Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Storm Saturday Night: Winds rapidly increasing with extreme gusts to 70kts+

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Bummer1234

BX 19 wrote: »
    Was that an inbound Ryanair one? Was watching it until the power went

It was yea,Looks like its direct for shannon and still flying at 15000 feet.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

BX 19 wrote: »
    Was that an inbound Ryanair one? Was watching it until the power went

Looks like its diverted to Shannon.

Wonder if that FedEx plane heading to Dublin will have any problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭mayfly757

Crosswind too strong

233707.png

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

at worst now

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Pretty violent out there now, i reckon Dublin Air will be >60kts @ 3am report

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Been HOWLIN in Galway for the last 2-4 hours. Typical really. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

Seen what looked like a couple of distant flashes of lightning when out the back about 30 mins ago. Either that or some sort of power source blew but lecky still on and winds have died down. No sferics pick up on ATD. Wonder is it possible that any lightning actually occurred at jet-stream level only?

PS, lightning (or whatever it was) seemed sourced to my north, over Mayo area.

Looks like its diverted to Shannon.

Wonder if that FedEx plane heading to Dublin will have any problems.

Well it ain't going to be pretty ! Snn seems a bit better at the moment but Dublin is really gusting

mayfly757 wrote: »
    Well it ain't going to be pretty ! Snn seems a bit better at the moment but Dublin is really gusting

Ryanair appeared to have landed in shannon anyway but we have fedex flight coming in soon. and it appears to be getting windier.

233708.png

• Registered Users Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭Saganist

Just took bins out the back. Crazy wind.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 smois6

Just out the back of my house in Lucan dublin and i thought i could hear a train on the tracks about a mile away but it was a roaring wind that i have never heard before. Quite windy in my garden but it sounds pretty violent a few miles away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Seen what looked like a couple of distant flashes of lightning when out the back about 30 mins ago. Either that or some sort of power source blew but lecky still on and winds have died down. No sferics pick up on ATD. Wonder is it possible that any lightning actually occurred at jet-stream level only?

PS, lightning (or whatever it was) seemed sourced to my north, over Mayo area.

Saw a flash here half an hour ago as well but assumed it was just lights flickering, reports a while ago by another poster as well of thunder in Galway although I haven't heard anything but wind all night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Weathering

Still completely calm and still in Donegal. Torrential rain
    Unnerving ha

Looks like that FedEx plane has been diverted to Shannon too.

Lucky this is happening when there isn't much coming into Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Sounds as if the Mayans were just a day out!

Dublin giving 40 kt gusting 53 kt , that's pretty bad

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭mountainy man

Gusts much stronger here in the last half hour, was beginning to think ye were making much ado about nothing:o, I'd say there wil be a few trees down by morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 253 ✭✭Super hoop

V.strong winds here in Stamullen for the last half hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Looks like that FedEx plane has been diverted to Shannon too.

Lucky this is happening when there isn't much coming into Dublin.
    United airlines on descent about 30 mins out from Dublin now although it feels like it has peaked here in Portmarnock.

Yep, sustained gale force at Dublin Airport at 3am.

117 km/h gust at Knock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Weathering

Gotten very windy in Donegal all of a sudden. Torrential rain too

• Registered Users Posts: 19,017 ✭✭✭✭adox

Jaysus wide awake here now for the last hour. Our roof is taking a battering and making some very loud bangs. :( I'm fairly sure we have some tiles off/damage.

Just constant lulls and then very very strong gusts. The noise is mental. Based in Rush in North Dublin.

Have to fecking drive to Galway first thing so could have done with a good nights sleep. :pac: Will also have to see if I can spot any roof damage in the morning before I leave. Have a feeling ill be coming back to a leak or two. :mad:

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    United airlines on descent about 30 mins out from Dublin now although it feels like it has peaked here in Portmarnock.

Looks like the fedex flight is in a hold as its circuling now.

They must expect it to die down.

Bummer1234 wrote: »

Looks like the fedex flight is in a hold as its circuling now.
    Yeah pity live ATC feed is down.

United coming straight in for the approach must have higher tolerances than the old FedEx plane.

Yeah company making their mind up to send them to Snn or bfs

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    United coming straight in for the approach must have higher tolerances than the old FedEx plane.

United has the smaller but same age aircraft than FedEx

• Registered Users Posts: 10,066 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

Worst winds in Castlebar for a long long time tonight....severe gusts since 12am.

United got in Not bad after a 8 hour flt