Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cams, what to get and where to get it (Q&A only)

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭v240gltse

<no chat allowed>

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭ttsnar

Husbands car for sale, he is getting a company car. It was his dad's car prior hence the low mileage. Great car.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a6-2-0tdi-177-se-4dr-saloon/20925727

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Get one of those really annoying alarms all the Boyz had on their civic, preludes and scubby...

As I said before power bank and get a front and rear camera.

That's nuts though that they have taken out 8 tyres.

Are you sure it isn't a neighbour who doesn't like you parking outside their house or they think the spot are theirs???

Best off without any stickers or views displayed as said.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭RiseToMe

<no chat allowed>

• Registered Users Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

Ankhyu wrote: »
    4 tyres slashed again last night. I'm actually at a fúcking loss now. No point replacing them again until this fúcker is caught. I've the Gards calling later this evening for my statement and to check my neighbours cctv.

Edit: There was no bumper sticker this time so he's obviously made a note of my car and the other girls car up the road because her tyres were done again last night too

Excuse my language but I would wait with a baseball bat & beat the **** out of the *****.The amount of money they 'are after costing u is unreal.replacing 4 tyres is not cheap ( even the crap Brands)

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Alfie1

Viofo A129 Duo available on Amazon lightning deal again for a few more hours as highlighted on Bargain Alerts thread

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057943381

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭stedeb

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-vectra/20897126
    This is mine just dropped the price.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭BlazingSaddler

Hi all. Looking to replace a Next Base 212 (had one in my own and the wife’s car) and they both failed after a couple of years. Budget max €150 for one. They seem to have come on a bit since I bought the last one, I would ideally like a rear as well but am worried about fitting. I was thinking about getting it hard wired but that will blow the budget as I believe you need a fitting kit approx €25??(halfords). Is there specialist fitting needed if I get a rear cam as well or can I just plug into the 12v socket in the boot? Also what is the benefit of WiFi on a dash cam and is it worth paying the extra for?
    Many thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,114 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Hi all. Looking to replace a Next Base 212 (had one in my own and the wife’s car) and they both failed after a couple of years. Budget max €150 for one. They seem to have come on a bit since I bought the last one, I would ideally like a rear as well but am worried about fitting. I was thinking about getting it hard wired but that will blow the budget as I believe you need a fitting kit approx €25??(halfords). Is there specialist fitting needed if I get a rear cam as well or can I just plug into the 12v socket in the boot? Also what is the benefit of WiFi on a dash cam and is it worth paying the extra for?
    Many thanks!

See post above you.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭Ankhyu

Get one of those really annoying alarms all the Boyz had on their civic, preludes and scubby...

As I said before power bank and get a front and rear camera.

That's nuts though that they have taken out 8 tyres.

Are you sure it isn't a neighbour who doesn't like you parking outside their house or they think the spot are theirs???

Best off without any stickers or views displayed as said.

100%. Heard about another car not far from me that had it's 4 tyres slashed on Thursday night, they also had a bumper sticker. And don't worry mine is long gone, but f*cker still knows my car.

I'm off today so I've managed to find some cheap second hand tyres for now, gonna get breakdown assist to bring me and the car down (again) to get them put on, and go to Halfords for a dash cam. I need to get something installed ASAP. I can't wait for an online order.

The Next base Duo HD looks good, what do ye think? Front and rear cameras with parking mode

Apparently the Duo rear camera is more for the inside of the car so I'm getting the Nextbase 512gw, as it will take a rear camera too, but I'm not gonna get it properly wired up just now. Gonna try leave it hidden on the back seat somewhere or the door, try and angle it out the side window towards the footpath and angled up to try and get a facial recognition with the motion detection turned on.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,114 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Apparently the Duo rear camera is more for the inside of the car so I'm getting the Nextbase 512gw, as it will take a rear camera too, but I'm not gonna get it properly wired up just now. Gonna try leave it hidden on the back seat somewhere or the door, try and angle it out the side window towards the footpath and angled up to try and get a facial recognition with the motion detection turned on.
    Is your car parked outside your house.
    Maybe a cam inside house window might be better.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

blade1 wrote: »
    Is your car parked outside your house.
    Maybe a cam inside house window might be better.

Street parking they have mentioned this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Get the Viofo mentioned above. I had the 512GW and rear camera and got rid of it to get the A129. The nextbase wasn't great at all.

I'll need to make do with this for now, I needed something ASAP to catch him in the act. I can't keep replacing tyres. As long as it detects the jolt when the tyres get slashed and records, I hope I can get a clear enough picture of his face. Luckily the lighting is decent at night due to streetlamps

I would be very wary of making any plans you have public, the perpetrator could be watching this thread!

Have you got it yet? They're massive and very easily spotted so try and hide it some way looking out if you can. Even on the rear parcel shelf or something like that, otherwise they'll just do the window and take the camera when they're that big a scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Have you got it yet? They're massive and very easily spotted so try and hide it some way looking out if you can. Even on the rear parcel shelf or something like that, otherwise they'll just do the window and take the camera when they're that big a scumbag.

I told my boyfriend where it was and even he had trouble seeing it, should be okay I hope.

Car was okay this morning but the cam didn't record clips throughout the night. There's a few in the first few hours and then nothing. There definitely would have been people walking past on a Saturday night. The power bank I was using may have turned off if the camera was fully charged? I'm trying to figure it out, might just have to plug it into the cigarette lighter.

Anyone have any thoughts?

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭dowling06

My Peugeot 2007 1.6HDI for sale.
    Lovely car with new NCT and will do a new service on it before selling.
    https://www.adverts.ie/car/peugeot/307/2007-peugeot-307-1-6hdi-new-nct-service/17228667

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Right so eventually got the Nextbase rear view mirror dash cam, I am looking to hardwire it the problem is there is 2 fuse boards on both sides of the car Audi A6 2016:confused:
    I was messing about with the fuse board on the driver side and got it to work the thing is the power stays on after the ignition is turned off, Any idea on what I am doing wrong ?:o

• Registered Users Posts: 6,263 ✭✭✭Damien360

Right so eventually got the Nextbase rear view mirror dash cam, I am looking to hardwire it the problem is there is 2 fuse boards on both sides of the car Audi A6 2016:confused:
    I was messing about with the fuse board on the driver side and got it to work the thing is the power stays on after the ignition is turned off, Any idea on what I am doing wrong ?:o

You found a permanent live. You need to find a switched live. Look at the manual online or it might be on the panel, for a switched live like a rear wiper.

Damien360 wrote: »
    You found a permanent live. You need to find a switched live. Look at the manual online or it might be on the panel, for a switched live like a rear wiper.

I actually placed the fuse in what should be a video recording device thinking that there is no video recorder:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Are you on the radio?!

Sorted it out this morning thanks lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

I told my boyfriend where it was and even he had trouble seeing it, should be okay I hope.

Car was okay this morning but the cam didn't record clips throughout the night. There's a few in the first few hours and then nothing. There definitely would have been people walking past on a Saturday night. The power bank I was using may have turned off if the camera was fully charged? I'm trying to figure it out, might just have to plug it into the cigarette lighter.

Anyone have any thoughts?
    Did you have any more bother with your car Ankhyu? Was the cam any use. I haven’t used any parking guard/time lapse features myself so I can’t help you with your questions unfortunately.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

ILikeBoats wrote: »
    Are you on the radio?!

No that was another girl whose car was one of two done on Sunday night. Herself and the other girl went to all the papers and radio stations. I was meant to be interviewed by the Examiner but I was in two minds, I was afraid of it being plastered over the media and I wouldn’t catch the f*cker because he’d go into hiding.
    h3000 wrote: »
    Did you have any more bother with your car Ankhyu? Was the cam any use. I haven’t used any parking guard/time lapse features myself so I can’t help you with your questions unfortunately.

No damage done since I got the camera. I’m eventually just gonna have to accept he might not come back and get myself proper tyres again, and hope it’s left alone :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Masala

No that was another girl whose car was one of two done on Sunday night. Herself and the other girl went to all the papers and radio stations. I was meant to be interviewed by the Examiner but I was in two minds, I was afraid of it being plastered over the media and I wouldn’t catch the f*cker because he’d go into hiding.

No damage done since I got the camera. I’m eventually just gonna have to accept he might not come back and get myself proper tyres again, and hope it’s left alone :(

There are just some bad bastards out there.... someone ripped the wing mirror off mybdaughters Beetle on New Year Eve night and smashed the mirror glass into bits and spread it across the bonnet for a laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Annoyed today. I have my BlueSkySea B1W for the past couple of months & very happy with it. Saw an incident at the traffic lights about an hour ago on the way home & when I went to look at the footage the camera hadn't recorded anything in the last 2 days. Ok prior to that. Everytime I start the car it says "Recording started". Not sure what happened. I just reformatted the card in the dashcam & keep an eye on it. Wonder is there a firmware update for it,

T.