Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone NOT do xmas..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I couldn't give a toss about the whole gift giving business and family get togethers etc. I like christmas for 1 reason. Buying myself a whole bunch of deadly chocolate (roses, celebreations, ferrero roche, tunnocks tea cakes, bag of revels bai) and a big slab of bee, then sitting down infront of a computer all day and playing some a game I bought myself.

Nothing like it. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

I do not, not do, Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,714 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I work for an hour in the morning and an hour in evening so need to be able to drive so I dont drink on xmas day but I celebrate it as much as possible otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Jews & Muslims, bud.
    Fúck it, I'm Jewish and even I do Christmas!
    People overestimate hanukkah. It's just candles and doughnuts. I've insisted on getting presents like all the other kids since childhood and now in my mid 20s, I'll be damned if someone's gonna take that away from me! :P
    That said, Christmas is so commercialised these days, I wouldn't even call it a religious holiday anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Falcone wrote: »
    Precious religious person I guess
    Xmas is just short for Christmas, its not some kinda "taking Christ out of Christmas"/PC phrase if that's what some people seem to be implying.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,453 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shenshen

..I don't, not anymore, it's not that I hate it or anything, but there's only OH and myself, with no other family to speak of.

If you don't celebrate it what else do you do on the day, do you just treat it as a normal day, do you bother marking it at all.

I'm not religious and don't need to do Santa, so what else is there..

What does every one else do.

Everyone goes around in a panic, asking me..are you all set for xmas..I used to say I didn't bother with it but that seems to open a can of worms...so now I just say yeah and make up **** about the stress of it..just to customers where I work..it's more polite to agree with them.

Well, we don't do much celebrating... it's just the two of us, his parents are in the UK, and my mom is in Germany, so thankfully there are very little family obligations.
    Which, truth be told, is what makes christmas for me these days.
    We do give each other presents, and I do cook something special, mostly because I love cooking and it's a nice occasion for it. But other than that, it's just a nice, quiet, lazy day off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Im an atheist but still go along with christmas. Suppose it isnt really too different than any other day, just spend it with family and have a nice dinner. Getting gifts is good but you have to get gifts too so it evens out.

How does that 'even out'?
    You seem to be 'getting' a lot, what about giving?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I enjoy the time off, which in turn allows me to spend some quality time with friends and family which I really do appreciate.

I hate the consumerism, the cheap tacky decorations and christmas songs everywhere since November and most of all, the exception from some people that you have to love christmas :o

Usually I'm pretty bored by the end of the day itself.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭Piper101

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    Xmas is just short for Christmas, its not some kinda "taking Christ out of Christmas"/PC phrase if that's what some people seem to be implying.

Ha ha you just reminded me of how I cant, on pain of death, ever write or type (X)Christmas because of one of the nuns having a canary one year in school over it. Still affected by it years later. The joys of the Catholic upbringing!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Christmas for us has changed because there is somebody missing from our table this year and last year. My brother who loved this time of year his life cut short at 22. So I'll help my parents get through the day. We will do the whole dinner but no gifts out of respect to my bro

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

lukesmom wrote: »
    Christmas for us has changed because there is somebody missing from our table this year and last year. My brother who loved this time of year his life cut short at 22. So I'll help my parents get through the day. We will do the whole dinner but no gifts out of respect to my bro

Sorry to hear that.

Keep on keeping on, good luck to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

My Grandad told everybody in the family that he's not doing Christmas this year. He said he won't be sending any Christmas cards or buying anyone presents. He's refused to decorate his room. He says if he receives Christmas cards he won't bother to open them, he'll just throw them away. He doesn't want anything, isn't bothered if he gets any visitors on the day and says he can't be bothered to go to the Christmas dinner party in the home where he's at.

I suppose he's 84 though so he can say what he likes. He's a miserable bugger but I still love him. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

My Grandad told everybody in the family that he's not doing Christmas this year. He said he won't be sending any Christmas cards or buying anyone presents. He's refused to decorate his room. He says if he receives Christmas cards he won't bother to open them, he'll just throw them away. He doesn't want anything, isn't bothered if he gets any visitors on the day and says he can't be bothered to go to the Christmas dinner party in the home where he's at.

I suppose he's 84 though so he can say what he likes. He's a miserable bugger but I still love him. :D

He's dead right, about time someone stood up and said "no more!"

I think what irritates me most is that you have ads on tv constantly before Halloween has even had the chance to be over with and its 8 weeks of non stop Christmas themed ads.

I mean ffs im partial to a bit of chocolate but if i was force fed it for 8 weeks id be pretty sick of it by the end.

He's dead right, about time someone stood up and said "no more!"

Waste of time. Too many clowns that love the whole materialism of Christmas and then a few sheep afraid to speak up and say what they really think and then when someone actually does they are called a grump and a scrooge so in a sense i cant blame the sheep because its an argument you could never win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Christmas is grand, my sister is the youngest (two younger and one older brother don't believe in Santa any more) in the family and she is the only one in the house that still believes in Santa. That's what makes it a happy time for me. To hear say on Christmas eve "If your're up before me wake me up, don't unwrap your presents with out me".

But I always try to sleep in, I would be awoken by my sister pinching my nostrils.To wake me up and saying, "Wake up quick, santa came. The carrots are bitten and the beer is drank!" the surprise on her face makes Christmas for me.

I read her letter there three weeks ago it said, "Please get me a annual and a dress making set, maybe a surprise as well. I was a great girl this year, I washed and waked rover (name of our caviller king charles dog) a few times. I walked him while it was raining as well some days, I didn't mind. Because I love him. P.S. can you get rover a new ball as he ate his last one and he like to play" It put a smile on my face. :)

She is ten so there will be two more Christmases apart from this one that she will believe in santa, that's why I enjoy them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

9959 wrote: »
    How does that 'even out'?
    You seem to be 'getting' a lot, what about giving?

Everyone enjoys getting gifts but you try to get other people a gift around the same price as they spent on you so it is a lot like everyone buying something for themselves.

Dont know how you got that I get lots of presents while giving none from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭Bodhran

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

There's been no Christmas in my house for a few years now, no decorations, no TV spewing out Christmas bollox. I't a wonderful island of normality in this most horrible of seasons.

I'll spend some of Christmas day with family hopefully I'll be stoned enough not to ruin it for everybody.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Access Denied

Waste of time. Too many clowns that love the whole materialism of Christmas and then a few sheep afraid to speak up and say what they really think and then when someone actually does they are called a grump and a scrooge so in a sense i cant blame the sheep because its an argument you could never win.

I think this surmises my opinion and the answers I have recieved have verified I'm not alone in this,

Thank you AHers, I've been a long time lurker and just signed up yesterday, It's very Irish and a bit of home when I'm away.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Ah jayziz i love tha auld christmas. Turkey, Ham, Sprouts, Selection boxes, playing screwball scramble, milling the gargle, charlie and his chocolate factory, pulling the crackers, mince pies, session that night with a big happy head on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'm not hugely into Xmas* but I do enjoy meeting up with people, eating and drinking and swapping presents etc. This year I got my present yesterday and I'll be giving my girlfriend hers on Thursday. The tree goes up on Saturday and there won't be many decorations either. Of course, we don't have kids yet, I'm sure our attitude to Xmas* will change when we do.

*Xmas is correct. X is the Greek letter for Christ. Christ-mas. So there.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

She is ten so there will be two more Christmases apart from this one that she will believe in santa, that's why I enjoy them.

There isn't a hope in hell you will get two more christmases out of her believing in Santa. Most 10 year olds don't believe in Santa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

There isn't a hope in hell you will get two more christmases out of her believing in Santa. Most 10 year olds don't believe in Santa.

I will just wait and see...

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭janja

lukesmom wrote: »
    So sorry to hear that, bless your family and dedicate your day to your brother who is now at peace and watching over you all xxxx

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

We still don't have Xmas tree up. I won't even be fecked putting it up, so if misses wants it - she can put it up.
    We don't buy presents this year. Just 2 of us with our 2 dogs on Xmas. That's it. No Xmas shopping, no parties, no extra spending.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,724 ✭✭✭billyhead

I can't believe I am not the only person who thinks its the biggest load of tripe ever. From **** tv, to families arguing to the commercial aspect of it to everyone trying to out do the other with decorations I look forward to it all being over. Getting fed up aswell being asked are you looking forward to x-mas etc. The answer I always give is a straight out no. Couldn't give a toss what people think when I respond. Another thin that irks me is the large attendance at mass (most being peopple that only venture through the doors of a church once a year unless its a funeral). Its all false

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Access Denied

billyhead wrote: »
    I can't believe I am not the only person who thinks its the biggest load of tripe ever. From **** tv, to families arguing to the commercial aspect of it to everyone trying to out do the other with decorations I look forward to it all being over. Getting fed up aswell being asked are you looking forward to x-mas etc. The answer I always give is a straight out no. Couldn't give a toss what people think when I respond. Another thin that irks me is the large attendance at mass (most being peopple that only venture through the doors of a church once a year unless its a funeral). Its all false
    We still don't have Xmas tree up. I won't even be fecked putting it up, so if misses wants it - she can put it up.
    We don't buy presents this year. Just 2 of us with our 2 dogs on Xmas. That's it. No Xmas shopping, no parties, no extra spending.

Now that I know I'm not alone I actually have a warm fuzzy feeling about it all being over.:D

Overload. Non stop Christmas programs and its only December 16th :mad:
    I understand things intensifying next week but we're burnt out and sick of it by mid November these days. Yes it has its benefits such as time off and a nice dinner but its not the holiday it was when i was younger. It is commercialised fantasised rubbish. This idealistic image is being shown to us on television ads and programs but the reality is nothing like it.
    Christmas is alot like Facebook in that every eejit seem to jump in and participate in it without properly analysing it and the major companies and brands at the other end are the only ones really benefitting at the end of the day

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Your missus is waiting,biding her time for just the right moment to call you a lazy bollix for not putting up the tree.;)