Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does hiking the GNIB charge and the child benefit cut have in common

• 02-12-2012 4:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭

When the household charge of 100 Euros was introduced, there are lot of hue and cry. People came out in protest, the opposition MPs held rallies etc etc.

150 Euros increase in the GNIB, no one said anything. We may not be Irish nationals, but we pay our taxes and most of us just want to work here for couple of years and then return back (atleast me). We will not be taking any state pensions, free old age bus travels so on and so forth. If we don't have our jobs, then the GNIB card would not be renewed and hence we need to work hard. We do not have any dole access and the taxed we pay goes to people on dole.
    10 Euros cut in child benefit also in the same lines. How much will they achieve by saving 10 euros.
    But they know, the most vulnerable can be targeted most easily.

Regards,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Terrible Joe.............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

We have to pay for a passport, what's the difference in paying for the GNIB card?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

suave.4u wrote: »

When the household charge of 100 Euros was introduced, there are lot of hue and cry.

Whatever about the cry, there's a fair amount of hue in your post anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭suave.4u

so you are saying that 150 euros hike was fine?

If the passport charges were increased by 10 euros, dont you think there would be any protest?

so you are saying that 150 euros hike was fine?

If the passport charges were increased by 10 euros, dont you think there would be any protest?

Yes it's fine IMO. If passports increase we have no choice but pay or not travel.

GNIB last how long ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

I agree with you OP. An increase of 100% is ridiculous. People on GNIB cards are for the most part working/studying. Surviving in an economic downturn in Ireland is hard enough for Irish people who have all the benefits to fall back on but it is extra difficult for foreigners.

There will be someone who says, if you can't afford it just go home, but this shouldn't be the way. The government, strapped for cash are milking every area they can, and you...as johnny foreigner will be screwed like everyone else.

Cead mile failte, pay up or feck off is the attitude.

Comparisons between the GNIB and Passports are arbitrary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Tonto86

In all fairness its €150. I'm in Canada where I have to pay €120 a year for a work permit and eventually €2000 for the right to stay here. I doubt bitch or moan because I understand I'm a guest in this country, I'm lucky to be here. I don't have any feelings that this country should oblige me or I have rights to anything. I also understand that if I don't behave myself in any way I will be sent home. I work hard, pay very high taxes and feel great full.

Why do the visitors to Ireland have an automatic feeling that they are owed something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

We have TD's.

Tonto86 wrote: »
    In all fairness its €150. I'm in Canada where I have to pay €120 a year for a work permit and eventually €2000 for the right to stay here. I doubt bitch or moan because I understand I'm a guest in this country, I'm lucky to be here. I don't have any feelings that this country should oblige me or I have rights to anything. I also understand that if I don't behave myself in any way I will be sent home. I work hard, pay very high taxes and feel great full.

Why do the visitors to Ireland have an automatic feeling that they are owed something.

I think it's €300 now but still worth it if you can get work here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

When the household charge of 100 Euros was introduced, there are lot of hue and cry. People came out in protest, the opposition MPs held rallies etc etc.

150 Euros increase in the GNIB, no one said anything. We may not be Irish nationals, but we pay our taxes and most of us just want to work here for couple of years and then return back (atleast me). We will not be taking any state pensions, free old age bus travels so on and so forth. If we don't have our jobs, then the GNIB card would not be renewed and hence we need to work hard. We do not have any dole access and the taxed we pay goes to people on dole.
    10 Euros cut in child benefit also in the same lines. How much will they achieve by saving 10 euros.

Regards,

Someone here with 3 children gets over €5100 a year tax free in Child Benefit. How much would that be where you come from?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

You are taking up jobs that an Irish person could be doing. I'm sorry, I'd rather you heading back home to your home country than my family members heading off to Canada/Australia/New Zealand/etc.

Someone here with 3 children gets over €5100 a year tax free in Child Benefit. How much would that be where you come from?

Yup we don't have any such thing and in my opinion, this DOLE, CHILD BENEFIT is all unnecessary.
    If you are not in a financial state of having children; then you should not have them.
    If Dole is cut, people will get up their arse and find a job somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Yup we don't have any such thing and in my opinion, this DOLE, CHILD BENEFIT is all unnecessary.
    If you are not in a financial state of having children; then you should not have them.

Be janey...are you sure you're not Irish?!

The foreigners have taken all the jobs.

Foriegners are still doing the jobs that Irish couldn't be arsed doing. Service industry roles mainly.

I was unemployed recently and got a job. There are jobs out there...maybe not for the money you would have expected for your qualifications but you could wait it out...work a menial job and when the older generation croak it then there will be positions. Or else just go to oz.

However to say that foreigners have jobs that Irish people need is a load of crap.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Be janey...are you sure you're not Irish?!

haha,maybe I am here long enough to become Irish :)

Comon man;don't you think doubling the fees from 150 euros to 300 all of a sudden is a bit... would say HARSH?
    The mainstream media completely ignored it

Yes it's fine IMO. If passports increase we have no choice but pay or not travel.

GNIB last how long ?

The first time, the GNIB is granted to 1 year (you needto pay 300 euros for that plus 1000euros for the work permit).

Then every 2 years it needs to be renewed for 300 euros each time

.....people will get up their arse.....

Get up their arse?

U-age mickeys Joe, u-age.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Get up off their arse and get a job you say,,, why didn't the 300k people out of work think of that!!!
    If you don't like it go back to your own country at least you have that option.. Were stuck here... so shut up moaning and get on with it will ya..

hawkelady wrote: »
    Get up off their arse and get a job you say,,, why didn't the 300k people out of work think of that!!!
    If you don't like it go back to your own country at least you have that option.. Were stuck here... so shut up moaning and get on with it will ya..

Narrow minded contribution. Exactly why there's so many unemployed. You're not stuck here. Leave if you want. I'm glad that there are so many nationalities in Ireland. We need it culturally. It's not right to make it harder for them. Dey tuk our jobs! Complete crap....get up off your arse and get a job...because there are jobs out there. If you can't get one, aim lower, if you don't want to...upskill or feck off to oz or Canada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

There is rarely a fixed number of jobs in an economy, immigrants also increase demand and consumption while typically placing less stress on social services than the average native (because immigrants are typically young, able-bodied and working full time)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

We have to pay for a passport, what's the difference in paying for the GNIB card?

What this Lady/Gentleman said.

Arpa wrote: »

However to say that foreigners have jobs that Irish people need is a load of crap.
    goose2005 wrote: »
    There is rarely a fixed number of jobs in an economy, immigrants also increase demand and consumption while typically placing less stress on social services than the average native (because immigrants are typically young, able-bodied and working full time)

Humour lost in ye two obviously. The OP was/ trolling, I just played along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Anyone decided what them things he was whittering about have in common yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭loggedoff

What do you do if you had kids and lost your job? Give them back?
    Ridiculous post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭loggedoff

The first time, the GNIB is granted to 1 year (you needto pay 300 euros for that plus 1000euros for the work permit).

Then every 2 years it needs to be renewed for 300 euros each time

Should have upped it to €1000 to renew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I made a post about it back in Nov and got called a troll...

The GNIB hike is ridiculous, IMHO.

The good news is I can just take my tax dollars and go home. I'll make more money, pay less taxes, and not have deal with the ridiculous green card fees or the GNIB card fees.

I'd really like to stay another year for the sake of my CV - but the GNIB hike was absolutely the thing that made up my mind to leave. I'm just waiting on the tax figures to decide if I'll be leaving this January or next.

It's a shame too - Ireland is a great country with a lot of great people. But it's not exactly a land of opportunity, at least, not for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭amtw

People who require a GNIB card are non-EU nationals, there is free movement of member state citizens within the EU.
    Those who require a GNIB card have an opportunity to come to this country to work or study and they should be welcomed. The €300 covers the cost of the administration of the system, it equates to €25 per month that is a small price to pay to have the opportunity to stay her and work or learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

UCDVet wrote: »
    The GNIB hike is ridiculous, IMHO.

The good news is I can just take my tax dollars and go home. I'll make more money, pay less taxes, and not have deal with the ridiculous green card fees or the GNIB card fees.

I'd really like to stay another year for the sake of my CV - but the GNIB hike was absolutely the thing that made up my mind to leave. I'm just waiting on the tax figures to decide if I'll be leaving this January or next.

You seem to have a high flying job so 300 euro isn't much.

Ireland is open to you and you are getting the opportunity to work

Administration costs money, the costs have to be covered

mikemac1 wrote: »

amtw wrote: »
    People who require a GNIB card are non-EU nationals, there is free movement of member state citizens within the EU.
    Those who require a GNIB card have an opportunity to come to this country to work or study and they should be welcomed. The €300 covers the cost of the administration of the system, it equates to €25 per month that is a small price to pay to have the opportunity to stay her and work or learn.

mikemac1:

Would people like you oppose the household charge and the property tax saying..."Administration costs money, the costs have to be covered" ??

Regards,
    A good portion of the charge goes towards people who post in the fancy blue ink. Who's supposed to pay for these colour mad individuals. I'll not and I'll go out and protest about it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

It is €1000 per year for a work permit, €1000 for a green card (two years).
    After the permit, one has to pay €150 per year for a GNIB card and another €100 for a re-entry visa.
    It now cost €300 per year + €100 per year for re-entry Visa; this is a hike of 100%

I personally do not feel that I am owed anything; I pay taxes, I contribute to the economy, I have never claimed welfare and do not intend to now. I think the hike is ridiculous!

When I moved to Ireland 11 years ago, I paid £50 or less...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Piper101

While I agreed with your original post OP I completely disagree with your point re child benefit. Almost every other country in the EU has far more generous maternity leave entitlements and access to affordable childcare than we do in this country. You begrudge parents the child benefit? Having children in this country is extortionate IMO (well only if you have a job)

Reminds me of thread about taxi drivers. Terrible Joe.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

hawkelady wrote: »

We're stuck here?

No one told me that when I boarded my flight. The people who are employed are employed because they deserve to be.

We need the most productive, competitive workforce to get our country back on its feet again. The last thing our businesses need is for every foreigner to go home and for them to be replaced with unemployed Irish workers who evidently weren't good enough to get a job in the first place.

Honestly if you can't compete for a job here then go somewhere else because this country doesn't need you. Stop blaming foreigners for taking jobs, you're taking dole instead of simply going to the UK/Canada etc. and just trying to blame your situation on hard-working foreigners. Pathetic really. No wonder people with an attitude like that find themselves unemployed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

amtw wrote: »

I am sorry but this (bit in bold) is BS. I am already paying ridiculous amounts of money to study and live here. If anything the country should be offering me incentives to stay. I had to pay that extra 150 euro this week. I would have appreciated proper notice of this in advance so I could plan accordingly. I heard that it was on the tv but I don't watch tv or listen to the radio. I had been at the immigration offices the week before and was not told of the possible hike. I came back to register three days later and boom- 100% increase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭CommanderC

Augmerson wrote: »
    You are taking up jobs that an Irish person could be doing. I'm sorry, I'd rather you heading back home to your home country than my family members heading off to Canada/Australia/New Zealand/etc.

Why didn't your family members stay here and apply for these jobs then ?

If they were good enough applicants they would get them.

I'm sorry but you can't criticise people for coming here to work and in the same sentence admit that your own family are availing of the option to immigrate to other countries.....you're a bunch of hypocrites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Tonto86

MIN2511 wrote: »
    It is €1000 per year for a work permit, €1000 for a green card (two years).
    After the permit, one has to pay €150 per year for a GNIB card and another €100 for a re-entry visa.
    It now cost €300 per year + €100 per year for re-entry Visa; this is a hike of 100%

I personally do not feel that I am owed anything; I pay taxes, I contribute to the economy, I have never claimed welfare and do not intend to now. I think the hike is ridiculous!

When I moved to Ireland 11 years ago, I paid £50 or less...

Tell ya what, if ya think our bankrupt country is asking too much how bout ya just head on home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

CommanderC wrote: »
    Why didn't your family members stay here and apply for these jobs then ?

If they were good enough applicants they would get them.

I'm sorry but you can't criticise people for coming here to work and in the same sentence admit that your own family are availing of the option to immigrate to other countries.....you're a bunch of hypocrites.

Who is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The government, strapped for cash are milking every area they can, and you...as johnny foreigner will be screwed like everyone else.

No. They're not. They are utterly failing to milk the financial and political elites, who not only have far more "milk" to spare than the rest of us, but also deserve, in many cases, to be punished for creating this disaster in the first place.

Right across the Western world, there is a complete and total lack of justice in how the financial crisis is being addressed. It's disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Tell ya what, if ya think our bankrupt country is asking too much how bout ya just head on home?

Foreign workers are not responsible for bankrupting the country. Homegrown financial fraudsters and political pr!cks are. And we're apparently not asking ANYTHING of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

I agree with you OP. An increase of 100% is ridiculous. People on GNIB cards are for the most part working/studying. Surviving in an economic downturn in Ireland is hard enough for Irish people who have all the benefits to fall back on but it is extra difficult for foreigners.

There will be someone who says, if you can't afford it just go home, but this shouldn't be the way. The government, strapped for cash are milking every area they can, and you...as johnny foreigner will be screwed like everyone else.

Cead mile failte, pay up or feck off is the attitude.

Comparisons between the GNIB and Passports are arbitrary.

hard for foreigners? are you serious :pac:

ok go down to any social welfare and tell me how many of them are irish people and foreigners :L cause im telling ya now pal theirs more black eggs then white eggs in the one on bishop street as well as polish

go into any retail shops
    all foreign
    if anything their getting a great ****ing deal paying 150quid for a job
    hell id pay a grand to go into another country and get a job outta it

Here's the thing, the job I have here is no better than the job I'd have in the US or in Canada or in Australia. I can go to just about any English speaking country and get a similar job. But I can afford a better quality of life elsewhere.

Ireland isn't doing me a favor my letting me work a job where they have a shortage of qualified applicants and I'm paying a very high tax-rates (while being ineligible for many benefits).

Beyond that, it's not about administration costs; it's about generating revenue. What has changed between last year and this year to account for a ONE HUNDRED percent increase the administration costs?

Nothing.

So while it's easy for someone to say, 'Well, you get to work here, if you don't like it, leave' - the problem is, I will. And so will other people.

The company I work for (an American company no less) has been struggling for the last two years to fill positions. They are still hiring, they haven't stopped in the last two years. But people are actually LEAVING as fast as we hire them.

The majority of them, at least from my team, are non-Irish workers who enjoy their job, but are leaving for another country where they'll get a similar job and pay less taxes. We had a guy leave for Australia on Friday and another at the end of the year.

Sure, sure, if the company gave them a 25% raise or something, they'd stay. But the company is competing in an international market. They don't care about Ireland or any other country. We've actually moved ownership of some of our systems from the Ireland office to the US office because we can't get enough people working here. No sense in overpaying someone here when it's an international company.

My plan is to stick it out for another year, for the sake of my CV. And then I'll leave. And, while you might enjoy not having me on Boards.ie, Ireland will be financially worse off for my leaving.

Ireland *benefits* from workers like myself. I pay the same taxes, but I get only a tiny fraction of the benefits. If I lose my job, I have 3 months (I think it's 3, it might be 6) to get out of the country. That's about it. I can't sign on to the dole, I can't retire here, and the job I have isn't 'stolen' from locals who would do it, the government recognizes a shortage in my industry.

By itself, maybe the extra 150 would just be an annoyance, but when you look at all the changes in the last few years, Ireland just has very little to offer. And while some part of my wanted to self-identify with Ireland, to do my part, pay my taxes, and work through the recession or whatever we're in the middle of; the 150 euro increase was the slap in the face I needed to remind me that Ireland doesn't give a crap about me. 'Gee, you wanna work a job, pay your taxes, and help our country be competitive in your industry? Well, you better pay us!'.

And that's fair enough. I'm not Irish. I shouldn't care about Ireland. I'll stay so long as it suits me, then I'll leave. Just like you suggest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭ebayissues

The amount of ridiculous post in this thread is not surprising, I suppose that's what you get in the after hours forum.

An increase of 100% is too much, imagine if Dublin bus, Rynair Aer lingus Irish said there will be an 100% increase in all fee's, will you keep your mouth shut.

The property tax of 100e per month, a few paid that willingly, on the after hours forum majority through the results of the vote said they wont pay imagine if that was increased to 200 per month.

Those guys paying the fee for the GNIB card are non eu members, some from Africa Asia America etc.

Some are students, some working etc. A lot of foreign students I know have to work lots of hours to pay for the cost of their education no less than 4000e - 15000e per year. Another burden of 300 might be too much for some.

In due time the the cost of the increase of the GNIB fee will outweigh the benefits, some might think that Ireland is becoming to expensive to study in and might seek cheaper locations like Scotland, this in turn will have adverse effect.

For example the University will have to seek out new ways of getting revenue meaning increase of tuition fee's if an increase of 250e is big the worst is still ahead.

Some are saying the foreigners, that's a lot of bull****, before the whole financial crisis a a few went to college because getting a job without a degree was very easy. Majority of these jobs were unskilled jobs.

While at the same time many skilled sectors like hospitals science department needed skilled workers and if you cant get them in your home country then you look for them in regions like Africa Philippines were they are educated and they can accept low wages.

As of now there's an increase in applicants going to college, especially with mature students, some who didn't bother to pursue higher education as they believed the bubble would never burst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭ebayissues

Here's the thing, the job I have here is no better than the job I'd have in the US or in Canada or in Australia. I can go to just about any English speaking country and get a similar job. But I can afford a better quality of life elsewhere.

Ireland isn't doing me a favor my letting me work a job where they have a shortage of qualified applicants and I'm paying a very high tax-rates (while being ineligible for many benefits).

Beyond that, it's not about administration costs; it's about generating revenue. What has changed between last year and this year to account for a ONE HUNDRED percent increase the administration costs?

Nothing.

So while it's easy for someone to say, 'Well, you get to work here, if you don't like it, leave' - the problem is, I will. And so will other people.

The company I work for (an American company no less) has been struggling for the last two years to fill positions. They are still hiring, they haven't stopped in the last two years. But people are actually LEAVING as fast as we hire them.

The majority of them, at least from my team, are non-Irish workers who enjoy their job, but are leaving for another country where they'll get a similar job and pay less taxes. We had a guy leave for Australia on Friday and another at the end of the year.

Sure, sure, if the company gave them a 25% raise or something, they'd stay. But the company is competing in an international market. They don't care about Ireland or any other country. We've actually moved ownership of some of our systems from the Ireland office to the US office because we can't get enough people working here. No sense in overpaying someone here when it's an international company.

My plan is to stick it out for another year, for the sake of my CV. And then I'll leave. And, while you might enjoy not having me on Boards.ie, Ireland will be financially worse off for my leaving.

Ireland *benefits* from workers like myself. I pay the same taxes, but I get only a tiny fraction of the benefits. If I lose my job, I have 3 months (I think it's 3, it might be 6) to get out of the country. That's about it. I can't sign on to the dole, I can't retire here, and the job I have isn't 'stolen' from locals who would do it, the government recognizes a shortage in my industry.

By itself, maybe the extra 150 would just be an annoyance, but when you look at all the changes in the last few years, Ireland just has very little to offer. And while some part of my wanted to self-identify with Ireland, to do my part, pay my taxes, and work through the recession or whatever we're in the middle of; the 150 euro increase was the slap in the face I needed to remind me that Ireland doesn't give a crap about me. 'Gee, you wanna work a job, pay your taxes, and help our country be competitive in your industry? Well, you better pay us!'.

And that's fair enough. I'm not Irish. I shouldn't care about Ireland. I'll stay so long as it suits me, then I'll leave. Just like you suggest.

And that above is the truth. This dilemma is faced not only by foreigners but also by irish citizens.

It seems that there;s this notion that foreigners take the home jobs, scam the system, don't contribute at all etc. For the most there are some who do it and again there are the few who work pay taxes but there's no incentive to stay and work because the government is not giving them one.

And if the government said all foreigners should go, it will affect Ireland in a Big way.

Large multinational as like PayPal Google IBM and Intel I see them going because majority of their workforce are foreigners.

I've gone ino a big rant, which I shouldn't but it had to be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

And, while you might enjoy not having me on Boards.ie

I'll stay so long as it suits me, then I'll leave. Just like you suggest.

Don't be so dramatic :rolleyes:

I post about administration costs and you reply as if I'm driving you to the airport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

squod wrote: »
    Terrible Joe.............
    Get up their arse?

U-age mickeys Joe, u-age.......
    Reminds me of thread about taxi drivers. Terrible Joe.
    @sqoud

This is your entire contribution to this thread. Was there a point hidden in there somewhere?

Don't be so dramatic :rolleyes:

I post about administration costs and you reply as if I'm driving you to the airport

I don't think it's dramatic, I'm just trying to explain where I'm coming from and why I think the 'administration costs' argument is silly and the price hike is ridiculous. I believe Ireland will be worse off for it.

But at the end of the day, it is what it is....

If I want to work in Ireland, I'll pay the fees.
    If I don't want to pay the fees, I won't work in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Nothing.

I'm Irish and I agree with you 100%. Some of the posters on here just want to milk the system and blame others for their own failings.