Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

parking at st lukes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

dzer2 wrote: »

Not true was done during the boom time paid for by the HSE:mad:

Well if that's the case it's mad to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭foxcoverteddy

Well it matters not where the money goes or when it was built, just don't get caught parking where you shouldn't, it is a time when money is more use to buying food and pressy's for the kids than giving it to some gob****e because your wheels are over the white line.
    When in london a friend parked outside their house, no yellow lines a back street, the wheels of the car where on the brickwork between the road and pavement, three inches at most, guessed right a parking ticket for being on the pavement, I think they qualified for something a slightly bit stronger.
    So have a merry christmas and do not give money to clamper's whatever you do. Foxy

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

mydogjack wrote: »
    The barrier system has its flaws, so people 'tail-gating' very closely to the vehicle in front can exit for free as the weight sensors feel the weight and allows the barrier to stay up, p.s dont blame me if this somehow fails.:)

I would genuinely pay good money to see the face on some tightwad who caused a few hundred euros worth of damage to their car while trying to tailgate behind someone out of the car park just to save 4 euros. :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Silverscott

Lidl are doing a special on angle grinders .
    I always have mine handy in case.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

I was in A&E a couple of times on Saturday night/early morning just gone and the first time (12.30am) paid my €4 only to discover the bloody barriers were up when I got to the exit. The second time (5.14am) I checked before I paid and they were still up so it's worthwhile checking. I haven't seen that before. Maybe it was a once off.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭dzer2

I was in A&E a couple of times on Saturday night/early morning just gone and the first time (12.30am) paid my €4 only to discover the bloody barriers were up when I got to the exit. The second time (5.14am) I checked before I paid and they were still up so it's worthwhile checking. I haven't seen that before. Maybe it was a once off.

if you are going in and out a few times there is an office that gives you a specia lticket that allows you unlimited entries to the car park

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Dymo

If there's no security guard on duty or can't be in the office they have to let the barrier up in case people have problems paying or the barrier won't take the ticket.

In all fairness why isn't there a time limit on charging, I understand during the day it would to a degree be madness to allow indiscriminate parking, and the pillock who can't manage to keep within the lines of the bay, taking up two spots, as much as I really do not believe in parking charges in hospitals it is a necessary evil, four euro is a bit over the top, not that anyone is going to tell us why they chose that figure.
    Yes keep the roads free of parked cars, but have the car park free after the hospital shuts down for the day treatments and the majority of staff have gone home.
    There I presume is a board of management who decides such things, but is there normal people on the board or is it made up of the so called professionals?
    Is the angle grinder battery powered? Would you need a hoody and scarf doing the barrier? Joking of course it is Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Bobby Hill

Why can't they have staggered charges like other carparks. 1.50 for an hour wouldn't be such a big deal as most people visiting are only here for less than an hour etc ...

In all fairness why isn't there a time limit on charging, I understand during the day it would to a degree be madness to allow indiscriminate parking, and the pillock who can't manage to keep within the lines of the bay, taking up two spots, as much as I really do not believe in parking charges in hospitals it is a necessary evil, four euro is a bit over the top, not that anyone is going to tell us why they chose that figure.
    Yes keep the roads free of parked cars, but have the car park free after the hospital shuts down for the day treatments and the majority of staff have gone home.
    There I presume is a board of management who decides such things, but is there normal people on the board or is it made up of the so called professionals?
    Is the angle grinder battery powered? Would you need a hoody and scarf doing the barrier? Joking of course it is Christmas.

LIke this one.

http://uk.images.search.yahoo.com/images/view?p=battery+powered+angle+grinders&back=http%3A%2F%2Fuk.search.yahoo.com%2Fsearch%3Fei%3DUTF-8%26p%3Dbattery%2Bpowered%2Bangle%2Bgrinders&w=500&h=358&imgurl=www.power-tools-pro.co.uk%2Fimages%2Fgws18v-li-bosch-angle-grinder-500.jpg&size=23KB&name=gws18v-li-bosch-angle-grinder-500.jpg&rcurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbrooklynian.com%2Fforum%2Fpark-slope%2Fhide-yo-catalytic-converters&rurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbrooklynian.com%2Fforum%2Fpark-slope%2Fhide-yo-catalytic-converters&type=&no=1&tt=110&oid=1f84693a50d3ef6f43a90959bcb9bd50&tit=Hide+yo+catalytic+converters%21+%C2%AB+Brooklynian&sigr=12431ng02&sigi=126lg2qjl&sigb=12bn7u6nq&fr=yfp-t-710

Yes man that was great, I'll be down in Woodies within a day or two, has anyone any experience with denver boots and angle grinders, I know they are made of high tensile steel, so how long would it take the angle grinder to go through one.
    Hey don't forget it is a criminal act to damage one on the highway, but is st lukes private ground, the legal bit is slightly hazy.
    Just having a picture of a clamped car and saying clamping in operation may not be sufficient justification for clamping, there should i think something more substansive, now whether or not you can wreck a denver boot on private property is altogether another matter.
    I did see a wheel and a clamp in Park Lane in london, no car just the wheel standing there, on reflection the cost of the tyre and the wheel was more than the fine.
    Keep on the right side of the law park nicely and properly, but yopur post was ace, well done. Foxy

The guards wont come unless you damage the clamp.
    Its a civil matter between you and the clamper.
    There is nothing stopping you from towing your car away or doing anything you want to your car .
    Deflate the tyre and when clamper comes tell him he damaged your tyre putting the clamp on it .
    Tell him to remove the clamp or you will call the guards to report damage to your car.
    What ye think ?
    Would it work.
    Yeah i know its all hassle but there are some out there who love this stuff.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Please don't post illegal practices here.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

sorry everyone my fault, christmas excess foxy

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭mydogjack

How to take off the clamp.....legally of course!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHwKLhIpa94

Ha i know this guy.
    This is not the first time he has done this.
    It takes a while and not everyone carries around the tools needed.
    There is a better video of his

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0QkM-dWAXOs

or donegal style
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f7A9WseN8uI

• Registered Users Posts: 24 first rate

Fair play to this guy ha

• Registered Users Posts: 30 trpsarge

Christ....is that defo true? What idiot would sign a contract like that? A bloody car park in fairnress, not the most expensive thing to develop ever.

Incorrect the car park is run by the hospital and the takings are put directly into running the hospital. FOI will clear up any misconceptions,

the cost of building new carparks is prohibitive because of the amount of drainage works now required by planning legislation.

the extension to the current carpark which upgraded the carpark by 150 spaces cost on average €750 per carparking space.

Managed car parking is the future of car parking where the carparks are leased out to specialist companies by the hospitals and the hospitals operate a profit sharing agreement on the tarriffs,Removes the need for maintaince and work on carparks. Average maintainence on barriers , cash machines etc for a hospital St. Lukes size is about 40k per anum.

As for charging for parking you won't get planning permission for any new facility without having appropriate car parking available.

It must be able to fund itself independently of the hospital running costs.

Hey don't forget it is a criminal act to damage one on the highway, but is st lukes private ground, the legal bit is slightly hazy.

Not at all ! Its crystal Clear.

the Clamp is the property of the clamping company , not the hospital you damage it, its criminal damage, they have your car registration, the can come after you for the price of the chain or the lock...if you can get them off.

it is the clamping money which goes out of the country, so I am told, I cannot confirm one way or the other, but the clamping firm is from the North.

The clamping company is APCOA who are based in Dublin and have several HSE and other significant contracts...Clamping is in place in all the other HSE hospitals in the region.

It was awarded after a tender process including a local company.

There is a given set down time of twenty minutes, there is no restriction on disabled parking, and there is reserved parking for persons attending specialist services such as oncology or cardiac rehabilitation.

No cars that have been parked within the terms of the hospital parking policy have been clamped!

Appeals can be placed and are granted in special cases, and will be refunded in a given time.Appeals are made to APCOA, not the hospital as the hospital is not the service provider.

Staff and visitors are subject to the same policy and indeed staff have been clamped for failing to comply.

Persons who abuse the disabled parking areas are subject to immediate clamping.

Feedback from disabled groups and those who require specialist access, including the ambulance services, both private and HSE has been positive.

Clamping only becomes a problem if you are not in compliance with the parking policy!

As for the tariff rate, they were increased in 2010 as VAT had not been included in the fee and the Dept of Finance levied VAT on all carparks etc. so the fee head to be increased. Print the receipt and have a look, the VAT is stated seperately.

Some one asked, how the hospital is managed.

There is a General Manager, a Deputy Manager a Finance officer who manage the running the hospital with input from heads of department clinical and non clinical, they in turn report to a regional manger who oversees a number of hospitals who in turn reports currently to HSE South in Cork.

The St. Lukes web page on the HSE site makes all this available and names the department heads.

Everything down to their desk diaries are accessible by FOI..all you got to do is pay your money and ask the questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

I was over in Lukes on Monday the missus was getting a baby scan :) i went into their car park and it was full with a line of cars waiting to get into the car park needless to say i wasnt sitting in a queue of cars whilst missing the scan so i just had to park in the housing estate beside the hospital. I know ho annoying that must be for the residents, the car park in Lukes is not big enough for staff and visitors. I think the next time ill throw the missus up the handle bars of my bike and roll in style to Lukes that way. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭redtelephone

trpsarge wrote: »
    Not at all ! Its crystal Clear.

the Clamp is the property of the clamping company , not the hospital you damage it, its criminal damage, they have your car registration, the can come after you for the price of the chain or the lock...if you can get them off.

"Currently, the clamping of cars parked „illegally‟ on private property (e.g. hotel, hospital or
    shopping centre car parks) is not regulated by legislation. As a result, the legitimacy of such clamping is unclear."
    This is a quote from Oireachtas Committee report on vehicle clamping (March 29 2012).
    http://www.oireachtas.ie/parliament/media/committees/environmenttransportcultureandthegaeltacht/Report-to-the-Minister-for-Transport,-Tourism-and-Sport-on-the-Regulation-of-Vehicle-Clamping.pdf

There is new legislation about to be published and enacted this year (The Regulation of Vehicle Immobilisation Bill) which will among other things outlaw clamping on hospital grounds. Can't come soon enough IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

"Currently, the clamping of cars parked „illegally‟ on private property (e.g. hotel, hospital or
    shopping centre car parks) is not regulated by legislation. As a result, the legitimacy of such clamping is unclear."
    This is a quote from Oireachtas Committee report on vehicle clamping (March 29 2012).
    http://www.oireachtas.ie/parliament/media/committees/environmenttransportcultureandthegaeltacht/Report-to-the-Minister-for-Transport,-Tourism-and-Sport-on-the-Regulation-of-Vehicle-Clamping.pdf

There is new legislation about to be published and enacted this year (The Regulation of Vehicle Immobilisation Bill) which will among other things outlaw clamping on hospital grounds. Can't come soon enough IMO.

The legal status of clamping on private property has nothing to do with the illegality of damaging someone else's property. trpsarge is correct, if you damage the clamp you are exposing yourself to a charge of criminal damage. There's no problem if you can remove the clamp undamaged.
    Pity clamping isn't to be banned totally :mad:

Currently, the clamping of cars parked „illegally‟

The devil is in the detail.In contravention of policy is the term in use.Byelaws would have to be enacted to make it legal or illegal , By using the hospital you agree to abide by terms and conditions..including the parking policy which includes the right to clamp cars parked in contravention to policy.

which will among other things outlaw clamping on hospital grounds
    It won't as the title holder will always have the option to enforce its own policy on parking restrictions and the public will be bound to abide by policy if they want to use the services the title holder offers.

It will however regulate clamping providers in how they operate, but like the PSA they will lay down the criteria and self regulate.
    Pity clamping isn't to be banned totally

And parking,restricting the access of other lawful users ,shouldn't be preventable by enforcement of a policy which penalizes those who intentionally and often recklessly abandon vehicles to the detriment of others should be allowed to continue?

Dare I suggest that the hospital would provide parking in the A&E waiting room along with ,tea , coffee , drinks from the bar and snacks for everyone who feels entitled ?

I think the next time ill throw the missus up the handle bars of my bike and roll in style to Lukes that way.

Mots under used facility in any hospital being the bike rack.

can't wait to see the publics reaction when the hospital goes tobacco free next year!

So while you are waiting in the queue for the car park, waiting for your clamp release, having that comforting smoke won't be an option,,,or is that too harsh for the patrons of St Lukes?

trpsarge wrote: »
    Mots under used facility in any hospital being the bike rack.

can't wait to see the publics reaction when the hospital goes tobacco free next year!

So while you are waiting in the queue for the car park, waiting for your clamp release, having that comforting smoke won't be an option,,,or is that too harsh for the patrons of St Lukes?

Well i dont mind if its smoke free i dont smoke neither does the missus so thats one argument i wont be taking part in. :cool:

so how do the staff at st lukes get to smoke? will theban apply to aut even?
    what with the small car park, do we need the nanny state?

so how do the staff at st lukes get to smoke? will theban apply to aut even?
    what with the small car park, do we need the nanny state?

Id say they have a private smoking area. The staff would go nuts if they told they couldnt have their cig breaks.

it has got to be either you can or you can't with no ifs and buts, we have idiots trying to break the drinking laws, soon people will be parking all over the grass at lukes. there is either a law or there isn't, if they don't like it go somewhere else

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭redtelephone

slimjimmc wrote: »
    The legal status of clamping on private property has nothing to do with the illegality of damaging someone else's property. trpsarge is correct, if you damage the clamp you are exposing yourself to a charge of criminal damage. There's no problem if you can remove the clamp undamaged.
    Pity clamping isn't to be banned totally :mad:

Don't agree. The legal status of clamping on private property has everything to do with it! If the act of putting on a clamp was illegal in the first place, does a person removing it commit an offence?
    Take another example. Your neighbour gets a lock and chain and locks your front gate so you can't get out. What you are saying is that you cannot break the lock because it's his property and would be criminal damage. What would a court say?