Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stanley cooker problem

• 21-01-2013 8:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭

I haven't a huge amount of experience with these cookers. When the cooker is on for about an hour it goes to lockout. The customer resets it and it goes again for about an hour then lockout. I serviced it in August so I know all is clean. Anybody come across a similar problem with these. It's a twin burner and problem is on cooker side.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

Could be lots of things but Solenoid or Transformer would be a good bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

Could be lots of things but Solenoid or Transformer would be a good bet.
    I don't have a large amount of parts for these burners and its an hour from the nearest suppliers! I'm hoping to fix it in one go hopefully. The customer is the mother in law too!!

You could swap the coil from the other burner and try it to be sure, that fails do the same with Transformer and so on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭jimf

it sounds like a solenoid coil as billy pointed out if the time lockout is consistent

and as its the mother in law no dinner for the rest of the week if its not right and no brownie points from she who must be obeyed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

Solenoid

shane0007 wrote: »
    Solenoid
    Thanks lads. I actually have a solenoid in the van. Why would it restart though if solenoid was the problem?

OK till they warm up.

Sorry it is the solenoid coil rather than the solenoid itself. As the temperature increases, it can affect the resistance of the faulty coil and cause it to drop the solenoid cutting the fuel supply.

Fitted the solenoid today and all running well lads. Thanks for the help

Dtp79 wrote: »
    Fitted the solenoid today and all running well lads. Thanks for the help
    Back in trouble again with the same cooker. The cooker burner again. Was working fine since solenoid change. Called today. Burner locking out again. Runs for 14 seconds, dosent fire. Took burner out saw nothing wrong. Reset and away it goes. 5 or six times grand. Then lockout again. Pump pressure ok, unplugged photocell and still didn't fire so ruled that out. Friend says it might be transformer leads or tight spot on pump. Any help welcome.

Unplugging the photocell will only test the photocell when it is causing the burner to continuously run without firing. A faulty photocell causing lockout will still be same. The only test for that without specialist equipment is to try a new photocell.

Transformer.

Unplugging the photocell will only test the photocell when it is causing the burner to continuously run without firing. A faulty photocell causing lockout will still be same. The only test for that without specialist equipment is to try a new photocell.
    When I say I unplugged it I meant I cut the wire cause I couldn't actually unplug it from the block of wires. Would it not fire for a few seconds then lockout if photocell wire removed?

Transformer.
    Do they sometimes work intermittently billy?

When I say I unplugged it I meant I cut the wire cause I couldn't actually unplug it from the block of wires. Would it not fire for a few seconds then lockout if photocell wire removed?
    It will depend upon the control box. If it does not get a darkness signal it may not enter the ignition stage.

Do they sometimes work intermittently billy?

Yes, both solenoid and transformers have intermitent problems.

Difficult to test with intermitent problem, normally add a connector block on supply to transformer and check it for power.

It will depend upon the control box. If it does not get a darkness signal it may not enter the ignition stage.
    Would you no if that's the case with the ecoflam burner on the Stanley?

Off hand no. Replacement is only sure way, I'm afraid but it could easily be transformer as Billy suggests. Photocell generally fail or don't fail. Rarely intermittent unless dirty.

try closing the gap on the electrodes if the transformer is weak you may or may not get enough power to generate spark if the arc is narrowed down

Transformer.
    New transformer, new leads and new photocell just gone in. Now it fires for 30 seconds, stops firing, restarts for a few seconds then stops, tries to fire then lockout. What more can I do!!!!!!

Bucking Hell!!! Is there a brick wall near by ? :eek:

Now I'm after removing the heating burner to go back in at the cooker one. I just fired it before I took it out and it's going 3 minutes now. Loose wire somewhere maybe?

I'm just about to give up here. Done all I can do I think. Changed solenoid, photocell, nozzle, leads, transformer and capacitor. Oh Ye changed the electrodes too. Oil pressure is perfect even when it's trying to re ignite so I've ruled out the pump.forgot to mention I put in a new control box too and still fault occurred

Solenoid stem valve?

have you checked the motor fan any build up of fluff restricting the air intake

Solenoid stem valve?

+1, Stem would be my next try. :(

jimf wrote: »
    have you checked the motor fan any build up of fluff restricting the air intake
    Fans ok. It's a balanced flue taking air from outside

Solenoid stem valve?
    What would be wrong with that? Would it not show up in the gauge if that was going wrong?

Fans ok. It's a balanced flue taking air from outside

You would have sooting before locking out issue if that was the issue anyhow.

What would be wrong with that? Would it not show up in the gauge if that was going wrong?

No. You would still have pump pressure. It could be blocked or only partially opening or not opening, i.e. stuck.
    If you don't have one, take one off another pump or just replace the pump for a few minutes to confirm.