served' in the army/marines either, of course.

But it wouldn't matter, in that case.

stretchdoe wrote: »
    That's about 'world-view', or the view of those people on certain 'types'.

If someone like Toby Keith, any other country singer or, basically, any famous white american wearing a cowboy hat, had donned the same uniform and posted it up on facebook, those same people would be on gushing their support, proclaiming them true patriots, and thanking them for their support.

The object of their affections wouldn't have 'served' in the army/marines either, of course.

But it wouldn't matter, in that case.

Toby Keith would have more sense..

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Don't make me laugh.

Large parts of the US still has apartheid policies in place into the 1960s.

As soon as WWII was over, the US ensured the fascists were rebranded and back in power in Italy in an attempt to crush the left, and Fascist Spain was included in the Marshall Plan.

The only reason the US joined WWII was because it was attacked by Japan.

Myths about "fighting fascism" sound good though.

Who said anything about the Americans??

My point was just one of general disgust at the way the chap i was replying to could think less of men and women who have served and laid down their lives for their countries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

One thing I will say about the Americans is that it's all bullshit.

They practually invented the suing culture, mad gun laws and New York is known for being one of the biggest "fuck you" places in the world. Yet they place their hand on their heart, officially come off as "one" when it comes to good ol' a'merica!

What a load of crap :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

MadsL wrote: »
    Toby Keith would have more sense..

Would have more sense in what way?

Would it hurt his record sales?

I think it would probably help them.

I only picked Toby Keith as he's the first 'patriotic American country-artist' that came to mind; anyone similar will do.

You genuinely think the reaction from those people who attacked 50 cent would be the same, in that instance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

When American troops returned from Vietnam they were treated with contempt for the most part by the citizenry; for some it was because they lost, for others because they went in the first place. Since then the US government PR arm has been going into overdrive to make sure that never happens again, anything from tightly controlling the access of journalists to warzones to releasing anti-war movies that actually promoted sympathy for the troops.

Since then, respecting people for their 'service' has become an institution in its own right. Personally, I have no respect for their respect. It's a product.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    When American troops returned from Vietnam they were treated with contempt for the most part by the citizenry; for some it was because they lost, for others because they went in the first place. Since then the US government PR arm has been going into overdrive to make sure that never happens again, anything from tightly controlling the access of journalists to warzones to releasing anti-war movies that actually promoted sympathy for the troops.

Since then, respecting people for their 'service' has become an institution in its own right. Personally, I have no respect for their respect. It's a product.

It kind of means in a way, that despite your objection to a conflict, people will still support it because they support the troops for participating. Which is kind of crazy.

This reminds me of a good Bill Hicks sketch -

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

El Guapo! wrote: »
    ... And they deserve to be proud to protect their families, which is why they enlisted in the first place.
    How does shooting civilians (or "terrorists" for that matter) in their home country, protect American lives in America?

Surely they have learned that every innocent civilian accidentally shot or blown up acts as a recruitment poster for the "terrorists"?

Surely they read their history-books before they ventured into Afghanistan (for example) to murder without trial one of their own US-trained and US-funded "terrorists"? "Wars" in Afghanistan are un-winnable as has been proven to many invaders over the centuries.

The Americans haven't won a war since 1945 - not the war on drugs, Vietnam, poverty, illegal immigration, world hunger, obesity at home - nothing; they are losers and have been for generations. What they intend winning in Afghanistan isn't clear to anyone (maybe another reconstruction project if the shooting ever stops) but they will not get the outcome they want (other than making billions for the arms manufacturers back home).

To suggest that the military should go about their allotted tasks in an unthinking, robot-like manner just following orders is to do them a great dis-service; many of them are there simply to avoid serious jail-time at home.

One thing I will say about the Americans is that it's all bullshit.

They practually invented the suing culture, mad gun laws and New York is known for being one of the biggest "fuck you" places in the world. Yet they place their hand on their heart, officially come off as "one" when it comes to good ol' a'merica!

What a load of crap :pac:

Because New York is exactly the same as the rest of the US, right?

As for being a fuck you place, firstly New York has changed a good bit since 9/11, New Yorkers actually talk to each other now; secondly I'd rather a New Yorker as a neighbour than some gombeen who wouldn't cross the street to piss on you if you were in fire. Americans, generally speaking, are amongst the most neighbourly people in the world. Frankly far more so than the Irish in my experience.

I'd also remind you that "compo" culture is alive and well in Ireland.

As for gun laws, feel free to come and debate that on the other (six) thread(s) - you might learn something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

MadsL wrote: »
    Because New York is exactly the same as the rest of the US, right?

As for being a fuck you place, firstly New York has changed a good bit since 9/11, New Yorkers actually talk to each other now; secondly I'd rather a New Yorker as a neighbour than some gombeen who wouldn't cross the street to piss on you if you were in fire. Americans, generally speaking, are amongst the most neighbourly people in the world. Frankly far more so than the Irish in my experience.

I'd also remind you that "compo" culture is alive and well in Ireland.

As for gun laws, feel free to come and debate that on the other (six) thread(s) - you might learn something.

Or perhaps you should understand what I was saying ;)

Life is dog eat dog. It's sad. But it's the way it is. So on one hand you have this attitude of "fuck you, it's all about me, i'll step over you" (which is human behaviour lets be honest. Aint just the yanks)

But then on the other hand you have people coming together, placing their hand on their heart, saying america is the best place to live, it's about unity, fighting together as one ... etc ....

So where does the actual truth lie :) So instead of telling me to go off and learn things. perhaps you should open your eyes and see things for what they really are ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

If it's repeated widely enough and often enough, most people, will believe anything.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

50 cent was wearing a Marines' uniform, the picture was up on Facebook, and this guy who was in the Marines wrote onto his page, giving out. He was fairly livid, really giving it loads, "how dare you wear that uniform, I know you never served in my corps" etc. The post had lots of likes and comments from people who seemed to have family in the military backing the guy up or were in the military or had been.
    Did you ever see the film The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance ?

James Stewart is portrayed as someone who isn't a great warrior and John Wayne as someone who is.

In reality Stewart started as a private and ended up as a Brigadier General in the USAF, got some medals in WWII, was even on a B52 during Vietnam.

John Wayne (or to give him his full military title Marion Morrison) didn't serve, but stared in a lot of rebel rousing films and had right wing opinions.

When people listen to the hawks who haven't been in harms way then there is a problem.

The neo-cons created Afghanistan and Bin Laden when they flooded money and weapons there during the Russian occupation. They sowed the wind and others reaped the whirlwind. They dealt with the Iranians to fund weapons for Central America. You could argue that they propped up the regime and created the movements responsible for changing that part of the world from a secular muslim society like Turkey to places where women have less rights than they did 50 years ago in Afghanistan and Iraq.

It's gotten to the state where they might as well bring back the old system where if you were conscripted you could get someone to take your place. This was fair,especially if you were rich enough to hire someone to do it and at least it's out in the open.

If you read the book Flyboys it mentions George Bush in passing. He was lucky not to have been eaten by the Japanese during WWII. Junior on the other hand....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

mathepac wrote: »
    The Americans haven't won a war since 1945 - not the war on drugs, Vietnam, poverty, illegal immigration, world hunger, obesity at home - nothing; they are losers and have been for generations.

Well how can they lose if they never entered?

They have not declared war on anyone since WWII.

As for your war on obesity you must think the Irish nation are losers too as we're on the way to losing that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Well how can they lose if they never entered?

They have not declared war on anyone since WWII.

As for your war on obesity you must think the Irish nation are losers too as we're on the way to losing that
    They've engaged (i.e., entered) in wars without having declared war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Guess I won't be going to a fancy dress party in the states dressed as a marine, I'd probably be lynched. Who cares what he dresses up as!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I lived in an area of the U.S. that had a high percentage of veterans and current millitary personnel, black flags were hung outside the houses where there had been a fatality,and people were respectful to the families of the soldiers,whether they agreed with the casus belli or not,I often had a beer with marines/army lads, and to be honest,if the sh!t ever hit the fan,I would much prefer one of those lads to be in my corner that some whiney nasal peacenik,the like that can be found on this thread.

U.S.A.-warrior culture
    Boards.ie-keyboard warrior culture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

trained killers voluntarily enlisting in war. Their country isn't under any threat and they are going to fight in a war that can never be won on the other side of the planet where innocent people are killed in the warzone they created.

crockholm wrote: »
    I lived in an area of the U.S. that had a high percentage of veterans and current millitary personnel, black flags were hung outside the houses where there had been a fatality,and people were respectful to the families of the soldiers,whether they agreed with the casus belli or not,I often had a beer with marines/army lads, and to be honest,if the sh!t ever hit the fan,I would much prefer one of those lads to be in my corner that some whiney nasal peacenik,the like that can be found on this thread.

U.S.A.-warrior culture
    Boards.ie-keyboard warrior culture

nothing wrong with being respectful but only a fool would blindly support "the troops" which is basically what the government calls supporting illegal war and human rights abuses. They say support the troops and all the "patriots agree"

ps I'm not a whiny peacenik who is hopeless in a scrap I'm just anti-imperialist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

nothing wrong with being respectful but only a fool would blindly support "the troops" which is basically what the government calls supporting illegal war and human rights abuses. They say support the troops and all the "patriots agree"

ps I'm not a whiny peacenik who is hopeless in a scrap I'm just anti-imperialist
    I don't doubt your pugilistic prowess,we're not goin to duke it out on the cobbles over this;)
    When Irishmen and women of the armed services are deployed here or overseas,I will wish them well and to come back home safely.

The American public,by and large want the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Leftist wrote: »
    trained killers voluntarily enlisting in war

You mean people who joined the military to serve their country. Also to bring up them as being nothing more then trainied killers is ignorant. Everyone knows the duty they have when they join an army. Doesn't matter what country they're from, whether it be the US or even Ireland, all soldiers are sworn to serve.

Do you look down on the soldiers who fought in WWII as well?
    Their country isn't under any threat and they are going to fight in a war that can never be won on the other side of the planet where innocent people are killed in the warzone they created.

Their country was attacked at 9/11, which means they were under threat and they went to Afghanistan over it. Personally if I was an American who watched a lot of my countrymen die at 9/11, I'd want the same thing. As for the killing of innocent people, well unfortunetely casualties happen in war. Do you expect a war to go without any consequences?

Riddle101 wrote: »
    You mean people who joined the military to serve their country. Also to bring up them as being nothing more then trainied killers is ignorant. Everyone knows the duty they have when they join an army. Doesn't matter what country they're from, whether it be the US or even Ireland, all soldiers are sworn to serve.

yes because the iraq and afghanistan wars were the same as ww2 :D
    Their country was attacked at 9/11, which means they were under threat and they went to Afghanistan over it. Personally if I was an American who watched a lot of my countrymen die at 9/11, I'd want the same thing. As for the killing of innocent people, well unfortunetely casualties happen in war. Do you expect a war to go without any consequences?

Maybe you could expect them not to invade countries they don't need to invade?

plenty of people volunteered to join the army after the invasion of iraq, and they still do. Anyone suggesting they are 'protecting america' by fighting in afghanistan in 2013 or even at least the last 6 years is just deluded.

I pity anyone who gets sent to war I can't imagine a worse hell
    Their country was attacked at 9/11, [/QUOTE]

so they have permission to run roughshod through two nations?

If invading a country in response to international terrorist actions who arn't linked to any government is ok then why didn't we invade Britain or they invade us during the troubles?

anyone who thinks the war has any justification should watch the videos Bradley manning leaked

It is all about the oil boys and girls and to be honest i feel it is better to have the oil in the hands of the Americans than anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Bradley manning is just a pen pushing coward. Shoot him at dawn....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

The US is huge and always has been on propaganda, brainwashing. Support the troops etc etc it's cringworthy at times but it's engrained in th US as a culture, be a war hero , family proud of you. They've even intergrated into computer games you just can't get away from it, TV , Radio , Celebrity's showing their support. Unfortuneatly a lot of these wars they are fighting are for the wrong reasons and on the grand scheme of thing's they are just pawns.

Go and die for your country , kill people because there evil. No thanks I've only one life I'm afraid and I want to live it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

Signing up an army is turn supporting the current and future governments forgein policy and descisions.
    I understand its a job, but its not the only option, id love to join an army but dont trust the governments running them so will not be joining.
    Its important not to join a organisation that has questionable motives, otherwise you'll become "part of the problem".
    So it doesnt make you an automatic hero to join in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

You know not everyone in the military is just there to kill people right? what about doctors, people looking to get further education? there's a wealth of military careers that don't revolve around being a frontline soldier.

part of the reason they treat the soldiers with such distinction is due to their guilt over how they treated the vietnam vets.

It's also from the huge surge of propoganda around the time of 2003 and the government's active lionisation of the troops in order
    to push up recruitment drives.

It's basically marketing and who else is easier to sell to than americans.