Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman loses hands under DART

• 06-11-2012 10:25am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/woman-loses-hands-after-being-trapped-under-dart-train-3285189.html

Anyone hear about this? Apparently she was on the track when the DART came and she lost both hands...

Jayzis

Woman loses hands after being trapped under DART train
    PRINT EMAIL NORMALLARGEEXTRA LARGE 634 249 211

The woman, believed to be in her early 20s, was hit by the north-bound Greystones to Malahide train as it came into the station.

By Brendan Farrelly
    Tuesday November 06 2012

PARAMEDICS had to work for nearly 40 minutes to free a woman who lost both hands after she was hit and then became trapped under a DART train.

People standing on the platform at Dun Laoghaire station in south Co Dublin fainted at the horror of the tragedy unfolding in front of them.

The woman, believed to be in her early 20s, was hit by the north-bound Greystones to Malahide train as it came into the station.

Gardai are trying to establish the circumstances leading up to the incident. It is understood the woman was on the tracks as the train arrived at the station and was hit.

She ended up trapped beneath the train.

The incident happened shortly before 8pm last night.

Rescue crews spent nearly 40 minutes treating the critically injured woman and trying to free her from under the train. But she is understood to have lost both hands.

She was said to have been alive leaving the scene in an ambulance. A garda escort travelled ahead of the ambulance as it rushed to St Vincent's Hospital.

DART services between Lansdowne Road and Bray were suspended while the emergency was being dealt with.

- Brendan Farrelly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

OMG, the Council are to sue McFeely over Priory Hall!?!?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭seanmacc

What the F was she doing on the tracks?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

OMG, the Council are to sue McFeely over Priory Hall!?!?! :eek:

Cant believe theyre gonna sue him.. awful stuff... :pac:

And what about that lad that did his six sisters !!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

she must be all over the place:o

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

That's terrible. Hope she recovers well despite losing her hands. However, in the immortal words of Seanmacc,
    seanmacc wrote: »

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

If she wanders along dollymount she'll probably find herself new hands, probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

We'll prob never hear the real story on this one.

Unless she had a legitimate reason to be on the tracks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Uncomfortable with this thread and attempts at humour.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

Ghandee wrote: »
    Unless she had a legitimate reason to be on the tracks.

maybe she fell off the platform?? Poor woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Just to echo: what was she doing on the fecking tracks?! Let this be a lesson to all the people in too much of a hurry to use the footbridge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

Didnt read the thread . Not interested in cards .

• Registered Users Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Better to stay away then.

I was trying to think of a witty answer, but I'm stumped.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Would you like to sit down? How about a glass of water? There there, are you feeling better?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

wow, a young woman was seriously injured and you're making jokes. no matter what the circumstances are, that's wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

kylith wrote: »
    Just to echo: what was she doing on the fecking tracks?! Let this be a lesson to all the people in too much of a hurry to use the footbridge.

Are you saying that its a common enough thing for people to cross the tracks due to laziness or are you kidding??
    maybe she was drunk, stupid high jinks (if thats the case she is going to feel worse, if it happened due to an accident, like fainting off the platform? dont know why people stand so close to the edge, lets hope she wasnt pushed)
    I feel sick thinking about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Jesus that's awful. I was thinking she could have been drinking but it was only 8pm. Still a possibility though.

kylith wrote: »
    Let this be a lesson to all the people in too much of a hurry to use the footbridge.

What's the connection here between the two?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Would you like to sit down? How about a glass of water? There there, are you feeling better?

She's lost her hands and her life as she knows it is fcuked.
    Do the decent thing and stfu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

Better to stay away then.

I was trying to think of a witty answer, but I'm stumped.
    maybe the comedians like yourself should stay away

You're making fun of someone who has a social conscience? Not sure you understand comedy.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

seanmacc wrote: »

Well in fairness, the Irish don't seem to understand the notion of crosswalks and lights. They will step out in front of any car, bus, truck, etc.. and just expect not to be hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

emul8ter25 wrote: »
    Well in fairness, the Irish don't seem to understand the notion of crosswalks and lights. They will step out in front of any car, bus, truck, etc.. and just expect not to be hit.

BOOM! There we go. We've had the comedy, the lack of sympathy, and now we have the unrelated generalization.

This thread has it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Is it really that much to ask that users don't show themselves up to be complete f*cks here? A girl lost her hands in a tragic accident. You don't have to show sympathy, but you should have some sort of cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,814 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

?? There is no level crossing at Dun Laoghaire

Wrong forum to discuss a genuine horrific incident, typical wrong responses - theres no humour in it, no salutory tales, no justifiable speculation, just voyeurism and bottom feeding at a situation where one person was maimed and more suffered trauma. wrong.

I saw a person nearly get hit by a tram abroad, the looks the local gave them. I dont know if they were irish but I dont think they weren't local.
    I was sure the person was going to get hit, all happened in a split second.

People do that, I think because they think a few tonnes of metal will stop on the button, or the drivers reactions are supposed to be flawless or the brakes perfect, a train that weighs? many hundreds of tonnes
    I hope to god they didnt get down there to pick up a dropped phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

The Dagda wrote: »

BOOM! There we go. We've had the comedy, the lack of sympathy, and now we have the unrelated generalization.

This thread has it all.

I'm in Dublin center right now and the ass next to me has his baby pram pushed halfway into the street as cars go past.... So yeah, I speak the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

That is the most horrible thing I've ever read.

Seriously. It's a terrible written article. It repeats itself and gives information that could've easily been compressed into two sentences.

Awful writing.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    ?? There is no level crossing at Dun Laoghaire

Wrong forum to discuss a genuine horrific incident, typical wrong responses - theres no humour in it, no salutory tales, no justifiable speculation, just voyeurism and bottom feeding at a situation where one person was maimed and more suffered trauma. wrong.

So it never happened? dont talk about it
    dont try prevent it happening again,
    if she got down there for some stupid reason then that should be enough to try and prevent anyone else from trying the same.
    I'd suggest putting glass screens up as I have seen in some underground stations, but people will find a way.
    Discussion isnt voyuerism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Poor woman. I wonder can they re-attach the hands, or is that possible?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

People fall over the tracks from platforms a lot, without any malice on their part either. Happened recently a few months ago in Pearse Station as well. I'm sure this is no more an accident along those lines. Terrible to read she's lost her hands out if it, though it could of been worse. Even saying that sounds like a pricky comment to make. Couldn't imagine what I'd do without my hands.