Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Donohues widow tells politicans incl shatter to stay away from their house

• 03-02-2013 5:10pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭

THE family of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe informed garda management that they did not want any politicians, including the Minister for Justice, at the home of the murdered officer.

THE family of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe informed garda management that they did not want any politicians, including the Minister for Justice, at the home of the murdered officer, the Sunday Independent has learned.
    The widow of the slain garda, Caroline Donohoe, who is herself a garda in Dundalk, is understood to have asked senior gardai to inform Mr Shatter that he would not be welcome.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/shatter-told-to-stay-away-by-widow-of-slain-garda-3375761.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Kudos to the Gardi about making their feelings clear - and respect to the family of the deceased for stating their feelings too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I don't mean to be disrespectful here but what has the shooting got to do with the closure of garda stations?

The family have the right to have who ever they want at their house but I don't see the connection, maybe its just Sunday Indo bul****?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Their reasons seem a bit... unfocussed or something?

I don't mean to be disrespectful here but what has the shooting got to do with the closure of garda stations?

The family have the right to have who ever they want at their house but I don't see the connection, maybe its just Sunday Indo bul****?

There is a consensus that the closing of stations is leading to further resources of Gardi being lessened, response times to crimes increased (even attending any future shootings and/or bank robberies), that the public and Gardi are thus more open to crime in effected areas, etc...

All debatable of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I can understand the Gardai don't like the man and I can understand why therefore the widow doesn't want him there but making a news story out of it is a bit unseemly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Biggins wrote: »
    There is a consensus that the closing of stations is leading to further resources of Gardi being lessened, response times to crimes increased (even attending any future shootings and/or bank robberies), that the public and Gardi are thus more open to crime in effected areas, etc...

All debatable of course.

The shooter seemed pretty trigger happy, I'm not sure how any of this is relevant in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

i think the solution is obviously "smart policing". why the minister is only upgrading us to "smart policing" now, after years of using "dumb policing" is a disgrace. of course all the "stakeholders" should be consulted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

Did you read the article or just the OP?

Meanwhile, it has also been learned that the Louth division of the Garda Representative Association is to propose a motion at the GRA's central executive committee tomorrow that an invitation to the annual conference should "not be extended to the Minister for Justice".

Though there have been several instances of protests during ministerial appearances at GRA conferences, this is understood to be the first time a proposal has been made that a Justice Minister should not be invited.
    In a further indication of the extent of garda anger, former garda assistant commissioner Martin Donnellan has said that Mr Shatter should "set aside the buzzwords and the weasel words" and give Gardai the resources to do their jobs.

In a hard-hitting article on page nine of the Sunday Independent today, Mr Donnellan, who was forced to retire as an assistant commissioner in 2008 on age grounds, said the garda management's 'smart policing' initiative, supported by Mr Shatter, was "at the root of the breakdown in law and order". He also said that he was "sickened by the sight" of Sinn Fein President Gerry Adams at the Donohoe funeral.

humbert wrote: »
    I can understand the Gardai don't like the man and I can understand why therefore the widow doesn't want him there but making a news story out of it is a bit unseemly.

Welcome to the Sunday Indo'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Please don't quote such large sections of articles. Quote a paragraph or two at most and link to the full article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

In a hard-hitting article on page nine of the Sunday Independent today, Mr Donnellan, who was forced to retire as an assistant commissioner in 2008 on age grounds, said the garda management's 'smart policing' initiative, supported by Mr Shatter, was "at the root of the breakdown in law and order". He also said that he was "sickened by the sight" of Sinn Fein President Gerry Adams at the Donohoe funeral.

Adams really has some neck, but of course he was never in the IRA....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

He also said that he was "sickened by the sight" of Gerry Adams at the Donohoe funeral.

I'm sickened by the sight of him and his henchmen and your woman in our Parliament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Shatter and the other politicians showing up to the funeral to pay their respects is to be expected.

calling to a grieving widow's house after would be more descretion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Sindo stirring up shit as per fcuking usual.
    Informed sources told this newspaper that Det Gda Donohoe's family live in an isolated community in Co Cavan and that Mrs Donohoe's parents live in countryside near Kilkee, Co Clare.

What has that got to do with anything... why mention where the family live?

Informed sources me hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

It's not hard to understand. You cut resources and numbers you let criminality thrive. Criminals get greedy and brave. They get away with more and more. Suddenly what was once impossible (i.e. robbing a cash delivery guarded by armed Gardaí) is now not so impossible. What was once unheard of (i.e. executing a Garda) is now not so hard to contemplate. This isn't something that has happened overnight with the closure of Garda stations. This is something that has developed over a good few years. Lower Garda numbers, reduced overtime, less vehicles, wider policing areas. It all adds up to criminal paradise. You ignore the little stuff and the big stuff gets out of hand.

It's easy to say "smarter policing" is the way to go. How do you explain that to an 80 year old woman who has been attacked in her home and had to wait an hour for a Garda car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

MagicSean wrote: »
    "smarter policing" ?

I wish the Minister or someone in the know would explain what this actually means. It's become one of these generic buzzwords like "going forward" or "stakeholder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I don't care whether the chip wrapper Independent ran the story or not, Shatter will go down in history as the worst Minister for Justice ever - and that takes some doing. The useless ****er needs to come out of his enclave and experience the real world. I'm back in Ireland since late 2001 and have have had at least half a dozen incidents since then where I've had to call in the Gardai. Incidentally, I live in a town in the south east where the only time that we see a garda on the streets is during the farcical cash escorts or on St.Patrick's Day. Law and order my hole - my big toe knows more about it than Shatter and his stooge Garda commissioner. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭lotusm

deaths by a thosands cuts is what shatter doing to civil order in this country... Has not a clue about the real world... would not survive in e.g. Ballymun/Dingle i,e in a social deprived areas which have rates of Crime or isolated areas of the country no offence to either place .. Without doubt the worst Justice minister the state ever had... a Cabinet shufle cant happen to soon...:mad:

...Informed sources me hole

Its the Sindo - they are full of it - and I'm not talking in amounts of 'sources'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

I don't care whether the chip wrapper Independent ran the story or not, Shatter will go down in history as the worst Minister for Justice ever - and that takes some doing. The useless ****er needs to come out of his enclave and experience the real world. I'm back in Ireland since late 2001 and have have had at least half a dozen incidents since then where I've had to call in the Gardai. Incidentally, I live in a town in the south east where the only time that we see a garda on the streets is during the farcical cash escorts or on St.Patrick's Day. Law and order my hole - my big toe knows more about it than Shatter and his stooge Garda commissioner. :mad:

So things were no better than now during the tiger, how is that Shatters fault

It's not hard to understand. You cut resources and numbers you let criminality thrive. Criminals get greedy and brave. They get away with more and more. Suddenly what was once impossible (i.e. robbing a cash delivery guarded by armed Gardaí) is now not so impossible. What was once unheard of (i.e. executing a Garda) is now not so hard to contemplate. This isn't something that has happened overnight with the closure of Garda stations. This is something that has developed over a good few years. Lower Garda numbers, reduced overtime, less vehicles, wider policing areas. It all adds up to criminal paradise. You ignore the little stuff and the big stuff gets out of hand.

Any chance you could mention a specific cut that's relevant to this case? Would there usually be a helicopter accompanying such transfers or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

'In our parliament'? Sinn Fein td's are elected representatives of their constituence and have as much right as any one else to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

'In our parliament'? Sinn Fein td's are elected representatives of their constituence and have as much right as any one else to be there.

FF FG And Labour TDs have never collect cop killers since I was born, so unless there with family permission they should stay away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

We've always had a large amount of police in relation to population. It's a bit more of a deeper problem, if there is a problem, than the amount of police. It can all be traced back to upbringing, education, in-equality and having fairly nebulous law and order.

I wonder, was this happening during the Celtic Tiger, and nobody was reporting it?

Also, was the attack on the Detective an ambush?

Any chance you could mention a specific cut that's relevant to this case? Would there usually be a helicopter accompanying such transfers or something?

Did you not understand my post? Take you pick of the cuts. They've all contributed in some way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

I meant in the dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

Paulzx wrote: »
    I wish the Minister or someone in the know would explain what this actually means. It's become one of these generic buzzwords like "going forward" or "stakeholder

'smart power' is another one i keep hearing lately

politicians love them

So things were no better than now during the tiger, how is that Shatters fault

He is the ****ing Minister now and more a more arrogant, complacent individual - apart from Kenny. Rabbitte, Burton etc. - it would be hard to find. We need a garda service that is proactive rather than reactive. There's little satisfaction for the victim of crime knowing that a garda car - assuming there is one - is speeding to the scene of the crime rather than a garda presence preventing the crime. I take it that you have no first-hand experience of crime?

Did you not understand my post? Take you pick of the cuts. They've all contributed in some way.

That'll be a "no" then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭G Power

humbert wrote: »

so we should just keep quiet and just get on with it is it?? too much of that $hite already went on in this country, it's time people spoke their minds and the public were made aware of it too

RESPECT to the family, friends and garda for this stance

This shooting is nothing to do with cuts and I find it a bit distasteful that a mans death is being used for a political point.

That'll be a "no" then.

I'll take it you didn't understand my post then. Like i said, take your pick of the cuts. The long term effects of them have indeed resulted in the shooting.
    This shooting is nothing to do with cuts and I find it a bit distasteful that a mans death is being used for a political point.

The shooting is the inevitable result of allowing criminal gangs to thrive. And that has everything to do with cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,796 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I'm not going to defend shatter for the cutbacks, and who Mrs Donohue invites to her home is her own business.
    However IMO the guards and their reps need a kick in the hole. It's in very bad taste to be using the shooting of detective O Donoghue as an instrument of protest against the cutbacks is in bad taste. This was the tone of a lot of their media work all week and now the feeding of a story like this is disrespectful to the man that was killed. Ally this with the vindictive leaking of the Claire Daly story last week and you have a police force too close to the media imo. The guards are asking small time criminals to come forward with info on the shooting.....if u do there is a good chance you'll get your photo in the paper I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

It's easy to say "smarter policing" is the way to go. How do you explain that to an 80 year old woman who has been attacked in her home and had to wait an hour for a Garda car?

With regard to the first part of your post Sean, how do you explain the fall in most catagories of crime in recent years? CSO stats (compiled using information provided by AGS and others) show most catagories of serious crime have recorded a drop)
    With regard to the second part of your post nobody should have to wait an hour for a Garda in those circumstances.
    I am not trying to minimize the effect of cuts but it does seem somewhat disingenous to link those cuts directly to this cowardly murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Shatter lives in his own world

His house was burgled last March while he was out of the country.
    Forensics guys straight down, a garda placed outside, detectives assigned and people were arrested and brought to two different garda stations.

I remember it was March as I got burgled one week later and couldn't get Ballyfermot garda station to return my followup phone calls!
    I'm unsure if the gardaí even recorded my burglary, I never got a letter with a PULSE reference.
    Yeah, yeah, your garda is back on duty next Monday and I've added a message for him to call you
    ............still waiting

I appreciate Minister of Justice is high profile and it has to be checked out as there may be important documents.

But he hasn't a clue what others deal with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

nothing .. its not connected , theres nothing connected to anything .
    the world is a simple flat two dimensional sheet of paper .......course its f**ing connected

please diall 999 in case of emergency , a strategic core integrated post-colonial automated synergistic 4G streamlined rapid centralised responder will be in touch please hold the line ........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

simple logic : closed cop shop = local ner do wells run riot , think they can get away with anything , and never get in trouble .

if - as younger tearaways they got pulled up by local policing they may have given up or changed tune .

instead they know they can do what the hell they want with no consequenses

simples .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

the world is a simple flat two dimensional sheet of paper .......course its f**ing connected

please diall 999 in case of emergency , a strategic core integrated post-colonial automated synergistic 4G streamlined rapid centralised responder will be in touch please hold the line ........
    What possible connection could there be between the murder and the closure of Garda stations? Can you be specific?

DaDumTish wrote: »
    simple logic : closed cop shop = local ner do wells run riot , think they can get away with anything , and never get in trouble .

if - as younger tearaways they got pulled up by local policing they may have given up or changed tune .

instead they know they can do what the hell they want with no consequenses

simples .

oh right, so a garda station was closed in dundalk that had some bearing on this?

oh I completely understand now, thanks for your clear explanation of the connection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

DaDumTish wrote: »
    simple logic : closed cop shop = local ner do wells run riot , think they can get away with anything , and never get in trouble
    Which local cop shop was closed that led to THIS shooting?

mikemac1 wrote: »

Forensics guys straight down, a garda placed outside, detectives assigned and people were arrested and brought to two different garda stations.

I remember it was March as I got burgled one week later and couldn't get Ballyfermot garda station to return my followup phone calls!
    I'm unsure if the gardaí even recorded my burglary, I never got a letter with a PULSE reference.
    Yeah, yeah, your garda is back on duty next Monday and I've added a message for him to call you

I appreciate Minister of Justice is high profile and it has to be checked out as there may be important documents.

The fact is that if Shatter was doing his job properly he should have round the clock security on his home as he would under threat from organised crime.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/second-antimafia-judge-killed-by-bomb-1534316.html

I'm not for one minute suggesting that anyone should threaten Shatter but rather that if he was doing an effective job that he would be under constant threat/protection.

I'll take it you didn't understand my post then. Like i said, take your pick of the cuts. The long term effects of them have indeed resulted in the shooting.

The shooting is the inevitable result of allowing criminal gangs to thrive. And that has everything to do with cuts.

Sorry, you're right, nothing bad happened before 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

dvpower wrote: »
    Which local cop shop was closed that led to THIS shooting?

I am told Omeath and Hackballscross were closed, can't confirm as yet. If they were then that's two border stations and a clear run back over for any criminal from the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Banning people from funerals is pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

mikemac1 wrote: »

My teenage son was confronted by burglars in his room and 5 weeks later still nothing done about it, No statements taken even, Forensics did turn up the next day. To be honest they were sloppy burglars.. They left a lot of evidence behind. But obviously not enough evidence for the Gardaí. Heaps of houses and a few pubs in the general area have been hit and the same car has been spotted at the scene of several of them, What more do they want ?

I don't blame the minister for this, The Gardaí were even at the house within a half hour of being called but its no exaggeration to say that the two of them didn't give a damn. They didn't even take a note of the description of the burglars. :mad:

They weren't banned from the funeral - I would have banned them if it was my family - they were asked not to call to the house.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Biggins wrote: »

All debatable of course.
    I honestly think that there is a huge knee jerk reaction to the whole closure of rural stations and i actually agree with it. I live in a rural area with two rural stations being about the same distance from us. I have never had cause to use them and on the handful of occasions that we have had to call the Gardai the rural ones are almost never manned and so the chances of having a call answered are pretty slim... and so we end up calling the one in the nearest large town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

i agree with the widow, if shatter and company would visit without the media well and good, this was not going to happen, when any one/ thing gets an inch, they then try to take another inch, the gang who are involved in the killing did not arrive out of nowhere, how have they been allowed to grow and prosper, also get so strong as to shoot a guard thinking that they can get away with it, then we have shatter asking minor criminals for info, comical, local cops get local info, cops stationed miles away will get none, down in co.limerick the bruff district covers most of rural limerick, last year they had three cars, how can they manage, the amount of burgelerys alone is horrific, we then had the BMW motor company attempting to supply state of the art police cars at little cost to the state, what happens, they buy standard FORD mondeos, then put garda lights and stripes on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

He wasn't banned from the funeral, he was there.
    He was banned from the house. Rightly so in my opinion.