Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do smelly bastards know they stink?

• 01-02-2013 5:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭

A WE fellow moved in couple weeks ago. He works long hours but when he's back home you know straight away. He showered once since he moved in. The stench is overpowering and makes me want to vomit. What a disgusting cúnt. I am going to stab the fúcker soon. Does he not realize how bad he smells? Has he gotten used to the smell or what? ffs...:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

What's a "WE fellow"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Yeah, they're used to it, they don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭talla10

Yes thats just how i roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,321 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

A WE fellow moved in couple weeks ago. He works long hours but when he's back home you know straight away. He showered once since he moved in. The stench is overpowering and makes me want to vomit. What a disgusting cúnt. I am going to stab the fúcker soon. Does he not realize how bad he smells? Has he gotten used to the smell or what? ffs...:mad:
    I bet you won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

J. Marston wrote: »
    I bet you won't.
    He could blast him with Lynx though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

smash wrote: »

Atari Lynx?

See what I done there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

You should probably tell him there's a problem.

or

Beat him with bars of soap in a sock. /irony!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

What's a WE fellow?????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

WE =well endowed , Op is a pervert, he loves the smell really....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

If you hate him enough to stab him why not just tell him that he smells and should shower more often? It might save you a spell in prison with a cell mate that likes to love you long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

What's a "WE fellow"?
    phasers wrote: »
    What's a WE fellow?????????????

a small scottish man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The stench is overpowering and makes me want to vomit. What a disgusting cúnt. I am going to stab the fúcker soon.

The smell of your cell mate over your shoulder as he butt fucks you will be like a breath of fresh air.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭muff03

There was a fella in my class in secondary school who was a farmer and smelled like cow poo all the time. Didn't matter if it was a sunday after mass, still smelled like poo. You could tell he was around before ya even saw him, cause he smelled of poo so much. His sister smelled of poo too. I don't think any of them knew they smelled like poo, but we all knew. "You smell like poo", we used to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Maybe try and be sensitive about it. When you're all in the room get a friend to ask if you can smell something, then you say"yes, its that smelly 'we fellow' over there".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Give him a facecloth and a bar of soap for his birthday ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Atari Lynx?

See what I done there?

Lynx Jaguar.

CWIDT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

I was in Penneys in Tralee over the Christmas. There was a pissy old hag with a few inbred looking relations with no sense of smell who was stinking up the whole floor so I went to take the lift to make an exit. Guess who followed me into the lift. I nearly choked. I put myself between the buggy and the smellies to spare my daughter. I could almost taste the piss as I was breathing through my mouth. Stupid cnuts couldn't figure out how to work the lift to make matters worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

I don't believe they do smell themselves. You know when there's a strange smell in the house -from something in the press gone off or somethiing, you can only get it for a few minutes after getting home?

It's not funny I imagine when you're living with a stink bomb round the clock. Op, my sympathies:(. I too have an intolerance for the smelly.

My friend's son is in college and was in a bad way with a smelly roomate in his digs. He had to get moved to a place miles away from his college and friends, all because of a smelly bstard 'cos he was paying for digs, he could barely stand to be in and bunking up with a neighbour almost all the time.

There are two particularly smelly individuals that work in a Dunnes Stores near me. One of them stinks out the place from 3 isles down from where he stacks. The other one I only see (or smell:mad:) the odd time. I was trying to get past him to get at the dog food this one time and was holding my scarf over my mouth. A manager came up and asked me if I was ok. The smelly lad stood up and stared at me. It was fcukin' obvious what was wrong with me..I 'd been waving my hand about in front of my face to waft away the stence ffs!! However, I couldn't bring myself to point at your man and tell the manager the real reason for my distress:(.

I've experienced stinky workmates in their droves over the years (slight exaggeration:o) and they've all affected their colleagues in a really negative way. It's not nice, not nice at all. Don't stab him op:P, imagine the mess, clearing him up, better just to say 'Listen here, old pal, old chum....you really need to wash more, I can't breathe with your body odour'. What's the worst thing that can happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Wait 'til he goes out and then stage a dirty protest in his room. I mean really go to town. It's the only solution. I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

It's likely he doesn't realise so no point giving out to us about it - tell him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Lynx Jaguar.

CWIDT?

Congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭radia

He needs to be told - for his own good as much as yours.

If you don't want to break the bad news directly, then what about one of those anonymous email services - like this one:
    http://www.nooffenseoranything.com/bodyodor.html

Or get HR to do the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

I was working in a supermarket before and I was up working near the till at the front of the shop, and this horrible little greasy (literally dirt on his face) man came up to me saying he was worried as he could smell gas on his way past the tills.

I have no idea how he smelt gas over himself, absolutely disgusting, I was actually backing away from him and he kept walking closer to me! How do these people not know they stink!? Particularly if they are visibly filthy aswel!?

[EDIT] : There was no gas leak or even a smell of gas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Best username ever

There was a chap I worked with that was called "Bisto pits" he used to smell like "arse barnacles" and he wore a white tshirt which had brown armpits from all the gravy seeping out of him.

He was a miser too, he told us he would never waste water of any kind, he would use the bog 5 times for a píss before flushing it, and twice after backing out a "king Edward"

Dirty filthy animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

dorkacle wrote: »
    I was working in a supermarket before and I was up working near the till at the front of the shop, and this horrible little greasy (literally dirt on his face) man came up to me saying he was worried as he could smell gas on his way past the tills.

I have no idea how he smelt gas over himself, absolutely disgusting, I was actually backing away from him and he kept walking closer to me! How do these people not know they stink!? Particularly if they are visibly filthy aswel!?

If you smell something everyday your mind filters it out. For example, when English and orientals first met, the orientals though the English smelt like sour milk, as they would rarely have eaten dairy products

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

He's trying to get rid of a foul smell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    If you smell something everyday your mind filters it out. For example, when English and orientals first met, the orientals though the English smelt like sour milk, as they would rarely have eaten dairy products

The English may have gotten a whiff of terrier off the Orientals as they don't include dog as part of their diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

Rohypnol him and give him a bath?

On a serious note, I have a friend who has started to smell. It makes hello & goodbye hugs awkward. I think she has been depressed and lost interest in herself, but it's a very difficult thing to say to someone, 'Hey, you smell, why don't you have a bath and change into clean clothes."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

wait for him outside the toilet and ask him if he wiped his bum properly, keep doing this until he does, also demand he has a shower at least 3 times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

zef wrote: »
    Rohypnol him and give him a bath?

On a serious note, I have a friend who has started to smell. It makes hello & goodbye hugs awkward. I think she has been depressed and lost interest in herself, but it's a very difficult thing to say to someone, 'Hey, you smell, why don't you have a bath and change into clean clothes."

God yeah, very hard, especially a depressed person. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

There is an easy way to stop a person smelling permanently. Cut off their nose!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

I was on a course with the army once, this fella arrives late, and he got the last bunk in the place, the one beside ME!. I was stuck beside the cnut for 2 weeks. He was the most disgusting human being I have ever come across. The skin was flaking off his scalp, there was a line of yellow across his teeth where the plaque built up between his gum and the point where he bites into his food, and his feet were raw with atheletes foot. It looked like he had leopracy, there were huge yellow flakes of his feet-skin all over the floor. And the baxtard used to put his runners right up beside my pillow at night. I fcuked them across the room in frustration one night.

But you cant just go around accusing people of being smelly when you have 30 lads living together in 1 room. One NCO walked in, and in his own words, he "nearly went blind" with the smell. Because of this vile baxtard, we were made go on shower parade. We were all marched to the shower block, got bollock naked, and showered by numbers. That means there was a sergeant standing there (fully clothed), giving us orders on how to shower, roaring stuff at us like "odd numbers, step into the shower, even numbers soap up - marsheal" etc.

A few days later, we had a little talk with this fella. It turns out he only brought 1 pair of socks with him, and he thought it was perfectly ok to just turn them inside-out every second day. People actually gave him some of their unused socks and jocks for keeps, just to keep this fcuktard hygenic. Turned out aswell that he was 26, and had a kid! I dont know who would let him ride her, but she must have been one desperate woman! This fella must have had psychiatric issues, he was obviously living in Disneyland.

If anyone knows the course I'm talking about, PM me. I know there's a few posters who were on it lurking around here somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

zef wrote: »

How about approaching her and asking her is everything okay as you've noticed her personal hygiene has declined? She may be looking for help.

OP, buy a deodorant set in Boots and hand it to him saying "Got this for christmas but its not my taste, you have use it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

There was a chap I worked with that was called "Bisto pits" he used to smell like "arse barnacles" and he wore a white tshirt which had brown armpits from all the gravy seeping out of him.

He was a miser too, he told us he would never waste water of any kind, he would use the bog 5 times for a píss before flushing it, and twice after backing out a "king Edward"

Dirty filthy animal.

Filth wizard! Imagine the state of his jax, the dirty fvcker.

"Bisto pits" is a great name, I'm going to use that for all the smelly fvckers I encounter. :D

I don't think they know they stink. These are the people who think its perfectly acceptable to take last week's shirt and wear it to work for another 5 days, even though it's visibly encrusted with dirt. And then they put a jacket and tie over it and go around thinking they're posh!!!! I don't know whether to laugh, cry or just blast them with Dettol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

My cousin is a farmer from Longford and his best mate is sound but my God him and his family were filthy beashts. I spent some summers down with my cousin and would sometimes go for dinner in his friends which I dreaded because they only had one toilet. The problem was that this toilet had been broken for literally 15 years. It couldn't and wouldn't flus, so whenever you went for a piss, the water/piss would be at the brim and there would usually be shít floating around as well. It was absolutely disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

No more than annoying bastards knowing their annoying I wud tink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

@OP, I'd just drop it on him. I'd tell him calmly and firmly that however much he showers it's not enough and it's simply inconsiderate. Leave him to make what he wants of it. He shouldn't be allowed pollute your air-space like that...

I did have the misfortune of having to sit to the only available seat in a Gloria Jeans lately with a very stinky lady. It's been a while and I forget how revolting it is but particularly when it's a member of the fairer sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

How many of you are living together? if there's more than just you and him and you can't bring yourself to tell him face to face, put an anonymous note under his door. Make it a serious note so that he takes it seriously, for example:

Dear Bob,
    It has come to my attention that your personal hygiene is not quite up to scratch. Unfortunately, it is bothering me a great deal and ruining my enjoyment of this home. Would you please shower, use deodorant and wash your clothes every day from now on? It would be very much appreciated, thank you.

If you're worried he might recognise your writing and know who sent him the note, cut letters out of the newspaper and use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

muff03 wrote: »
    There was a fella in my class in secondary school who was a farmer and smelled like cow poo all the time. Didn't matter if it was a sunday after mass, still smelled like poo. You could tell he was around before ya even saw him, cause he smelled of poo so much. His sister smelled of poo too. I don't think any of them knew they smelled like poo, but we all knew. "You smell like poo", we used to say.

Do you smell like muff?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Do smelly bastards know they stink? nope i don't think so unfortunately

i worked a few years back in an open office, and "my sweet lord" there was one chap who stank to high heaven with BO, it was onion soup everyday:(

summertime as you can well imagine was unbearable he could be standing at the far end of the office and you'd smell him, i seriously considered wearing a gas mask to work

but the sad thing is nobody had the nerve to tell him..i mean the poor chap must have been wondering why we gave him a wide berth all the time

but thankfully xmas was our saving grace and in particular kris kingle ..i was assigned to get his gift, so it was straight down to boots and i bought multipacks of lynxs galore :) think the penny dropped for him after that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

muff03 wrote: »
    I used to be a cattle farmer. I came in one night, worked all day then last thing I was after calving a cow(really hard birth) and I stunk(despite having a shower that morning). Hard to avoid when you are rolling around in cow poo.

The Brother in law was down with the sister, visiting, and when I came in, he said "jasus, Pottler, you stink of shyte, would you ever wash yourself". Being very, very tired and in no humour for townie ponces with no idea or manners, I grasped him by the collar, and threw him bodily out the front door with the polite inference that should he return, I would cheerfully decorate his lap with his dental implements.

O.P, be careful of people who smell, they might not be completely happy with the fact they smell a.t.m and may not need you to point out the obvious. it's a bit like telling your fat sister in law she needs to lose weight. Might not go down the best, and might not come across as fresh news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Pepe Le Pew didn't realise he stank, maybe human stinkers don't realise it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

dorkacle wrote: »

So you have a flatulence problem and he was telling you in a polite manner ;) You also answered the op's question ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Pottler wrote: »
    I used to be a cattle farmer. I came in one night, worked all day then last thing I was after calving a cow(really hard birth) and I stunk(despite having a shower that morning). Hard to avoid when you are rolling around in cow poo.

The Brother in law was down with the sister, visiting, and when I came in, he said "jasus, Pottler, you stink of shyte, would you ever wash yourself". Being very, very tired and in no humour for townie ponces with no idea or manners, I grasped him by the collar, and threw him bodily out the front door with the polite inference that should he return, I would cheerfully decorate his lap with his dental implements.

O.P, be careful of people who smell, they might not be completely happy with the fact they smell a.t.m and may not need you to point out the obvious. it's a bit like telling your fat sister in law she needs to lose weight. Might not go down the best, and might not come across as fresh news.

If you had the energy to grab your bro in law by the scruff of his neck and f@ck him out the door then surely you had the energy to have a quick shower.

There's fewer things more revolting than a person who stinks and doesn't care about how this affects others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

JupiterKid wrote: »
    If you had the energy to grab your bro in law by the scruff of his neck and f@ck him out the door then surely you had the energy to have a quick shower.

There's fewer things more revolting than a person who stinks and doesn't care about how this affects others.
    Yeah. I'd just walked in the door. The door to my own house. I'll smell how I like in my own home, thanks, Mr Lynx. You'd get fecked out on your ear fairly sharpish as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Smelling of sh1t because you work with cattle, but regularly washing yourself, is one thing. Smelling of your own personal stink due to lack of hygiene is a different story.
    Both though... :eek:

I genuinely don't believe a non washing person doesn't get their stink however; how can they possibly not smell themselves? I know they can get used to it but they surely still know they stink to others. I don't think people should feel bad about saying it to them. It's not an easy thing to do, but it's not unreasonable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Merch

Dirty filthy animal.

While your post is hilarious :), its a bit insensitive.
    I had a friend that used to complain about a guy he used to share with, the chap was allegedly filthy, but having met him a few times, I didnt really notice it, people have a tendencey to overdo things when they are personally offended or dislike someone.
    Needless to say, my friend complained about his house mate endlessly, I think he had a dislike for him and any excuse would be amplified, jeez the mate was on a drink and drug binge himself yet complained about this guys drinking and lack of regard for himself. I thought the poor guy had depression.
    Work up a bit of empathy there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭iCosmopolis

Hints just don't work, stinky people just seem to be oblivious-they just have to be told as directly but sensitively as possible. If they don't get it after that then..well

A chap is famous in our area for it. His stench literally would bring tears to the eye. I've actually gagged and retched. As many shop assistants had done too. I could only describe it as a cross between rotting meat and pee. What's worse is he's so genuinely nice. Bump into him every few days in the various local shops, and he's really friendly and chatty, and would be lovely to chat to but you've to hold your breath.
    He lives with his perfectly ok smelling and well presented relative-friends say their house is nice,clean and well kept.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

I smell of a cross between rose petals and vanilla essence, I'm that sweet.

Seriously though, odour is not always about hygiene. Seen a few documentaries about a condition where people could shower all day long and it wouldn't make a difference. One famous one was the woman who got fired and was then on Oprah and Oprah was even saying that she couldn't bare the smell but that her producers had made 100% sure that she showered at the studios but yet, it had made no difference. Here's another women with the same condition from the UK:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

When I was sixteen years old I did a FAS course. There was one troublemaker there who went around all day bullying people. One day he held another lads head down the toilet and flushed it. Later on I said to the victim "I bet you'll be washing your hair when you get home". He replied "no, I couldn't be bothered".

I've seen him a few times since then and I try my best to avoid him. There was one time when I couldn't avoid him and he started talking to me. The smell off of him made me think he never got around to washing his hair or having a shower since the toilet incident twenty years ago.