If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Black ice everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

RainyDay wrote: »
    Madness - did you try to explain the issue to them when you caught up?

Pointless - they are taxi drivers , its their bleeding bus lane !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Jawgap wrote: »
    Actually, I just checked - they're 42mm - I was getting confused with some winter trekker tyres I have.

I think confused and working out tyre sizing go hand in hand.
    I've just been trying to work out what my 700c hybrid tyres are in mtb measurements http://sheldonbrown.com/tyre-sizing.html.
    I'm of the notion that 622 is the same as 700c and 29.
    I'm sorry we've gone off topic here, maybe another thread would be better, or keep this here in case people are thinking of ordering winter tyres for their bikes...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Madness - did you try to explain the issue to them when you caught up?

no point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭kenmc

MB Lacey wrote: »
    I'm of the notion that 622 is the same as 700c and 29.
    If they're not, then I've gone and ordered the wrong tyre/wheel combo.
    Pretty sure they are the same though.
    Will find out when I get home :D

kenmc wrote: »
    Well I hope they do work for you, but don't be too disappointed if they don't...
    I was looking at tyres on wiggle and an online live chat option popped up, asking did I need help, I did, so I had a little online 'chat' with 'Joe' and he said 700/622/29 are completely different and mtb tyres wont fit a 700 wheel.
    If you've got a hybrid with a 700 wheel, you have to look for 700 tyres (according to wiggle Joe).
    He pointed me to these schwalbe 700x35mm studded winter tyres (which smacl already linked to)
    When I told him about my mudguard clearance, he said 35mm mudguards wouldn't do, so I found these sks 45mm. When I asked about inner tubes he suggested these cont 700x28-37. Total cost €158 :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

kenmc wrote: »

Sheldon to the rescue

http://sheldonbrown.com/tire-sizing.html#decimal

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 16,130 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Total cost €158 :o.

I'm pretty sure the spiked winter tourers at €25 in cdalys post would do the job and fit your mudguards if you pick the 1.2" (~30mm). Bike24 do add extra for shipping, but the shipped cost comes in at €61.48 which is quite a saving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭marketty

Managed a 40km spin today with no problems, main and back roads were fairly clear around lunch time. Only trouble was in the last 200m turning into the estate, got very sideways for a bit, puckered so hard it took a bite out of my saddle...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

dario28 wrote: »
    Pointless - they are taxi drivers , its their bleeding bus lane !
    godtabh wrote: »
    no point

It's pointless complaining about them here, unless you say something to their face. They're not going to change unless someone confronts their behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

marketty wrote: »
    Managed a 40km spin today with no problems, main and back roads were fairly clear around lunch time. Only trouble was in the last 200m turning into the estate, got very sideways for a bit, puckered so hard it took a bite out of my saddle...

Cycled to work, 40km round trip from north side to south side of Dublin. No issues with black ice. Just a few moron motorists who seemed to want to take me out!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

It's pointless complaining about them here, unless you say something to their face. They're not going to change unless someone confronts their behaviour.

3 weeks ago on my way into work I was cycling in the bus/cycle lane just past drumcondra train station, bus comes up behind my beeping like crazy then overtakes me, missing me by about 2 inches..caught up with him at the lights and as he rants at me that I should be on the (crappy) offroad cycle lane I give him a rundown of why I'm not in the cycle lane- reported him to DB

just last week I was in the same place, same driver does the exact same thing.

idiots stay idiots no matter how much confronting you do..

Well I hope they do work for you, but don't be too disappointed if they don't...
    I was looking at tyres on wiggle and an online live chat option popped up, asking did I need help, I did, so I had a little online 'chat' with 'Joe' and he said 700/622/29 are completely different and mtb tyres wont fit a 700 wheel.
    If you've got a hybrid with a 700 wheel, you have to look for 700 tyres (according to wiggle Joe).
    He pointed me to these schwalbe 700x35mm studded winter tyres (which smacl already linked to)
    When I told him about my mudguard clearance, he said 35mm mudguards wouldn't do, so I found these sks 45mm. When I asked about inner tubes he suggested these cont 700x28-37. Total cost €158 :o.
    fit fine, dunno what he was saying, but 29" wheels fit those 700x35s fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Carpenter wrote: »
    Thanks lads they said I would be back on the bike by march which is a bummer because I was hoping to give that around Ireland race a go or would I still have enough time ?..

Sorry to hear about your accident. I fractured my pelvis 6 weeks ago after coming down from Ice. Have slight pain still in the area. Nothing major now. Hope you hal quickly and efficiently. Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,892 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Hmmzis wrote: »
    If that's actual salt as in table salt (NaCl) then no pressing in is required. Just sprinkle it on top of the ice and enjoy the crack-pop sounds it makes while melting the ice. I'm not sure about the chemistry/physics behind this but that's how I remember it working on my childhood house's iced over concrete steps and the always slippery drive way in the winters. At below -20 it all became solid again but then again the ice aint that slippery anymore at those temps.

The salt mixes with the water at the surface of the ice to form a saline solution, a 10% saline solution freezes at approx -6 C and 20% approx -16 C.

Therefore when you drive over the melting ice the salt water is spread around and covers more of the ice so melting more, the more ice you melt the lower the % solution and the need to reapply salt again...... or something like that anyway

Also I there's some correlation between applying pressure which will produce heat, so vehicles driving on salted ice will make it melt faster
    Question

Why does increased pressure lower the melting point of ice? Can we use the First Law of Thermodynamics to explain?

Asked by: Shawn Tee

Answer

For most substances, increasing the pressure when a system is in equilibrium between liquid and solid phases will increase the phase transition temperature. Water is one of a few special substances for which the pressure lowers the temperature of transition. The basic reason is that water actually expands when it goes from the liquid to solid phase. In textbooks you will find the explanation for these properties by using the Clapeyron-Clausius formula, but it is perhaps most readily explained using LeChatelier's principle.

This principle states that when a system is in equilibrium, any external changes that try to take it out of equilibrium (like applying pressure to ice) will cause the system to adjust in a way to counteract that change. This is a general property of what we mean by 'equilibrium' so it probably derives more from the Second Law of Thermodynamics ('equilibrium is the state in which entropy is maximized') than the First Law -- though perhaps a more creative individual could find a good way to explain your question using that law too. In this case, if you increase the pressure on the ice the ice-water system wants to try to lower it again. It can do that by making itself fit into a smaller volume. But since water fills a smaller volume when it's liquid, rather than solid, it will go to a lower melting point -- allowing more solid to become liquid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Carpenter

billyhead wrote: »
    Sorry to hear about your accident. I fractured my pelvis 6 weeks ago after coming down from Ice. Have slight pain still in the area. Nothing major now. Hope you hal quickly and efficiently. Best of luck
    Sorry to hear that and did they plate it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Carpenter wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that and did they plate it .

No, I had 3 non displaced fractures in the pelvis and the surgeon said they would heal naturally over time. Doing rehab with a physio now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Robroy36

100 odd km today - got very "jaysus" around St Margrets but apart from that was grand.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Cycling through the estate I was half tempted to turn back. Took it easy and got to the gym.

40 minutes later and back on the big and the remainder of the commute was fine

fine again d14-d12, again a hard frost on the cars leaving home but I think it seemed to thaw, or perhaps the frost was lest severe as I headed west. Road was sparkly in places, paths were white in places but all good.
    Can't wait to build up my new frame which arrived yesterday....

fine again d14-d12, again a hard frost on the cars leaving home but I think it seemed to thaw, or perhaps the frost was lest severe as I headed west. Road was sparkly in places, paths were white in places but all good.
    Can't wait to build up my new frame which arrived yesterday....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭fletch

No real problems from D15 to Eastpoint. Kept to the main roads, only had one hairy moment where the front wheel lost traction while braking downhill but managed to catch it as I was going very slow. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Carpenter

billyhead wrote: »
    No, I had 3 non displaced fractures in the pelvis and the surgeon said they would heal naturally over time. Doing rehab with a physio now.

Nice to hear that :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,682 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

North County bit ropey

@Billyhead Get well soon and hope you're back on the bike in the new year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

East Meath pretty bad until you get to a main road. looked ok from there in.

Unfortunately matters of state require that I take the car today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

Jawgap wrote: »
    East Meath pretty bad until you get to a main road. looked ok from there in.

Unfortunately matters of state require that I take the car today.

Matters of state? Civil servant, you say? Are we paying you to surf the internet?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    Matters of state? Civil servant, you say? Are we paying you to surf the internet?!?

yes, and not nearly well enough - do you realise I'd get paid a lot more to surf the internet in the private sector.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭ciotog

I tried speaking to a taxi driver about his behaviour recently and got ****ed out of it along with a comment on cycling in the centre of the bus lane (by the US Embassy). I really doubt anything changed with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

ciotog wrote: »
    I tried speaking to a taxi driver about his behaviour recently and got ****ed out of it along with a comment on cycling in the centre of the bus lane (by the US Embassy). I really doubt anything changed with him.

One thing is for sure - if you say nothing, then nothing will change. If you have a chat, then depending on your powers of persuasion, you might have some impact. Even if you get a bravado brush-off this time round, he might just think twice the next time he sees a cyclist in front of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

One thing is for sure - if you say nothing, then nothing will change. If you have a chat, then depending on your powers of persuasion, you might have some impact. Even if you get a bravado brush-off this time round, he might just think twice the next time he sees a cyclist in front of him.

If more cyclists looked like they could smash their heads in, rather than the emaciated lot they are, maybe things would change :)

smacl wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure the spiked winter tourers at €25 in cdalys post would do the job and fit your mudguards if you pick the 1.2" (~30mm). Bike24 do add extra for shipping, but the shipped cost comes in at €61.48 which is quite a saving.
    Ordered, + 2 inner tubes + postage came to €71, thanks for all the help you two.