Why are we not revolting???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,262 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The Irish solution to a problem: Ah shure it'll be grand. Now whose round is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's simple. We aren't poor enough to be bothered doing anything about it yet.

Most of the people I know are working so don't have time to stand around in the cold.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Has anyone starved to death yet ?
    We live in a country where even the biggest gombeen can feed and clothe himself . I love my country . It gets alot of flack but its great .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Has anyone starved to death yet ?
    We live in a country where even the biggest gombeen can feed and clothe himself . I love my country . It gets alot of flack but its great .

No, but people are starting to freeze to death on the street. But that doesn't matter, they have no voice or stake in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Ush1 wrote: »
    I thought we were with Christy Moore as our underground lizard king to start the uprising?

yea , that would the height of our country
    replace some dumb ass teachers who could not have a piss up in a brewery
    with a sweaty dreamer folk singer who is down with the kids

yea all makes sense now

why oh why dont we hire people ACTUALLY trained for the poxy ministry's

ya know - a economist who knows about finance - instead of a teacher
    or a private sector manager who runs HUGE company's to co manage the health service ?

na - it will be some dense teacher and his auctioneer buddy

we are ****ed becasue of our own actions

Most people aren't that bad off. We still have 80%+ employment. Most people still earn fair wages albeit they have to take some flak.

So you're left with the youth and the people who got stung by the property crash.

Most people who got stung by the property crash are people with children who have solid careers and work their butts off to pay their bills and get on with life. No time to riot.

You have the youth who are getting virtually free education then maybe having to trek abroad for a few years.

In reality who is suffering? Most people.

But who is suffering so bad that they struggle by day to day?

Probably about 10-20%.

Would the country support a revolution by this 20% ? No.
    Yes, relative to previous generations and excluding the "tiger years", most people are better off! Few are going hungry or cold, so far, the biggest sacrifice many have had to make is the second holiday or the premium Sky TV service etc.

When there is insufficient money for basic food and shelter, then we'll see the people out on the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Riots caused damage, and we would have to pay for the damage. The country is a democracy and are paying for our greed and errors. Its not easy paying the bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Sully wrote: »
    Because things are not anywhere near as bad as those countries you mentioned.
    Because a lot of these tax increases and cuts were forewarned.
    Because a lot of people understand that when your bankrupt, cuts for savings will need to be made.
    Because there is, realistically, very little other choice despite what the opposition claim.

Remember it was Fianna Fail who got us into this mess as per tradition and its been FG/Labour who get us out of the mess traditionally.

Remember its a Sinn Fein government with similar policies being implemented in the North of Ireland and a party that can't seem to evade trouble when it comes to their expenses - north and south.

The options left? A reality check and a more understanding approach by those genuinely hurt and genuinely trying. There is no easy options available during a recession.

Things are so bad the government awarded themselves a 14m expenses package

and added 3m to it last week.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

If the people of Egypt and Syria had Ireland's economy and political system (even as it is now) they wouldn't be revolting. In fact, relative to what they had, they'd be delighted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

No, but people are starting to freeze to death on the street. But that doesn't matter, they have no voice or stake in society.
    This happens every year its just that it makes the news and is blamed on the recession now .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Yes, relative to previous generations and excluding the "tiger years", most people are better off! Few are going hungry or cold, so far, the biggest sacrifice many have had to make is the second holiday or the premium Sky TV service etc.

When there is insufficient money for basic food and shelter, then we'll see the people out on the streets.

Speak for yourself. That's so patronising. Austerity is cancelling a sky subscription or a new car or a holiday. If you're comfortable position it doesn't mean others are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,370 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It'll all kick off when the government stops putting Prozac in the water supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

yes, everyone has to pay taxes, but the goverment can now expense it!

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Speak for yourself. That's so patronising. Austerity is cancelling a sky subscription or a new car or a holiday. If you're comfortable position it doesn't mean others are.
    For about half the population, that's the situation!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It'll all kick off when the government stops putting Prozac in the water supply.

Actually, former Labour TD Moosajee Bhamjee once proposed putting Lithium in the water supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭CdeC

People are out protesting but in small numbers but the honest truth of the matter is it is too late. People should have started demonstrations when a 2 bed semi detached in a sh!thole area was selling for over half a million. A lot of people saw the writing on the wall but they were too busy raking in cash to give a toss.

To be honest we can only blame ourselves for what happened, I remember being in the polling station pre-2007 and talking to people who were all voting Fianna Fail because "they've done right by the country". I was shocked at how blind people were to the truth.

The best thing to do now is to accept the austerity cuts and try and get the defecit down to a maneagable level. Oh and make sure the banks don't f**k up again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

We've been divided and conquered, there's still enough groups of cronies being pampered and looked after to prevent a critical mass from occurring.

That's the reason. No doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭An Coilean

MrFrisp wrote: »
    Because We are the Irish....

We sit back and take it up the ****ter..Everytime..

Enda and his girlfriends in europe know that....So that's why!!

Ya, peacefull acceptance of political arrangements has been the story of Irish history, except for the almost constant political violence on the island for the last 1000 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭ROS123

If our government pays the permissory note due next March, every man woman and child should be on the street, whether working and earning 100s of thousands or on the minimum wage or on the dole. Maybe even before its due so as to convince them not to pay it. No excuses accepted.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

ilovesleep wrote: »

Things are so bad the government awarded themselves a 14m expenses package

and added 3m to it last week.

Aye, an option they thought was symbolic but was completely daft. Its not a cut when you move them onto a more expensive option!

bluecode wrote: »
    Irish people don't revolt. They emigrate. This country would be heaving with discontented people if there was nowhere to go. It's a safety valve.

Also I do think that quite often it's the best and brightest that emigrate leaving only the rest of us sheeplike sitting ready to be fleeced. I include myself among the sheeple before anyone accuses me of bias. I never emigrated. But for the first time in my life. I'm looking at the idea.

If the boom gave us anything. It was to show us what life is like in other countries. Many of us for the first time ever got to live a lifstyle that is taken for granted in many other European countries and I'm not just talking about money. It didn't last and will never come back. So if you want to live the good life. Find it abroad.

But really someone should burn down Leinster house. It won't happen because the only people organised enough to do it are being protected by the Croke Park agreement. If the public service were being hit to the same extent as they are in other countries. They would out on the streets every night. The politicians know this and are terrified of taking them on.

Until that nettle is grasped there'll be little trouble.

This is a pretty awesome assesment. Well said.

ROS123 wrote: »
    If our government pays the permissory note due next March, every man woman and child should be on the street, whether working and earning 100s of thousands or on the minimum wage or on the dole. Maybe even before its due so as to convince them not to pay it. No excuses accepted.

We'll be paying it one way or another. What's being negotiated at the moment is not a repudiation of the promissory notes but a restructuring of it so that we can pay it off over a much longer period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭ROS123

I do realise that but as long as its not next year but at least 20 years. This is the one major stand that this government must take. It would be nothing less than disastrous otherwise.

Actually, former Labour TD Moosajee Bhamjee once proposed putting Lithium in the water supply.

rather than job creation.

Some country this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

rather than job creation.

Well someone has to put the lithium in the water supply...

Dodge wrote: »
    Well someone has to put the lithium in the water supply...

And manufacture the lithium. More jobs there. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

Looking at whats been going on recently with tax and price hikes all over the place, why are we as a country not doing anything.

Egypt, Syria etc all hate their government and are standing up against them. Ok somewhat of an extreeme example but still. Why are we so happy to sit here and just take all these tax hikes that the government are imposing on us.

Why isn't there ten or even a hundred thousand people marching outside the dail?

Realistically all these new taxes are going to force a lot of people who already resent the home they live in into more arrears and unrecoverable debt.

surely should we not be causing riots, forcing the goverment to back down over property, motor and other taxes????

With that has happened with the budget--there have being protests outside the dail--why there hasn,t being major protests since last week its the christmas period--but when everything hits home in the new it will all change I predict--take the household charge for example in the first year over 700.000 didn,t pay nor register--
    main reason things are silent at the moment is the powers that be are have not yet acted and brought many people to court over non payment of the household charge bar a landlord in mayo--there is already a national campaign CAHWT I suspect they will be holding many public meetings on the property tax in the new year-- the powers they plan to give revenue to inspect homes to value someones privately owned home for the rate of tax--this is will a huge issue in 2013--because giving revenue such powers the blueshirt nazis are seeking a return to the penal times of the English landlords--what we saw with the household charge boycott was only a walk in the park compared with what is to come next year--Irish people must resist this property tax at all cost-- the child benefit cuts already there have being pickets on most labour clinics over it--the ther night Gerald Nash had not evne the guts to turn to face the very people who voted for him based on his lies and false empty promises--bear these words in mind very well what one FG rep said--

One
    senior Fine Gael minister said that unless a bank deal is secured, middle
    Ireland could be forced on to the streets in protest.

"The
    people are sick of austerity and not fit for it anymore. The people who are
    suffering are the people of middle Ireland. They want to see some light at the
    end of the tunnel," the minister said.

The
    minster also warned that if Ireland does not obtain a deal, the consequences for
    Fine Gael could be disastrous.

"If
    we bring middle Ireland on to the streets then it will be goodbye Fine Gael. We
    will go the same way as Fianna Fail".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

Im sorry but what the actual **** do you want our government to do? They are being forced to cut the budget every year by the very people who lend us the money so our government have to find somewhere to get the money.

We are not a dictatorship country and the leaders of our country have not being in power and controlling everything for many years like the other countries who are now rebelling.

Besides, I'd like to know what you have done to help your country other than sitting on yer ar$e complaining like most people do. If your not going to bother to get up and actually do something then shut the **** up complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Terence MacSwiney Field

That is about to change. A new National Association for the Abolition of Property Tax has been established.

http://www.naapt.weebly.com

At the moment all that is needed is for YOU to commit YOUR VOTE.

We are "Selling" our Votes to the Party which guarantees in writing to abolish Property Tax if elected to Office.

It's THAT simple - no Political Party can ignore thousands of votes - NOW is your chance to make a difference
    and you don't even have to go out in the cold.

Join the National Campaign by committing YOUR No.1 Vote - join us on Facebook. and Spread the News.

Together, We Can Do IT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

That is about to change. A new National Association for the Abolition of Property Tax has been established.

http://www.naapt.weebly.com

At the moment all that is needed is for YOU to commit YOUR VOTE.

We are "Selling" our Votes to the Party which guarantees in writing to abolish Property Tax if elected to Office.

It's THAT simple - no Political Party can ignore thousands of votes - NOW is your chance to make a difference
    and you don't even have to go out in the cold.

Join the National Campaign by committing YOUR No.1 Vote - join us on Facebook. and Spread the News.

Together, We Can Do IT!

Eh no. No thank you.