Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone NOT do xmas..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

Im not religous, I dont go to mass on Christmas and neither does anyone in my family.

I love christmas solely for the reason that it is a purely family day.Everyone is with family and it is the only time of year that all people will return home. I also get to see childhood friends all at the same time. There is no other time of the year that people come together solely for the purpose of spending time with each other.

Commercialism and religon are merely a sideline issue to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Falcone

Dont do Xmas, I have dinner with my family because its a tradition. Other than that its just another day for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

I don't do Xmas I do Christmas.
    what's the difference?

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Falcone

what's the difference?

Precious religious person I guess

• Registered Users Posts: 22,275 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Oh, I don't know OP. Hindus, Moslems, Jews, Buddhists Athiests, Grinches.....?

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Access Denied

Hogzy wrote: »
    Im not religous, I dont go to mass on Christmas and neither does anyone in my family.

I love christmas solely for the reason that it is a purely family day.Everyone is with family and it is the only time of year that all people will return home. I also get to see childhood friends all at the same time. There is no other time of the year that people come together solely for the purpose of spending time with each other.

Commercialism and religon are merely a sideline issue to me.

So it's an excuse to get together...I get that. I feel less Humbuggish now..:)

endacl wrote: »
    Oh, I don't know OP. Hindus, Moslems, Jews, Buddhists Athiests, Grinches.....?

So that's why I'm going green...:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,275 ✭✭✭✭endacl

So that's why I'm going green...:eek:
    Me too. I'm two off that list. Guess which two...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Im an atheist but still go along with christmas. Suppose it isnt really too different than any other day, just spend it with family and have a nice dinner. Getting gifts is good but you have to get gifts too so it evens out.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

So it's an excuse to get together...I get that. I feel less Humbuggish now..:)

Exactly. And I think most people (No matter what religon they are from or what they believe in) treat it as such. Most people who work a 9-5 will have christmas to new years off. So its really the one time in the year where EVERYONE is off work at the same time. Its brilliant. Makes for some great nights out etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Hogzy wrote: »
    Exactly. And I think most people (No matter what religon they are from or what they believe in) treat it as such. Most people who work a 9-5 will have christmas to new years off. So its really the one time in the year where EVERYONE is off work at the same time. Its brilliant. Makes for some great nights out etc.

unless you work in retail, or customer service, then it sucks, worked christmas day a few times. you really lose faith in people who are in at the last minute christmas eve and in first thing shopping again stephens morning, how much crap do you actually need to buy?

long as I get to get drunk and watch Die Hard at some point I'm happy out though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭KungPao

Always liked Christmas, and it was always special with the missus. Only problem is she ain't my missus anymore. Will be pretty much giving Christmas a miss this year.

Humbug.

krudler wrote: »
    unless you work in retail, or customer service, then it sucks, worked christmas day a few times. you really lose faith in people who are in at the last minute christmas eve and in first thing shopping again stephens morning, how much crap do you actually need to buy?

long as I get to get drunk and watch Die Hard at some point I'm happy out though.

OH YEAH..retail+cnutomers=too many sips from the cynic cup..i'm seeing a pattern emerge here..for myself..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Yeah...I suggested that..he's just not in the humour, regular dinner and a walk maybe..it's just everything closes and there's nothing to do...

Christ OP, ye sound like a real boring, lonely pair!

No offence, just calling it how I see it!

Christ OP, ye sound like a real boring, lonely pair!

No offence, just calling it how I see it!

You see it too...then it's not just me...I need a plan.

I agree:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Ah shur Joe, I'm loaded coz I don't need to spend money on the festive season.

I'm not sure whether to thank this or not.

I agree:o I need a plan..

Christmas is about buying ridiculously silly, expensive, random presents for the people close to you! Its a time of joy- it doesn't have to be religious or anything.

Can't help but think of the great Christmas you and your OH could have together. You must change her mind!

syklops wrote: »
    I'm not sure whether to thank this or not.
    :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I'm going to throw the cat among the pigeons and say, while being aetheist, I love Christmas, but I dont like New Years. Most New Years I have been with my girlfriend, we made a nice dinner and often went to bed early.

With Christmas, you don't have to go mad, but buy each other a present, even a small one, cook your favorite meal, cuddle on the couch with some of your favourite movies. Sounds like a perfect Christmas to me...

Edit: You say Christmas is hard if you have no family. There are families out there whose Christmasses are harder because they have families. Making sure Uncle Dave doesn't get drunk too early and start making inappropriate comments to the teenage females in the house, making sure Aunty Mary doesn't drink too much sherry, pass out and wee on the couch, trying to make sure the mother doesnt burn everything, stopping the children from fighting over the new toys...

I was in a friends house a few years ago for a christmas like above, and I promised myself normal, boring christmasses ever since.

..I don't, not anymore, it's not that I hate it or anything, but there's only OH and myself, with no other family to speak of.

If you don't celebrate it what else do you do on the day, do you just treat it as a normal day, do you bother marking it at all.

I'm not religious and don't need to do Santa, so what else is there..

What does every one else do.

Everyone goes around in a panic, asking me..are you all set for xmas..I used to say I didn't bother with it but that seems to open a can of worms...so now I just say yeah and make up **** about the stress of it..just to customers where I work..it's more polite to agree with them.

I think overtime as we have gained more disposable cash and more items have come onto the market, the whole original principles of Christmas have become lost on people and it has now turned into a commercialised frenzy. What should be a peaceful time of the year and a time of the year for giving to others and reflection is now a time where high streets resemble a stampede of charging wildebeest. Where the rat race intensifies on the calender.
    Of course there is an unwritten rule that if you say anything negative about Christmas 'Oh your scrooge' blah blah blah. Sometimes its hard not to hate Dickens. Had he not created that character then people might have the cop on make a valid argument for Christmas instead of giving that usual tripe of an answer before they toddle off with the rest of the sheep.
    I had an ex who thought it was a disaster that i didnt look forward to Christmas anything as much as she did. I didnt tell her how i really felt but if found it hard to lie about my true level of enthusiasm about the holiday. When Santa Claus decided he'd brought me my last present ;) i guess bit by bit every year thereafter my whole enthusiasm waned. Dont get me wrong its not all bad, but its been hijacked and transformed from nore of a spiritual holiday to a commercial opportunity. Still nice to get time off :)

Christmas is about buying ridiculously silly, expensive, random presents for the people close to you! Its a time of joy- it doesn't have to be religious or anything.

Can't help but think of the great Christmas you and your OH could have together. You must change her mind![/QUOTE]

No..I have to change HIS..

Can't help but think of the great Christmas you and your OH could have together. You must change her mind![/QUOTE]

No..I have to change HIS..

Ah I see, apologies:o

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

:E

Ah I see, apologies:o

Ahem...just in case this gets confusing...we're husband and wife...not husband and husband..:D

Not that it should matter of course..even if Christmas herself turned up, he'd probably just go to work..Man we/re boring, I think i'ii have a bottle of Champagne for breakfast..that should liven things up..

Or I could volunteer, did that a few times and had a right laugh...forgot about that...I'II drag him along as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭yellowlabrador

I don't do decorations, religion, food, I do make small presents, like knit something or paint something for my family and close friends. I usually spend the day with a few close friends who are like minded. We take the dogs for a long walk, chill out together, and then it's evening, the day is so short. My children have their busiest time of the year in December and as they are in catering, the're exhausted and would throw a turkey dinner at me if I offered it. They spend the day resting and getting ready to go back to work on St Stephen's day.
    I have often had to work on xmas day and I don't really mind.
    One good thing about it, there's no traffic, the roads are dead.
    I do push the boat out in mid Spring though and have a nice dinner and get together then.

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

I don't do decorations, religion, food, I do make small presents, like knit something or paint something for my family and close friends.

You're every child's favorite relative:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

I love christmas. love having all my family home for a few days and relaxing in the evenings watching a film or chatting. dont see anything negative about enjoying a special meal together for one day. its up to the individual on how expensive they wish to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭liquoriceall

Its great the excuse of I 'have to work'!!
    Volunteer to work most years

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

KungPao wrote: »
    Always liked Christmas, and it was always special with the missus. Only problem is she ain't my missus anymore. Will be pretty much giving Christmas a miss this year.

Humbug.

Same. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Meh, could take it or leave it. The shiny baubles, crass commercialism and buying frenzy I've tired of years ago. Christmas With The Kranks has to be a vision of Hell, in a neighbourhood with Christmas fascists.
    The time off work is the one good thing going for it.

New Years Eve has to top it as the most overhyped craptacular night of the entire year for going out.