If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Abercrombie and ****ing Fitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,879 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Sorry op but you're just jealous. You couldn't model there, you couldn't work there and you can't afford to shop there. You hate it because it shows you where you are on the social ladder and you don't like it.

You need to work up a higher post count if you want to troll at that level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭archie199

Sorry op but you're just jealous. You couldn't model there, you couldn't work there and you can't afford to shop there. You hate it because it shows you where you are on the social ladder and you don't like it.

Dead right, my thoughts exactly. Seriously jealous and bitter people complaining over a trendy shop opening! First few posts are ridiculous! Calling the lads **** and morons is crazy, ye don't even know them. Just because ye probably have a **** body and zero confidence to do what they do. Irish people are such moaners, it's embarrassing. I don't understand why ye would criticise people queueing for the shop either, each to their own as they say. They're doing no harm to anybody! A lot of angry people in this country who love nothing more than to put people down

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Jaded Jester

kowloon wrote: »
    You need to work up a higher post count if you want to troll at that level.

Yeah that's great. Tell me why it's trolling. You're talking rubbish. You couldn't work there either buddy, and it makes you insecure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

archie199 wrote: »
    Dead right, my thoughts exactly. Seriously jealous and bitter people complaining over a trendy shop opening! First few posts are ridiculous! Calling the lads **** and morons is crazy, ye don't even know them. Just because ye probably have a **** body and zero confidence to do what they do. Irish people are such moaners, it's embarrassing. I don't understand why ye would criticise people queueing for the shop either, each to their own as they say. They're doing no harm to anybody! A lot of angry people in this country who love nothing more than to put people down

ya because you would never put anyone down lol

Yeah that's great. Tell me why it's trolling. You're talking rubbish. You couldn't work there either buddy, and it makes you insecure.

how would you know if he could work there?know him well do ya?
    and why would he want to? never knew the dream was to work in an abercrombie and fitch shop:confused:

ya because you would never put anyone down lol

? Good man, great contribution. Not a fan of the new shop?

couldnt care less about the new shop. I dont like or dislike it. miss guineys though:(

Fair enough. I can safely say I've never purchased anything in Guineys! Do they even sell clothes for under 30s?

clothes from the 30's;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Rantandrave

I would buy the stuff in America, their clothes are made to fit twigs, I'd prefer American Eagle tbh.
    That Hollister shop in Dundrum too seriously is so dark ya go in lookin for something yellow and come out with something feckin green or somethin..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Kizzonian

New kids on the block had a bunch of hits
    Chinese food makes me sick
    And I think it's fly when girls stop by for the
    Summer, for the summer
    I like girls that wear abercrombie and fitch
    I'd take her if I had one wish
    But she's been gone since that summer,
    Since that summer.

New Kids on the Block sucked a lot of dick,
    boy girl groups make me sick
    And I can't wait 'til I catch all you ******s in public,
    I'mma love it
    Thats a better version IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I would buy the stuff in America, their clothes are made to fit twigs, I'd prefer American Eagle tbh.
    That Hollister shop in Dundrum too seriously is so dark ya go in lookin for something yellow and come out with something feckin green or somethin..

I'd need a torch to shop in there, I probably wouldn't fit in their clothes either!!

Don't think I'll be wearing my abercrombie hoody out anytime soon, wouldn't want people thinking I'm a pretentious spa....or that I bought it in Ireland!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Kizzonian

Since when was working in a shop such an amazing opportunity that someone should be jealous about? You sound like a twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭shantolog

frag420 wrote: »
    I'm going to open a posh twat cafe around tbr corner from it. It will be staffed by tanned blonde girls in skinny jeans and tight tops. You have to be beautiful to get in and a coffee will be seven euro.

I shall call it Applecrumble & Fish!!

Opening day will have the aforementioned staff outside topless too!!

You should call it Applecrumble & Kitsch :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭TheCatsMeow

I don't think a lot of Irish people who wear these brands realise Abercrombie, Hollister and Aéropostale are all aimed at 13-18 year olds in the States.

It's odd to see Irish men especially over the age of 30 wearing the shirts with the moose symbol. Their clothes are meant for preppy teens!

If you are in your 20's+ and want to buy branded American clothes go for Ralph Lauren or something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

phasers wrote: »
    Their clothes are overpriced much and I hate everything about the brand and what it stands for, bit I don't plan to ever go in so who cares?

Well, at least the building they've moved into looks gorgeous now.

The shirtless guys are a bit clean cut for my tastes though.

I know one of the guys in the front row there. My old friend Token.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

It is pretty sad to queue for clothes.

Match/concert tickets/cut-price electrical goods I can understand, but clothes??? Stuff that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I ain't jealous of them and I think they're all ****. I hate the blatant vanity displayed by these types of shops and the people who work in them. Due to the work I do, I regularly come in contact with high net worth individuals and I can tell you they do not act like these people. They're clothing and tastes are very expensive but they display it in a fashion that is a lot more subtle than A& F stuff looks gaudy in comparison, Hermes seems to be a favourite - 500euro shirts without even a logo on them! Half these langers are not even rich anyway.

Oh and screw there hoodies too. Don't care if they'e comfortable - sure most hoodies are anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Will probably be closed in 6 months anyway.

Couple of years ago, their London store was the 2nd highest revenue after the flagship store (in New York I think).

If it goes like the Hollister store in Dundrum, it won't be closing any time soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

I don't think a lot of Irish people who wear these brands realise Abercrombie, Hollister and Aéropostale are all aimed at 13-18 year olds in the States.

It's odd to see Irish men especially over the age of 30 wearing the shirts with the moose symbol. Their clothes are meant for preppy teens!

If you are in your 20's+ and want to buy branded American clothes go for Ralph Lauren or something similar.

i've seen people in their 60s here wearing A&F and hollister clothes. they may be aimed at youth in the US, but the market is different in ireland. seems people of all ages like the clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Is there some sort of 'Full Metal Jacket' style boot camp people have to go through before they can get a job for Abercrombie?! By the sound of things you work there (or else you've got some sort of warped obsession with people who do), is it like being in the Marines? Do you have a "Hoo-Rah" type saying and a lifelong fraternity? Do they have get togethers of veterans from the Autumn/Winter 2009 campaign where everyone gets drunk and cries about how many good men they lost that year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

They're bland looking clothes you could get in H&M or Penneys - but a bunch of people go mad for them and pay insanely inflated prices because of the name; how is that not twattish?
    I don't understand how criticism of that = begrudgery, jealousy, whatever other unthinking and unoriginal nugget. Surely such criticism is logical and valid? Lots of people with plenty of money would agree.
    If they were really nice, creative designs fair enough, but they're hoodies and other unremarkable-looking leisure-wear. All hoodies are comfortable; that's their function. Wouldn't see the prob with someone having the odd A&F item, but it's the hysteria over the brand apropos nothing that's so silly - the emperor is wearing no clothes, not even A&F.

Btw, some Dublin kids acting/talking American is nothing new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Looks like Akon has a handy earner on the side to go with the music career anyway.

About that American Eagle brand, would that not just become the new Abercrombie when they go out of fashion and then everyone will give it the same kicking as A&F is getting now?

any guesses as to whats going to be the new a&f? clothes u can only get in america, that all the d4s will be wearing 1st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭opinionated3

I like A & F .. There I said it!! My wife and I are lucky to be both in employment and if we choose to buy whatever brand of clothes we like then, so what. I am thirty four and if I am honest if I am treating myself its generally Tommy HIlfiger I go for but that is a rarity due to the expense. I view these brands as a luxury so to be able to go to one of those shops and pick out an item and purchase is a rare pleasure, but a pleasure none the less. It's like being able to go to a nice restaurant for dinner. . . . You can't do it every weekend but when you get a rare chance you enjoy it even better. I am not really sure what the op's beef is....I drive a golf....if I could afford a Beemer or Audi I would. What would you say about my character then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Backlash in 3...2....1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭mitosis

Teenage girls make poor decisions - quelle surprise. A&F were all the rage with the well-to-do kids about five/ten years ago, when they could only be got online or overseas. Now the A&F bubble has burst, so they're opening stores here for the plebs, to get the last few pennies while there's still some interest.The waving and greeting thing was last seen at Apple - another fashion led trend for those with less sense than money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

I like A & F .. There I said it!! My wife and I are lucky to be both in employment and if we choose to buy whatever brand of clothes we like then, so what. I am thirty four and if I am honest if I am treating myself its generally Tommy HIlfiger I go for but that is a rarity due to the expense. I view these brands as a luxury so to be able to go to one of those shops and pick out an item and purchase is a rare pleasure, but a pleasure none the less. It's like being able to go to a nice restaurant for dinner. . . . You can't do it every weekend but when you get a rare chance you enjoy it even better. I am not really sure what the op's beef is....I drive a golf....if I could afford a Beemer or Audi I would. What would you say about my character then?

I agree totally.ANY designer brand is like a red rag to a bull these days to the have nots.One poster said he would love to punch every single person on the video(some of whom were children)! If you don't like/cannot afford A+F ,Hollister or Hilfiger ,so what! I don't like Ugg boots but I don't wish to punch/hate anyone who buys a pair.This attitude is nothing but jealousy and begrudgery.If you disagree with a queue forming, don't get on it.I own lots of designer gear but I buy it when I take my annual trip to the US for a fraction of the cost here:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Brad768

Ah lads, a bit harsh here
    Abercrombie and Fitch deserve some respect for paying that gimp Pauly D from Jersey Shore not to wear their clothes :rolleyes:

Wrong housemate :P
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2026937/Jersey-Shores-The-Situation-offered-cash-stop-wearing-Abercrombie--Fitch.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

To be fair i think Superdry's gear is much nicer and equally good in quality for a good bit cheaper! Not a hope i would queue up to get ripped off! As stated before these clothes are aimed at teens! The novelty will wear off, unfortunately the bellends wearing all their clobber will never disappear :pac: