Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone NOT do xmas..

• 11-12-2012 12:16am
    Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭

..I don't, not anymore, it's not that I hate it or anything, but there's only OH and myself, with no other family to speak of.

If you don't celebrate it what else do you do on the day, do you just treat it as a normal day, do you bother marking it at all.

I'm not religious and don't need to do Santa, so what else is there..

What does every one else do.

Everyone goes around in a panic, asking me..are you all set for xmas..I used to say I didn't bother with it but that seems to open a can of worms...so now I just say yeah and make up **** about the stress of it..just to customers where I work..it's more polite to agree with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Jews & Muslims, bud.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

It's terrible, Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Debbie.

She does Dallas.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Access Denied

yeah, but I'm talking about people who used to do it, but don't now.

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

I don't do Xmas I do Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

This thread makes me sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

yeah, but I'm talking about people who used to do it, but don't now.

The poor?

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I hear ya bud.

I get drunk at Christmas. That's about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Doing Christmas???? Buy a present for your OH, doesn't have to be expensive, spend the day together relaxing, eating and drinking.
    Why wouldn't you "do Christmas"? You can do nothing the other 364 days of the year,

I used to celebrate shopping and cooking the turkey, spending on presents and go consumer mad and go out of pocket every year, but I'm a Christian now so all that has changed.

no not the poor either..

I was just wondering if anyone else just skips Christmas because really they don't Have to or feel a need to celebrate it.

Not in a sad bastard way either...I suppose OH is a bit Bah Humbug and now it's really rubbed off on me too.

no not the poor either..

I was just wondering if anyone else just skips Christmas because really they don't Have to or feel a need to celebrate it.

Not in a sad bastard way either...I suppose OH is a bit Bah Humbug and now it's really rubbed off on me too.

Celebrate what though? The secular view or the Christian? I'm confused here. Shed some clarity please :mad::p:D:o

• Registered Users Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

I don't really like Christmas all that much.
    Especially gift giving, I've grown a scorn for. I've always gone out of my way to get something special for my siblings and parents regardless of cost and effort in getting it or many items, I always get tacky "gift idea" shoíte in return and I am perennially disappointed. Doesn't mean I don't do the same every year but that's the way it is. The worst part is I hardly get any thanks for it.
    I hate unthoughtful people :(

Senna wrote: »
    Doing Christmas???? Buy a present for your OH, doesn't have to be expensive, spend the day together relaxing, eating and drinking.
    Why wouldn't you "do Christmas"? You can do nothing the other 364 days of the year,

Yeah...I suggested that..he's just not in the humour, regular dinner and a walk maybe..it's just everything closes and there's nothing to do...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Im paging the ghosts of christmas past present and future man . Hang in there .
    Ive got this .

My aunt lost her only child(my cousin) to an accident two days before Christmas 15 years ago. She never celebrated Christmas after that despite best efforts from family. She either went away or locked herself away in the house.
    I'm sure she is not unique. Christmas must be very hard on people who have lost someone close.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Nope unless the Oh's children are about every second year.

Otherwise we chill out, go for a walk, and have a nice dinner, and that's it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Ah jaysus Joe, ever since the budgie' I can't afford Christmas no more. Like, even if Santy does come, I know as well as an Xbox, he'll be leavin' an invoice aswell. And, like, where will I get the money for a turkey Joe? I spend my childrens allowance on paying off the flatscreen so I have no money left for things like turkies and sprouts. I went down the St Vincent de paul, but they were like "Ah hello, you have a house and a car and a pony, you dont need us", but sure, its only a 2003 Merc, and Princess is an old pony now, and I shop in Lidl most days now, apart from the instant soups from Superquinn, which are deadly. So, like wheres my NAMA joe?

Celebrate what though? The secular view or the Christian? I'm confused here. Shed some clarity please :mad::p:D:o

I suppose what i mean is that, I'm not caught up in the consumer side, I don't have much family and christmas was always a nerve wracking time when I was growing up.

People celebrate it for various reasons...kids just want gifts etc, some people actually rejoice in thier religion, but I don't have any of that and it got me thinking I can't be the only one.

Maybe i'm just gone too cynical with age.

Eathrin wrote: »
    I don't really like Christmas all that much.
    Especially gift giving, I've grown a scorn for. I've always gone out of my way to get something special for my siblings and parents regardless of cost and effort in getting it or many items, I always get tacky "gift idea" shoíte in return and I am perennially disappointed. Doesn't mean I don't do the same every year but that's the way it is. The worst part is I hardly get any thanks for it.
    I hate unthoughtful people :(

This would be one of the reasons..

• Registered Users Posts: 37,297 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Who wouldn't do Christmas, given half the chance! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i didnt really bother for 08/09. then i got married, became a father and now christmas is great again

• Registered Users Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

This would be one of the reasons..

I was disgusted to hear someone say before something along the lines of Christmas for him was about getting something greater than the value of what you gave. Sickening attitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

I have a turkey dinner with sprouts, thats as festive as i get, haven't been home in about 6years, might go back next year. Bah Humbug.

syklops wrote: »
    Ah jaysus Joe, ever since the budgie' I can't afford Christmas no more. Like, even if Santy does come, I know as well as an Xbox, he'll be leavin' an invoice aswell. And, like, where will I get the money for a turkey Joe? I spend my childrens allowance on paying off the flatscreen so I have no money left for things like turkies and sprouts. I went down the St Vincent de paul, but they were like "Ah hello, you have a house and a car and a pony, you dont need us", but sure, its only a 2003 Merc, and Princess is an old pony now, and I shop in Lidl most days now, apart from the instant soups from Superquinn, which are deadly. So, like wheres my NAMA joe?

Ah shur Joe, I'm loaded coz I don't need to spend money on the festive season.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 6,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I love it. Not even the 'Christmas' aspect. I'm not religious, I look on it as a time to spend with family and friends, to relax, have fun, and be able to spend time with those you love instead of having to rush around doing everything for everyone

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I've never really seen the point in any holidays, it's just another day for me..and I'm Christian.

The days were simply set by the Church as holidays, days to remember certain events, nothing more to it. Afaik, there's no hell for people who didn't celebrate the birth of Jesus on Christmas.

I like being able to drink any time of day for a week or two without my parents giving out to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,417 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The level of commercialism has become a bit of a turn off,everywhere you turn there's someone looking for money.The songs,the films,commercials,charities even beggers I dare say look foward to the giant shakedown that is Christmas.

CTYIgirl wrote: »
    I love it. Not even the 'Christmas' aspect. I'm not religious, I look on it as a time to spend with family and friends, to relax, have fun, and be able to spend time with those you love instead of having to rush around doing everything for everyone

It's great you have family to celebrate with and there in lies the problem for me, I wouldn't spend money or time on mine and OH is the same. I think it's a great time if you have family that you get on with but hard when you don't.
    Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    I've never really seen the point in any holidays, it's just another day for me..and I'm Christian.

The days were simply set by the Church as holidays, days to remember certain events, nothing more to it. Afaik, there's no hell for people who didn't celebrate the birth of Jesus on Christmas.

I ws nearly eaten the other day for saying christmas was just an illusion of consumerism, but don't get me wrong, I work in retail so rely on said illusion...Just good to know i'm not the only person who thinks it's a non runner for them.
    Ah..I think I'm just particularly Bah Humbuggish this year:)