Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are we not revolting???

• 13-12-2012 4:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭

Looking at whats been going on recently with tax and price hikes all over the place, why are we as a country not doing anything.

Egypt, Syria etc all hate their government and are standing up against them. Ok somewhat of an extreeme example but still. Why are we so happy to sit here and just take all these tax hikes that the government are imposing on us.

Why isn't there ten or even a hundred thousand people marching outside the dail?

Realistically all these new taxes are going to force a lot of people who already resent the home they live in into more arrears and unrecoverable debt.

surely should we not be causing riots, forcing the goverment to back down over property, motor and other taxes????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Many girls have told me I'm revolting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

People tell me I'm revolting all the time.

I hate Frada :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Egypt, Syria etc all hate their government and are standing up against them. Ok somewhat of an extreeme example but still. Why are we so happy to sit here and just take all these tax hikes that the government are imposing on us.

Their people are being killed.

Bad and all as this place is, we're not in those kind of dire straights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Phase 1 Riot
    Phase 2 ???
    Phase 3 Profit

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Most people are too busy writing threads about it rather than actually joining in one of the very many protest that are going on.

Far, far too busy writing threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭franktheplank

We've been divided and conquered, there's still enough groups of cronies being pampered and looked after to prevent a critical mass from occurring.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

what have you done yourself? You want me to hold your hand now is it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

We're lovers not fighters :D;):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

Because We are the Irish....

We sit back and take it up the ****ter..Everytime..

Enda and his girlfriends in europe know that....So that's why!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

sfwcork wrote: »
    what have you done yourself? You want me to hold your hand now is it!
    i started a thread on boards....

what did you do?????

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Would it actually achieve anything other than cause damage to property and potential harm to human life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Some people aren't that bad off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

have you been outside? it's bloody freezing that's why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Looking at whats been going on recently with tax and price hikes all over the place, why are we as a country not doing anything.

Why isn't there ten or even a hundred thousand people marching outside the dail?

Realistically all these new taxes are going to force a lot of people who already resent the home they live in into more arrears and unrecoverable debt.

surely should we not be causing riots, forcing the goverment to back down over property, motor and other taxes????

Us Irish prefer to give out to each other and moan on internet forums about how bad things are/aren't in our lives. You would think with the amount of people out of work there would be regular marches at government buildings. People aren't really bothered, We just roll over and take the pounding. I really feel for people out of work it must be really bad! People espically the unemployed need to take a stance and demand FG invest in jobs, They are not bothered, Probably someting on sky tv or swanning around in Pj's is keeping them busy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Well in fairness, we are a horrendously ugly nation.
    Thank god I'm adopted.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Because things are not anywhere near as bad as those countries you mentioned.
    Because a lot of these tax increases and cuts were forewarned.
    Because a lot of people understand that when your bankrupt, cuts for savings will need to be made.
    Because there is, realistically, very little other choice despite what the opposition claim.

Remember it was Fianna Fail who got us into this mess as per tradition and its been FG/Labour who get us out of the mess traditionally.

Remember its a Sinn Fein government with similar policies being implemented in the North of Ireland and a party that can't seem to evade trouble when it comes to their expenses - north and south.

The options left? A reality check and a more understanding approach by those genuinely hurt and genuinely trying. There is no easy options available during a recession. But, there are areas that this government reneged upon that would have softened the blow considerably.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

wrote:
    matt-dublin

i started a thread on boards....

what did you do?????

I read ur thread on boards

God only knows how the french revolution started without a boards

seems to work for the french and the greeks.

greek logic:
    we took your money and cant afford to pay you back.... Yes we'll make cuts... ****Runs away lauging with suitcases of cash

second round:
    OK we're sorry, we promis we'll pay you back time, can we have more money??... Yes we'll make more cuts.... ****Runs away lauging with more suitcases of cash

Third round:
    We want out of the euro, oh and we're keeping your money!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

It would cut into our drinking time - can't have that now, can we.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Every bleedin day .
    Because we were around in the 80s .
    Because if we boot the government out who will run things .
    Because we have a right to a vote which we use .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

If the weather was nice like in Syria, Egypt, and Greece then I think more people would be inclined to get out and protest but with our shit weather no one would be bothered to go out in the wind and cold and rain.

sfwcork wrote: »
    I read ur thread on boards

God only knows how the french revolution started without a boards

stalker.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

for the millionth time this month - what would burning our OWN FECKIN PROPERTY do us ???
    how would that solve anything , it would make matters worse

the riot thing is doing the Greeks a fat lot of good
    want to protest , then do it passively

and knowing our right wing government , that would be the excuse they need to draft laws that would stifle ALL comment and actions deemed against the state

really , can people please stop posting " lets have a riot " - its retarded

and in fairness - the government were elected by the people, by a huge majority to govern - dont like the actions they take? dont vote for them the next time , and make sure those that did , dont do it again

and never forget , this is a free country , you can come and go - feel free to leave at ANYTIME if the living conditions ar not to your liking

riot - FFS - something original please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Most people aren't that bad off. We still have 80%+ employment. Most people still earn fair wages albeit they have to take some flak.

So you're left with the youth and the people who got stung by the property crash.

Most people who got stung by the property crash are people with children who have solid careers and work their butts off to pay their bills and get on with life. No time to riot.

You have the youth who are getting virtually free education then maybe having to trek abroad for a few years.

In reality who is suffering? Most people.

But who is suffering so bad that they struggle by day to day?

Probably about 10-20%.

Would the country support a revolution by this 20% ? No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Phase 1 Riot
    Phase 2 Looting
    Phase 3 Profit

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I thought we were with Christy Moore as our underground lizard king to start the uprising?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Cos we really don't have it that bad. Unlike the likes of Syria, Egypt, etc, citizens of this country are not dealing with despotic rulers who send government forces in to people's houses in the dead of night, kidnap, murder and torture them.

So you're down maybe €20 a week after the budget? Boo-hoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭vapor trails

The best place to ask this question would be outside the Permanent TSB ATM queue's in Blanchardstown Centre. The 3 machines have been running twenty people deep for the last 3 weeks. Not joking they actually run out of cash by lunch time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

Irish people don't revolt. They emigrate. This country would be heaving with discontented people if there was nowhere to go. It's a safety valve.

Also I do think that quite often it's the best and brightest that emigrate leaving only the rest of us sheeplike sitting ready to be fleeced. I include myself among the sheeple before anyone accuses me of bias. I never emigrated. But for the first time in my life. I'm looking at the idea.

If the boom gave us anything. It was to show us what life is like in other countries. Many of us for the first time ever got to live a lifstyle that is taken for granted in many other European countries and I'm not just talking about money. It didn't last and will never come back. So if you want to live the good life. Find it abroad.

But really someone should burn down Leinster house. It won't happen because the only people organised enough to do it are being protected by the Croke Park agreement. If the public service were being hit to the same extent as they are in other countries. They would out on the streets every night. The politicians know this and are terrified of taking them on.

Until that nettle is grasped there'll be little trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The Irish solution to a problem: Ah shure it'll be grand. Now whose round is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's simple. We aren't poor enough to be bothered doing anything about it yet.

Most of the people I know are working so don't have time to stand around in the cold.

Has anyone starved to death yet ?
    We live in a country where even the biggest gombeen can feed and clothe himself . I love my country . It gets alot of flack but its great .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Has anyone starved to death yet ?
    We live in a country where even the biggest gombeen can feed and clothe himself . I love my country . It gets alot of flack but its great .

No, but people are starting to freeze to death on the street. But that doesn't matter, they have no voice or stake in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Ush1 wrote: »
    I thought we were with Christy Moore as our underground lizard king to start the uprising?

yea , that would the height of our country
    replace some dumb ass teachers who could not have a piss up in a brewery
    with a sweaty dreamer folk singer who is down with the kids

yea all makes sense now

why oh why dont we hire people ACTUALLY trained for the poxy ministry's

ya know - a economist who knows about finance - instead of a teacher
    or a private sector manager who runs HUGE company's to co manage the health service ?

na - it will be some dense teacher and his auctioneer buddy

we are ****ed becasue of our own actions

Most people aren't that bad off. We still have 80%+ employment. Most people still earn fair wages albeit they have to take some flak.

So you're left with the youth and the people who got stung by the property crash.

Most people who got stung by the property crash are people with children who have solid careers and work their butts off to pay their bills and get on with life. No time to riot.

You have the youth who are getting virtually free education then maybe having to trek abroad for a few years.

In reality who is suffering? Most people.

But who is suffering so bad that they struggle by day to day?

Probably about 10-20%.

Would the country support a revolution by this 20% ? No.
    Yes, relative to previous generations and excluding the "tiger years", most people are better off! Few are going hungry or cold, so far, the biggest sacrifice many have had to make is the second holiday or the premium Sky TV service etc.

When there is insufficient money for basic food and shelter, then we'll see the people out on the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Riots caused damage, and we would have to pay for the damage. The country is a democracy and are paying for our greed and errors. Its not easy paying the bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Sully wrote: »
    Because things are not anywhere near as bad as those countries you mentioned.
    Because a lot of these tax increases and cuts were forewarned.
    Because a lot of people understand that when your bankrupt, cuts for savings will need to be made.
    Because there is, realistically, very little other choice despite what the opposition claim.

Remember it was Fianna Fail who got us into this mess as per tradition and its been FG/Labour who get us out of the mess traditionally.

Remember its a Sinn Fein government with similar policies being implemented in the North of Ireland and a party that can't seem to evade trouble when it comes to their expenses - north and south.

The options left? A reality check and a more understanding approach by those genuinely hurt and genuinely trying. There is no easy options available during a recession.

Things are so bad the government awarded themselves a 14m expenses package

and added 3m to it last week.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

If the people of Egypt and Syria had Ireland's economy and political system (even as it is now) they wouldn't be revolting. In fact, relative to what they had, they'd be delighted.

No, but people are starting to freeze to death on the street. But that doesn't matter, they have no voice or stake in society.
    This happens every year its just that it makes the news and is blamed on the recession now .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Yes, relative to previous generations and excluding the "tiger years", most people are better off! Few are going hungry or cold, so far, the biggest sacrifice many have had to make is the second holiday or the premium Sky TV service etc.

When there is insufficient money for basic food and shelter, then we'll see the people out on the streets.

Speak for yourself. That's so patronising. Austerity is cancelling a sky subscription or a new car or a holiday. If you're comfortable position it doesn't mean others are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It'll all kick off when the government stops putting Prozac in the water supply.

yes, everyone has to pay taxes, but the goverment can now expense it!

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Speak for yourself. That's so patronising. Austerity is cancelling a sky subscription or a new car or a holiday. If you're comfortable position it doesn't mean others are.
    For about half the population, that's the situation!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It'll all kick off when the government stops putting Prozac in the water supply.

Actually, former Labour TD Moosajee Bhamjee once proposed putting Lithium in the water supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭CdeC

People are out protesting but in small numbers but the honest truth of the matter is it is too late. People should have started demonstrations when a 2 bed semi detached in a sh!thole area was selling for over half a million. A lot of people saw the writing on the wall but they were too busy raking in cash to give a toss.

To be honest we can only blame ourselves for what happened, I remember being in the polling station pre-2007 and talking to people who were all voting Fianna Fail because "they've done right by the country". I was shocked at how blind people were to the truth.

The best thing to do now is to accept the austerity cuts and try and get the defecit down to a maneagable level. Oh and make sure the banks don't f**k up again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

We've been divided and conquered, there's still enough groups of cronies being pampered and looked after to prevent a critical mass from occurring.

That's the reason. No doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭An Coilean

MrFrisp wrote: »
    Because We are the Irish....

We sit back and take it up the ****ter..Everytime..

Enda and his girlfriends in europe know that....So that's why!!

Ya, peacefull acceptance of political arrangements has been the story of Irish history, except for the almost constant political violence on the island for the last 1000 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭ROS123

If our government pays the permissory note due next March, every man woman and child should be on the street, whether working and earning 100s of thousands or on the minimum wage or on the dole. Maybe even before its due so as to convince them not to pay it. No excuses accepted.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

ilovesleep wrote: »

Things are so bad the government awarded themselves a 14m expenses package

and added 3m to it last week.

Aye, an option they thought was symbolic but was completely daft. Its not a cut when you move them onto a more expensive option!