Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

[Black Ops 2] MegaBitch Thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Yousef wrote: »
    Let's be honest, you'd want to be insane to think BLOPS2 is worse than MW3 - so on that front, at least we can say that this game is a step in the right direction. But we were already scraping the bottom of the barrel with last years game so anything Treyarch threw out would have been better even if it had wizards, dinosaurs, goblins and Mario running around the maps collecting mushrooms. The only thing MW3 was any use for was perhaps a coaster. Granted it's not the best argument to praise BLOPS2 but that's the position I'm in right now. Some of you may find it hard to make that connection but I just found MW3 shocking. It was the pitts. Absolutely f*cking tripe. And for that reason alone, I'm going to give Treyarch more than a chance with this.

A lot of people are having serious lag problems but that will pass. Every COD had hiccups in the first couple of weeks but I've far more belief in Vonderhaar than the new idiots over at IW to fix their game sharpish. Treyarch have a great history of it. Having said that, other glitches or whatever could easily be smoothed out with a BETA and I'd be in favour of that....whatever the politics of it over in Activision.

I'm the first one to critic Call of Duty but I think Treyarch have done the most they can. It's a different animal than it was 5 years ago. It's the biggest franchise globally and I believe the only way to take it forward is to open it up to the community, the creative, the innovators. It has to be open source. I'd like to see modders get creative with maps/game modes and just about everything else for the community to look at, see what works and what doesn't etc. I understand this wasn't much of a megabitch but I do have one complaint....

The Zombies this year.....I consider Tranzit one map. Where are the rest? I'm not going to accept Tranzit all cut up into tiny parts are 3/4 different maps!!

mw3 is alot better, give me search & destroy on mw3 any day over fail ops 2!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,873 ✭✭✭✭klose

zombies isint great its all about finding pieces and building stuff these days. The fog and how you are lit on fire when you walk over a crack on the road is very annoying! The regular mode zombie maps are too small and the tranzit yoke while a good idea isint working for me. I was of the assumption it was a sort of campaign

Don't forget those little ****s thats jump on your head when you leave certain areas :mad:

Sold the game yesterday because I only really play the game for zombies and its terrible this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭hypersquirrel

I think this is a huge improvement on recent installments. The scorestreak system is great and the addition of combat training and league play makes it easy to switch out when things start getting frustrating. Having party and custom games back properly is also a big plus.

That said there are a few things I hate.

Since Cod 4 I have always run ghost/UAV jammer with a silencer and any other stealth perks that came along. Having blind eye and cold blooded near enough at the start is fine but ghost at level 55 is just bad. It's great that they made it only function when you're moving. I always run and gun as stealth so that's certainly not an issue. Since I usually carry rockets or black hats I'll adapt but I can't adapt to not having a silencer.

Silencer at weapon level 12 for an assault rifle is insanity. I've switched to using SMGs which get them at level 4 and considering that SMGs are alread fairly overpowered I think it's going to result in virtually nothing but SMGs and Sniper Rifles.

They also seriously need to fix the Escort Drone and fast. Called it in 3 times last night. The first time it did brilliantly. The other two... They glitched and just killed me over and over for the duration. I'm not sure if they're bugging and shooting me or if they're flying too low and killing me on impact but I've had to take them off for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

The amount of people that dont understand you have to press 'ready up' to start a game of zombies is crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 gg69me

can any body help me get my son started his game still says no server at the moment trying since tuesday to conect to server help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

gg69me wrote: »
    can any body help me get my son started his game still says no server at the moment trying since tuesday to conect to server help

What version does he have? xbox/ps3/pc.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 gg69me

sorry should have said he is on ps3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Yousef wrote: »
    I couldn't agree more.

When COD4 launched, it brought in a whole generation of new gamers that may not have even had the slightest interest or knowledge of the Quakes, Dooms and Counter-Strikes of this world that went before it - it was new, fresh. But Call of Duty has always been Call of Duty and it WILL always be Call of Duty....that's just the way the game is. It is what it is and for those that say it hasn't changed this or that, well...have they considered the fact that they may just be running on empty when it comes to the actual mechanics of the game itself? Now we can criticise for what the developers have or have not done tweak/map-wise but I think it's safe to say that the core of the gameplay will always be the same. FIFA never changes, 22 players kicking a ball around a green pitch....so why do people expect COD to be any different? That's why I find it hard to get excited anymore at this time of year because I know when I'm on my way to the store that what I'm buying is an updated version of a five year old game.

You mentioned map design which leads me back to a previous post. I really believe the community needs to get their hands on the mod tools with Activisions full support. Most of the memorable maps of earlier games across all genres where done outside official studios. The developers got their hands on them and with their fancy budget, made them sparkly and all shiny. :D
    This is what needs to happen in CoD. NukeTown Zombies was a mod for W@W. Treyarch have long been taking ideas from the modding community. I just wish they embraced them and got them in on the act a little more by holding map design competitions for us, the consumers to analyse and dissect before passing judgement and voting on which one's we feel will play better etc. Then Treyarch can go to work with the barebones and build it up.

So get the consumer in by asking us what game WE want as opposed to all the "it's a secret...wait for release BS". After all, we're the one's buying it....it should be OUR game.

agreed 100 %.

Nothing has come close to topping cod4... everything from maps to guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I saw this floating around twitter today @Spikey_Mikey_23 if you press square during the 'Game Type' menu you can select 'Choose best connection'.

Its worth a shot and will only take about a minute to do .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

the flames in zombies when you step on, near or over a crack are as annoying as fcuk, i thought someone was attacking me or something, drove me nuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

not very familiar with the ps3 but some lads were having the same problem and I think they fixed it by changing profiles.On th exbox you can clear the system cache which has been known to solve similar problems on the xbox.Not sure if there is a similar way to do it on ps3.
    I'd check the connection type as well on your router.Get the nat open or turn the firewall off altogether on the router and it should open up the connection speed for ya.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

****ity **** ****ing **** teammates. I feel like it's 1 vs 6 half the time. Only so much you can do at times, there really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Unlimited UAV in the wager type games is taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,452 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

i taught mw2 and 3 were the worst of the cods just all over the place hectic games, no gun v gun at all.

blops2 is ok , not mad on it because its baiscally nothing amazing like every single cod since modern warfare 1. The only thing thats really pis*in me off is the amount of sniping and how sh*t the maps are.

loved MW2 apart from the p2p..but MW3...it was absolutely shocking and complete muck.
    Even COD4 graphically wise looked about 10 times better and you'd swear it was the newer modified engine over MW3..
    At least BLOPS2 isn't as bad although I'm finding hipfire is way overpowered...and that's without steadyaim..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

fukking headglitching..every feckin barrell/wall is ideal for it,and they are everywhere!!

and for the love of jaysus is it only me but damage from guns isnt consistent..no sign of lag and my connection is fine.

and lastly did i buy a special edition of blops 2 or somethin where i'm the only one that has a rocket launcher to take down the uav spam...

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭Eoin087

The spawns need some work, 4 times tonight I spawned either into a grenade or right in front of the other team. That's nothing though to the amount of cheesy little french cúnts camping in corners or on the objective..wtf is with them its like the all do it..pricks :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Am I missing it, or is this game missing a post-match points total? The netcode seems as poor as BLOPS, lots of lag non sense.

Also, can't link the Elite account I created on my computer to the Xbox profile. It says i've linked an account, but it's not showing up on the console.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Unlimited UAV in the wager type games is taking the piss.

Have to ask why do you think this?

They're all fast paced game types and it stops people camping like bitches like they used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

Just played Slums for the first time.

I'm level 51.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,873 ✭✭✭✭klose

Chavways wrote: »
    Just played Slums for the first time.

I'm level 51.....

Ive played the map after math once since launce! Never pops up on rotation.

Spawns on hijacked are gas, kill a guy, he spawns in behind you and kills you, spawn in behind him and shoot him in the back. All in a fee seconds :pac:

I must have set a record for raging quitting,must be nearly every 2nd game at this stage.Gettin killed with one or 2 hits while having to empty the guts of a mag to get a poxy kill:eek:

its crazy isnt it, seems people are seeing you before you have a chance to react

krudler wrote: »
    its crazy isnt it, seems people are seeing you before you have a chance to react

krudler its strange no evidence of lag and its not consistent.Some times I get a kill in 2 bursts other times its the full mag.Its seriously doing my head in tbh.

have my connection setting set to best so tryarch better get the thumb out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Yeah this happens me all the time. So infuriating

krudler its strange no evidence of lag and its not consistent.Some times I get a kill in 2 bursts other times its the full mag.Its seriously doing my head in tbh.

have my connection setting set to best so tryarch better get the thumb out

Even using burst fire weapons its inconsistent,i put two rounds of a burst from the CQB into a guy at chest level, nothing.

found a work around..fit extended mags and head glitch like fuk:pac:

why bring it in the first place?Yeah I know the host had an unfair advantage but trying to level the field because someone has a sh1te BB connection??come on.

Tough **** if you live in africa or leitrim,dont see why the rest of us have to suffer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Carrier is a terrible map. Utter rubbish

CptMackey wrote: »
    Carrier is a terrible map. Utter rubbish

I quite like it, nice and open, not many places to camp, reminds me of the COD4 level with the missile silos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

I quite like it, nice and open, not many places to camp, reminds me of the COD4 level with the missile silos.

Are you serious? There's barrels and boxes all over the place for people to camp and headglitch from. And then there's that bloody ramp at the end where all the snipers camp for the whole match.

Chavways wrote: »
    Are you serious? There's barrels and boxes all over the place for people to camp and headglitch from. And then there's that bloody ramp at the end where all the snipers camp for the whole match.

easy pickings :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Ah here, nice and open??? :eek: full of boxes, crates, ramps... has to be the most cluttered map I've seen in any of the BLOPs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

fukking headglitching..every feckin barrell/wall is ideal for it,and they are everywhere!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭CptMackey

IPAM wrote: »

Ah here, nice and open??? :eek: full of boxes, crates, ramps... has to be the most cluttered map I've seen in any of the BLOPs

Def, I can't get going on the map at all no matter what I try. Rush, camp , snipe, etc. liking the rest tho apart from drone. The spawn near c Dom is a bad place to start off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

I am now officially calling the game Modern Headglitch 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,626 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Im not sure what its like on the consoles but its so strange using a mouse on the game. Its like there's acceleration on somewhere and since they locked the config :rolleyes::rolleyes:. You cant do anything about it

I firmly believe its the reason why hip firing is an epidemic on the pc

IPAM wrote: »

open in the sense most of it is outdoors, there is tons of crap all over the place alright.

has anyone seen much of the higher scorestreaks yet? saw a vtol gunship thingy on that carrier map, wrecked the gaff the guy mustve got about 20 kills with it. I'm finding it really hard to get the higher streaks, got a stealth chopper alright but mostly sticking to uav, care package and lightning strike, I'm still thinking in terms of kills rather than points though so its hard to judge how far off something exactly you are, I know the little bar on the side shows you but its so fast paced i forget to look half the time. getting kills while capping or defending flags or hq or whatever is a great way of racking up streaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Was playing hardhat, and 3 or so times I appeared to randomly die, and all I could see was a spinning thing. No kill cam or anything??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Notorioux

Nearly wanna give up on this ****ing game and trade it in soon. The amount of smg users are unreal it's like the only gun in the game. :mad: More like Call of SMG's: Spraying Ops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Headshot wrote: »
    Im not sure what its like on the consoles but its so strange using a mouse on the game. Its like there's acceleration on somewhere and since they locked the config :rolleyes::rolleyes:. You cant do anything about it

Was it mouse lag? I had it when I first played it so I turned off "Sync every frame" and it's back to normal now.

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭badgerhowlin

Hard core does not have enough match types.
    Having to wait 10-15 sec to spawn everytime you die on Hard core is Stupid.

Hardpoint is great game type only if your Team mates play for the objectives. Its ridulacus if you get bet 250-50 or something Stupid like that. If you are not going to try get the objectives go place TDM.

Trying to kill someone on core take the P!ss.
    Empty full mag into someone and might kill them.
    1st sniper 2 head shots are needed

• Registered Users Posts: 17 agentcrow

I like the game but the Lag is killing my enjoyment,Killed by a hunter killer then respawned in 3 times to be killed by the same explosion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Headshot wrote: »

Yeah thats more than likely vsync dude... i've no mouse accel or any problems with how the mouse feels at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Is it just me or are the majority of maps built for sniping ? That big open map on the ship is possibly one of the worst designed maps in the history of cod. There's no inbetween it's just sniping !

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,396 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Hard core does not have enough match types.
    Having to wait 10-15 sec to spawn everytime you die on Hard core is Stupid.

the wait to respawn drives me nuts, I don't see the point of it at all, on an objective based game its ok I guess. And it definitley needs more game modes, HC Domination & KC were great in MW3. I prefer HC to core in general as it kind of counters the lag/hit detection problems a bit by not having to pump a whole clip into somebody every time.
    Is it just me or are the majority of maps built for sniping ? That big open map on the ship is possibly one of the worst designed maps in the history of cod. There's no inbetween it's just sniping !

There's a few spots on it alright but I find the map so cluuttered it's easy to bomb it around the place and catch the snipers off guard. I find most of the maps aren't great for sniping at all actually, Drone and Carrier are probably the most suited but the others aren't very open imo.

i find it totally the opposite, its smg heaven with so much debris to run around behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Quick scoping and sniper rifles in general are starting to piss me off; they're piss easy to use compared to BLOPs. It's nearly all sniper and smgs on the maps, assault rifles seem to be hardly used at all.

Also, I miss contracts and (the challenges for) Pro Perks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Tough **** if you live in africa or leitrim,dont see why the rest of us have to suffer

I lol'd :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

3 bar connection = nearly unplayable because of lag. Anyone else finding this?

• Registered Users Posts: 400 ✭✭Thecon21

Many people using the Sentry guns? I've been using them in Dom, there's always a great spot to put them near the 'B' flag, I've been regularly getting two sentry's up around pointing towards the 'B' area. Notched up 70 kills on raid with the help of them..