Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did you give up on God

• 12-01-2013 2:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭

For me it was when my best mate died from an od, what about you?

21/25

when i had to go to mass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Which god are we talking about here? Cos there's bloody loads of 'em you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

orestes wrote: »

Your God !

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jacob T

Some lad down the pub told me he didn't exist, I wasn't in any position to argue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

When I realised chatting to myself ain't healthy.

orestes wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

How about you take this thread to the athiests forum? Because this is just a shit stirring thread. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

I never gave up on God, there is someone out there looking after you, or so I believe, I got out of many a difficult situation with his help, that is my belief. But as regards the church I gave up on that in 1963 when I was 13.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Oh Jesus :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

just nonsense innit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Never really believed in God. I didn't think anyone 100% believed in it as a kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

I believe in god, I've a very strong intuition that something unmanifested exists.

Around the time I was old enough to be left alone in the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Unicorn
    tooth fairy
    santa
    /thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

after santa claus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

God gave up on me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

dd972 wrote: »
    God gave up on me :)

St Bridget went to heaven, met god at the gate, he welcomed her in, and asked her to have a meal with him. They sat down and he opened a can of tuna and shared it with her and some dried bread, as she was eating her meal she looked over the cliff where hell was, and seen all the people eating steak and drinking wine, she passed it off. The next day the same thing happened dry bread and tuna while the lads were living it up down in hell. The following day she said to god what is the story, in hell, they are living it up, and we are eating dry bread and canned tuna. He replied, it would not be economical just too cook for the two of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

uch wrote: »

I gave up on a so-called God while pondering when i was up in the donegal mountains on my own many years ago looking at the milky-way and had what some alcoholics call a moment of clarity...

dejavu, I feel like i typed this before here many years ago. All i believe in now is electrical energy non physical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 FeckMaster_Pro

When I saw how many people were hacked and slashed to pieces in Rwandan Catholic churches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 circular motion

Red21 wrote: »
    I believe in god, I've a very strong intuition that something unmanifested exists.

I'll manifest my fist into your face, then hopefully your delusion will be relinquished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

I'll manifest my fist into your face, then hopefully your delusion will be relinquished.
    How do you plan on doing that?(the fist thing)
    How are my believes a delusion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

When Sir David Attenborough said this.

I think of a little child in east Africa with a worm burrowing through his eyeball. The worm cannot live in any other way, except by burrowing through eyeballs. I find that hard to reconcile with the notion of a divine and benevolent creator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Don't think I ever actually believed in him/it.

Only times I was ever brought to mass was by my drunken,violent arsehole father every second Sunday.

Reckoned if god was real there'd be no way he'd let a lad like him into his gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

I gave up on God when I realised that I am Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Jesus what are you doing using Jimmy's account??

irish son wrote: »
    Jesus what are you doing using Jimmy's account??

God took my laptop, changed the password on my Jesus account and sent me to die for your sins.
    I am using Muhammads Ipad atm.

All living insects/animals/mammals/humans brains function from electrical energy pulses to make the body of these to function so in essence i recon imo that when all matter dies the electrical part lives on and i think maybe all the electrical energy of us all - down to the basic life-form is God if you want to use that phrase "God", but i do not believe the master of this plan is a physical man/woman made of physical matter.

Can electrical energy of us and the universe fade into nothing ? or does it go on for ever as we think how long forever is ?.

Don't worry folks, i'm not gone into a major waffle...just pondering on this God issue.

God took my laptop, changed the password on my Jesus account and sent me to die for your sins.
    I am using Muhammads Ipad atm.

Them gods and their technology :rolleyes:

Muhammad says that you need to get the ride :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Recently, tbh.

Bad things happen to good people. Fuck him.

Muhammad says that you need to get the ride :pac:

He must have seen my recent internet activity so :D Hows he/she feel about me paying for it?

I am going out in style this time :pac:

brummytom wrote: »
    Recently, tbh.

Bad things happen to good people. Fuck him.

Bad things happen to both good and bad people as if there was a negative and positive electrical cross-over slowly deviating in a slow moving wave and at a certain time electrically the positive connects with a negative and that's when bad stuff happens and visa versa with the negative cross-over in electrical behavior, who knows.

I am going out in style this time :pac:

Shane Macgowan is going out in style a long time now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

When Thor said I shouldn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I never really believed in it. Ever since early primary school i hated every aspect of religion, and questioned it. I actually lived in fear until my early teens because I thought there was something wrong with me for not being like everybody else.

Oh well.

Shane Macgowan is going out in style a long time now :pac:

Nah, his music is still going strong and always will but the lad himself will fade as time goes by, but we all fade a bit as time goes by.

Dirty old town.
    I never really believed in it. Ever since early primary school i hated every aspect of religion, and questioned it. I actually lived in fear until my early teens because I thought there was something wrong with me for not being like everybody else.

Oh well.

You were one of the intelligent ones and could think for yourself without been programmed so you were basically far ahead in thinking than the poor brainwashed souls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Wereghost

You're late.

zenno wrote: »
    Nah, his music is still going strong and always will but the lad himself will fade as time goes by, but we all fade a bit as time goes by.

Yeah was talking about him not his music, was just joking really in saying he's partying til the end.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

uch wrote: »

After I met.....

YORE MA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Never. You have free will. He has prepared a place for you in the next dimension. Earth is just your training ground. Be ready. Live your life best you can, tough as it is for most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I remember while practicing for my first holy confession thinking "what is this ****e really?"
    i was a bright kid and had started reading about history and thinking about religion and the more i read, the more i could start to poke holes in it. How people still persist with it nowadays is beyond me.

After I met.....

YORE MA!

im quoting this and adding an implied facepalm

Never. You have free will. He has prepared a place for you in the next dimension. Earth is just your training ground. Be ready. Live your life best you can, tough as it is for most.

In all due respect...You say that "he" as in God is a male, physical matter human being but how can a God be physical matter and a male human being that created all this infinite universe of which we are only an invisible tiny part ?

A man cannot exist anywhere higher from ground zero static gravity grounded as if a human being even went up 30,000ft without pure oxygen they die of cold and oxygen deprivation so how could "he" God as is said and talked about as if he is a man how could such a delicate human have created the universe and everything in it ? if God is a physical man ?

Wheres ming when you need him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭stanley 2

the important thing is that God dosnt give up on us

zenno wrote: »
    In all due respect...You say that "he" as in God is a male, physical matter human being but how can a God be physical matter and a male human being that created all this infinite universe of which we are only an invisible tiny part ?

A man cannot exist anywhere higher from ground zero static gravity grounded as if a human being even went up 30,000ft without pure oxygen they die of cold and oxygen deprivation so how could "he" God as is said and talked about as if he is a man how could such a delicate human have created the universe and everything in it ? if God is a physical man ?

Wheres ming when you need him...

understanding of god failure, it doesnt make sense it just takes belief ;)
    thats what it boils down to, you either believe **** or you dont in religions case. in that way the whole god thing is simple, answer god did it/made it
    you can see the draw to an all conquering simplistic view that the whole world can be summed up in in one sentance

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 Forgotten_1

You shouldn't search God through narrow and twisted brain. You should search God through your own wisdom. There is gem inside you.

IM0 wrote: »
    understanding of god failure, it doesnt make sense it just takes belief ;)
    thats what it boils down to, you either believe **** or you dont in religions case. in that way the whole god thing is simple, answer god did it/made it
    you can see the draw to an all conquering simplistic view that the whole world can be summed up in in one sentance

I understand the point you make which is valid but narrowing down the God structure as in the creation of all things in the universe maybe this simple picture below is God as nothing can be activated to live without the spark of an electrical connection...