Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cams, what to get and where to get it (Q&A only)

• Registered Users Posts: 51,202 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

daheff wrote: »
    Does the YI come with a suction cup or do you need to buy it seperate? (amazon is indicating it comes with a stickypad?? and should buy this as suction cup

https://www.amazon.co.uk/MyArmor-Recorder-Windshield-DashBoard-Camcorder/dp/B06XQFP2RH/ref=pd_bxgy_107_img_2?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=84A0S492N976ZDDFHX6D

I bought that exact suction cup for my YI. It has multiple adapters including one that fits the YI dashcam.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Mr Snow

BlackVue DR650S-1CH Dash Cam is it any good at night?
    what is the sound like?
    any more info i should know thanks for your help

• Registered Users Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I went by some of the good advice given here and got myself a YI compact.
    Wired into car but not in use as still awaiting SD card.
    I gave it a couple of hours in the car to charge. Messed about a bit (settings) and it died after 5 mins. Charged it again off a micro USB (phone one). Took about 25 mins and the charge light went out. Fired it up (battery bars at max) did the settings/Wi-Fi etc and it's dead after 10 mins.

I know it's a small unit and the battery won't be that big, but 10 mins !!:eek:

What do ye think ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Dash cams will only ever last a few minutes on the internal batteries. They are not designed to be used for any longer period of time. This is normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,341 ✭✭✭bladespin

Harcrid wrote: »
    Dash cams will only ever last a few minutes on the internal batteries. They are not designed to be used for any longer period of time. This is normal.

On most the battery's only really there for the motion sensor activation (carpark mode).

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

bladespin wrote: »
    On most the battery's only really there for the motion sensor activation (carpark mode).

and to ensure the last clip being recorded gets saved safely in the event of the power being cut off.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Gen.Zhukov wrote: »
    I went by some of the good advice given here and got myself a YI compact.
    Wired into car but not in use as still awaiting SD card.
    I gave it a couple of hours in the car to charge. Messed about a bit (settings) and it died after 5 mins. Charged it again off a micro USB (phone one). Took about 25 mins and the charge light went out. Fired it up (battery bars at max) did the settings/Wi-Fi etc and it's dead after 10 mins.

I know it's a small unit and the battery won't be that big, but 10 mins !!:eek:

What do ye think ?

bf4efb100cc9c7cd30a55e8d0ab6e7e3.png

Unfortunately you would need one of these if they came with a proper battery

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

inforfun wrote: »
    bf4efb100cc9c7cd30a55e8d0ab6e7e3.png

Unfortunately you would need one of these if they came with a proper battery

Does anyone know anywhere or anyone who'd be able to hardwire a dashcam, e.g. the YI? I wouldn't have a balooba's about doing this myself and don't want to be messing with car electrics.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Selling my mum's 2004 Passat TDi with 160k miles for her.

Price is firm at €900. Yrs NCT and taxed until the end of April. A couple of nuisance minor issues listed but fundamentally, a solid purchase for the next owner.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,853 ✭✭✭daheff

givyjoe wrote: »
    Does anyone know anywhere or anyone who'd be able to hardwire a dashcam, e.g. the YI? I wouldn't have a balooba's about doing this myself and don't want to be messing with car electrics.

Halfords offer a service to do this. Cant recommend or not the service as i have not had it done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

151 Santa fe Irish car bought new, under service contract till 2020,

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-santa-fe-crdi-7-seater/18185883

• Registered Users Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭passatman86

Mod - only one post per car, read OP again

You can get the "better" one for 30.99 as i just did

Redeem voucher, get £9 off
    3093cc90ee82032c5d1990b3730a06ce.png

Hooked that one up yesterday and had a short trip to see what the quality is.

Had it on 1920x1080 30fps but wasnt too impressed
    Set it to 60fps so will see what that brings.

That ADAS is annoying as hell and will make you want to drive into the Irish Sea

And i think the cigarette to usb adaptor thing they sent was knackered. Didnt work until i tried one of my own.

Edit:
    I am a dumbo.
    There are 2 folders on the sd card

0d1aed28cc30492bfcd1436123d2808c.png

The top folder actually contains the real files as it comes to quality and is actually very decent in quality
    But that should be when 3 mins of movie = 328 mb...

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭wex96

Mod - only one post per car, read OP again

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe it is not clear from the first post.
    One post per car only.
    I have updated the title so it shows better

• Registered Users Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

04 BMW 320Ci Petrol. NCT until August. €1450 but will listen to offers.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-320ci-m-sport/18050774

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Rob_IRL

Content deleted by moderator
    (You need more posts before you can post in this thread. Read the first post in this thread for the rules.)

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭legomanx51v

BMW F10 530d, high spec and really well looked after by me. Still looks and drives like new. Selling to get a smaller petrol for shorter trips.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-530d-high-spec-low-miles/17948301

zugtub.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

Hi all

I just ordered the Vantrue N2 Pro. Does anyone else have this as I would like to know if they are happy with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Sabre Man

Has anyone used https://dashcam.ie? What's your experience?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭honda boi

Hooked that one up yesterday and had a short trip to see what the quality is.

Had it on 1920x1080 30fps but wasnt too impressed
    Set it to 60fps so will see what that brings.

That ADAS is annoying as hell and will make you want to drive into the Irish Sea

And i think the cigarette to usb adaptor thing they sent was knackered. Didnt work until i tried one of my own.

Edit:
    I am a dumbo.
    There are 2 folders on the sd card

0d1aed28cc30492bfcd1436123d2808c.png

The top folder actually contains the real files as it comes to quality and is actually very decent in quality
    But that should be when 3 mins of movie = 328 mb...

I usually record in the highest quality,think its 2k quality?
    Is 2k at 30fps or 1080p at 60fps better at making regs out in an accident?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭passatman86

honda boi wrote: »
    I usually record in the highest quality,think its 2k quality?
    Is 2k at 30fps or 1080p at 60fps better at making regs out in an accident?

When initially posted about the so-so quality, i had it set to 1920x1080 30fps and the clips i saw, the licenses weren't too easy to read.

Changed it to 60 fps and only then had a look at the big, real files and it very easy to read then. Dont think it was much worse on 30 fps but as said, had a look at the wrong files

Bit of a pita to change settings as it is stuck behind my rear view mirror and i think i fecked up the holder already. Cant get is out of it anymore :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

• Registered Users Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

Selling my 2011 Laguna Initiale - Highest spec available - FSH, NCT, Taxed etc. - full details in ad.
    I've just (60 minutes ago) bought a full EV car which I'll be picking up in the UK on Saturday. So if I can sell in the next couple of days it will go for an even better price.

https://www.adverts.ie/car/renault/laguna/renault-laguna-3-2-0-dci-150-initiale-top-spec/15129904

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭n0brain3r

Selling my C4 Grand Picasso well cared for car with FSH, just passed the NCT and had a full service oil change, oil, air and fuel filters plus a set of brake pads. https://www.adverts.ie/car/citroen/c4/2012-citroen-c4-grand-picasso/15149749

• Registered Users Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

Selling my 2008 Bmw 730D Sport .

Taxed till start of September and Nct till October 2019
    Full Main dealer service History

See ads for more details .

Im open to reasonable offers :)

PS: hopefully the weather will improve and i can get some proper pics up soon :D

https://www.adverts.ie/car/bmw/7-series/2008-bmw-7-series/15155957

https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/bmw/7-series/used-2008-bmw-7-series-730-d-e65-clare-fpa-105920397761388

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-e65-730d-sport/18423880

YjMyZDM3NWQ1ODllMTI0YjgwYjM0Mzk3MDFkMDNkYWRjh2TcOG-Or28J1m2qTKiEaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185ODMxMTI4NHx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Eve12345

• Registered Users Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭ionapaul

My advert - a 2005 Volvo S40 that's in pretty good nick, still drive it every week, freshly taxed for three months, but needs a little TLC to pass NCT:

https://www.adverts.ie/car/volvo/s40/2005-volvo-s40/15165707?

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭kennethrhcp

2008 Audi A5 TFSI for sale, open to (reasonable) offers. Great car! NCT'd until March 2020

https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/audi/a5/used-2008-audi-a5-coupe-1-8-tfsi-cork-fpa-191597846287852